Telstra Dome is a Disgrace

I am a smoker and wish the government would ban the killer product!!!! Problem is that they really don't give a s*it because it brings in big tax dollars:mad:

Exactly. The Government makes an obscene amount of money off tobacco products. I mean where else in the world does a pack of cigarettes cost over $10? Nowhere.
They're raking in the tax dollars from smokers yet they pretend to actually give a shit by banning smoking in pubs/clubs etc. and bringing out those advertising campaigns showing how f'ed up you'll become if you smoke. They're a bunch of hypocrites. If they really cared they'd ban it,simple.

Heres a tip ..When you eventually do go to Melbourne to watch the footy ..STAY AWAY from the Dome ..it is an overpriced overrated venue with absolutely no atmosphere ....stick with the G, which is the best venue in Australia .

I've been to Melbourne once to watch the footy and that was in 2005. I saw Kangaroos vs West Coast at the dome on Friday Night. Richmond play Essendon at the MCG and St Kilda play Carlton at the dome with the roof open on sunday.

It is funny because the only day I went to the G, it was raining. The two days at the dome was fine (Obviously the Friday game would be because the roof was closed).

The only bad thing that I noticed about the dome was that it is overpriced.

Exactly. The Government makes an obscene amount of money off tobacco products. I mean where else in the world does a pack of cigarettes cost over $10? Nowhere.
They're raking in the tax dollars from smokers yet they pretend to actually give a shit by banning smoking in pubs/clubs etc. and bringing out those advertising campaigns showing how f'ed up you'll become if you smoke. They're a bunch of hypocrites. If they really cared they'd ban it,simple.
Does tobacco smoke also cause people to lose their maths ability?

Tobacco costs the government billions of dollars per year - medical costs of tobacco related illnesses are many times the amount of money gained by taxing the products.

Governments care about one thing alone - votes. How many seats would a goverment be sacrificing by banning tobacco altogether?

As for the dome - it may sound like a simple solution, but why not just make the caged off areas bigger? Add more of them? Surely the costs of an extra couple of security guards (one at the entrance of each new cage) would be a drop in the ocean compared to the running costs of the venue.

Suppose you're cool with junkies shooting up at the footy. Obviously the AFL tolerate thir filthy habits by placing sharps bins in every shitter at AFL grounds, but treat smokers like lepers.

Hear Hear Lidge :thumbsu: - my sentiments exactly, those bins in public loos aren't for diabetics but for junkies who are using an illegal substance, sale of in some countries is the death penalty. Last time I looked cigarettes was a legal product that partaking of didn't risk a jail sentence.

Tho we all know the AFL's sympathy and tolerance for over paid junkies who take drugs don't we.;)

Qld has had those poxy new smoking laws in for a while grrrr but one bonus, and the only one IMO, of going to Carrara is that there are roped off areas behind stands for us smokers. Some people have said "stuff it" if I want to smoke behind the stand, roped or not I will.

My final comment is, so you non-smokers aren't happy, well what about us smokers that have to put up with drunken yobbos and pain in the arse kids who have no interest in the footy and make our life hell while we are trying to watch the game.

Umm..non-smokers have to put up with them too, idiot.

I am not a doctor, but to add to the above, I do believe that noisy children are not hazardous to your health

Tobacco costs the government billions of dollars per year - medical costs of tobacco related illnesses are many times the amount of money gained by taxing the products.

Governments care about one thing alone - votes. How many seats would a goverment be sacrificing by banning tobacco altogether?

As for the dome - it may sound like a simple solution, but why not just make the caged off areas bigger? Add more of them? Surely the costs of an extra couple of security guards (one at the entrance of each new cage) would be a drop in the ocean compared to the running costs of the venue.
...and maybe one day there will be a polititian who decideds that he would like to go down in history as the person who made a difference no matter what the political costs?.
Problem is that most poli's are just concerned with lining their own pockets, balancing the books and winning votes and don't really care about the general wellbeing of the public.

this is very true. Whilst not having the exact figures I remember from medical school days the cost of tobacco related illness is approximately 10 times the revenue gained from taxing the product. My opinion on why it is not banned is that there would be no immediate cost benefit as the health improvement in society would take years, and may benefit the opposition if they were in government at the time.

Unfortunately politics is not always about doing the correct thing. But smokers who think they pay their way through taxes on the product, therefore giving them a moral right when using the product, are delusional (although they keep me in business)

this is very true. Whilst not having the exact figures I remember from medical school days the cost of tobacco related illness is approximately 10 times the revenue gained from taxing the product. My opinion on why it is not banned is that there would be no immediate cost benefit as the health improvement in society would take years, and may benefit the opposition if they were in government at the time.

Unfortunately politics is not always about doing the correct thing. But smokers who think they pay their way through taxes on the product, therefore giving them a moral right when using the product, are delusional (although they keep me in business)

Smokers die earlier therefore saving the community billions of dollars on pensions.

We should be applauded for willingly laying down our lives for the betterment of the non smoking community. :D

Although this is not about footy, it is an interesting topic! I am a smoker but hate it. Gave up for 2 years but took it up again when i had a recent relationship break up approximatly 3 months ago. Subsequent attempts at quitting have failed indicating that i am now well and truely hooked again!:(
Why wouldn't the government introduce a staged approach to banning the product. For example, stage 1 could be the banning of tailor made smokes. Therefore, anyone who wants to smoke would have to roll their own....a massive pain in the @ss for anyone not used to it or for kids who want to take up the habit. Also doesn't look as attractive to kids as the "Marlboro Man" tailored smokes?:confused:

????

