maximus steel

Fevs slot jockeys
The top 6 or 7 in 2010 is going to be very tight, 8th place is probably wasting a week of there lives. Here is my summary

1. St.Kilda - Probably the 2nd best key forward combo in the game, very impressive midfield and the stats say the best defence (not convinced on this though, think its more to do with midfield and confidence to put the ball into the forward line at all costs, instead of chip passing around which half the time results in turnovers)

2. Geelong - Last saturday in september says enough

3. Bulldogs - They now have Hall, but this wont greatly change the result of our games due to Scarlett. Running game style is similar to ours, and due to them having younger players this could cause concern. Forward line is dangerous with Hall, Johnson, Murphy and Higgins all capable of kicking 2-3 goals. Expect some epic encounters (my tip on grand final day).

4. Brisbane - Fevola and Brown are probably the best 2 key forwards in the game, and both are capable of kicking 70+ goals playing against the number 1 defender. Defence and midfield need to be exposed, cant allow them to go inside 50 to much with fev and brown there. Geelong defenders drop back a lot which will equipe us better than most to counter them.

5. Adelaide - Not much diffent to this year. No really damaging strengths just solid accross the board. Solid midfield, good foward line and perhaps can be exposed in defence (??). On paper id have them towards the bottom of the 8, but the way they work with eachother makes them one of the biggest over achievers in the AFL. There going to be difficult whenever there played, but not expecting them to be flag contenders.

6. Collingwood - Cant split collingwood and adelaide for number 5, put Collingwood at number 6 to please everyone. Cloke will improve, midfield will be very impressive and defence solid, but lacking a small defender (assuming harry plays key). This is the area Geelong have exposed in past and must continue to. Other area to expose was ruck, but a Jolly - Fraser combo isnt to bad.

7. Hawthorn - Assuming theyve recovered from there hangover, they are a force. Just throwing some names out there, gibson, hodge, mitchell, lewis, sewell, gilham, franklin, roughead, rioli. Thats fairly solid accross the board. Have them down this low due to 2009 form, but could easily be top 4. Small forwards must fire to beat them, franklin and roughead must be kept to less than 5 goals (together) and the one of mooney/hawkins who isnt on gibson needs to kick around 3.

8. Carlton - Carried here by there midfield. Waite returning will strengthen, but without fevola this is almost a best case scenario for blues.

Adelaide is highly overrated by the football world. They could not even beat Collingwood, when they were playing their best football, with the Pies missing its number one ball winner in Pendlebury.

Hawthorn, Bulldogs, St Kilda and Collingwood will test us.

Collingwood has improved its side the most in the off-season.

SAINTS by a mile, then the rest. Saints' depth 2nd to ours only, they have strength and talent everywhere. Can they be a cohesive unit in 2010? If we aren't up for it next year, (it is an even year after all), Saints to beat whoever.

not sure they can be as dominant as they where for the first 19 weeks of 2009, but theyre going to be up there. Im thinking saints and dogs the biggest challengers.

Ok, I'll be brave and you can bounce this next year if I'm wrong...

Saints are a good side, but I doubt their mental toughness after the GF loss. I think our boys are cut from a different cloth, and I don't detect the same fury in the Saints that Geelong had after '08. A few early losses next year and their confidence will really slide. I rate Hawthorn (I don't like them, but I rate them), and reckon the Dogs and the Lions are the other threats.

I tip Melbourne for the 'Richmond Cup' (9th)

Saints are a good side, but I doubt their mental toughness after the GF loss. I think our boys are cut from a different cloth, and I don't detect the same fury
This! They'll do a Port Adelaide and fall in a heap, and let's be honest there isn't much room for improvement in their list.

i think it'll come down to geelong, st kilda and hawthorn. last year was an injury riddled aberation for the hawks and they've added a couple of players to their best 22. the personnel in defence is always a question with them, but if they can get the zone mojo happening again they'll make it hard

brisbane has traded so much in and out they're an unknown propsition. but i don't think the brown/fevola combination will be THAT much better than brown/bradshaw.

and i don't think hall will do anything at the bulldogs

the crows should improve a little but their forward line is still a couple of years off

1. Geelong

Best in 2009 once the best 22 were on the park and 90% fit. In 2010 I can't see the midfield slipping, and improvement in the forward line should counteract any decline in the backline.

