The 2014 Attendance Thread

what would you put it down to? the sunday night fixture?

Ridiculous time to fixture it. 4:40 on a Sunday when there were no other AFL matches on today. Should have been at 1:10 or 3:20. The AFL needs to fix up it's fixturing department.

Having said all of that it was a horrible crowd. All of these fair-weather Saints supporters disgust me (here I was thinking we had one of the most loyal supporter bases in the AFL)!

Ridiculous time to fixture it. 4:40 on a Sunday when there were no other AFL matches on today. Should have been at 1:10 or 3:20. The AFL needs to fix up it's fixturing department.

Having said all of that it was a horrible crowd. All of these fair-weather Saints supporters disgust me (here I was thinking we had one of the most loyal supporter bases in the AFL)!
they do have a decent supporter base considering their pretty poor history, they have the best hardcore celebrity fanclub out of all the clubs, but who knows what the go is, the sunday night fixture doesn't exactly work. people want to be at home ready for work and school.

Agree Sunday arvo (4.40pm) can hurt attendances no doubt but one would think at least 20K would've attended...
yeah for sure
14k turn up any any game in melbourneo_O
you would think the game is being played up on the gold coast

yeah for sure
14k turn up any any game in melbourneo_O
you would think the game is being played up on the gold coast

Having watched most of the match on Foxtel I dont see much of a future for St Kilda going forward The stupid timeslot wouldnt have helped the crowd figure but 20,00 should have been more like it
With such a poor crowd as this the Saints would have lost a lot of money that they cannot afford right now.

Their first half was woeful and you wonder who they will beat next.

With fading stars like Roo,Fisher and Hayes near the end or their careers and not much in the way of talent coming through you have to wonder what the future holds esp if the fans give up on them in droves..

Concerns with pricing? It would have been a C game surely - bargain basement tickets for everyone.
I suspect the timeslot is a major factor in people not showing up. That and the quality of the product being offered.

Having watched most of the match on Foxtel I dont see much of a future for St Kilda going forward The stupid timeslot wouldnt have helped the crowd figure but 20,00 should have been more like it
With such a poor crowd as this the Saints would have lost a lot of money that they cannot afford right now.

Their first half was woeful and you wonder who they will beat next.

With fading stars like Roo,Fisher and Hayes near the end or their careers and not much in the way of talent coming through you have to wonder what the future holds esp if the fans give up on them in droves..
with the current amount of teams in victoria and the growing dependence on the AFL offering them hand outs. at least 1 or 2 teams have to go or merge

Nah not 1.10pm - not conducive to big crowds either that timeslot. 3.20pm would have been the best although that is normally reserved for Channel 7 games, and as this was only on Foxtel and not on FTA in Victoria, that is a really bad result. Watched it on the telly and there seemed to be quite a few Gold Coast supporters there as well behind the goals. GC are actually playing well and Ablett is in fine form - surprised there weren't many neutrals at this game.

1:10 is preferable to 4:40 IMO, reckon the crowd would have 1-2,000 better if played then.

with the current amount of teams in victoria and the growing dependence on the AFL offering them hand outs. at least 1 or 2 teams have to go or merge

That would be the right business thing to do but you saw how hard it was to get rid of Fitzroy when they were a basket case.

Foxtel needs content thats why the AFL has 18 teams and you only have to look at the money it costs them to run the Foxtel Cup that is just a filler like tomorrow night the game is at the MCG which would cost thousands to open for a game that at most might attract a few hundred fans.

That would be the right business thing to do but you saw how hard it was to get rid of Fitzroy when they were a basket case.

Foxtel needs content thats why the AFL has 18 teams and you only have to look at the money it costs them to run the Foxtel Cup that is just a filler like tomorrow night the game is at the MCG which would cost thousands to open for a game that at most might attract a few hundred fans.

yeah but it was easy getting rid of University :P

The AFL can't allow the corporate dollar to ruin the game. Broadcasters will always be pushing for more games/new teams, the AFL talent pool is already streched too far, so new teams can't be added unless a new talent pool is found (and producing at least 44 AFL quality players a year) or a current team or two folds. I hope the AFL doesnt expand beyond 20 teams anytime soon or the one sided games will just be more frequent.

The Foxtel cup idea should be a lot bigger than it is. Should almost be run like an FA cup style event. Dont just grab top 2 teams from the state leagues, start it early in the year, have amature comps playing off, and rising through the ranks, have every team in the country has a chance to play in the foxtel cup (should they win their own league) and have maybe state playoffs to see who along with the state comp sides go through. Get the AFL on board and the bottom 2 sides of the previous year also play in the comp. Make the prize money worth a bit. Could unearth a great deal of talent.

St Kilda should be demanding the AFL pay their bill to Etihad for this one. Sunday twilight during a school term is a tough sell regardless of who is playing, add in St Kilda had a Monday night game the week before which has the same problem, a low drawing interstate team and that St Kilda were never going to be finals contenders this year and it had under 20k written all over it from the moment the draw was released. Add in St Kilda's poor form and under 15k was seriously on the cards when Etihad would've arranged their staffing levels.

