The BEWARE on Buckley

One must not forget Buckley's involvement with the AIS. He has intimate knowledge of the best youngsters in the land. Handy to have him help selecting youngsters deep into the draft.

old style sgt major will not work
those 4 you mentioned come across as iron willed and able to deliver a strong blunt message in new age terms
i dont have a oppinion on buckley becouse i havnt taken much notice of him in the past.
what i want is someone who really knows what he wants,knows how to teach it and will not put up with people who want to run there own agenda,

lol, so do I, howsa about you go onto the sub committee:thumbsu:

prob was something like that, made me think bloody prick , what happened to modern management 101 where you set the path and give everyone the space to achieve...since when does the sgt major approach work...failed with Francis Bourke , cant see Generation Y responding to this kinda shit 25 yrs later:eek:

We've tried the modern management style and we would all pretty much agree that it has failed. Perhaps it is time we went back to the my way or the highway approach.

Look at Geelong, Hawthorn, Saints & Dogs for example. The one thing I notice with them is every player is expected to follow the team rules, every player has the same expectations placed on them when it comes to preparing for games. Geelong had issues with Steve Johnson and Mooney a few years ago, the playing group got fed up with them constantly playing outside the team rules. Johnson was suspended for 6 games at the start of the 07 season, came back and has become one of the best and most consistent players in the competition.

Clarkson has famously got rid of players at the Hawks who weren't prepared to toe the company line so to speak. He also has no problem ripping strips off the players when they fail to follow the team rules.

Last year Lyon dropped Dal Santo and Milne IIRC for not following team rules. Since then they have returned and you no longer see Dal Santon being a front runner and you rarely see Milne trying to play the hero. A couple of week back the leadership group dropped Gram because he failed to attend a physio appointment to recover from a corked thigh.

At the Dogs Aker arrived and wanted to continue on with his traditional handstand after the win, the Dogs leadership group said they didn't want to see it anymore and it was shelved. Again what was best for the team was put ahead what the individual wants.

Can you honestly say that things like this have happened at Richmond in the past?

We've tried the modern management style and we would all pretty much agree that it has failed. Perhaps it is time we went back to the my way or the highway approach.

Look at Geelong, Hawthorn, Saints & Dogs for example. The one thing I notice with them is every player is expected to follow the team rules, every player has the same expectations placed on them when it comes to preparing for games. Geelong had issues with Steve Johnson and Mooney a few years ago, the playing group got fed up with them constantly playing outside the team rules. Johnson was suspended for 6 games at the start of the 07 season, came back and has become one of the best and most consistent players in the competition.

the cats are a great example of where I come from in that the leaders of that club are almost on auto pilot. Bomber is far from an autocrat...correct in saying wallace failed but we need to be clear on the reasons why...Im not certain his relationship with players was the fundamental breakdown...it all began to unravel coz TW wouldnt know what a good side looked like if it smacked him in the aggots and this is critical as it reflects on recruiting and team selection, tactics and to a point development

I posted this in the care taker thread but I'll post it here as well

Does anyone worry about being a pawn in Buckley's game to coach else where?

The way he phrased on AW about being interested in the job was a bit unconvincing for mine.

The phrase I'm referring to. "I want to coach next year and Richmond is the only position available"

It's as if he's trying to force other clubs into action. It all seems a bit underhanded.

In saying that though he was talking up our kids Friday night on 7 saying Richmond had a lot to look forward to in 3 years.

I posted this in the care taker thread but I'll post it here as well

Does anyone worry about being a pawn in Buckley's game to coach else where?

The way he phrased on AW about being interested in the job was a bit unconvincing for mine.

The phrase I'm referring to. "I want to coach next year and Richmond is the only position available"

It's as if he's trying to force other clubs into action. It all seems a bit underhanded.

In saying that though he was talking up our kids Friday night on 7 saying Richmond had a lot to look forward to in 3 years.

Very true. However, only a stupid and ignorant man would do otherwise. He has no ties with the Tigers, so to him it is just another job out there. Why would he rule himself out of any other (more lucrative) job by verbalizing more commitment to the tigers? He is playing his cards close to his chest and I would be more suspicious of him if he wasn't.

that they go the same way as stan alves and grant thomas...they generally are quick to attract just as many detractors as they do followers...:confused:

perhaps he's a quick leaner, that I dunno

Have you got any examples to back up this bullshit Bo?