2 Hawthorn

Croad was a big loss in 2009 and they won't have him back for 2010, but they have improved their defensive structure with the recruitment of Gibson, and added a highly skilled midfielder in the form of Shaun Burgoyne. Otherwise it's pretty clear they celebrated too hard after their '08 premiership and consequently had a poor preseason leading into 2009. Expect them to be 5-10% fitter across the park, which in any elite sports competition is a huge difference. Franklin and Roughead should now be entering their prime, and could conceivably kick 180-200 goals between them.

3. St Kilda

On paper I simply can't rank St Kilda higher than this, and I don't expect them to repeat 2009's performance in terms of fitness/injuries and single minded commitment to a game plan. That's basically what it comes down to for me... whether they can once again avoid injuries and execute the high pressure, constricting football week in week out like they did this year.

4. Doggies

Were very good late last year, winning more contested posessions than their opposition in every final they played (IIRC), and failing to make the GF only on account of their undersized forward line. I don't actually think Hall will make an iota of difference in this regard, but even still I think they are capable of making the GF when they are on song in every other department.

5. Adelaide

Contrary to popular belief I don't think they can win the flag. Their spine looks quite good with Rutten, Bock, Tippet and whoever else they have down their (Walker?), but I think the improvement in the likes of Dangerfield, Knights, Porpoise and co, will be tempered by the inevitable decline of Edwards, McLeod, Goodwin etc. Could make the top 4 and win two finals, but I can't see them beating any of the above in a GF.

6. Collingwood.

Jolly will make a big difference, but even so they won't win the midfield battle in a GF against any of the top 4 (above). They can be dangerous in front of goal when guys like Medhurst and Davis are on, but 'Medhurst and Davis' doesn't really sound like 'Chapman and Johnson' does it? Still 4 or 5 A-graders behind Geelong and Hawthorn, and 2 or 3 behind St Kilda and the Dogs.

7. Brisbane

I think Voss's attempt to buy a premiership will backfire. Brown and Fev could very well average 8 goals between them a game, but where will the other 8 come from? Brown and Bradhshaw frequently kicked bags between them this year but rarely did it equate to a large team score. Midfield is still a long way off Geel, Hawks, Saints and Dogs, and the backline isn't good enough to hold the likes of Geelong and Hawthorn to less than 16 goals when the midfield battle is being lost.

8. ...not sure, but whatever team it is I think will be someway behind those above.

Ill give it a go

Geelong... nuff said

Bulldogs
I think they have enough for one more crack before their forward line falls apart but I think this will depend on injuries. Dont think recruiting Hall will do a thing,

Injury run will be better and with a more stable list I think they will be ready to challenge again. There is some serious talent on this list.

I have them dropping simply because I cant see them having such a charmed injury run again and i believe that was the main factor behind them pulling off such a well organized game plan. Also other clubs will have spent all preseason studying said game plan.

I think Ball and having a good pair of rucks will do wonders. Don't think they will beat any of the above unless they are lucky on the day.

Consistently good team. I think they will do the same in 10 as they did in 09

Someone Else
Insert Carlton or Essendon or some other team that will shoot up this year.

Brisbane
I just think the whole trading thing will backfire this year as everyone adjusts to new game plans. Think they will focus exclusively on brown and the fev making them easier to defend and they wont work for each other as well as they should yet. I think they will be a massive force in 11 when everyone knows what to expect from teammates and Bartlett and Rich provide brilliant forward line delivery.

I think we will slide and miss the grand final - would be disappointed if we missed top 4, but don't expect anything further.

