Preview The breakout man

I'm hoping Colyer has a breakout, we desperately need his pace through the midfield and the fact that he is a goal kicker makes him even more important. His kicking seemed to have improved markedly last year, hopefully he makes the same gains with his defensive pressure and consistency this year. I also really like Ashby, the few times I've seen him in the VFL he ran well, looked very polished with the ball and strong in marking contests, seems a very good around player.

Interesting thread this one....Essendon are ambitious and clearly believe they can go from good to great this year - the ability to do so will depend on a few sources of improvement, one of which is at least one or two young kids stepping up, taking a place in the best 22 and upgrading us in a couple of spots. Those most vulnerable to dropping out of the 22 would be Howlett, Kommer, Fletcher (due purely to age, could fall off a cliff any time) and Baguley.

There are a number of young kids pushing up but think most are still 1-2 pre-seasons off being ready. In the case of Colyer and perhaps controversially NOB I don't think they'll ever be best 22 players at Essendon. Think the Merrett's, Hams and Kav will all make it, but not this year.

Number 1 most likely is Dalgleish - the best talent at the club outside best 22 IMO. Has everything required to play next year and stated desire of the club for versatility and the likelihood of Hibberd playing some midfield minutes means there is a spot wide open for him. Only question mark I have is his ability to find the footy 15-20 times per game - if he can, he'll play every week.

Next most likely is Browne - can play back, mid or forward ( which Bomber will love) and has shown more aggression, physicality and competitiveness than any other youngster on our list. Strong body, has worked into top 10 runners at club and body shape looks significantly improved. Expect him to move back ahead of Jackson Merrett. Will be very surprised if he doesn't at least play 15 games and expect him to claim a spot in best 22 by end of season.

Have left JD out of this - expect him to play and be effective from round 1. Zac Merrett a smokey - from what I've seen, heard and read he could play this year.

Some of the reports I've read suggest Steinberg could be a major bolter. Did well in the intra-club and there's a position open for him, probably competing with Hardingham.

Have done my best to avoid footy this off-season so haven't really kept up with how the boys are going. I'd really like to see Zaharakis break out, he's looked like he's been on the verge of doing it the past two seasons. Perhaps his omission from the leadership group will be a driving force. Just think he needs be a bit more damaging with his disposals, he's shown that he's capable of tearing a game apart.

How can a guy who has been bnf break out? Brownlow? Bring it on...

Colyer. I want to see this guy seriously break out. Not just stuffing around and making best 22. I want him to take the AFL by storm and become one of the most dangerous attacking mids/small forwards.
It's one of those two or three unlikely possibilities that could steal us a flag a year early. The more likely avenue to an early flag is a "whole forward line structure" break out. A cohesive forward line could do it...

Colyer. I want to see this guy seriously break out. Not just stuffing around and making best 22. I want him to take the AFL by storm and become one of the most dangerous attacking mids/small forwards.

Colyer would need to produce matches like against GWS at Skoda in '13 most weeks for that to happen.

Between returning to full games in Round 3 and getting injured against the Bulldogs in Round 16, Zaharakis averaged 26.3 disposals (11 contested), 4.3 clearances, 3.3 tackles, and 4.8 inside-50s per game. He's already good enough to be a star of the competition - he just needs to stay fit.

Myers- if plays 22 games in the midfield is brownlow top5 potential.

Van Unen to hopefully break into our half back line senior this year :thumbsu:

Hey guys. Long time reader, decided to join up today.

My 2c is that we'll see Jackson Merrett take a big step forward this year. I was really surprised to see him come on the way he did in 2013 and another pre season plus someone like Chappy coming on board, I can only see major upside for him. Having seen a few training sessions this pre season, young Zach definitely has something special too and I think he'll play senior footy at some point this year too although definitely not a "breakout" at this stage.

One guy I expect to really elevate his game as Hibberd and Melksham did last season is Hurley. Finally will play where he's most suited (IMO anyway) and I think not having to create so much play (i.e. repeat leading, doubling back etc) will finally see his body allow him to play more regularly.

Hey guys. Long time reader, decided to join up today.

My 2c is that we'll see Jackson Merrett take a big step forward this year. I was really surprised to see him come on the way he did in 2013 and another pre season plus someone like Chappy coming on board, I can only see major upside for him. Having seen a few training sessions this pre season, young Zach definitely has something special too and I think he'll play senior footy at some point this year too although definitely not a "breakout" at this stage.

One guy I expect to really elevate his game as Hibberd and Melksham did last season is Hurley. Finally will play where he's most suited (IMO anyway) and I think not having to create so much play (i.e. repeat leading, doubling back etc) will finally see his body allow him to play more regularly.
Welcome to the site mate! Solid posts so far.

Completely agree with you. Hurley will have a ripper year.

Myers- if plays 22 games in the midfield is brownlow top5 potential.

Van Unen to hopefully break into our half back line senior this year :thumbsu:
Played a truckload of midfield minutes last year and finished 19th in our B&F.... He's decent and will continue to improve naturally but top 5 in Brownlow...I know others also see that in him but I just see a good player.

I know I said Hams, but I'm inclined to say Merrett after seeing this

View attachment 42222

kid looks jacked, expect him to put on absolutely unbreakable tackles next year
DEM GAINZ

AAAALLL KIIIINDDDZZZZ OF GAAAAIIINNNZZZZ

images

watching some highlights of Matthew Lloyd on youtube (the time he kicked 13 against the swans) wishing we had a key forward who could kick regular bags of 4-5+ goals. he was just phenomenal in the game, played one out at ff and ran to the packs and crashed them or just slid behind for an easy goal. good footy sense. although he had a lot of very good kicks kicked to him ( spike McVeigh was putting them down his throat all day)

i hope/think Carlisle will be the break out man. although he had an amazing year last year down back i think someone in the forward line has to stand up and it will be him. i dont expect him to be as good as lloyd ( well not straight away anyway ;) ) but a tall target to get 35-40 goals out of will go along way.

I know I said Hams, but I'm inclined to say Merrett after seeing this

View attachment 42222

kid looks jacked, expect him to put on absolutely unbreakable tackles next year

He lives with Gregory and Dalgliesh. I see them at the supermarket all the time. It used to be Reimers, Pears and Myers. The bombers must have a house in Coburg.

While he looks "jacked" in that picture I was surprised how small he was standing next to him.

However, as was said before about Colyer the same applies to Jackson as well as Dalgliesh, Edwards, Jetta and a few others. Fast and evasive players who use the ball well and can play forward and/or attacking mid is what we need.

He lives with Gregory and Dalgliesh. I see them at the supermarket all the time. It used to be Reimers, Pears and Myers. The bombers must have a house in Coburg.
They do. Followed the lead of Collingwood by setting up the house for new draftees etc. First year was 2008 and Skippy was the mentor in the house with myers, Pears and Reimers.

Can confirm that Ashby has come along in leaps and bounds.

Can also confirm that I want Steinberg to play, damn it.

now there's a haircut you can set your watch to

Preview The breakout man