Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

I wasn’t aware of that, cheers for the tip.

Where do you find it? I’ve haven’t had any luck.

I think the forever Hero promo is the only thing you can get now. There’s a link where you can sign up for “ updates on 2021 membership information and packages once they become available”.

I’m sure the digital membership for overseas fans will be part of it. It would be stupid to not offer something like that. I think I purchased my package in Nov/Dec last year but I might be misremembering.

Inside story: How Brisbane pulled off the Lachie Neale trade that changed the AFL landscape
Chris HonneryThe Courier-Mail
Fri, 11 September 2020 5:03AM
The Lions were hunting a superstar. But they had no idea a two-time best and fairest winner was about to hit the market. This is how Lachie Neale became the Lion king and the impact the move had on the rest of the competition.

The Fremantle clearance monster had not-so-secretly flown to Brisbane to meet with the Lions hierarchy to assess the lay of the land and a potential 4000km move to the other side of the country.

The Lions had been working hard behind the scenes to lure the dual best and fairest player to the Sunshine State as they looked to add some experience to their young roster.

The question at the time was, why leave the Dockers for Brisbane?
Rewind a few months and it all stemmed from a conversation between Neale’s manager Tim Lawrence and Lions list manager Dom Ambrogio.
“There’d been discussions around Brisbane with me, not necessarily involving Lachie, because it was midway through the season,” Lawrence recalled.
Lachie Neale has become one of the star midfielders of the competition.
Lachie Neale has become one of the star midfielders of the competition. Credit: News Corp Australia, Michael Klein
“I had some chats with Dom Ambrogio, the list manager at the Lions, about other bits and pieces.
“Brisbane were clearly in a rebuilding phase. (Fagan) had gone there and Dave Noble was there.
“I was chatting with Dom and asked what players they were looking for and he said midfielders.
“I tossed up the idea of Lachie Neale and the phone went quiet for a few seconds before Dom said ‘well yeah, that could work’.
“At that time, it was just a thought in mind. Lachie was neither yes or no so we just kept in touch.”
Ambrogio wasted no time in telling the Brisbane hierarchy of a potential poach of one of the game’s best young talents.
Lions boss Greg Swann said the recruitment committee were almost blown away by the prospect of nabbing Neale to the club.
“He (Ambrogio) came to that group and said ‘look, we’re a chance to get Lachie Neale’ and we just looked at each other and thought ‘geez, that’s pretty good’,” Swann said.
“He was already a dual best and fairest winner and a good player.
“He was just a real professional. He was a great trainer, a leader.
“He just seemed like a really good bloke.
“We’ve had a real emphasis on that – you can’t have enough good people at your club and we thought he would not only add to the playing stocks but the off-field stocks as well.”
QUEENSLAND GETAWAY
The Lions were keen to show Neale what life was like in the Sunshine State.
So in late August the Fremantle star, his partner Julie and manager all flew to Brisbane to meet with the club’s heavy hitters.
Among them included Fagan, Lions boss Greg Swann and football manager David Noble.
They were wined and dined, taken out for coffee and driven around potential Brisbane suburbs to live in.
Neale has admitted the lack of fanfare and limelight in Brisbane on the little-known AFL star became more and more appealing as time went on.
Lawrence revealed it wasn’t the only selling point.
“After Fages met Lachie that weekend, he said to me ‘he’s a coach-in-waiting and I want to try and help him’,” Lawrence said.
“There was another kind of sell.
“We spent a couple of days with the club.
“We went out to dinner with some of the key figures at the football club.
“(Lions head of personal excellence and wellbeing) Andrew Crowell took us for a drive around different parts of Brisbane and potential suburbs to live in.”
DRAFT NO. 6
It will probably go down in draft history as one of the best deals a club has managed to pull in the AFL draft.
But it was no easy feat or done-deal as Swann recalled.
“We had to pray for him,” he said.
“We had pick No. 6 that year, which was a good pick, but we just thought we needed a ready-made A-grade player to come so effectively we thought that was a fair trade.
“For what we needed at the time, we thought it was a no-brainer.”
And this is how it transpired.
The Lions gave up pick No. 6 for Neale, which eventually went to Fremantle.
They then passed it on to Melbourne to get Jesse Hogan.
Melbourne gave it to the Suns so the Demons could get Steven May and Gold Coast drafted Ben King with it.
Brisbane’s ability to poach one of the in-form youngsters suddenly sparked some enthusiasm into a club that had been struggling at the time.
And the move proved to be the perfect escape from footy for Neale, who has been open about the lack of limelight on AFL players in Brisbane.
“It’s an interesting metaphor but moving to Queensland, he had more sunlight to grow,” Lawrence said.
“For me, as his manager, I saw that we could get more out of a change.
“More opportunities to develop his game.”
Steven May and Jesse Hogan both moved after the Lachie Neale deal went through.
Steven May and Jesse Hogan both moved after the Lachie Neale deal went through. Credit: AAP, AAP Images
FUTURE LION KING
The Brownlow Medal favourite and Queensland’s best footballer in 2020 is truly one of a kind.
“He probably has gone to another level and that’s a great credit to Fages (Lions coach Chris Fagan) and the coaching staff,” Swann said.
“He has got better since he’s got here and we think even this year, he’s got better again.
“He’s become a very dependable and consistent player.”
MORE AFL
Despite almost certain to be topping the Brownlow Medal count and buoyed by the possibility of playing in the first AFL Grand Final at the Gabba on October 24, Neale will still be yearning for improvement to help the club and coaching staff that so impressed him in 2018.
“He might win a premiership this year,” Lawrence said.
“He might win a Brownlow this year.
“He might not win either.
“But I can tell you we’ll have a conversation at the end of the year about what he needs to do to get better. He continuously wants to evolve.”