I also think St Kilda missed a golden opportunity this year and I have doubts on them next year - not only the test of their mental strength but I question whether they'll have another golden run with injuries like this year. We have managed to make three grand finals and win two flags with our young CHF walking out, our AA CHB having his career cut short and our number one ruckman barely playing over the past two seasons. If St Kilda lose Riewoldt, Hayes or even Gardiner I think they are in strife.

I expect the Dogs to make the grand final next year and for Hall to have an impact, kicking 40+ goals.

Collingwood are on the improve and Jolly and Ball are fine recruits. Don't think they can win the flag next year but would expect them to be thereabouts for the next few years.

Hawthorn should bounce back to make the finals but I don't think they're a premiership threat next year. They have possibly the worst ruck division in the league and arguably the worst backline of any top 8 contenders (minus Croad obviously). Gibson will play a Harley/Milburn role, not a Scarlett/Taylor role. Even though he seemed to have an average year, Mark Williams will also be a big loss because they lose that lead-up small/medium forward to support Buddy and Roughead.

I think we will slide and miss the grand final - would be disappointed if we missed top 4, but don't expect anything further.

I also think St Kilda missed a golden opportunity this year and I have doubts on them next year - not only the test of their mental strength but I question whether they'll have another golden run with injuries like this year. We have managed to make three grand finals and win two flags with our young CHF walking out, our AA CHB having his career cut short and our number one ruckman barely playing over the past two seasons. If St Kilda lose Riewoldt, Hayes or even Gardiner I think they are in strife.

I expect the Dogs to make the grand final next year and for Hall to have an impact, kicking 40+ goals.

Collingwood are on the improve and Jolly and Ball are fine recruits. Don't think they can win the flag next year but would expect them to be thereabouts for the next few years.

Geelong have easily accounted for the pies in all three of their last games. In their last game the prelim they made the pies look like a struggling Country side's Reserves who could not feild a full side. In fact if it was not for the umpires love for Leigh Brown in the first half the impossible could of happened and it would of been more of a disaster for Collingwood supporters, and they would of beaten even more traffic.

How can you honestly think a side that fell that short.. has contuined to fall so short by their own coaches admission to us is basicly in your book more of a Grand Final chance than your own Reigning Premier side that has lost one player.

Not only that a side, that has shown time after time an unbeilvable desire to only accept the best and has still all of its players still in prime age. Scarlo is getting older, however after his last year- do you really think a sudden dramatic form slump is around the corner. Look at Dustin Fletcher he still be almost every AFL side's best 22.

Luke Ball??? we played agianst Luke Ball when he was playing in the GF and we won and he is not going to be playing in a side that only loses one game in the H&A Season this year. He could not get a game for a lot of the time at the Saints.. and quite frankly it be hard to see him get one at The Catery.

Ablett, Bartel, Selwood, Corey, even Ling in the reverse damage he does... and host of rotating players would be placed over Ball by any coach.

As for Jolly??? if Ottens is fit (and he is) honestly does it really mean Collingwood are going to leapfrog Geelong with them having him??? The next Polly Farmer has hardly arrived at the "Need a Name... Centre". So I would NOT be expecting a Polly farmer impact.

Whilst the 3 D-Disappearing acts (Dids, Daisy, Davis) at Collingwood will hardly be Jolly's own Billy Goggins will they?

I am all for over inflation of Collingwood players.. I argue its one of the reasons they never get anywhere, because their players prices are so inflated by their supporters' and the media's praise.

However leave this stupid talk to the bogans drinking beam behind the MCG Goals and off the Terrace at KP.. And just relax and enjoy us thrashing them whenever they come calling..

Forgive me for having a chuckle, but this post reminds me of so many of your late season 09 posts...

FWIW I agree with you.

1. Geelong

Best in 2009 once the best 22 were on the park and 90% fit. In 2010 I can't see the midfield slipping, and improvement in the forward line should counteract any decline in the backline.

