The footy tips discussion thread

lethalburns

Thought I'd start the round 2 other games thread.

Really struggling to split Adelaide/Syd (Leaning Syd despite record) and WC/Port (leaning WC although Port belted them in PS)... What are other Pies fans thoughts?

Re: Round 2 - Other Games

I'd go Sydney

Port if it's in Adelaide west coast if its subi

Yeah, I tipped Adelaide. I reckon they would be really keen to ceom back after that embarrassing loss to the old heave ho'.

WC Port I'm not sure. I went WC, solely because I think Port will have one of its patented consistancy issues this week.

I'm going with the Swans, they looked pretty good against the Saints, and Adelaide looked absolutely insipid against Freo. I have my doubts about how quickly Adelaide can bounce back from that performance.

In the other games I'm going with Lions, Saints, Power, Bombers, Bulldogs, Cats. I'm almost tempted to pick Freo ahead of Essendon, but I know in my heart as much as I want them to win Freo will betray me.

Brisbane should beat Carlton, especially without Mr Visy.

StKilda and North could be closer then expected, with Kosi out and the Aints not really clicking yet. Petrie out hurts North though, Saints to win by around 20.

West Coast vs Port is a hard game, all depends on which version of each team turns up. Could well be a 7-8 goal WCE win, a 5 goal Port win or a real close game.

Adelaide vs Sydney is another 50/50 game for mine, both sides won't want to start 0-2, and this will be a 4 quarter dog fight, Sydney style, crows to run away with it late though.

Essendon don't lose to average or poor teams at Docklands (sorry for calling it that Collo), they won't lose to Freo there.

Geelong are my "bet of the round", they will find a way to win, and boy oh boy was Hawthorn's performance last week over rated. Hawks will be shocked by the step up in class, Cat's rather easily.

Didn't mention the Dogs game, because I don't have to, it's like our game, not worth even mentioning a tip or margin.

I'll tip the Blues tonight.

Won 3 on the trot against the Lions before the final last year. Then they absolutely had Brisbane beat, until they choked in the last quarter (what a joy to watch that was)

So that's basically 4 games in a row where Carlton have been on top of Brisbane. This is not a final, and they don't mind playing at the GABBA.

Simply put, their midfield is stacks better than Brisbanes.

The only question is no Judd. That's a real concern.

But I'll go Carlton because they are paying good odd's and I want a smokey this round.

Brisbane should beat Carlton, especially without Mr Visy.

StKilda and North could be closer then expected, with Kosi out and the Aints not really clicking yet. Petrie out hurts North though, Saints to win by around 20.

West Coast vs Port is a hard game, all depends on which version of each team turns up. Could well be a 7-8 goal WCE win, a 5 goal Port win or a real close game.

Adelaide vs Sydney is another 50/50 game for mine, both sides won't want to start 0-2, and this will be a 4 quarter dog fight, Sydney style, crows to run away with it late though.

Essendon don't lose to average or poor teams at Docklands (sorry for calling it that Collo), they won't lose to Freo there.

Geelong are my "bet of the round", they will find a way to win, and boy oh boy was Hawthorn's performance last week over rated. Hawks will be shocked by the step up in class, Cat's rather easily.

Didn't mention the Dogs game, because I don't have to, it's like our game, not worth even mentioning a tip or margin.

Adelaide is Sydney's other bogey side. They've won 6 in a row. Given the loss to Freo last week, and they should get a few players back...I'll back them in to bounce back.

Keep an eye on Taylor Walker who looked sharp last week.

Hey Lethalburns great thread idea!! :thumbsu:

I changed the name so we can keep it going throughout the year.

I had heaps of trouble splitting WC and PA; and I had a bad feeling about Brisbane against Carlton.

I went conservative and picked WC and Brisbane. Probably should've picked a roughie out of those two.

im tipping the crows to bounce back at home neil craig is to good of a coach to let them screw up again.. eagles, because its at subi and my roughie is freo to beat the dons despite there bad record at etihad. I didnt mind there zone setup and i can see them improving this year. any thoughts?

Adelaide have beaten Sydney the past 6 times they've played. I originally tipped Swans but... it's at AAMI.... gonna go with the Crows. Are Freo that good or were the Crows having a bad day? Will they have another? I guess we'll find out.

