amer

Bouncers to Zaheer, sledging, getting in their faces, copping warnings then still going on with it to dismiss the clowns. Warner having to be told off. Love it.

Patto_man is a gun and we're rediscovering some mongrel. **** the ICC, **** the BCCI. Stick it up them all. :thumbsu:

A bit reminiscent of the West Coast Eagles in recent years - a few controversies, a lot of media pressure about behaviour standards, lose a couple of guns, start worrying more about image than performance, turn to shit...

Hopefully we can come back as quick as the Eagles did.

I didn't even see anything overly aggressive in this match from either side, 15 years ago it would have been normal test cricket, it's the media that changed their view on cricketers and started holding them to a ridiculous standard.

Bit of a romantic over-simplification, that's exactly what everybody said after Perth last year. There were tons of articles about it. And we all know how that worked out...

Much more importantly quality disciplined pace bowling is back. Hitting fuller lengths, finding genuine movement, not bowling 4 balls every over (Hi MJ!) and leaking pressure. Bowling in partnerships and executing plans. Some credit has to go to Mcdermott on that front, has coupled well with our emerging talents as well as taking Sids up a level. Not sure if he has played a role with hilf as well but his action looks much cleaner and he is up a yard in pace.

Bit of a romantic over-simplification, that's exactly what everybody said after Perth last year. There were tons of articles about it. And we all know how that worked out...

Much more importantly quality disciplined pace bowling is back. Hitting fuller lengths, finding genuine movement, not bowling 4 balls every over (Hi MJ!) and leaking pressure. Bowling in partnerships and executing plans. Some credit has to go to Mcdermott on that front, has coupled well with our emerging talents as well as taking Sids up a level. Not sure if he has played a role with hilf as well but his action looks much cleaner and he is up a yard in pace.

This, considering what sort of effect McDermott seemingly is having, how the **** is 'just watch the ball' holding on to his job?

I think de Winter did all the work with Hilf but there is an article I read this morning about it. Basically it said the Aussie coaches couldn't fix his action and worked him too hard trying to return from injury. He went back to Tassie with an easier workload and got the body right and corrected his action. At the end of the day as long as someone fixes issues at some level thats all you can ask. I also think a lesson has been learned over the past few years about injuries, we seem to be taking a lot longer to bring guys back and that has to be the correct way to do it, especially with bowlers.

On the OP, I too was loving it but to go with the aggression we are actually bowling well enough to back it up. Johnson and Siddle at times last year tried to look aggressive and just were made to look silly when they were getting smacked. I really enjoyed Pattinson with Sehwag, fast bowlers shouldn't take any shit and he didn't.

If they can somehow fix the batting collapses and get rid of Haddin then this team can genuinely be the best in the world.

Yeah, I agree. The leaking pressure statement is a big one. I know they've been stabalising an attack but for too long we bowled too short and lost our composure. The pressure would leak and then batsmen would smell it and walk all over the innings.

I get what he's trying to say, that ability to suffocate batsmen seems to be slowly coming back into our side. Even when they're down, the tails seem to be up, never letting up, like the old days. For so long there the Australian attack seemed to drop they're heads, the energy in the field went down and the innings would run away from us.

There's a long way to go, but there's great signs.

Yeah, I agree. The leaking pressure statement is a big one. I know they've been stabalising an attack but for too long we bowled too short and lost our composure. The pressure would leak and then batsmen would smell it and walk all over the innings.

I get what he's trying to say, that ability to suffocate batsmen seems to be slowly coming back into our side. Even when they're down, the tails seem to be up, never letting up, like the old days. For so long there the Australian attack seemed to drop they're heads, the energy in the field went down and the innings would run away from us.

There's a long way to go, but there's great signs.

Yep absolutely.

And l'm not saying it's irrelevant but just that confidence and thus aggression will be more likely to be effective when they come from doing the right things (bowling the right lines etc). Not the other way around as if it's an Australian magic bullet.

3751326-3x4-700x933.jpg

A beauty from foxsports.com.au

am i the only australian who is disgusted in james pattinson's behaviour over this test match? while he did bowl well, a couple of his actions were quite low and appalling from someone who is looked up to as an idol by many australian children e.g. bowling repeated bouncers at the tail when the result was beyond doubt (which he ended up getting warned about) along with unneccesarily starting verbal and near physical exchanges with several indian players. given the recent 'image' controversy cricket australia has been through, they could do worse than rein him in a notch or two.

A beauty from foxsports.com.au

tell 'em they're dreaming ;)

**** that. sport is tough at the top level. it's uncompromising.

yeah there was some heated moments in this test, but nothing that even got close to crossing the line... i'll hapilly admit my line is probably a bit further to the "confrontational side" than most folks, but on what we saw from the tv if there is anyone that seriously thinks anything in this test crossed the line, then i'll happily inform them of their flaccid **** :)

Has that ultra aggressive streak in him does Patto. That glint in his eyes that says your ****ed to the batsman.

Scowls like this should be mandatory for every fast bowler wearing the baggy green.

I reckon. In the game thread someone mentioned the probability of a successful career in serial killing following on from cricket. With a look like that it's hard to disagree!

Best part is his bowling performances back up all the intimidation.

I hope everyone involved with our test side gets around Patto and tells him to keep up the good work. The side of the last couple of years hasn't looked anything like an Australian one. The aggression is part of our culture, it makes us us. We're kidding ourselves if we reign it in.

And we cop it back just as well, as long as the other side doesn't have a sook about it afterwards.

I don't mind the general aggression or the sledging, part of the game, always has been.

The one thing I don't really like is the constant bouncers at the tail. It's just stupid and achieves nothing IMO. Nobody is impressed and really, noone on the receiving end is scared. These are professional test cricketers. Anyone think Khan or Yudav actually gave a toss?

Was beautifully put on ABC today, I forget by who, but the Aussie quicks put on an absolute clinic in quality bowling, dismiss 6 test batsman (incl the two highest scorers of all time) with relative ease... then a few bunnies come to the crease and they start with inaccurate half-track shit.

Just get em out. The bowler should never lose sight of the fact that his no.1 objective is to dismiss the batsman as quickly as possible, and all tactics should be directly or indirectly a means to that end. Once the bullshit faux manufactured aggression gets in the way of that, rather than being part of the effort, there's a problem.