2 Hawthorn

Croad was a big loss in 2009 and they won't have him back for 2010, but they have improved their defensive structure with the recruitment of Gibson, and added a highly skilled midfielder in the form of Shaun Burgoyne. Otherwise it's pretty clear they celebrated too hard after their '08 premiership and consequently had a poor preseason leading into 2009. Expect them to be 5-10% fitter across the park, which in any elite sports competition is a huge difference. Franklin and Roughead should now be entering their prime, and could conceivably kick 180-200 goals between them.

3. St Kilda

On paper I simply can't rank St Kilda higher than this, and I don't expect them to repeat 2009's performance in terms of fitness/injuries and single minded commitment to a game plan. That's basically what it comes down to for me... whether they can once again avoid injuries and execute the high pressure, constricting football week in week out like they did this year.

4. Doggies

Were very good late last year, winning more contested posessions than their opposition in every final they played (IIRC), and failing to make the GF only on account of their undersized forward line. I don't actually think Hall will make an iota of difference in this regard, but even still I think they are capable of making the GF when they are on song in every other department.

5. Adelaide

Contrary to popular belief I don't think they can win the flag. Their spine looks quite good with Rutten, Bock, Tippet and whoever else they have down their (Walker?), but I think the improvement in the likes of Dangerfield, Knights, Porpoise and co, will be tempered by the inevitable decline of Edwards, McLeod, Goodwin etc. Could make the top 4 and win two finals, but I can't see them beating any of the above in a GF.

6. Collingwood.

Jolly will make a big difference, but even so they won't win the midfield battle in a GF against any of the top 4 (above). They can be dangerous in front of goal when guys like Medhurst and Davis are on, but 'Medhurst and Davis' doesn't really sound like 'Chapman and Johnson' does it? Still 4 or 5 A-graders behind Geelong and Hawthorn, and 2 or 3 behind St Kilda and the Dogs.

7. Brisbane

I think Voss's attempt to buy a premiership will backfire. Brown and Fev could very well average 8 goals between them a game, but where will the other 8 come from? Brown and Bradhshaw frequently kicked bags between them this year but rarely did it equate to a large team score. Midfield is still a long way off Geel, Hawks, Saints and Dogs, and the backline isn't good enough to hold the likes of Geelong and Hawthorn to less than 16 goals when the midfield battle is being lost.

8. ...not sure, but whatever team it is I think will be someway behind those above.

Sydney or Carlton to round out the 8

Every year I read these prediction topics and hear about the "inevitable decline" of Goodwin, Edwards and McLeod but the reality is they've been in decline for a while. McLeod and Edwards were liabilities in the semi final against the pies while Goodwin's once reliable disposal continues to frustrate. He's still consistently winning a lot of the ball but he doesn't hurt with his use so much anymore. Much like the situation with Ricciuto, the loss of the current trio of senior players is being partially dealt with now because we're having to get through games of footy without them producing the sort of output they once did. We won't slide to any significant degree when they hang up the boots.

Anyway I'd suggest we'll improve particularly in the back end of next year, that is to say we'll move into the top 4 imo. Taylor Walker, Rory Sloane and Myke Cook loom as the bolters. Walker is a genuine once in a generation forward prospect; a lot hinges on how much he matures and improves over the next 12 months. Don't expect us to be the "not quite there" outfit of 2009 though.

As for your mob, absolutely sensational effort to lift the cup again this year and it was thoroughly deserved given the way the club set itself after last year's disappointment, and bit and scratched its way through particularly in the grand final itself when a mammoth effort in the final term was needed. To do it again next year would take something above and beyond even this year's efforts though I feel. The midfield group is still there and still in the age bracket where you'll get exceptional performances all season but there are signs of decline in the key position posts and Harley's leadership will be missed. As far as I'm concerned another Geelong premiership in 2010 would put them on level pegging with that infamous Lions outfit; I think it'll be an uphill battle though. All the best for next year :thumbsu:

Every year I read these prediction topics and hear about the "inevitable decline" of Goodwin, Edwards and McLeod but the reality is they've been in decline for a while. McLeod and Edwards were liabilities in the semi final against the pies while Goodwin's once reliable disposal continues to frustrate. He's still consistently winning a lot of the ball but he doesn't hurt with his use so much anymore. Much like the situation with Ricciuto, the loss of the current trio of senior players is being partially dealt with now because we're having to get through games of footy without them producing the sort of output they once did. We won't slide to any significant degree when they hang up the boots.