AFL players to face 48-hour restrictions after last game of season in Mad Monday twist
Jay Clark and Sam LandsbergerHerald Sun
Thu, 10 September 2020 5:29PM
The AFL is set to enforce restrictions on players and coaches in Queensland beyond the season as they look to avoid boozy Mad Monday celebrations.
League heavyweights are in discussions about extending the hub rules by one or two days to prevent any group drinking sessions in the team hotels in the immediate aftermath of their last games.
Players may have to stay in the high performance hubs for up to 48 hours after their last game for exit interviews and final medicals, if they do not want to do them online.
But once they check out of the hubs and the 48-hour period ends, players will be able to eat and drink responsibly on their Queensland holidays like regular citizens.
League and AFL Players Association officials were discussing options on Thursday to ensure players had the necessary support and guidance in their transition out of the hubs.
The league is desperate to avoid any boozy shenanigans from players which could jeopardise the finals series after Richmond’s second breach last week.
A third strike form any Richmond party member could cost the club premiership points and draft picks.
Collingwood president Eddie McGuire has flagged the possible use of off-duty police officers and other minders to help chaperone players in the post-season.
Geelong superstar and AFL PA president Paddy Dangerfield said the league’s players must behave responsibly if they choose to stay-on in Queensland.
“It’s something that a lot of players would like to do (stay in Queensland),” Dangerfield said on SEN.
“What comes with that is a responsibility to adhere to all the set guidelines.
“We have to make sure as players that we (keep focused) because there’s been a lot that has been given up allowing us to do what we’ve done.
“The challenge will clearly come once finals start and there’s clubs that have finished up, we’ve got to make sure that everyone is conducting themselves in the right manner.”
The AFL has reinforced with clubs how important it is that players and staff abide by strict rules after securing permission from the Queensland Government to continue the season up north.
McGuire said clubs regularly used chaperones to help keep players safe when they went overseas in groups.
He did not rule out them being used in Queensland after the season finished to help players steer clear of trouble.
“The question that is being asked at the moment is ‘How are they (players) going to go about it (when the season is over)?” McGuire said on Channel 9.
“People have been hired before to protect some players, to go out with some players and to keep an eye on them.
“Obviously that happens with when you go overseas, but with so many payers up on the Gold Coast or around the area what’s the answer?”
“All clubs have in the past hired off-duty police officers or club officials to go along and chaperone and just keep an eye on everybody particularly when they are overseas and particularly when they’re in Las Vegas of all paces.
“Well we are in ‘Bris-Vegas’, aren’t we for the next couple of months.”
Respected former Fremantle and St Kilda coach Ross Lyon said it was certain there would be an incident of some kind when the season is over.
“In a cohort of 700 (players) aged between 18 and 34, you break it down between 18 – 23 (they’re) young males, they are risk takers,” Lyon said.
“There’s some pent-up (energy), money in the pocket, someone will make a mistake.”

