News Tasmanian AFL campaign: The final push

Part of the issue I have with spending that much on a stadium is that you can’t spend it and then not use it. So you’re unlikely to have any games at York Park, which I think hurts the initial growth, and you’re leaving a couple of white elephants at York Park & Bellerive that there’s absolutely no use for. It’s going to be a situation where a Tasmanian team results in less footy (and less BBL) being played in Launceston. It’s not how you win over the kids who became default Hawthorn fans.

Agree it needs to be 40k if it happens. Yes, it’s possibly oversized for Hobart, but 40k is the benchmark at which you can be considered for State of Origin, FIFA World Cups (mens & womens), and maybe Socceroo friendlies.

It seems the Government won't win whatever they do, they build 40k stadium = too big, 23k = too small.

How about just be happy that they are doing everything asked of them to get a team in Tassie and stop whinging.

Wait til people start complaining about $350m dollars given how many kids are living in tents down there.

Just going what i've seen so far, they are going to whinge no matter what happens.

A team in Tassie should pay for itself and generate money for the state, but what will the state do with the money is the question.

The State has been paying Vic clubs millions to play there, that money could have been going to grass roots footy, but no, that's the AFL's job.

It's an understandable reaction when you have issues with underfunded government areas like health, police, transport, education etc.

A lot of the same arguments were thrown around here in NSW when the government decided to outlay around $800 million to knock down and rebuild Allianz Stadium.

Did I say that did I, say what you want.

The one I like the best though is, "if we don't get a team this time around, I will probably follow basketball"

You said stop whinging. We're discussing a topic.

If we dont get a team, what else does one do? Maybe I wont go to basketball. I might go fishing instead, What does that matter to you anyway?

Let me get this straight so we aren't on different pages, I don't care if you go fishing, watch basketball, soccer, whatever.

You seem to like telling people what they should and shouldn't post, i'm here posting just like you are, so in your words.

"What does that matter to you anyway"?

If we dont get a team, what else does one do?
Maybe I wont go to basketball. I might go fishing instead, What does that matter to you anyway?
I just had a thought about what you said here.

It sounds like you live for footy, you do know you can watch basketball, go fishing AND follow footy?

It also sounds like you don't actually like doing them things,but will learn to like them just to show the AFL.

Get a hobby mate.

I just had a thought about what you said here.

It sounds like you live for footy, you do know you can watch basketball, go fishing AND follow footy?

It also sounds like you don't actually like doing them things,but will learn to like them just to show the AFL.

Get a hobby mate.

Them things?

You complain we're whinging, then dish out a lecture on what I could do!

All 'them things' are hobbies.

Maybe you could do a lot of other things too.

Maybe like, be coherent. ;)

Them things?

You complain we're whinging, then dish out a lecture on what I could do!

All 'them things' are hobbies.

Maybe you could do a lot of other things too.

Maybe like, be coherent. ;)
Well read what you said, it sounds to me you will ONLY go fishing, watch basketball etc. if you don't get a team.

"what else is there to do"

And if you want to get all snooty every convo we have, just don't bother replying to my posts.

AFL set to announce major funding for the stadium today (by the AFL).
Still hinges on federal support.
But why though? It’s not like AFL are scrapped for cash. It’s hypocrtical. There’s countless sports clubs in Australia that need that money.
Just don’t want to spend their precious revenue and TV rights money.
AFL are also scared that Tasmania will surpass GWS AND Gold Coast in terms of crowd support, revenue, memberships. It’ll be devastating for Gillian.

But why though? It’s not like AFL are scrapped for cash. It’s hypocrtical. There’s countless sports clubs in Australia that need that money.
Just don’t want to spend their precious revenue and TV rights money.
AFL are also scared that Tasmania will surpass GWS AND Gold Coast in terms of crowd support, revenue, memberships. It’ll be devastating for Gillian.

The money is for the Tassie team & local football (Re) development. Only a relatively small amount is for the stadium.

I don't think there scared of a team being more popular than GWS or GC. I think they want to make sure it has a good start, seeing the benefit Adelaide stadium has made, also Townsville, another new inner city stadium.

Starting to think this may not happen you know? There's so many groups opposed to it, the Vietnam Veterans have gotten involved now. I honestly think we should just move it up to Queen's Domain if it's going to be roofed as it's windy up there.
I've been wodering for some time if it will actually happen, part of me isn't very confident that even if we commit to the stadium that'll happen.

News Tasmanian AFL campaign: The final push