Anyway I'd suggest we'll improve particularly in the back end of next year, that is to say we'll move into the top 4 imo. Taylor Walker, Rory Sloane and Myke Cook loom as the bolters. Walker is a genuine once in a generation forward prospect; a lot hinges on how much he matures and improves over the next 12 months. Don't expect us to be the "not quite there" outfit of 2009 though.
I completely agree with this first sentiment. More often than not in Adelaide games this year, it was the older guys letting the team down more than the young guys, especially through the midfield and up forward. The backline obviously depends on Rutten, Bock, Johncock but they are all very reliable players and will always be your strength.

The loss of Otten is a pretty major one (duh), as I think Craig was grooming him for a move into the midfield this season while putting another youngster into his HBF role. Dangerfield will take another step or two this season, and if Walker and Tippett can get some chemistry in the forward line, you guys are a definitely flag chance.

whilst all these prediction are certainly more based in reality and current form than what i am about to attempt - it is exceptionally hard to predict the future.

i doubt there were many people on FB predicting a geelong v saints GF, at the end of '08

so based on that im going to throw a few curlies in here....

1 - Geelong (given)

2 - Adelaide - i really liked the look of adelaide in the second half of 09. if they get everything right, and are lucky with injuries i reckon we will see them top 4 at least

3 - Dogs - were very unlucky to not be in the GF this year. think they still have one more year in their window of premiership opportunity.

4 - Hawks - totally hate the hawks, but still cant see why they wouldnt do better than last year

5 - Brisbane - if they can get the ball to brown and fev, then they are a good chance to go far in '10

6 - Essendon - another team i thought were starting to show some signs of improvement at the end of the season. Might be a bit young still, but is a possibility of being "over-achievers"

7 - Saints - will have a similar year to Hawks '09 and Port '08

8 - Sydney - Bradshaw >>>>>> Hall. (and i'd like to see Mummy do all right)

As for your mob, absolutely sensational effort to lift the cup again this year and it was thoroughly deserved given the way the club set itself after last year's disappointment, and bit and scratched its way through particularly in the grand final itself when a mammoth effort in the final term was needed. To do it again next year would take something above and beyond even this year's efforts though I feel. The midfield group is still there and still in the age bracket where you'll get exceptional performances all season but there are signs of decline in the key position posts and Harley's leadership will be missed. As far as I'm concerned another Geelong premiership in 2010 would put them on level pegging with that infamous Lions outfit; I think it'll be an uphill battle though. All the best for next year :thumbsu:

I'll be interested to see what you think these signs of decline in the key position posts are. From where I'm sitting, Scarlett's form hasn't shown any signs of slowing down and Taylor and Hawkins, judging from their performances in the finals, particularly against Collingwood and St.Kilda, are improving, and hopefully this improvement continues into 2010. Hawkins in particular has improved out of sight this season. I watched the NAB Cup grand final the other day, and Hawkins' game was a shadow of what it was in September.

Mooney might be the only key position player whose form could possibly waver in 2010, but that should be offset by the improvement in Hawkins.

there are signs of decline in the key position posts and Harley's leadership will be missed.

No decline from Scarlo, Taylor and Hawkins. Mooney maybe but Otto will add plenty more in 2010 than he did in 2009. Harley's leadership can be replaced by any number of players such as Lingy or Ablett or even Selwood.

regards,

REB

... To do it again next year would take something above and beyond even this year's efforts though I feel. The midfield group is still there and still in the age bracket where you'll get exceptional performances all season but there are signs of decline in the key position posts and Harley's leadership will be missed. As far as I'm concerned another Geelong premiership in 2010 would put them on level pegging with that infamous Lions outfit; I think it'll be an uphill battle though. All the best for next year :thumbsu:

Mate for mine , we would be ahead of them. Give us the extra $$ for the cap and we can start comparing but if we do it with no Cap Subsidy then we have to be ahead...just. Be lets wait till we do it before we get too carried away.

