The 2013 Draft - Post Mortem

• Thread starter Thread starter Chris25

You are right about Scharenberg, I think he could end up the best player from the draft.

Don't know why Scharenberg slided. I remember watching him play for Immanuel College against Rostrevor last year and it was quite possibly the best junior performance by a SA junior.

Normally Rostrevor toy with Immanuel, but not this day and it was soley on the back of Scharenberg. From what I have seen, he is more talented than Kelly, Billings and Aish, the only reason he could have slid is that he has no set position. I've seen him dominate games as a defender, a mid and even as a forward.

Pretty sure they are changing the AFL Hall of Fame criteria to get Lennon in straight away next year.

What a crock of a troll post, a mod no less.

NOBODY has said Lennon is better then Goddard, you guys are acting like complete idiots. Most of you have no idea, its clear by your posting you have not seen the kid play. To that guy who believes his speed is an issue lol.

Lennon can play in the below area of the ground.

• Forward
  • Midfield
  • Half back
All I have ever said is that TO ME at lennons AGE he is a more natural 2 sided kick then Goddard. regardless of your trolling lennon is a elite kick and I am damn stoked we have got him.
Anyway, done feeding the monkeys

Might put a couple of hundred on Lennon for the Brownlow, sounds like a monty to win it.

I'm a Tigers supporter and this thread genuinely makes me laugh. Hope Lennon is a gun and I've never been BJ's biggest fan admittedly but if he plays anything like him we've got a steal. Either way they'll probably turn out to be completely different players so we'll see where Lennon winds up.

If Freeman got through to our pick I wouldn't have been disappointed if we picked him up, looks the goods and I think Collingwood may have got themselves a ripper there.

Lennon is just a poor man's Tim Sumner :)

thread has taken a turn for the worst.

It's all subjective, that's the beauty of it, some you personally rate really highly and slide (Merrett, Aish), some really sneak up on you when they get taken high (Leslie, Apeness), and some you reckon are pretty handy and don't get drafted all (Wilson, Cameron). No one is right, and no one is wrong...yet.

Lennon.....

Oh he can also play Half Back as well...yup goddard is a good comparasion, he just has a better kick then goddard

Sorry mate you said that hes a better kick then Goddard, who's probably a top 5 kick in the competition over the last 10 years. Its great that you rate the kid, however no matter how good you think the kid will be you shouldn't be making statements like that until he has played a bit more AFL level footy. Good luck with your future posts :)

WTF. Nothing rude or unpolite yet posts deleted. Must love getting on that high horse these hero mods. Those poste were directly related to the subject at hand.

Considering the shit fight which just went on about that player all you were doing is fueling the fire. Chris25 actually just prevented it starting all over again.

Chris25 How do you rate Fremantle's draft?

I quite liked it. I didn't necessarily rate the players where we picked them, but they all have a lot of upside and fit both our needs and game style. Apeness gives us that true marking target that we've never really had, and Pearce has a heap of potential and I'm really intrigued to see how his development as a defender goes. Getting Vandeleur, Wood and Ballard in the rookie draft capped it off - all three have good chances at making the grade in my opinion.

Ultimately, a lot will be riding on Pearce. Because Apeness has the size to at least be a decent backup ruck/forward, if he never develops. But Pearce will be hit or miss.

You offered no insight at all. Merely copy and pasted a couple of paragraphs.

Considering the shit fight which just went on about that player all you were doing is fueling the fire. Chris25 actually just prevented it starting all over again.

Fair enuf, but i wasn't part of the arguing/trolling and my posts did not include any slurs towards anyone as did many of the others.

I offered insight about the player lol.

By copy and pasting something that someone else wrote, and is easily accessible on the internet? Plus, it was done so incorrectly in terms of the BigFooty rules of quoting articles.

Apparently next year, we are recruiting a Mcartney and a Harrison. Wow, We'll have Lennon, Mcartney and Harrison, now we only need to recruit a star.

Imo the clear winners were

Saints: Got a bunch of fantastic kids
Lions: Same with saints, high number of high quality kids that went later than perhaps they should of
Collingwood: Scharenberg and Freeman are perfect fits, plus Marsh is a late steal
Hawthorn: Got two super talented players with huge potential

Brisbane drafted well, but i'm hesitant to call them winners because of the circumstances under which they got all those high picks.

think the crows have done well when you add in the rookie draft

Jack Package ... it will be interesting to see how the lions fare long term which will be the true gauge on how well the draft went. We will forever see the comparsions of the 5 that walk against some of the new guys and fair enough...but:

*Getting Aish at #7 looks a real win as teams above kindly passed for needs based picks
* Polec out is great for the lions (sure we burnt a top 5 pick on him) as this would be the last year he holds any trade value, and when you look at his pathetic results in Ports early pre-season you can see how he was destined ffor failure at the lions...perhaps port can get him up and going
* Karnezis... Lazy as hell and another the lions are better without... I genuinely feel all of our draftees will have bigger careers then him
* Yep will be the stinger, although hopefully a sliding Taylor will make his lost lesser
* Docherty had a element of "Potential" in his drafting and never looked that great with his "Elite Kicking" seeming a myth once he headed north
* Longer... hopefully the last top 10 ruck the lions take for quite some time...strange selection at the time and the recruiters should of had written warnings put on their desks after that effort ...lol

Over all...look at the players we lost and we lost a heap of weak players (under our system) and got some real talented footballers and less project types... Early on Im happy