Good to see him get a run this weekend, but I'm not sure what my expectations are. Getting through unscathed is high on the list.

There doesn't seem to be much point in trying to frame up a forward line resembling what our actual H&A structure might be, which I am assuming would be Pav @ CHF, Murphy @ FF, and Tarrant on flank. Campbell isn't going to provide the presence Pav does, and anyway will be rucking most likely, which I like because he needs another string to his bow.

I reckon play Tarrant at FF, and tell him to take it easy. Get Murphy to roam, and ask the players to force feed him the ball. Might get his confidence up.

I expect him to spend most of the game at full forward. Hopefully he can take some marks and more importantly kick well to build his confidence.

Think I'll switch ends every quarter so that I'm always at the same end as our forwards. Tarrant, Murphy, Drum, Solomon, Farmer, Mourish in the one forward line should be entertaining.

He Won't Kick Straight.

It will be funny seeing hime playing not in the Black And White(Good:D)

Yeah give him a bit of a run, maybe a few goals to get his confidence up. Would love to be able to make it and see Taz's first goal in the purple! :)

Can't wait for round 10, Pies vs Fremantle, Friday night at the G! Might be lucky to get out of there alive if we win! :)

Yeah give him a bit of a run, maybe a few goals to get his confidence up. Would love to be able to make it and see Taz's first goal in the purple! :)

Can't wait for round 10, Pies vs Fremantle, Friday night at the G! Might be lucky to get out of there alive if we win! :)

Like your enthusiasm. On a side note, since the AFL updated the websites the link to Tarrant in your signature doesn't work anymore.

Taz is my fav AFL......even when he was at the pies. As a DJ and at a prominat melb. nightclub i got to know taz really well. still keep in touch. Good luck to him. wish him all the best at freo

i'll be there! first trip to melbourne, so hopefully the game is HUGE!

Group of 5 of us are also going that weekend....should be a belter...Friday night footy at the G...Wiz & johnno will be back by then. Hopefully Taz starts hitting his guns by then?

rusling is out for 4-5 months for the Pies - that will hurt...he was being touted as the ideal replacement for Taz.

Ok!Guys and gals,from all reports get ready to see a new improved chris Tarrant, in action with murphy and pav by his side.
The beauty with freo's attack is that with the speedy midfield delivery to the forward line tarrant is so,quick off the mark that he will get to the ball,before any defender has time to take a breath.
Even if he doesn't convert he is a beautiful pass,and he has got a lot of options,he will be very valuable in goal assists anyway.So either way the purple haze win....If all goes well a Grand Final waits in 2007 freo supporters !!!!!!!!Good luck

Ok!Guys and gals,from all reports get ready to see a new improved chris Tarrant, in action with murphy and pav by his side.
The beauty with freo's attack is that with the speedy midfield delivery to the forward line tarrant is so,quick off the mark that he will get to the ball,before any defender has time to take a breath.
Even if he doesn't convert he is a beautiful pass,and he has got a lot of options,he will be very valuable in goal assists anyway.So either way the purple haze win....If all goes well a Grand Final waits in 2007 freo supporters !!!!!!!!Good luck

thanks mate, u must be one of the first collingwood supporters being kind to us

I'm going over for the collingwood game too, looks like the Fremantle Bigfooty community will be well represented. :)

Socceroos play Argentina at the MCG 5 days after the Fremantle Collingwood game for anybody who is also a fan of the round ball game.

I'm going over for the collingwood game too, looks like the Fremantle Bigfooty community will be well represented. :)

Socceroos play Argentina at the MCG 5 days after the Fremantle Collingwood game for anybody who is also a fan of the round ball game.

1 or 2 are staying behind for the roos game...but just 2 long for me...going to brizzy v tigers game at dome on sat nite & the geel v saints game at dome on teh sunday. Shld be HUGE

Looks like there might be quite some Freo representation at that game. That's the one we have circled as the one to go to this year... gotta pull a few swifties to get the kids babysat for 4-5 days (no easy task), and get a few days off and we'll be there too! :thumbsu:

I posted a report on Tarrant when the trade went through (I like to do this for any Collingwood player that goes to another club) that was kind.

It seems like he had a quiet game. However it is his first game back from injury and Tarrant and pre-season games in general don't mix.

I think his injuries are worse than people seem to realise, especially his shin problems. However even playing injured last year he had an ok year. Have a look at his stats and you will see he is a ball getting assisting forward rather than a mark and goal forward.

I doubt if any Dockers supporters or coaches had any expectations for a practice match for Tarrant other than that he got through it. We'll find out if the operation he had over the off-season has fixed his problems, and I hope for his and our sakes that it has.

Jabso, I think the role you have described for Tarrant matches with what our coaches have in ind for him when fully recovered, and when Pav is playing. Obviously he is a marking player, and will be a conduit to our more reliable goal kickers, as well as getting a few himself when able to.

Do you have a link to your post on Tarrant?

That a Typicall Tarrant Game from Last Year:rolleyes:

Dont worry mate either will medhurst but the real win for u guys is that medhurst wont pass either:rolleyes:
But the good thing is that while both are missing goals, we can drop Medhurst, because we're not paying him big bucks, and Ben Reid can sure as hell kick straight.

We didn't really care about Medhurst, he was a bonus in the deal - That's why we nicknamed him "Steak Knives"...

I doubt if any Dockers supporters or coaches had any expectations for a practice match for Tarrant other than that he got through it. We'll find out if the operation he had over the off-season has fixed his problems, and I hope for his and our sakes that it has.

Jabso, I think the role you have described for Tarrant matches with what our coaches have in ind for him when fully recovered, and when Pav is playing. Obviously he is a marking player, and will be a conduit to our more reliable goal kickers, as well as getting a few himself when able to.

Do you have a link to your post on Tarrant?

http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=276457

But the good thing is that while both are missing goals, we can drop Medhurst, because we're not paying him big bucks, and Ben Reid can sure as hell kick straight.

We didn't really care about Medhurst, he was a bonus in the deal - That's why we nicknamed him "Steak Knives"...

We already dropped Medhurst; back to reserves because he wasn't good enough at kicking goals. The difference is, that in your forward line he is needed!

The other good thing is that we know Tarrant misses goals, so won't put him into a situation where we need him to be our number 1 goal kicker. I know, super smart isn't it.

I really feel sorry for Tarrant. He is a tremendous athlete and works the hardest off the ball that I have ever seen. He had to put up with second rate disposal from players such as Licuria(woeful skills), O'Bree, Johnson & co, and yet copped it from the masses if he didn't kick a bag. In a perfect world he is a wingman receiving the first kick out of defence and he himself hitting a forward target. Hopefully Connolly will play him this way and we will get to see Tarrants positive attributes come to the fore on a more regular basis. Too many people complain about how he performs as a full forward. I hate to break the news to these people but, he isn't a full forward. He is a genuine matchwinning HFF.

A much more realistic black and white veiw of things.