Back on topic. I think there is so little between a few side it may just get down to injuries and form.

1 , The Dogs have been there the last two years and are due. I think it could well be a Dogs V Cats GF if they can just take that little extra step. One could say they should have knocked over the Saints this year bar that little bit of finish. Find that and they are a huge threat.
2 , Saints. I can see them being a good side yet again although could they really repeat their 09 season? The thing is they don't have to. They know they can make they GF and they think they are good enough to win it.
3 , Pies. The addition of a real Ruckman and a class inside mid might just improve them far more than some think. Sure we made Dogs meat of them but I think they have elements of us a few years back. Everyone says they have no stars , they just are a young even group that will mature together. Yeah thats what they said about us a few years ago.
4 , Hawks. A side and a club who will not like what happened to them in 09. Id say they could be right back up there , they have all the components to be a serous side.

Forgive me for having a chuckle, but this post reminds me of so many of your late season 09 posts...

FWIW I agree with you.
Thanks, I think. It's not in my nature to accept that we are the best, but WE ARE.

No decline from Scarlo, Taylor and Hawkins. Mooney maybe but Otto will add plenty more in 2010 than he did in 2009. Harley's leadership can be replaced by any number of players such as Lingy or Ablett or even Selwood.

regards,

REB

Well Harley has moved on, Milburn isn't what he was, then you've got Mooney and Scarlett both 30 years of age. This is clearly where the aging players are; now whether we'll see any sort of decline from Scarlett in 2010 remains to be seen, but I thought Mooney this year showed signs that he is starting to slip a touch. When he played against us in round 4 of this year, he didn't have the same mobility or presence that I can distinctly remember noticing and being impressed by when he fronted up in 06/07/08. It was the same deal in a number of other games I watched the cats play this season; I just wonder how he's going to fare in 2010.

Now personally, and please don't rip into me for this, I don't rate Hawkins all that highly. I think he'll end up a serviceable forward but not the star focal point that he has been talked up to be. The idea that you'll pick up significant improvement off the back of his progression is, I think, being a little overoptimistic.

Pretty certain you'll be top 4, but to win the whole thing again will be harder to do this year than it was for any of the last 3 imo, and that makes it a tall order.

Well Harley has moved on, Milburn isn't what he was, then you've got Mooney and Scarlett both 30 years of age. This is clearly where the aging players are; now whether we'll see any sort of decline from Scarlett in 2010 remains to be seen, but I thought Mooney this year showed signs that he is starting to slip a touch. When he played against us in round 4 of this year, he didn't have the same mobility or presence that I can distinctly remember noticing and being impressed by when he fronted up in 06/07/08. It was the same deal in a number of other games I watched the cats play this season; I just wonder how he's going to fare in 2010.

Now personally, and please don't rip into me for this, I don't rate Hawkins all that highly. I think he'll end up a serviceable forward but not the star focal point that he has been talked up to be. The idea that you'll pick up significant improvement off the back of his progression is, I think, being a little overoptimistic.

Pretty certain you'll be top 4, but to win the whole thing again will be harder to do this year than it was for any of the last 3 imo, and that makes it a tall order.

Okay firstly, while youre facts are right i doubt will see a considerable decline in scarlett. Even if he loses that mobility he can still go back and play like presti, just shutting down the forward and not much else. I think he could play on (without injurys) for another 5 years.