INSIDE LAVISH HUB AS AFL LIVE IT UP ON GOLD COAST
Scott Gullan

Something had to give and when you’re in lockdown that usually means those closest are the more likely to cop it.
It’s fair to say Gillon McLachlanhad been through a couple of the more forgettable days of his long campaign to save the game.
Richmond‘s two strays caught fighting outside a strip club with kebabs in hand had pushed the AFL boss to the edge.
Politicians were now getting involved and the league was under attack.
So on Saturday when he was wandering around the AFL transition hub at the Mercure Resort, he became ‘Grumpy’ Gill.
The swimming pool was overflowing, there were WAGS sun baking all over the place while the bar area was becoming far too popular for his liking.
At a meeting with hub leaders — each club has a representative — Gill launched and made it crystal clear the rules he wanted enforced and that he wouldn‘t think twice about sending more people home.
As part of the deal with the Queensland government the AFL had agreed to social distancing which clearly wasn‘t happening to the chief’s satisfaction.
A flurry of text messages were then sent around to all 400 people in the two-week quarantine facility, reminding them of the pool and bar etiquette.
The large Oasis Pool was only allowed 80 inside with a maximum of 20 in the water while the smaller Billabong Pool could only have seven frolicking in the water at one time with 20 sun bakers looking on.
Understandably the bar has been a favourite for club officials and the media, open from 5pm-8pm, with a schooner of Carlton Draught costing $8.
While you‘re only allowed to purchase two drinks at a time we hear this rule hasn’t slowed down some of the thirsty punters.
And even though Gill probably needs a beer more than anyone, he is yet to indulge.
Richmond players Sydney Stack and Callum Coleman-Jones were banished from Queensland after getting into a scuffle outside a strip clublast week.
The pair were slapped with 10-match bans and the Tigers fined $100,000.
Queensland premier Annastacia Palaszczuk tweeted on Friday: “AFL players caught breaking COVID-19 rules should be sent home. Queensland won’t tolerate it.”
Richmond players have been warned to avoid another disastrous COVID breach.
AFL Players Association chief executive Paul Marsh says he was “taken aback” by Richmond’s declaration that Stack and Coleman-Jones would pay $75,000 of the $100,000 fine for their late-night transgressions.

Inside story: How Brisbane pulled off the Lachie Neale trade that changed the AFL landscape
The Lions were hunting a superstar. But they had no idea a two-time best and fairest winner was about to hit the market. This is how Lachie Neale became the Lion king and the impact the move had on the rest of the competition.

The Fremantle clearance monster had not-so-secretly flown to Brisbane to meet with the Lions hierarchy to assess the lay of the land and a potential 4000km move to the other side of the country.

The Lions had been working hard behind the scenes to lure the dual best and fairest player to the Sunshine State as they looked to add some experience to their young roster.

Rewind a few months and it all stemmed from a conversation between Neale’s manager Tim Lawrence and Lions list manager Dom Ambrogio.
“There’d been discussions around Brisbane with me, not necessarily involving Lachie, because it was midway through the season,” Lawrence recalled.
Lachie Neale has become one of the star midfielders of the competition. Credit: News Corp Australia, Michael Klein
“I had some chats with Dom Ambrogio, the list manager at the Lions, about other bits and pieces.
“Brisbane were clearly in a rebuilding phase. (Fagan) had gone there and Dave Noble was there.
“I was chatting with Dom and asked what players they were looking for and he said midfielders.
“I tossed up the idea of Lachie Neale and the phone went quiet for a few seconds before Dom said ‘well yeah, that could work’.
“At that time, it was just a thought in mind. Lachie was neither yes or no so we just kept in touch.”
Ambrogio wasted no time in telling the Brisbane hierarchy of a potential poach of one of the game’s best young talents.
Lions boss Greg Swann said the recruitment committee were almost blown away by the prospect of nabbing Neale to the club.
“He (Ambrogio) came to that group and said ‘look, we’re a chance to get Lachie Neale’ and we just looked at each other and thought ‘geez, that’s pretty good’,” Swann said.
“We’ve had a real emphasis on that – you can’t have enough good people at your club and we thought he would not only add to the playing stocks but the off-field stocks as well.”
QUEENSLAND GETAWAY
So in late August the Fremantle star, his partner Julie and manager all flew to Brisbane to meet with the club’s heavy hitters.
Among them included Fagan, Lions boss Greg Swann and football manager David Noble.
They were wined and dined, taken out for coffee and driven around potential Brisbane suburbs to live in.
Neale has admitted the lack of fanfare and limelight in Brisbane on the little-known AFL star became more and more appealing as time went on.
“After Fages met Lachie that weekend, he said to me ‘he’s a coach-in-waiting and I want to try and help him’,” Lawrence said.
“(Lions head of personal excellence and wellbeing) Andrew Crowell took us for a drive around different parts of Brisbane and potential suburbs to live in.”
DRAFT NO. 6
It will probably go down in draft history as one of the best deals a club has managed to pull in the AFL draft.
“We had pick No. 6 that year, which was a good pick, but we just thought we needed a ready-made A-grade player to come so effectively we thought that was a fair trade.
Melbourne gave it to the Suns so the Demons could get Steven May and Gold Coast drafted Ben King with it.
Brisbane’s ability to poach one of the in-form youngsters suddenly sparked some enthusiasm into a club that had been struggling at the time.
And the move proved to be the perfect escape from footy for Neale, who has been open about the lack of limelight on AFL players in Brisbane.
“It’s an interesting metaphor but moving to Queensland, he had more sunlight to grow,” Lawrence said.
Steven May and Jesse Hogan both moved after the Lachie Neale deal went through. Credit: AAP, AAP Images
FUTURE LION KING
The Brownlow Medal favourite and Queensland’s best footballer in 2020 is truly one of a kind.
“He probably has gone to another level and that’s a great credit to Fages (Lions coach Chris Fagan) and the coaching staff,” Swann said.
“He has got better since he’s got here and we think even this year, he’s got better again.
MORE AFL
Despite almost certain to be topping the Brownlow Medal count and buoyed by the possibility of playing in the first AFL Grand Final at the Gabba on October 24, Neale will still be yearning for improvement to help the club and coaching staff that so impressed him in 2018.
“But I can tell you we’ll have a conversation at the end of the year about what he needs to do to get better. He continuously wants to evolve.”

