The "Buckley Clause"

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Crow!

Mr Crow!

Adelaide Crows
Been reading with interest all the comments about the Father-Son rule saga involving Bryce Gibbs.

If we can't get the rule changed, why not encourage the kid (if he DOES want to play for Adelaide... doesn't he barrack for the Roos?) to seek out a "Buckley Clause"... he will get drafted by another club, he will ask for only 1 year contract, then trade him back to Adelaide.

Sure, I believe that it is a manipulation of the draft and against the rules, but if it is good for a Victorian club (Collingwood), surely others can try it as well?

If Bryce is a Kangaroos supporter as was stated in the paper, then what makes everyone think that he only wants to play for the Crows anyway?

Not sure.

But is the "Buckley Clause" legal in the AFL sense? If not, then how did Collingwood get away with it in 1993?

And is there a minimum contract for draftees? Ie: 1 year, 2 years, 3 years?

Macca19 said:
If Bryce is a Kangaroos supporter as was stated in the paper, then what makes everyone think that he only wants to play for the Crows anyway?

I think it has a lot to do with his old man's influence and family ties in Adelaide.

I don't think he really cares who he plays football for as long as he remains in Adelaide (which I believe he came out and stated) His old man would be disgusted if he wound up with your mob however due to the old Magpies era.

The kid just wants to play footy pure and simply, it's his family that want him here.

Dont quote me but I think interstate draftees get a 2 year contract as their first contract. Doesnt mean they cant be traded after their first year tho (eg. Barry Brooks)

Dunno much about the Buckley case but Brett Chalmers got fined $10k and was banned from playing for Collingwood for three years after he told people he would only go for Collingwood.

I dont think Buckley actually came out and said 'I only wanna play for Collingwood'. I remember the Kangaroos were the leading the race to get him for quite a while.

Macca19 said:
Dont quote me but I think interstate draftees get a 2 year contract as their first contract. Doesnt mean they cant be traded after their first year tho (eg. Barry Brooks)

Dunno much about the Buckley case but Brett Chalmers got fined $10k and was banned from playing for Collingwood for three years after he told people he would only go for Collingwood.

I dont think Buckley actually came out and said 'I only wanna play for Collingwood'. I remember the Kangaroos were the leading the race to get him for quite a while.

I thought it was all draftees got 2 year contracts, not just the interstaters?

Kangas were leading the race for Buckley until the wobbles threw all bar the kitchen sink at him - voila! Wonderful story that one actually, Buckley's turned down offers from Brisbane, Kangas and all but accepted (before doing an about face and rejecting) Port so as he could play 'Finals' footbal with Collingwood. By my reckoning that's a good 6 flags he could've played in :D

Rave Slave said:
I think it has a lot to do with his old man's influence and family ties in Adelaide.

I don't think he really cares who he plays football for as long as he remains in Adelaide (which I believe he came out and stated) His old man would be disgusted if he wound up with your mob however due to the old Magpies era.

The kid just wants to play footy pure and simply, it's his family that want him here.

I dont think that any kid would grow up wanting to play for port power. If he comes home he is ours. ;)

Btw, thanks for your topic, it was hilarious.

outback jack said:
I dont think that any kid would grow up wanting to play for port power. If he comes home he is ours. ;)

Btw, thanks for your topic, it was hilarious.

No worries mate, I live to give :cool:

Due to the dogs/hawks/dons Veale Deal it is now a rule that you have to stay at the club for 2 years.

Im mates with Shagga Grant and when he went to Sydney he told them he was there for 2 years then he was going home, best way for the crows is to wait 2 years then go for him in a trade.

Humidity's rising
Barometer's getting low
According to all sources
The street's the place to go

'Cos tonight for the first time
At just about half past ten
For the first time in history
It's gonna start raining men

It's raining men
Hallelujah it's raining men, Amen
It's raining men
Hallelujah it's raining men, Amen