News & Events The Channel 7 Hate Thread

I have a new profound hatred of John Fitzgerald.

Worst tennis commentator I have ever heard. He has something stupid to say on every single point. Can never let things left unsaid or just let moments of time pass without saying anything, and tries to explain things beyond the comprehension of the average listener just for the sake of making himself appear smart, as if he can read the minds of the players. All are hallmarks of a poor commentator. He'll comment on a player executing a certain tactic, and then within the next point he'll contradict what he said and come up with something completely different.
"He's really trying to dominate his authority on the rally by coming forward to the net as much as he can".
Next point:
"And there you can really see there how he's using his powerful groundstrokes dictating play from the back of the court to move his opponent around"

His interviewing skills are appalling too. And I HATE how he refers to all players by their nicknames or first names as if he's best mates with them all.

Why don't channel 7 make a play for someone competent like Robbie Koenig.
Is he still commentating. He is supposed to be a federal politician these days.

I don't think Jim Courier respects him much.

Why don't channel 7 make a play for someone competent like Robbie Koenig.

To be a Ch 7 commentator one has to either be shit, Australian or a former number 1 who faps uncontrollably over the people favourites. Unfortunately Koenig doesn't meet any of those requirements. He is commentating in Auckland this week. Really makes you aware of just how poor the Channel 7 commentary is when you switch over from Channel 7 to a stream from Auckland and Koenig is commentating.

Lleyton is just a bogan. A good tennis player in his day but still overrated... I used to have a good laugh when you'd wake up and Lleyton had just won some five-setter. People would wax poetic – "steely!" "heroic!" "an Aussie, never-say-die attitude!" Of course it was usually because he was too poor to close out when he should've, or started horribly, or was playing against someone equally as overrated/someone terrible. Inevitably he'd get flogged two days later because he was so fatigued.

His commentary is appalling too. Not an intelligent or funny man at all. He would point out the obvious: "oh great hit, he's gone for the baseline while his opponent was waiting at the net, so his opponent couldn't get to the ball." Or "he'll be happy, he's just won a set, that'll really help him." He would treat the audience like they were idiots and didn't understand that, yes, winning points is good.

He should go away and go fight Andrew McLeod again or something.

The only good one they have is McEnroe. He could tell a good anecdote. And he's actually a pretty cool, interesting person (see: his appearance on Curb Your Enthusiasm).

But 7's tennis coverage suffers the same as their footy broadcasts... it's all about THE EVENT. It's all about how great some footballer is, total circle-jerks in the commentary boxes, all this sycophancy towards players, Bruce rattling off stats no one cares about or pointing out someone's wife (because Bruce knows nothing about sport, you see, he doesn't understand the game so he has to rely on boring-as-**** stats that would even bore Rainman).

Lleyton is just a bogan. A good tennis player in his day but still overrated... I used to have a good laugh when you'd wake up and Lleyton had just won some five-setter. People would wax poetic – "steely!" "heroic!" "an Aussie, never-say-die attitude!" Of course it was usually because he was too poor to close out when he should've, or started horribly, or was playing against someone equally as overrated/someone terrible. Inevitably he'd get flogged two days later because he was so fatigued.
Bit rough on Hewitt's ability as a tenis player. At 5'11 with no real weapons he has done pretty well for himself especially as the prototype player these days is a minimum 6'4 and serves at 230kph.

Its the twats like Tomic and the Scud that wasted their god gifted talent and you wish they had a little but of Lleyton's never say die attitude.

His commentary is appalling too. Not an intelligent or funny man at all. He would point out the obvious: "oh great hit, he's gone for the baseline while his opponent was waiting at the net, so his opponent couldn't get to the ball." Or "he'll be happy, he's just won a set, that'll really help him." He would treat the audience like they were idiots and didn't understand that, yes, winning points is good.

The only good one they have is McEnroe. He could tell a good anecdote. And he's actually a pretty cool, interesting person (see: his appearance on Curb Your Enthusiasm).

But 7's tennis coverage suffers the same as their footy broadcasts... it's all about THE EVENT. It's all about how great some footballer is, total circle-jerks in the commentary boxes, all this sycophancy towards players, Bruce rattling off stats no one cares about or pointing out someone's wife (because Bruce knows nothing about sport, you see, he doesn't understand the game so he has to rely on boring-as-**** stats that would even bore Rainman).

I speak a bit of Japanese, konichiwa

Bit rough on Hewitt's ability as a tenis player. At 5'11 with no real weapons he has done pretty well for himself especially as the prototype player these days is a minimum 6'4 and serves at 230kph.

Its the twats like Tomic and the Scud that wasted their god gifted talent and you wish they had a little but of Lleyton's never say die attitude.

I hate his type of player the most (pushers) but he won two grand slams on discipline and guts alone and you have to respect that. Should really have won the AO in 2005 too especially after taking the first set.

No worries mate big fella champ hero

You really can't handle being challenged can you? I reckon Hewitt is at worst vanilla and prone to overusing cliches but in typical fashion you've labelled him "appalling", at least you didn't call it heinous or abhorrent or whatever else might be featured on "word of the day".

Don't really care but if you're having a go, patronisingly passive aggressive "mates" aren't really a good way to go about it, are they?

Definitely not a Hewitt fan but there's no way you can knock his game... he won a helluva lot of matches he shouldn't have because he was simply mentally stronger than his opponent and grinded them down.

Never ever knew when he was beaten, you have to give him that.

Lleyton is a champion. He has come back from injury time and time again, and everytime he fronts up to represent his country, and excels too. He has heart. Sure he was a little bitch back in the day, but he has gained massive respect from everyone now. And over rated??? WTF - two grand slams, former world number one and the oldest former number one still on the pro tour - that's nothing to sneer at. And he became the best player at the world with no massive weapons (his 'trademark' stroke is the lob for gods sake), but because he got the ball back, ran everything down and never gives up.

As a commentator, he is fantastic.

I actually watched a bit of Seven last year.

Now, a lot of people are bagging Seven, yet you were all raving about "Never Tear Us Apart" when they showed it.

I like the Friday night footy better on Seven, as I can't stand Fox Footy's warroom or that tosser David King. Also, Eddie and Dermie are a must-miss, and would rather listen to 7's coverage. I mean, Dennis is good value, and Leigh Matthews does a few good things (still never forgiven him for hitting Neville Bruns though).

Also enjoyed comedies like "Mrs Brown's Boys" and "The Goldbergs", but would watch those, no matter what channel they were on.

I think my biggest gripe with Seven is their scheduling of programs. Every week, if the show wasn't one of their major shows, they would schedule shows that I liked on different nights at different times, with no warning, so I never knew when some of these shows were on in a particular week. They should set a night and a time and stick to it for more than two weeks. If a show didn't rate off the bat, they would move it straight away, rather than persisting with it for three to four weeks first.

Parents won't get foxtel so I have to deal with the shit that is free to air TV everyday. Its a race between them and 10 for worst channel on earth. Useless TV shows everywhere, toss up between neighbors and home and away for the most unoriginal, pickable story lines and they have the most annoying personalities to have ever existed on Australian tv

What about Nine, who show either "Big Bang Theory" or "The Block", or a ten minute ad for "The Block" during the cricket?

News & Events The Channel 7 Hate Thread