Could someone explain how that works for someone who has never been to the Dome? Cages?

Some doors open onto the concourse surrounding the Dome.

You are effectively out side,with an area penned off.

I had a few gaspars out there during the Richmond flogging last week(as you can imagine):D

It's all rather Animal Farm(ish)

Baaaaa

As far as I'm concerned, the whole joint is just crap.

It has no soul, whatsoever. More than anywhere else, they make you feel like a sucker and just want your cash. The smoking situation is just a part of it.

The whole stadium has been designed to cater for for all the big knobs on the second level.
It's an awesome vantage point from there, but it's also a disgrace that so many prime seats are left vacant while everyone else shoe-horns into the nosebleed seats. Elitist bullsh1t. What about us, the fans?

The worst thing about the Telstra Dome is the way people don't really barrack. Something about the dynamics of the place, or the feng-shui, I don't know, but fans there are very passive. The whole atmosphere is lacking.

I reckon all this premium reserve seating memberships that clubs sell these days has fostered a new breed of soft football fan.
It could be my imagination, but I reckon there's a lot of fans who only turn up to their home games at the Dome. They sit there in their $300 seat like they're at the movies. Either they have no money left over to pay for a visitors ticket the following week at the MCG, or they can't watch footy unless they have roof over their heads.

Oh, damn, what a pity :rolleyes:

I for one am sick of sitting outside on a nice sunny day, with a smoker sitting next to me blowing smoking everywhere. Oh, and walking down the Cappo Strip at Freo, idiots who walk and blow smoke behind them or hold their cigarette over their shoulder as they are walking. :thumbsd:

Serves you right shibz, sucked in for going there, the Cappuccino Strip in Freo is packed with crustie hippies, feral bogans, petty thieves and primary school kids. Oh and Dockers supporters (all of the above) ;)

How is it this thread became a "Quit Smoking" advertisement? I think the point here is that smokers (and I am not one) have human rights just like the rest of us, we apparently have the right to sit at the footy and not have to inhale second hand smoke, so why is it that appropriate places for those who choose to smoke are not provided?

Its discrimination...

I agree smokers have the right to smoke a legal substance......however when that right interferes with a non-smokers right to breathe air free of cigarette smoke they have the responsability to stop. Basic rights and responsabilities that is taught in your local primary school.

Why then is a cage, in the open, seperated from non-smokers inappropriate? Clearly many smokers cannot use there judgement in when and where it is appropriate and responsible to light up so why not let someone make that decision for them?

I agree smokers have the right to smoke a legal substance......however when that right interferes with a non-smokers right to breathe air free of cigarette smoke they have the responsability to stop. Basic rights and responsabilities that is taught in your local primary school.

Why then is a cage, in the open, seperated from non-smokers inappropriate? Clearly many smokers cannot use there judgement in when and where it is appropriate and responsible to light up so why not let someone make that decision for them?

They've taken away the cages now.

Thats the whole point.

My turn to bellyache..........
On Sunday I went to the Locker Room for a pot before the game.
They had no glass pots so I paid the regulation ripoff $5.60 for a plastic takeaway then I wasn't allowed to take it outside!

They have to be kidding!

For example, stage 1 could be the banning of tailor made smokes. Therefore, anyone who wants to smoke would have to roll their own....a massive pain in the @ss for anyone not used to it or for kids who want to take up the habit. Also doesn't look as attractive to kids as the "Marlboro Man" tailored smokes?:confused:

Rollies taste better than tailors. I smoked for about 30 years and could never hack filter tips.

My turn to bellyache..........
On Sunday I went to the Locker Room for a pot before the game.
They had no glass pots so I paid the regulation ripoff $5.60 for a plastic takeaway then I wasn't allowed to take it outside!

They have to be kidding!

You're allowed to smoke pot at TD?! :eek:

The only public buildings where you can smoke in Qld now are prisons. They tried to ban it but the inmates burnt one of the prisons down in protest. I'm not advocating that, but life is only going to get harder for smokers.

Anyone who thinks Telstra Dome is a joke.....

....take a flight to Adelaide and visit AAMI stadium.

I went there on the weekend for the Port vs Richmond match and let me tell you, that place is an ABSOLUTE JOKE. Anyone that has been to ANY Melbourne ground would agree with me in saying it is just not up to scratch when it comes to hosting an AFL match.

For starters the ticketing system is a joke. Once tickets are sold out at one gate, you have to go to another gate to buy tickets as they are already printed out. Not to mention they are sold out of a tent that you'd see at your local school fete. PATHETIC

Secondly, you cannot enjoy a beer whilst watching the game which i found absolutely ridiculous. No wonder no-one wants to go to the bloody ground!

ANY of the Melbourne grounds (including Vic Park, Optus Oval and even Arden St :D ) S**T all over AAMI.

Re: Anyone who thinks Telstra Dome is a joke.....

Yep, piece of crap, hate going there. Would prefer to travel to melb on a plane and watch a game at the MCG or Dome than go to AAMI.