Seriously mate, he's virtually the ambassador for the AFL, with his coaching role at AIS and he's been virtually given carte blanche in terms of access to every AFL club in the comp.

Have never seen any reports saying that someone has been upset with his comments, other than Malthouse, and really... who gives a **** about that. Malthouse was doing the same thing when he necked Tony Shaw.

Bizarre, very bizarre thread. :rolleyes:

Have you got any examples to back up this bullshit Bo?

Seriously mate, he's virtually the ambassador for the AFL, with his coaching role at AIS and he's been virtually given carte blanche in terms of access to every AFL club in the comp.

Have never seen any reports saying that someone has been upset with his comments, other than Malthouse, and really... who gives a **** about that. Malthouse was doing the same thing when he necked Tony Shaw.

Bizarre, very bizarre thread
. :rolleyes:

Yep, I respect Bo as a regular member here and he can say what he likes, but every post by Bo nowadays has an agenda.
He'll do a propaganda piece for a player or Coach (like recent threads). Or pot someone before he's started!

I don't like Rawlings they way he speaks to players (Yes, I've witnessed him first hand, and yes, I think he's weak). But I could have egg on my face if he proves to me a good Senior Coach.

But Bojangles, what's your agenda on Buckley?

Why the subtle slag off on him?

:confused:

Yep, I respect Bo as a regular member here and he can say what he likes, but every post by Bo nowadays has an agenda.
He'll do a propaganda piece for a player or Coach (like recent threads). Or pot someone before he's started!

I don't like Rawlings they way he speaks to players (Yes, I've witnessed him first hand, and yes, I think he's weak). But I could have egg on my face if he proves to me a good Senior Coach.

But Bojangles, what's your agenda on Buckley?

Why the subtle slag off on him?

:confused:

hmmm, very interesting delib, i have often thought as much but never said in terms of posters hidden agendas...My stated preference for a coach is an experienced one either MM or sheedy...as far as rookies go, they're all unknowns in my books some more than others considering they have NEVER coached a side and I maintain what I've always said, I'll have my heart in my mouth if ANY rookie is appointed until they prove themselves.

i have nothing at all against Buckley, i hope he does apply (dont reckon he will though) and puts a case up against other talented applicants..I just pointed out a couple of warts I obeserved , no more or less than that

My experience rings alarm bells around those with STRONG opinions. A leadership style popularised in the post war era it reflects a divide and conquer approach that inevitably has no middle ground.

These know it alls that can't be told anything generally have no place in heirachys of the modern age that typically favours the more inclusive styles of say a Voss or Hird.

I'm sure everyone can visualise this type of leader, I'd tread with caution, not get caught up in the window dressing of his outstanding playing record and compare him to what should be a Melbourne cup field.

Get it right Tigers:thumbsu:
LMAO

seriously Bo ... clutching @straws

FFS ... you don`t think this club needs a bloke who "might" call a spade a spade ?

LMAO ... yes .. don`t want to go alienating a lot of our top-line players do we ;)

... and your perception of NB maybe no-where near the mark either

How about someone that most people respect.
I think Bucks has got his fare share of people who respect him, his abilities, is a leader amongst men, and every other cliche you can think of.
He's a pretty impressive individual
And I'd have him any day ... as coach :o
... all very good points and why i think he should be near or top of our list

Yeah, but it can have the reverse effect as well if you've got mentally weak players who now know what it's like to shaft a coach and are feeling all too powerful :rolleyes:

bang on Froarsy :thumbsu: :D

Stiff Shit ... if the mentally week players find the new coach irks them by highlighting thier deficencies then more power to the coach and out with the mentally week players .

Plough was dead in the water before the boys had thier sook , its a moot point .

prob was something like that, made me think bloody prick , what happened to modern management 101 where you set the path and give everyone the space to achieve...since when does the sgt major approach work...failed with Francis Bourke , cant see Generation Y responding to this kinda shit 25 yrs later:eek:

You`ve gotta be kidding me

Where does leadership come from FFS ...

