The Eye: Kreuzer...

Nov 8, 2007
I'll be keeping an EYE on our prized No.1 over the coming months and will be grateful for any useful/interesting information or answers to my questions.

The big kid had a nice start to his first senior game; (albeit pre-season cup) with a goal with his first kick.

Only thing is it took him 9 minutes to get that kick. Also he didn't touch it in the 1st or 4th quarter; in fact he didn't really get much of the ball at all.

Am I being to harsh? Are the expectations after seeing most No.1's have an immediate impact too large? I'd value your thoughts.

The big kid had a nice start to his first senior game; (albeit pre-season cup) with a goal with his first kick.

Thanks to that single kick it cost me 100 big ones....but I hope he goes onto kick one for each dollar it cost through out the 2008 season.

I'll be keeping an EYE on our prized No.1 over the coming months and will be grateful for any useful/interesting information or answers to my questions.

Only thing is it took him 9 minutes to get that kick. Also he didn't touch it in the 1st or 4th quarter; in fact he didn't really get much of the ball at all.

Am I being to harsh? Are the expectations after seeing most No.1's have an immediate impact too large? I'd value your thoughts.

Are you being too harsh? What do you think? :rolleyes:

Settle down Tiger! He was barely on the ground for half the game and, as a young BIG, it IS always going to be a slower path to domination for our Special K. Patience my boy, patience. ;)

I think you are being far too harsh for a first gamer that is over 200 cm! Takes a while to get used to the game when you are that big, he is nowhere near developed, will take time. Patience my friend, he's ganna be good.

I wouldn't expect anything from him. We've seen time after time, big blokes with enormous talent just can't get the speed of the game in their initial years. Some guys like Kosi hit the ground running but most others -including Franklin - took some time. The problem is, due to a lack of genuine height, Kruezer will most likely see a great deal of senior footy this year and people will criticize him for looking slow and lost, when he's really just finding his feet. I think 2010 will be when we start to see what he can do.

skip forward to 2011:

Mcavaney: "Kruezer and Sandilands in the ruck...Kruezer completely smashes the ball! My god it looks like its going to roll into in the Carlton forward 50!....it's still rolling!.....here they come! oh clever pick up by Murphy, he's running hard this bloke and evaded Haselby brilliantly....he gives it a short punt to...it's in the air! FEVOLLLLAAAAAA! What a fantastic grab! I don't think i've seen anything like it!.........................Big Fev gets his 6th! Great kick - an effortless kick by Brendan. Now it's Carlton by 42 points in this semi final verse Fremantle. Special stuff here today at the MCG boys, very special stuff."

:D:D:D

One question: Is the guy right or left-handed? If that goal was off his wrong foot we've got a beauty.

Was off his wrong foot.

I reckon I saw Kreuzer play about 10 times last year in the TAC and the Championships, and I do not recall ever seeing him use his left side, let alone slot on from 40 out on his left foot.

Most kids in under-aged footy do not use their non-dominant side (aside from Cotchin :)), so I would not under-estimate how good a effort that was from Kreuzer.

We have a young gun on our hands people.

I reckon I saw Kreuzer play about 10 times last year in the TAC and the Championships, and I do not recall ever seeing him use his left side, let alone slot on from 40 out on his left foot.

Most kids in under-aged footy do not use their non-dominant side (aside from Cotchin :)), so I would not under-estimate how good a effort that was from Kreuzer.

We have a young gun on our hands people.
Yeah, I also can't say I'd seen Kreuzer use his opposite foot. I didn't see the goal the other night, but it surprises me to hear the big fella has that hidden talent as part of his arsenal too!

It wasn't the most coordinated left foot effort I've ever seen:p (in fact I think i look smoother kicking off the left), but you have to give him huge credit when even some more senior players in the side would have side-stepped, still yet to see Grigg or Simpson kick off their right :).

Simpson doesn't have a right foot. Fell over a lot as a kid. :)

Mate, it went in, and it never looked like missing. It was a fantastic kick; some people would miss that on their preferred.
What really gave me mixed feelings was Hampson's shot frim about 10 meters out. It went in; but only just. Those who saw the kick i'm sure no what i'm talking about as we all breathed a sigh of relief...

True this..........but the sad fact is he had more penetration of three steps on his left than Fisher does on his dominant side.

Brilliant (if not a bit ungainly) kick, with no hesitation either.

As for whether he was quiet or not (ref back to the OP), well , yes he was but he looks to be picking up the pace of the game a bit.........not big deal.

Can we please allow him some time..........he is not going to dominate off the bat this year and any glimpses he shows, like some of the ground work, some of his tap work, and THAT goal should all be viewed as bonuses while he gets games under his belt.

Looked like a pretty sweet strike to me - the ball had nice back-spin. He had to run towards the behind post and needed to hook it, which he did perfectly. I reckon it would have looked arrow-straight from behind the kick.

He also forced a rushed behind earlier in the game. His opponent didn't want to take his agility and speed on and just waltzed through the posts.

Looked like a pretty sweet strike to me - the ball had nice back-spin. He had to run towards the behind post and needed to hook it, which he did perfectly. I reckon it would have looked arrow-straight from behind the kick.

He also forced a rushed behind earlier in the game. His opponent didn't want to take his agility and speed on and just waltzed through the posts.

FFS, everybody take a deep breath and slowly step away fromthe keyboard....I am as big a Kreuz fan as anybody......yes, it was a good effort and I acknowledged that.....just trying to make light of the fact tha.....ah for****ing forget it.

Need some help?

valium.jpg

:thumbsu::p:D

The Eye: Kreuzer...