The article could also be named, "How Freo Fell Asleep at the Wheel."

Nothing short of a Freo premiership with our current generation of young players will stop me from being pissed off with Lachie leaving. To clarify, I'm mainly pissed off with the club and not Lachie.

it's time to move on

Maybe you're right. I'm hoping the club doesn't just move on though.

"Those that do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it."

There's a fair amount to be learnt from that situation and similar situations over the years I'd suggest.

If that helps you sleep at night I guess. I'm hoping the club doesn't just move on though.

"Those that do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it."

There's a fair amount to be learnt from that situation and similar situations over the years I'd suggest.
I hope so to, i'd say a fair amount of the changes made in the past few years is a pretty good example of action taken on that.
Learning lessons and moving on can also both happen :)

I hope so to, i'd say a fair amount of the changes made in the past few years is a pretty good example of action taken on that.
Learning lessons and moving on can also both happen :)

No worries. I softened my original post as well. I can see your point.

We just tend to do the same not-so-smart things every 5 years or so. Need to stop the 'major' moves that never seem to deliver and stick to a level of consistency that means that we are very hard club to leave.

No worries. I softened my original post as well. I can see your point.

We just tend to do the same not-so-smart things every 5 years or so. Need to stop the 'major' moves that never seem to deliver and stick to a level of consistency that means that we are very hard club to leave.
couldn't agree more, hopefully we will start seeing this asap :)

This article got my attention:
There has been noise around Connor Blakely, who has been out of favour with Justin Longmuir for most of the year.

Though clubs routinely tell fox footy they expect him to be traded, the Dockers are still waiting on suitors to come forward.

He’s contracted until the end of 2022 and if he did come to a Victorian club, Melbourne would not pursue him.

i.e. the issue between Blakely and Langdon...

Could be Freo fell asleep at the wheel. Could be Neale Got Restless Legs... Or maybe Player-Manager as Machiavelli Wannabe.

That Neale article is a shit read for any freo fan. If Hogan had come in and kicked 50 goals it would have been something. But he didn’t.
I really hope it’s that last time a player like Neale is allowed to leave our club in circumstances like this.
Freo come across as the oblivious husband who took his wife for granted and allowed another man swoop in and sweep her off her feet.

QUEENSLAND GETAWAY
DRAFT NO. 6
FUTURE LION KING
MORE AFL
Lucky for us Lachie is just a poor man’s Caleb Serong

Nice to read an article about it that doesn't specifically bag Freo.

Mate caught up with Lachie regularly before he left. He's a proud young man who has worked really hard from pick 58 to get where he has, really prepares well, very mature, quality young person, always gives his best in every area of life. So, in saying that, the constant barrage from the media playing in the second team in a one team town did not sit well with him at any time. Fyfe just deals with it in his own way. Lachie hated it and it only got worse as the team wasn't doing well.

Like his manager says, was happy to go to a promising team out of the fishbowls. I don't blame him. I probably would have done the same.

Question, would we have picked up Serong if we still had Neale? Possibly not? Hard to know. Happy with Serong in that role, hopefully for the next 10+ years.

Sounds like he didn't like being second banana tbh.

Ironically, he'd be better if he'd stayed under this new coach

Haha, you're right, that is EXACTLY what he is saying

Would he though? Longmuir has shown that he is very happy to push the experienced mids (Fyfe and Walters particularly) out of the midfield to let the younger guys play.
Would Longmuir have played Neale over Serong (as a mid)?

Would he though? Longmuir has shown that he is very happy to push the experienced mids (Fyfe and Walters particularly) out of the midfield to let the younger guys play.
Would Longmuir have played Neale over Serong (as a mid)?
Neale would have played as a mid. Whilst he is handy forward, you couldn't play him there 50% of the game.

Mundy is the one that would have been pushed forward, especially since Hogan wouldn't be here.