Hawkins i'l admit hasnt lived up to expectation, but there are a few facts on him that dont get mentioned much. When you watch him play it can be obvious that him and mooney vacate the forward line because they know the small forwards would win 9/10 in a one on one. Secondly unlike a lot of hyped up young key forwards in the past, his playing on older, more mature defenders due to his strong, mature body. Im not kidding myself that he is going to be a 100 goal forward next year, or even in the next 4-5 years, probably not ever. But the one thing he already has going for him which alot of tall forwards lack, he competes on the ground very well, as well as in the air.

Our list is still too strong and mature to suffer any great form slump, but each and every game will be brutal, as everyone will want to prove themselves against the champ. There will be injuries to overcome, so I'm guessing a finish of fourth, again with the brains trust using the season to finish in high gear at September.

1. Dogs
2. Saints
3. Hawks
4. Cats
5. Crows
6. Lions
7. Port
8. Pies

"Signs, signs, everywhere there's signs..." Sure there are signs of decline , there are also signs of renewal. The thing with signs is its down to interpretation.

Mooney had an ordinary year , like Scrooge , he was haunted by Ghosts of his past. He has been quoted as saying there were times that he chose not to go for contest/marks because didn't want another setshot.He past the ball when he shouldn't have and everytime he did have a shot, the GF mistakes where revisited. With every miss it seemed to confirm the Monkey on his back was now a Gorrila

Yet , late in the year he turned it around. One could see he started to believe in his ability at conversion. Not immediately rewarded for his work of the ground but by the time of this years GF he was able to make the most of his limited chances.This was critical in such a low scoring , high pressure game. For mine these signs indicate a refreshed mind set that may yet invigorate the mature warrior. If he stays fit I see no reason for any diminished output in 2010.

Hawkins has also had his trouble with conversion along with getting that huge mountain of a frame into condition. But he is still so young. He has done enough to indicate that he is capable of kicking 40-60 goals (2-3 a game). He has a great leap , has hand unlike few forwards, if he locks down the kicking he will have a fearsome impact. One thing to remember , he probably will be better as the sole Power Forward matched with tall leading forward that will give him room, we may not see his best till Mooney is gone.

Scarlett , has been playing in defense like few others for years and I see no reason for this stop. Sure he will miss Harley's support but in truth Harley's contribution has been diminished for some time , his role has been taken up by Taylor and Mackie and he has been covered by his teammates We also saw a glimpse of the future thru the year. Gillies will be taken under Scarletts wing and will gradually be integrated into our D allowing the King of Defenders to swing over to the flank.I pity the 3rd tall that has Scarlett to contend with.

As far Dasher goes he hasn't played as KPP for some time. He is doing his best work as a lose defender , using his judgement , his football nous. He can do this again if Mackie and Taylor hold the KP.

In short , I dont see the decline that you do. We lost Egan who was our All Aust CGB and kept on going , and I don't see any reason why Haley going will cause a collapse of or defense. The key to our chances will be fitness. We had a huge injury toll in 09 , if we have a good run we still have the list to be an awesome group.

The only two teams that worry me going into season 2010 is Hawthorn and St. Kilda.

St Kilda obviously were the best team all year, and having added and tweaked their list could be better or around the same as 2009. I don't think we can expect them to win 20 out of 22 or whatever they did last year as they will have learned from us this year how to peak at the right time, like we did from the Hawthorn in 2008. Should still finish top 2 easy.

Hawthorn are a side that no matter what we seem to struggle against. Even this year when they were all over the shop with injuries and what not we only beat them with the last kick of the game. Given most of their key players will have a full pre-season going in to 2010 could see them as the bolter. Our midfield man for man is clearly better than theirs, thier forward line we all know about, depending how we restructure our backline and replace Harley will go along way to determining how we slow them down.

We are still clearly better than 13 other teams, I would have Hawthorn just behind us and Saint Kilda on a par.

Collingwood as the PF showed are prenial pretenders, any steps forward Carlton took last year they have undone by trading thier forward line, Adelaide are the smokey but don't have any real game breakers, Bulldogs I feel will be a little to old and again will slow down in September after a long season and while Brisbane could threaten their midfield and backline have some querries