The Hampster

AndyWalkersGirl

ok, i dont understand a lot of arguments saying we should have picked up Jetta because the bombers were not going with Hampson.

Who cares what the bombers 'could have' done?

We have not seen any of these young guys player a proper afl season yet, and already we're saying we made wrong decisions. Funny how everyone thinks they are a recruiting expert.

For those who think we should have done other things, and gone with other picks, all i can say to you is support the boys we did pick up, and stop whinging that we didn't pick who you wanted us to pick :)

1958.jpg

1957.jpg

1949.jpg

Look at this boy and tell me you are not pleased we have him? The whole Grigg/Hampson/Jetta argument is really tiring, because there is no point going on about who we 'should' have had, when we need to take give it about 5 years of AFL playing, and then we can see what impact they've had.

Carlton's ruck stocks have not been good since we had Harry Madden running around like a Dinosaur. I'm very pleased the club made such a bold move with taking Hampson, because the fact is, our ruck area was the weakest point going into this draft.

Wait 3 or 4 years and I hope many of you will be saying "Thank God we took Hampson."

It's very annoying reading these boards lately, and constantly reading Carlton posts where people are ripping into some players for not being hard enough, not being the right draft pick, or not being super fast.

It just amuses me that there are so many recruiting experts on this board :p How about just doing what you do best, supporting the new kids, and letting them have a go first. The season hasn't even started yet and we're already getting stuck into players, based on NAB cup form or lack of!

As for Hampson, I'm very pleased we took him, and I just hope he sticks around with the Blues for the rest of his career.

Just people jumping to conclusions. It's a regular occurance on these boards and in life. People generally don't wait for perspective before making decisions and forming opinions.

Yes i know that, but it is a more than regular occurance on this Carlton board, over any other board on big footy, and I certainly don't see TC ranting on this way.

There are just a lot hard to please, negative experts on here.

AWG a lot of these negative posters come from other forums. Many of them have very few posts to their name. Some of them are opposition supporters masquerading as Carlton supporters. BF posters are negative if you are on the other side of the coin (pre-election for example) but all forums were powderkegs and very negative during that time.

You will find threads critical of Walker's disposal, draft choices, Houla's heart on every forum. Some just stand out more than others.

AWG a lot of these negative posters come from other forums. Many of them have very few posts to their name. Some of them are opposition supporters masquerading as Carlton supporters. BF posters are negative if you are on the other side of the coin (pre-election for example) but all forums were powderkegs and very negative during that time.

You will find threads critical of Walker's disposal, draft choices, Houla's heart on every forum. Some just stand out more than others.

i realise that ODN. But there is a whole thread on why we should have taken Jetta, and I wanted to start this thread to say that I am glad we picked up Hampson! :)

Happy with our draft pick-ups!!! Time will tell if they were stroke of genius or other......I personally reckon Hampson and Grigg will be guns. If I had to pick a kid who impressed me thus far (who we could've had) it would have to be Houli - looks like he's going to star!!!!

Overall in Big Kev's words - " I'm Excited"

Squash

Nice thread AWG:thumbsu:

Only a few in the other thread wanted to wind back time mate. I think most of the posters were happy with how we went. I Honestly believe that we will be very happy with our picks and Essendon will be with theirs. High fives allround:)

There was one poster obviously on a windup tour, but you get that and sometimes it is hard not to bite:D

Nice thread AWG:thumbsu:

Only a few in the other thread wanted to wind back time mate. I think most of the posters were happy with how we went. I Honestly believe that we will be very happy with our picks and Essendon will be with theirs. High fives allround:)

There was one poster obviously on a windup tour, but you get that and sometimes it is hard not to bite:D

I bite hard all the time! :)

Love the idea of more threads that support our new draftees. :thumbsu:

I don't mind people pointing out players deficiencies or areas for improvement, as long as it's balanced by highlighting the things they do well from time to time. Criticism and paise in equal measure or perhaps slightly more in favour of praise. After all, we are meant to be called supporters right, not bag-the-crap-out-ofers.

I do however dislike it when those who choose to voice their opinions on draftees are set upon and dismissed with the sarcastic 'recruiting expert' tag. Come pre-draft time, readers lap up the offerings of these 'recruiting experts' and their mock drafts and opinions on players. I hope they're still offering up their opinions come pre-draft 2007, because while some are usless and others insightful, they're always good for a read and that's why I come here. To listen to others opinions and voice my own. :)

couldnt agree more . Hampson will win over jetta anyday. Hughes knows what he is doing.Hampson was supposed to be in the top 10 in the ND.lets let the rest of the clubs cry for letting Hampson through.

You gotta remember that Carltons ruck stocks have been poor-as for years. So we use an early pick on the second most promising ruckman - in our eyes anyway - and then follow it up with another more rough & ready guy as well. Then get some fillers for a few years and Bob's your local tyre salesman.

I think we needed a class ruckman with promise more than a small forward / midfielder, however good he is. He could become the next Jeff Farmer, or worse, and win lots of games, but our views are long-term. They have to be.

agree, we need ruckmen. Cant compare a lightning fast mid, to a 200cm+ ruckman.

Again this comes down to selecting what the side needs.

Just ignore the thread, like I did.

I think Hampson will become a good player for us.I am really hanging out for his debut.Were forgetting Mark Porter as well.I loved when he played loose in defence.He read the play well and blocked opposition leads.

It would have been a big mistake not to take ruckman this year. Next year depending on how Askie is coming along should dictate if we look at drafting another ruckman with a round 1 or 2 pick.