Collingwood nearly pinched a flag on the back the strength and leadership provided by Malthouse and Buckley alone...

We have got a list choka block full of Gen y/metro sexuals who only play a quarter here and there when they feel like it (see Deledio) and then you come out with this dribble

Please tell me you are joking

nothing more than opinion that I see similar qualities in him that bought down Alves, thomas and Walls...take it on face value and if you want examples...Listen to him on 3AW
The point is Bo ... you are judging Buckley on the merits of the job he does as a payed footy commentator and analyist .

The fact that he gives very accurate and frank assesments on things is actually his strength , but it has f..k all to do with the way he may or may not conduct himself a coach ... Sweet FA .

The point is Bo ... you are judging Buckley on the merits of the job he does as a payed footy commentator and analyist .

The fact that he gives very accurate and frank assesments on things is actually his strength , but it has f..k all to do with the way he may or may not conduct himself a coach ... Sweet FA .

just an observation thats all, I don't see him in same mould as a couple of rookie coaches in recent yrs that have in fact done very well in roos and now Voss, lyon, thompson et al ...I reckon everyone gets absolutely blindsided by the guys impecable playing record...would we be so bullish if it was Mick Gayfer:rolleyes: there will be a melb cup field of rookie coaches , all with have pros and cons...just pointed out a couple of Buckleys..of most of the others, they dont have any public profile so it's bloody hard to comment really EG Cameron, hinkley

So ... start a thread on the fact that people get blind sided by playing records when considering future coaches .

Malcolm Blight ?
Leigh Matthews ?

Those two have won 5 of the last 12 flags

Pagan ? ... theres 7 of the last 13 .. hardly the shy , retiring type was Dennis , not a gun footballer , but fits the mould of your anti-heroe

... LMAO @ bringing Worsfold up , one of the hardest , no bullshit nuts going around ... if anything Roos is the exception to the rule

worsfold always let his action speak louder than words....didn't appear to be too hard and no bullshit in dealing with his captain over the journey:rolleyes:...my point is Buckley reminds of alves, thomas and walls much more so than thompson, roos worsfold, lyon and co

... i needn`t think you should worry too much Bo ... your comparison to Alves and Thomas as at best laughable , both had mad professor syndromes and you could not get more polar opposites in personalities to Buckley than those two blokes . What is actually funny is that both those blokes were considered both unlucky and harshly treated in some circles for having thier tenures cut short prematurely and the Aints went on post those two to very successful periods :p

Walls was just a buffoon .

I just want the number one criteria to be given to our new coach .. his No.1# mandate to be to instill leadership ... selflessness ... and discipline ... on face value Buckley appears to quite endowed in these areas , lets hope the interview process weeds things out further

yep, well summed up, is indeed a bloody tricky business interviewing candidates for a job none of them have done before...will be interesting which strengths they have a higher regard for than others...will also be intruiging who the heck is on the sub committee panel...coz thats VERY important

Bo....I just can't see the fear or "BEWARE" on Buckley, that you can.

Our most recent 2 Coaches have been Spud and Wallace, with Rawlings to follow.
People are also talking up Campbell.

Gees, I'd follow Buckley into war any day before those named above. :rolleyes:
:thumbsu:

Bo....I just can't see the fear or "BEWARE" on Buckley, that you can.

Our most recent 2 Coaches have been Spud and Wallace, with Rawlings to follow.
People are also talking up Campbell.

Gees, I'd follow Buckley into war any day before those named above. :rolleyes:
:thumbsu:

all rookies are unknown quantities, im sure there will be cases for and against the lot...as mentioned previously Buckley is one with a public profile, I just pointed out some percieved warts thats all, I will grant one strength that would be rated highly and that is he would unlikely to be affected from the fishbowl environment that is Punt rd that I believe is all consuming and has been a millstone for our recent coaches as they flip flop and get distracted from the plan, thats indeed if there was one.:confused:

the first thing I wanna see is a broad list of candidates and hopefully a high callibre panel that will be running this process

Buckley like many other coaches is useing richmond for he's own advantage he dosen't want to coach richmond he is doing this for leavarge to coach collingwood

quite possibly, a real conundrum brewing at lexus with MM having them firing on all cylinders right now, albeit v 2 of bottom 4 sides:confused: