That tackle..

Kochie's 2nd fave team
Stiffy johncock.. You legend.. What a game from him but to pull off that tackle on probably the hardest player to stick tackles on, ablett, was possibly game saving.. You could make threads on so many things tonight but that tackle was simply ridiculous.. I havn't seen a replay of it but when ablett marked the ball and did his little shimmy thing, i thought "oh no".. I was watching him struggle to run and wondering what he was doing, johncock had no right to have stopped him..

They were charging at us in the last quarter too at this stage, if he got away he had open field everywhere ahead of him..

One of the best tackles i've seen, thread worthy :D

Salute this man :thumbsu:

Didn't Ablett look shirty afterward!

Yeah he did, and I reckon he sat hunched over for longer than he should sooking about it. Brilliant tackle, crucial stage. Was a fair way from me, remember thinking please dont get clear Gaj, he shimmys, turns stiffy inside out- he's away- no wait! Stiffy with a fist full of jumper- gaaawn!

Didn't Ablett look shirty afterward!
might've been at the fact that he had no teammates around him to back him up... though what a fantastic tackle!!! Jaensch's tackle on Ablett was also a ripper...held on to him for a long time, was slipping down, and i kept thinking Ablett would break free because he's so hard to tackle, but eventually Ablett got caught holding the ball. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Ablett also gave off a high fend off, which should've been a FA for him as well.

Stiffy johncock.. You legend.. What a game from him but to pull off that tackle on probably the hardest player to stick tackles on, ablett, was possibly game saving.. You could make threads on so many things tonight but that tackle was simply ridiculous.. I havn't seen a replay of it but when ablett marked the ball and did his little shimmy thing, i thought "oh no".. I was watching him struggle to run and wondering what he was doing, johncock had no right to have stopped him..

They were charging at us in the last quarter too at this stage, if he got away he had open field everywhere ahead of him..

One of the best tackles i've seen, thread worthy :D

Salute this man :thumbsu:

Nothing possibly about it, that was it. Hairs on the back of your neck stuff.

In the members 3/4 of the bay was on its feet clapping for a good 15 secs after.

Cometh the hour, cometh the stiffy.

might've been at the fact that he had no teammates around him to back him up... though what a fantastic tackle!!! Jaensch's tackle on Ablett was also a ripper...held on to him for a long time, was slipping down, and i kept thinking Ablett would break free because he's so hard to tackle, but eventually Ablett got caught holding the ball. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Ablett also gave off a high fend off, which should've been a FA for him as well.

Not far from me that one, he hit vince..

I couldn't believe it was let go, but no different from the rest of the umpiring..

Not far from me that one, he hit vince..

I couldn't believe it was let go, but no different from the rest of the umpiring..

We always get pinged for high fend offs but not Gablett. Starting to dislike him big time.

It's not the first time Johncock's done such a tackle, remember against Carlton 2008 where he ran down Judd running into goal at the MCG?

Johncock is a million times better than Harry O'Brien....

Johncock is one of my faves.. Just gotta love him..

I feel most at ease when the ball is in his hands, smart in traffic and uses it pinpoint..

I cannot recall seeing him caught in a tackle let alone holding the ball.. It just never happens.. And it's not his speed (though it helps), it's his smarts, composure etc..

[youtube]ClcSRIcQPXA[/youtube]

Gary had a shocked look on his face like...I got tackled?? But I'm Gary Ablett?? No-one can tackle me after my shimmy.

Stiff is the best small denfender in the league, he is coming into some rare form.

Watched Ablett's fend off on Vince just before after taping it:D...* me we got the raw end of it tonight, not matter what the count reads at the end of the game.

I was actually a little disapointed

That after the game someone didnt come out and give Stiffy the Yellow Jacket straight away. For that alone he deserves, not to mention he HAS been our best player all year.

Given the last two years he has had, off the field not on, for him to be playing at the level he is is a testament to the quality of person he is.

Best Half Back in the league.

Inspirational.

I reckon I remember a similar match winning tackle on Judd a few years ago when Stiffy managed to nab him by the bottom of his jumper in similar fashion.

It's about time this fantastic little footballer received the recognition he deserves. He's the best small backman in the competition. Must get AA this year.

Everyone loves a good Stiffy. He is a legend! Yes he deserves the Yellow jacket and AA!

This just proves how underrated Johncock is. He's always been fantastic off half back, and if one player on the team was called upon to do a gamesaving tackle on one of the best in the league, i'd want it to be Johncock. Other's might be intimidated, but Johncock just did what he needed to do. Bloody brilliant man.

Watching the replay now. Thank god he stuck the Gablett tackle! Johncock missed the one on Varcoe in the first quarter costing us the first goal of the game as Varcoe ran into an open goal. Looks like Johncock assumed Varcoe was going to kick straight away and made a lunging push-tackle attempt that let Varcoe stroll into goal. Was Stevens fault in the begining though for a bad 20m pass, missing its target ;)