The Cricket Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter eldorado

Well, I've crawled out of my man cave, looking, sounding & smelling like Frank Gallacher & was confronted once again by a below average performance by South Australia. And once again, SA have fielded a team with 4 local born players (Ferguson, Head, Sayers & Putland). Two New South Waleans made the bulk of our runs - Hughes & Mennie.

While Putland & Sayers are good honest bowlers, it's not a dangerous attack & it looks like we'll be propping up the ladder once more.

Something is really not right for South Australia to constantly underperform & not create cricketers who can represent their own state, let alone be proficient first class cricketers.

Though if you are from one of the other states & territories in this country & have half the average ability of a Shield player, it's always comforting to know that you can generally get a game over here.

Well, I've crawled out of my man cave, looking, sounding & smelling like Frank Gallacher & was confronted once again by a below average performance by South Australia. And once again, SA have fielded a team with 4 local born players (Ferguson, Head, Sayers & Putland). Two New South Waleans made the bulk of our runs - Hughes & Mennie.

While Putland & Sayers are good honest bowlers, it's not a dangerous attack & it looks like we'll be propping up the ladder once more.

Something is really not right for South Australia to constantly underperform & not create cricketers who can represent their own state, let alone be proficient first class cricketers.

Though if you are from one of the other states & territories in this country & have half the average ability of a Shield player, it's always comforting to know that you can generally get a game over here.

I think it's a common problem amongst just about all states barring NSW, and maybe Tassie, who continue to churn them out. WA seem to be in a similar state, Victoria are having issues as well, as are QLD.

Do you think it's got a bit to do with a lot of the promisin junior players being forced to choose between cricket or footy at a younger age??

I think it's a common problem amongst just about all states barring NSW, and maybe Tassie, who continue to churn them out. WA seem to be in a similar state, Victoria are having issues as well, as are QLD.

Do you think it's got a bit to do with a lot of the promisin junior players being forced to choose between cricket or footy at a younger age??
I used to, but I do think it is more than that now. In the glorious days of my youth, most people worked 9-5 or 8-4 & generally had Saturdays & Sundays off. We've now got a whole generation that's never known that. I don't think it's just choosing between footy & cricket - it's choosing between sport & work.

The footy-cricket divide is more pronounced in the AFL states as cricket & footy players have a similar body type. Rugby League & Union players these days are much broader than their 70's counterparts who could play both codes at a high level - Graeme Hughes (Canterbury & NSW) for example.

With SA though, our grade/district competition needs a complete overhaul, merge/demote teams, improve pitches & increase competition. The last decade has seen a distinct drop in batting ability & an inability to cope with any conditions but the most benign.

Maybe that mirrors the national team.

I used to, but I do think it is more than that now. In the glorious days of my youth, most people worked 9-5 or 8-4 & generally had Saturdays & Sundays off. We've now got a whole generation that's never known that. I don't think it's just choosing between footy & cricket - it's choosing between sport & work.

The footy-cricket divide is more pronounced in the AFL states as cricket & footy players have a similar body type. Rugby League & Union players these days are much broader than their 70's counterparts who could play both codes at a high level - Graeme Hughes (Canterbury & NSW) for example.

With SA though, our grade/district competition needs a complete overhaul, merge/demote teams, improve pitches & increase competition. The last decade has seen a distinct drop in batting ability & an inability to cope with any conditions but the most benign.

Maybe that mirrors the national team.

Great post and I think you have hit the nail on the top of the head.

Plus, it's a lifestyle thing. Less kids seem to want to sug it out in the middle of an oval over summer than previous.

Not sure what cricket can do to turn it around, but hope they can. We need a continued strong domestic comp to keep our national team strong

Judging by his dismissal today, Hughes has done nothing to temper his desire to flash at balls leaving him outside off stump.

Two players reach double figures & Ferguson scores more than half the runs. South Australian cricket is an embarrassment. Hell, it's not even the South Australian cricketers fault. Between the two of them they scored 52. Butterworth did little more than bowl a tight line around off stump.

Judging by his dismissal today, Hughes has done nothing to temper his desire to flash at balls leaving him outside off stump.

Two players reach double figures & Ferguson scores more than half the runs. South Australian cricket is an embarrassment. Hell, it's not even the South Australian cricketers fault. Between the two of them they scored 52. Butterworth did little more than bowl a tight line around off stump.

Bit early to be tanking for draft picks mate!

Wade notches a lovely rear guard 50+ to guide his team to first innings points...

MEanwhile Cameron White is seemingly facing half taped golf balls when he's at the wicket

Which clown running the Cricket Aus website, made it 300 seconds for a page refresh.

Its meant to be ball by ball coverage, not over by over.

EDIT: SIDS brings up his 50! Well done old boy.

South Australian cricket is now officially dead. Absolutely humiliating defeat.

Will they do anything about it? Will they bollox. Maybe a couple of huff & puff press releases & import a few more players from NSW & Victoria.

Ludemann showed some fight.

South Australian cricket is now officially dead. Absolutely humiliating defeat.

Will they do anything about it? Will they bollox. Maybe a couple of huff & puff press releases & import a few more players from NSW & Victoria.

Ludemann showed some fight.

Hard to argue with anything you have said there. They are the Port Adelaide of the competition.

18 games without a victory? No, that's Hawthorn circa 1950.

We can only get better from here i guess :(
I like that optimism.

But no, we can get worse as well. Todays Grade scores are disappointing. Doropoulos (ex-WA) made 129, so he should be due for a call up.

I had a quick chat with a South Australian player who wasn't involved in this weeks humiliating defeat. There is a fair bit of frustration regarding selection at the moment. Two players, himself included, won't be getting much of a look in until some of the "interstaters" fail on a regular basis. Seeing one of those players took 5/31 last week & the other made 102 this week it will lead to more miserable times for the Redbacks.

Surely the reason why the interstaters are being drafted into the team is because of whats around SA in the first place.

Not in the fast bowling stakes they're not.

I like that optimism.

But no, we can get worse as well. Todays Grade scores are disappointing. Doropoulos (ex-WA) made 129, so he should be due for a call up.

What's the story with Ferguson. I watched him a bit a few years back and he looked good to me. I know he's had his injuries but he doesn't seem like he's come on as expected.

It is just that, injuries. Interrupted his development, disrupting his footwork & he's only just returning to the form he showed when playing for Australia A. He's been one of very few shining lights with the bat so far.

Just a bit of trivia on last Sunday's game between SA & Tas:

Both teams had the same amount of South Australians in them - 1.

Who said it couldn't get worse?

That's pretty poor isn't it, and probably a reflection on why the SACA's are struggling so much. They seem to have an inability to develop their own talent and have to content themselves with bringing in other states also-rans. Warriors are similar.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/england/content/current/story/587398.html

Tony Greig, the former England captain, has been diagnosed with a form of lung cancer and will undergo a biopsy later this week to determine at what stage the disease is at and what the required course of action would be.

Greig said he was unsure if he will be working over the Australian summer, as commentator, with Channel Nine: "At this stage, the summer is totally up in the air. My priority, 100%, is my family. They will come first."

I can see Max Walker warming up already...