Mega Thread The 2017 'Buckley's Chances' Thread

Every premiership coach was once a rookie coach desperate to prove himself so that in itself shouldn't be a disqualifier.

It doesn't always work out but taking a chance on something better is always the right direction to take rather than sticking with something that is shown to be not quite right because of the fear of uncertainty.

In the age of the top 8 any coach surviving beyond the point we have reached with Nathan is very unlikely. Given the solid foundation he had to build from I don't see any justification for the basic pass mark of finals not to be reached again in 2017.

The beautiful irony in all this is that Nathan himself has shown far more awareness of his situation than his supporters when he declared that he didn't expect to be reappointed should we not play finals.

Question now is does one E. McGuire have the same ability as the coach to make a frank and honest assessment of the situation based purely on the cold hard evidence of the past 6 seasons or will emotion win out?

Call for calm.
Footy is an emotional roller coaster.
Ed has his Footy Show back at Maguire Media.
With some luck he will step away from some of his overbearing yet seemingly unofficial positions at Collingwood.
I saw Gary Pert in tears some weeks back.
I predict the same for Nathan.

1. Cwood doesn't do calm, but it's a world leader in emotional roller coasters
2. Ed - you did good stuff at Cwood in 1st 10 years - now go back to the media full time - (The Footy Show alone needs you 24/7 to improve it)
3. Gary Pert in tears!! - he got paid - no-one's paid me for the tears I've shed for Cwood
4. Nathan - who knows??

Every premiership coach was once a rookie coach desperate to prove himself so that in itself shouldn't be a disqualifier.

It doesn't always work out but taking a chance on something better is always the right direction to take rather than sticking with something that is shown to be not quite right because of the fear of uncertainty.

In the age of the top 8 any coach surviving beyond the point we have reached with Nathan is very unlikely. Given the solid foundation he had to build from I don't see any justification for the basic pass mark of finals not to be reached again in 2017.

The beautiful irony in all this is that Nathan himself has shown far more awareness of his situation than his supporters when he declared that he didn't expect to be reappointed should we not play finals.

Question now is does one E. McGuire have the same ability as the coach to make a frank and honest assessment of the situation based purely on the cold hard evidence of the past 6 seasons or will emotion win out?
would buck's demise signal the end for Ed as well?

Same cattle but improved which means they play better, you're not denying that players improve are you? If not what are you trying to say?

It seems to me you're the only one in denial. My post was unambiguous but don't let that stop trying to tell me what I'm saying.

Serious question but why do you think the playing group is so keen for Buckley to stay?

No-one likes change and uncertainty - with a new coach a few careers could be on the line. The players liked Weideman (he took them to the races etc) but Hafey took them to a GF (thanks Phil Carman)

No worries - I appreciate your civilised reply :).

Some BFs posters go the nuclear option if someone puts up a view 1.5 degrees different to theirs - I'll put that down to the fact that they frustrated, fiery, with a furious passion exacerbated by a prolonged lack of on field success...
Or we can just be a...holes! :D

I personally think that Bucks should go but i won't bag him out.

The problem I believe is that the club doesn't see an obvious replacement and lacks the balls to take a chance on a rookie coach.

I hope I'm wrong because i could hardly stand another year of this mediocre crap.

The problem I believe is that the club doesn't see an obvious replacement and lacks the balls to take a chance on a rookie coach.

I hope I'm wrong because i could hardly stand another year of this mediocre crap.
461 pages in a nutshell.

Perfect summary.

Better the devil we know than the devil we don't.

Yeah, I'm not quite there yet. Still not sure about extending Bucks beyond this year but see it as 1 year of mediocre crap or NQR performances, 3 years where I doubt any coach would have done any better, and 2 years of finals footy.

2012 was disappointing to lose to the Swannies but I doubt we'd have beaten the Hawks in the GF and may well have enabled them to have a 4-peat. It was also tempered because I was touring Ireland and Scotland.

2013 losing to Port was horrendous but merely confirmed where we were at as a team.

I have no denial that players improve after starting their careers

You're the only one suggesting the comment "it's all about the cattle" denies development.

No that was Westoz pie, I was replying to him (or her - no offence intended) - Westoz came up with "it's all about the cattle". If you go back through the thread you'll see that

You did say it was all about the cattle did you not? You did not mention anything on development, it looked like you were suggesting that it's cattle only - that's how I come to that conclusion

No that was Westoz pie, I was replying to him (or her - no offence intended) - Westoz came up with "it's all about the cattle". If you go back through the thread you'll see that

No, you were trying to put words into his mouth by suggesting that the "it's all about the cattle" comment denied development. Any clear thinking individual would naturally assume the cattle develop. Happy for you to point me to the premiership team where the cattle were compiled in a year and didn't have years of development in the squad as a case in point where they don't.

would buck's demise signal the end for Ed as well?

If we make a coaching change then he'll buy himself more time and goodwill as I firmly believe the majority who feel strongly about this issue and direction of the club have lost patience with Buckley (and a few others) .

If we stick with Bucks and we fail to make finals again in 2018 then the coach must walk the plank and Ed should go down with ship as he made the Captains call to retain.

If we make a coaching change then he'll buy himself more time and goodwill as I firmly believe the majority who feel strongly about this issue and direction of the club have lost patience with Buckley (and a few others) .

If we stick with Bucks and we fail to make finals again in 2018 then the coach must walk the plank and Ed should go down with ship as he made the Captains call to retain.

Its disastrous that Ed runs the club like his own personal fiefdom.

In that respect, I see a lot of benefit in him reapponting Bucks - essentially he would be betting the farm on the decision and there's every chance he would lose. That said, I reckon Eddie makes Machiavelli look like ST Francis of Assissi. My money is on him booting bucks to save his own skin.

Personally I think if one goes, the other should. That ain't gonna happen.