Everyone except Foxtel would've preferred the 3:20 time, St Kilda fans, sponsors, corporates remember they too have to work today, GC to make it easier to fly home after the game. No excuse for this time slot at all from the AFL, all it does is prove that the AFL rigs the fixture to suit tv in just the same manner as NRL, they just refuse to admit it.

St Kilda should be demanding the AFL pay their bill to Etihad for this one. Sunday twilight during a school term is a tough sell regardless of who is playing, add in St Kilda had a Monday night game the week before which has the same problem, a low drawing interstate team and that St Kilda were never going to be finals contenders this year and it had under 20k written all over it from the moment the draw was released. Add in St Kilda's poor form and under 15k was seriously on the cards when Etihad would've arranged their staffing levels.

Everyone except Foxtel would've preferred the 3:20 time, St Kilda fans, sponsors, corporates remember they too have to work today, GC to make it easier to fly home after the game. No excuse for this time slot at all from the AFL, all it does is prove that the AFL rigs the fixture to suit tv in just the same manner as NRL, they just refuse to admit it.
Not sure that the AFL would "allow" (if that is the right word) the game to be played at 3.20pm given that is the Channel 7 slot - and this was a Foxtel exclusive game.

Why not no other game was on yesterday and that is my point. No clash with Ch7

Channel 7 were showing the V8s yesterday. Would have easily rated higher than St. Kilda V Gold Coast even if that was FTA.

Rubbish. The v8s rated 218k on 7 and 164k on 7 mate (the broadcasts were not at the same time).

The St Kilda v Gold Coast game rated higher than that on Fox. It would have got 400k on FTA.

yeah but it was easy getting rid of University :p

The AFL can't allow the corporate dollar to ruin the game. Broadcasters will always be pushing for more games/new teams, the AFL talent pool is already streched too far, so new teams can't be added unless a new talent pool is found (and producing at least 44 AFL quality players a year) or a current team or two folds. I hope the AFL doesnt expand beyond 20 teams anytime soon or the one sided games will just be more frequent.

The Foxtel cup idea should be a lot bigger than it is. Should almost be run like an FA cup style event. Dont just grab top 2 teams from the state leagues, start it early in the year, have amature comps playing off, and rising through the ranks, have every team in the country has a chance to play in the foxtel cup (should they win their own league) and have maybe state playoffs to see who along with the state comp sides go through. Get the AFL on board and the bottom 2 sides of the previous year also play in the comp. Make the prize money worth a bit. Could unearth a great deal of talent.

Great deal of talent eh !! Pull the other leg !!

The AFL lists are scraping the bottom of the barrell to have enough talent, not many mature age guys coming through at all.

Not against the Foxtel Cup, watch it out of curiousity, but hidden talent NO!

The AFL lists are scraping the bottom of the barrell to have enough talent, not many mature age guys coming through at all.

I would disagree here, i think there is a lot of late bloomers that get overlooked because they were not built like men at 15/16, but there is a dearth of good big men, but has that always been the case ?

Anyway the wheels keep turning and once again the AFL and clubs have thrown out the invites to American big men, and you never know.

7 foot tall guys don't grow on trees you know, well !!, maybe they do in America, particuarly if they miss the NBA.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-07/tall-tale-heads-down-under

Swans really seem to be ahead in this game.

I would disagree here, i think there is a lot of late bloomers that get overlooked because they were not built like men at 15/16, but there is a dearth of good big men, but has that always been the case ?

Anyway the wheels keep turning and once again the AFL and clubs have thrown out the invites to American big men, and you never know.

7 foot tall guys don't grow on trees you know, well !!, maybe they do in America, particuarly if they miss the NBA.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-07/tall-tale-heads-down-under

Swans really seem to be ahead in this game.

You seem to agree that not many mature age guys are coming thru?

Maybe you didn't understand the post... I wasn't saying right now in the foxtel cup is a great deal of talent, I was saying if they did an FA cup style comp with every club in Australia able to compete then they could unearth a great deal of talent. Having lived in the country for most of my life, you would be surprised at the talent some footballers have, but for what ever reason didn't want to have a crack at playing state league comps. These are the types of players that can be unearthed. Im not saying they will find 10 Gary Abletts running around, but might find 10 Roger James running around. Good serviceable players.

Not surprised for one second - there was a time when the likes of Nat Fyfe would play a game or two, or a season, then go back home. Not everyone wants to be an AFL footballer.

Geelong vs North Melb (Simonds) - 27,402
GWS vs Richmond (Spotless) - 8,331
Collingwood vs WCE (MCG) - 53,049
Port Adelaide vs Hawthorn (Adelaide Oval) - 52,233

Record breaking crowd for an AFL match in South Australia, previous best was 51,140 in round 5 2003 Crows vs Power