The elephant in the room

• Thread starter Thread starter Joker91

Cotch should retain the captaincy until A) the players don't respect/consider him worthy of being their captain or B) he doesn't feel he personally can do the role justice.

At the end of the day, we're just supporters so if Cotchin has the respect of his peers within the 4 walls at the club, he should stay captain IMO.

Cotchin should and obviously will remain as captain. However the fact that Jack isn't in the leadership group is a complete joke.

the club is a joke mate. why do you think trelor picked collingwood over us
You tell us, have you spoken to him, or his manager, personally? Did we offer similar money or terms? Are we, or are Collingwood, best placed to get the trade done with GWS?
Club is far from a joke, is better placed than ever before to be a consistently strong side, still a way of contending for a flag but on the right track.
Thankfully, the club will stay strong and stick to it's plans and not overreact like a few on these boards.

Trent Cotchin has been an outstanding leader this year and is the best candidate for the job. What, because he had a quiet game possession wise yesterday he must be replaced? Too stupid for words. He kept trying, kept working. No chop outs from any team mate, no one went out of their way to get him the ball either. Was tagged heavily by an outstandingly disciplined opponent who has done the job almost every week for North. Name a star player that never had a quiet final. Richmond is better than calling for the coach and captain to be stood down every time we lose a final.

Enough! All of you.

Trent is our leader.

thejoyofsect11.png

The problem with Cotchin is he is a lovely bloke... The sort of bloke you would love your 18 year old daughter to bring home. However he is not an alpha male leader who demands that people follow him and drags his team back into games ala Carey,Worsfold or Voss.

I look at the current Richmond side and compare it to the current Arsenal side; fantastic individual player but devoid of leadership and melt when the blowtorch is applied. Not surprisingly, both clubs find themselves in a similar position. Under A strong leader like Tony Adams Arsenal won 2 titles whereas now they stubble across the line for a top 4 finish.

We need someone who will die for the cause and will bleed Richmond without thinking twice.

Jack Reidwoldt your time has come.
God I have been in denial about the arsenal comparasion for a while because I hate them so much but you are ****ing right , we have the flashy players but we don't have that angry campaigner who demands shit

He's a good player, but a little bit overrated on our board. You'd think he was the second coming of Christ. Had a disgraceful game today, unsighted when there were so many opportunities in the game to stand up and lead. Played well against Carlton in 2013 EF but when they charged at us in the 2nd half, he wasn't really seen either nor stood up. Maric/Jackson did. I'd love for Jackson to still be playing for us as I think he's a brilliant leader and speaker. No nonsense shit playing style on-field as well. Cotchin isn't a naturally aggressive player with a hard edge ala N. Jones/J. Selwood/A. Swallow, he's a bit too precious and overthinks a lot. I've said this before and I've said it again - a level head doesn't necessarily make a good captain. I don't think captaincy should have been bestowed upon him at such a young age, he crumbles under pressure and tight attention (see Macaffer a couple years ago who held him to 12 touches)
Seems like he rated himself a little bit highly after 2012, and with the captaincy in his hands it looks like he's not really trying to improve his play, but moreso his ability to lead. I'm sure he'll bounce back, but 3 years in a row losing the EF, words won't do. Finals win next year is a must.

He had 10 disposals in the first half, 16 in the second.
Didn't do much with those touches I thought, kicked 2 goals in the first half didn't he? Poorly worded and rightfully picked up on, he had more of an impact in the first half than the second. With the game on the line he should have rose to the occasion. But you're right, wasn't really seen is a bit harsh.

He was being tagged all day that day aswell. Yeh his 2 goals were in the first half.
Checked the AFL ratings for that game and Cotch got a 9, Lids got an 8. Would say them not standing up in finals is a myth. They had bad games, thats all there is to it.

He was being tagged all day that day aswell. Yeh his 2 goals were in the first half.
Checked the AFL ratings for that game and Cotch got a 9, Lids got an 8. Would say them not standing up in finals is a myth. They had bad games, thats all there is to it.
Deledio has always stood up in big games and finals, thrives on the big stage. Cotchin I think suffers from overthinking. He is scarred from all these EF losses that he focuses too much on his captaincy and less on his footy. Just my opinion, but I think at his age, he'll prove me wrong in the coming years and learn from it. Only time will tell.

He would be hurting now. Probably more than any other person at the club.
Hes the kind of player that would make sure nothing like that happens again. He'll have a huge pre-season with that burning inside him for 6 months.
Might put some money on him winning the brownlow next year.

I think the OP is too harsh on Cotch but I really like the look of Jack (C), Miles (VC) and Rance (VC).

I just remember Cotch before he got the captaincy and he was clearly a better performer than he has been since given that responsibility, which for him might be more of a burden. Even if it just means Cotch plays better we should think about choosing a different captain.

But then there have been games when Cotch has gone into Hulk mode and lifted the team really well, like v Collingwood.

It's a very difficult decision to make, especially because we don't have access to their interpersonal dealings with each other. It's hard to know who would be a good leader without seeing how they talk to each other. You have to be like a teacher, co-ordinator, counsellor, principal all in one, plus a ripper player... not too many 20-something year olds walking around like that.

Cotchin is head and shoulders above the rest of the pack in terms of the best Captain choice at the club at the moment. What he and others need to do is work off the tag, the midfield (whole team for that matter) need to be able to identify when shit just aint working and adapt. As much as I am going to regret typing this next part, had Mitch Robinson or someone else of that nature been playing for Richmond yesterday Jacobs would have at least known that Cotchin had one team mate that would make the day a little difficult for him. Don't get me wrong, Robinson is not the answer, but a player who get in the oppositions face and body checks aroud the contest etc to help his team mate out is.

Just like last years.
Sorry but actions speaks louder than words.
Every other captain can rise to the occasion when it matters.
Not buying it for the 3rd time.
If he didn't rise in games during the year we would have finished a week earlier .