As such, I'm tipping Fremantle vs the Dons. Essendon played well against Geelong, but fell away badly in the last. This is potentially one of those 'why the hell did I tip Freo' weeks.

Brisbane vs Carlton
Collingwood vs Melbourne
St Kilda vs North Melbourne
West Coast vs Port Adelaide
Adelaide vs Sydney
Essendon vs Fremantle
Richmond vs Bulldogs
Hawthorn vs Geelong

But I'll go Carlton because they are paying good odd's and I want a smokey this round.

Interesting. I've got some cash on Brisbane at the line (-22.5). Can't see Carlton getting within 6 goals.

WC/Port is an absolute nightmare to tip.

I have tipped all the home sides except the doggies.

Hawks are my 'roughie'. But I'm not sure. Couple of hours to go, talk me out of it if you can!

I have tipped all the home sides except the doggies.

Hawks are my 'roughie'. But I'm not sure. Couple of hours to go, talk me out of it if you can!

I like the Hawks as a roughie this week.

Last week showed that Geelong is vulnerable.

Hawks welcome back Franklin and Bateman, with Rioli and Burgoyne pushing for selection.

So they will be fired up. And they always play well against Geelong.

The toughest tip is WC v Port. I'll go with WC purely due to home ground advantage. No Motlop or Gray limits their forward options as well.

But Eagles are most likely without LeCras.

Keep an eye on Taylor Walker who looked sharp last week.

My Supercoach and Dream Team "smoky" of the year,just under 100 points in both last week.:thumbsu:

I like the Hawks as a roughie this week.

Last week showed that Geelong is vulnerable.

Hawks welcome back Franklin and Bateman, with Rioli and Burgoyne pushing for selection.

So they will be fired up. And they always play well against Geelong.

The toughest tip is WC v Port. I'll go with WC purely due to home ground advantage. No Motlop or Gray limits their forward options as well.

But Eagles are most likely without LeCras.

Agreed re WC. Hard game to tip. Rule of thumb in such a circumstance, tip the home side, if there is one.

As for the Hawks... the Cats have been a bit off all preseason and were off for 2.5 quarters against Essendon. The Hawks are potentially a sleeping giant. A few weeks in to the season, and maybe this would be a much easier tip. As it is, I'm going to try and guess the trend (Hawks up and running) early.

Scary thought for a Magpies supporter though, given our trouble getting over them in recent years.

You've convinced me to go Adelaide. As for the other game:

Port gave the Eagles an absolute flogging at Subi only a few weeks ago... missing 3-4 of their players.. Not sure if its worth reading into pre-season??

On the flip side Port's second half against the Roos has me wondering if their hard running is sustainable ... sometimes teams carry that form into the next week...

From a strategy point of view is it better to take a punt on a team like Port early in the tipping comp, or play it safe until later rounds? Most of the tippers in my comp. are conservative so I'm guessing they would all have gone Adelaide + WC. Good opportunity to blow them away... Also a good op. to sink myself hahaha

I actually picked Sydney and Port , Sydney has been pretty impressive during the preseason and were stiff to go down to the Aints . On paper (line ups) Port looks substantially better , gonna have a crack at them at TAB.

tough round

port v wc

no frenchman will hurt west coast, whilst port ins look good.......i reckon port in an upset.....dont get the west coast love in!

Syd n Ade

adelaide are the bogey team of sydney, apart from us of course.....so unfort stick with the crows

Ess v Freo

think it is more of my heart tipping freo, would be great to have the dons 0-2, but then again freo did play well last sunday

Hawks v Cats

huge game, see where the hawks really are at.....unfort i reckon the hawks may look the goods and get up!

got 6/8 this weekend, stuffed up with adel & wce, anyone manage an 8/8?
i know im early but geez next round is a tough one also.

Saints VS Pies ( if presti plays ill follow my heart. )
Roos VS Eagles( tough one both teams havent won a game, thinking eagles in a close one. but not sure, will see if the french fella is back )
Port VS Lions ( both teams are 2-0. might go with Port at home, but then the way JBrown played makes you wonder )
Carl VS Ess ( ill go bombers, have the wood over them )
Syd VS Rich ( Swans all the way )
Melb VS Adel ( Crows )
Wb VS Haws ( Another tough one, dogs just )
Freo VS Gee ( Cats in a close one also )

any thoughts??