Teams - Freo vs carlton

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

F8k me, just watched AFL teams on Fox and the panel talked up how good Freo have played last 2 weeks. Even Parko was saying nice things. Leigh Colbert freaking tipped us FFS and Pickering & Parko said it will be close. Is there a lunar eclipse or some other weird cosmological phenomena occurring we aren't aware of?

Sandi is the key in this game, if he plays as well as he did in the last half of the Derby for the whole game, Carltank are going to be in a bit of trouble methinks.

Do you know anything about Judd???

Um, yep he lived here for 6 years, was Captain of our arch enemy and was in the media every other day !! Nice bloke apparently!
And as Ripper said, we've played against him heaps of times.
Do you know anything about the Rash ????????????????

There are no ruckmen in the comp that can match Sandi in the ruck contests, so we're not really at a disadvantage. Like at the Dome last year, where we easily won the clearances from memory, we'll spend the time trying to shark and, given the strength of our midfield, its not a bad tactic. Hampson and Kreuzer are really, really mobile, so their main job will be to get around the ground and try stop Sandi if he sneaks forward.

What we do with Pav when he goes into the midfield is another question however.

Does making comparisons to last year really help you mate? Haselby, Pavlich, Hill... Should I go on? The Freo team is quite different in the midfield than it was last season.

I'm not saying Carltons midfield is bad, I am just saying that your argument sucks dogs balls!

I've been thinking about this. We have now plated against 2 teams that pride themselves on their midfield. The way the team is structured around it and how if they don't have the midfield dominance they really struggle to win, and howq did we go against those teams?

WE WON!!!

so if we can keep doing what we are doing then there should be no reason why we cant do the same

Nice theory, but Carltank's mids are in a different class than both Sydney's and the current Weevils teams, particularly as an offensive unit. If we don't win A LOT of clearences and make decent use of most of them then we will get pulled appart by Judd and his mates in no time. Their outs help given our big losses in the middle, but they aren't $1.30 for the win for nothing - we're going to be up against it.

We travel bad.
We play bad after derbies.
We need to tag this week / we lost our number one tagger.
Sandi has been ok - not great.

I say this coz I feel a surge in fortune which is unwarranted and leading to potential disappointment.
Expect us to play half a game of good footy.
Expect us to win at least one quarter.
Expect us to show some improvement in some areas.

We will not win the premiership this year, we will be lucky to make the 8, and we will be lucky to beat carlton this week. Don' be disappointed if we lose. We have a fraction of our top 22 on the park. Enjoy the game.

Hampson, Kruezer and Cloke good to see they are not worried about Sandi :p...sacrificing a fair bit of pace right there and GC is a biggish ground too.

Carrazzo is a big loss too.

Win Sandi's knocks and run em into the ground boys.

You're right that we're worried about Sandilands, I heard Ratten mention something about getting Kruez to stand on Clokes shoulders and we'll match it with him :D

But you're wrong on the pace part. Cloke has been playing basically as a forward this season, so he's irrelevant. We all know Kruez is fast, Hampson however, is even quicker (pretty sure he's the quickest if not one of the quickest at our club) he's a freak of an athelete. Let's hope he can run forward and kick a couple of goals :thumbsu:

Good luck, I think your guys will be up against it....but I also said that vs Essendon :o

Im sorry, are there people on here trying to convince me Sandi is a dud athlete and that guys like Hampson will do a number on him?

Seriously WTF?????

Im sorry, are there people on here trying to convince me Sandi is a dud athlete and that guys like Hampson will do a number on him?

Seriously WTF?????
If Hampson was such a gem, they wouldn't have opened up the cheque book shopping around for a better ruckman. Let's see they go on a real ruckman, rather then those second rate backups at training. Teams don't use their ruckmen as link through players unless their marking and disposal are top class and better options aren't around.

Seriously WTF?????
Thats not what we are saying. Sandi is a far, far better ruckman than Hampson and will monster him in the ruck contests.

However, the point was is that Hampson is an incredible athlete - apparently in the top 3 fastest over 20m at Carlton, which is insane at 200 odd cms. Because he's much more athletic than Sandi, he needs to try get around the ground and hurt him that way. Not saying he will, just saying thats what he needs to try and do.

Does making comparisons to last year really help you mate? Haselby, Pavlich, Hill... Should I go on? The Freo team is quite different in the midfield than it was last season.

I'm not saying Carltons midfield is bad, I am just saying that your argument sucks dogs balls!

Pav played last year big guy, although can't remember how much time he spent in the middle. As did Palmer and Crowley, who are noticeable absentees this time round.

Pavlich wasn't doing a whole lot up forward after the ball supply started swinging our way. Then he moved into the middle and killed it. IIRC he had quite a few clearances.

4 goals 2 behinds, 2 goal assists and 7 I50 that's pretty impressive from 16 disposals. Going to be very interesting to see who goes with him

If Pav runs into the middle I can't see Ratten letting him go head to head with Judd. Hopefully Waite runs with him, though if he stays closer to goal I think he'll towell Waite up. Going to be interesting either way

Last year the team played awfully and didn't lose by much. Of our midfield, it was the two youngest, Ibbo and Palmer, that did the hard work. Senior guys like Bell, McManus and Black hardly put an effort in. Carr was out on suspension. There was a pathetic absence of effort from our senior players, I don't think we'll miss them in this match.

That said, we've played worse than that this year. Carlton are better than they were last year. Should be an interesting match.

:rolleyes:

Ive heard that before. Run Sandi off his feet. Not very agile for a big man. blah blah blah.

One position im confident we'll dominate is the ruck. Both possessions wise and taps wise. Sandi/Johnson will give Kreuzer/Hampson/Cloke/whoever quite a pantsing.

Its just a worry everywhere else on the ground.

Sandilands has had more possessions than Kreuzer this year. It might surprise Carlton supporters but it doesn't surprise any freo fans.

Sandilands might not be quick over the first 20 but his endurance is elite for his size. Sandilands chases his own taps as good as any ruckman in the league. No 2nd/3rd year ruckman will run Sandilands off his feet. Cox couldn't do it last week. In fact Sandi/Johnson left Cox off his feet at the end of the game.

Also Sandilands is leading all ruckman in clearances this year. His hands in close are as good as any topline midfielder. He finished top 10 in clearances last year including all players.

The ruck is one area that wouldn't concern any freo fan. Particularly against one of the weakest ruck divisions in the league.

It doesn't really surprise me he has more possessions then Kruezer even though its only just Kruezer is only in his 2nd season and if you have watched us this year you will know we aren't as bad in the ruck anymore we have risen from an avg 24 hitouts per game last year to 35 this year.

Most Hit Outs#Round22Rd 6, 2009 21Rd 2, 2009 21Rd 1, 2009 16Rd 3, 2009 15Rd 16, 2008 14Rd 5, 2009

Those are Kruezers best hitout games ever and 5/6 of them have come this season the only game thats not up there was against Jolly who is easily the best ruckman in the comp so we are not as bad as you believe we are in the ruck.

It is a pity Jacobs is down injured because contrary to popular belief we were sitting in the top 4 sides for hitouts after playing Sydney who are easily #1 at this stage so our rucks aren't as bad as you believe and the reason we have dropped off over the last 2 weeks was O'Hailpin was our 2nd ruck.

Hampson will easily improve our ruckwork and even allow Kreuzer to go forward at times which will cause sides like yours who over focus on fev headaches.

Just noticed Sandys Career high hitouts came vs Sydney so perhaps he is the best tap ruckman and not Jolly regardless we wont be trying to beat Sandy in the ruck once he gets a little tired he doesn't tap to advantage and Kreuzer could just play as a 4th midfielder.

Should be a good contest anyways, we can't afford to lose again to a side not tipped to make the finals since a tackle by ryder and a poster from fevola is the difference between us sitting at 5-1 instead of 3-3.

If we lose to freo who should finish bottom 4 I doubt we will make finals in 09 because that will be 3 games we have coughed up which is to much to make up later in the season.

If Hampson was such a gem, they wouldn't have opened up the cheque book shopping around for a better ruckman. Let's see they go on a real ruckman, rather then those second rate backups at training. Teams don't use their ruckmen as link through players unless their marking and disposal are top class and better options aren't around.

Because Hampson is a Freak Athlete not an elite ruckman. He finished in the top 4-5 in our club time trials which for a guy at 200cm is impressive.

Kruezer has some of the safest hands you will ever see in a ruckman and Hampson is a ex-basketball player so neither is a worry about dropping marks so they are perfect link up players who then feed off handballs to a midfielder streaming past.

Watch saturday and you will see it a lot, we will kick to Kreuzer and Hampson on the wing. They will give the ball off to Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Stevens and give a shepard to give that player 5m of free space to spot up a target inside forward 50 and drill it onto Fev's chest.

Because Hampson is a Freak Athlete not an elite ruckman. He finished in the top 4-5 in our club time trials which for a guy at 200cm is impressive.

Kruezer has some of the safest hands you will ever see in a ruckman and Hampson is a ex-basketball player so neither is a worry about dropping marks so they are perfect link up players who then feed off handballs to a midfielder streaming past.

Watch saturday and you will see it a lot, we will kick to Kreuzer and Hampson on the wing. They will give the ball off to Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Stevens and give a shepard to give that player 5m of free space to spot up a target inside forward 50 and drill it onto Fev's chest.

Hampson was a soccer player not basketball. Also his marking is a little suspect. He played pre-season as a Hale type FF and was very impressive just needs to stick his marks a bit better

Sounds like our new young back up ruck Zac Clarke would have made an interesting match up.

Is already one of our top trial runners in his first year. Also a gun with his marks and hit outs.

How many ruckmen do they need in a team??? Too big and slow. 120kg Sandi will smash the Blues tiny "ruck". I would love too see him go really hard at the body of Kreuz and Hampson. Cloke = useless log. McPharlin will towel up Kreuzer when he's forward like he does most opponents.
We match up well all over the ground except the midfield. Centre clearance defence will be crucial - Sandi to mix it up, bash it long forward etc to keep it away from Judd. Also fwd 50 and midfield pressure to allow us to get back and clog up Fevs space will be crucial.
I think Carlton will target our youngsters, although no-one much to fear in their team and there will be some feeling in the match. Look forward to Solly, Sandi and hopefully Pav dishing out some pain in return.
Last years game does not hold much comparison - we are crapola at Eddiehat stadium and CG will suit us much better.

My bad always thought it was basketball he came from.

Say What?

Matthew Kreuzer 19 possessions 1 mark 10 hitouts 0 goals clearances 2
Shaun Hampson 12 possessoins 2 marks 6 hitouts 0 goals clearances 0
Cameron Cloke 9 possessions 4 marks 4 hitouts 1 goal clearances 2

Aaron Sandilands 25 possessions 7 marks 42 hitouts 1 goals clearances 5

I think the 3 of them combined just shaded Sandi......just.

If only:D

Sandilands is a great ruckman & showed it today, both WA clubs have great ruckman & carlton have Kruezer, but we desperatly need a taller ruckman(Warnock)...

Say What?
Matthew Kreuzer 19 possessions 1 mark 10 hitouts 0 goals clearances 2
Shaun Hampson 12 possessoins 2 marks 6 hitouts 0 goals clearances 0
Cameron Cloke 9 possessions 4 marks 4 hitouts 1 goal clearances 2

Aaron Sandilands 25 possessions 7 marks 42 hitouts 1 goals clearances 5
I think the 3 of them combined just shaded Sandi......just.

Excellent point goochie - Sandi faced 3 opponents and
  • Had the same marks as the other 3 combined;
  • Kicked the same number of goals as the other 3 combined;
  • Had MORE clearances than the other 3 combined; and
  • Slaughtered them in the hitouts.
And he had more possesions than any of them individually, and came within 15 possies of the 3 of them combined. Awesome, awesome effort.

Must have happened in the bits I missed??!? FWIW, I reckon the lack of shepherding from Cartltank really stood out - Judd, Murphy and Kreuz were the only ones who seemed to want to do that.