Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

It surprises me Suma (who has been around the AFL system a long time has no clue how trading or drafting actually works.

He first said to trade up (after the trade period was done) to get a pick to get Logan McDonald. No consideration that we didn’t have the picks to make that happen and no consideration that the teams with top picks would not want to trade.

Now trade Fyfe to a team in the premiership window 2/3 top ten picks. Teams in premiership windows don’t have 2/3 top ten picks and certainly don’t have a $1m+ laying around to pay a player like Nat Fyfe.

The more hear of him the more he reminds me of Trump. “Just make it happen”
Suma is crazy in the coconut

Peter Sumich says Fremantle Dockers should have traded superstar Nat Fyfe for bounty of draft picks
Headshot of Braden Quartermaine

Braden QuartermaineThe West Australian
Fremantle should have had the courage to trade superstar skipper Nat Fyfe in November for a draft pick bonanza, according to former Dockers assistant Peter Sumich.

And Sumich believes Fyfe, 29, might be receptive to a move to chase a premiership after five straight years out of the finals at the Dockers.

The West Coast great believes Fremantle are racing the clock to win a breakthrough flag with Fyfe, but trading him out could turbo-charge a future assault.

“I would have sold Nat Fyfe and probably got another two or three picks inside 10,” Sumich said.
“He’s got common sense Nat. He wants to play in a premiership. Whether Fremantle can get that for him in the next five years, I don’t know.

But I think Fremantle can win one from five (years) onwards by getting a lot of young kids in, which I think they’re doing well now.”

Fyfe played in Fremantle’s only grand final, in 2013, as a 22-year-old. His last final was the 2015 preliminary final loss to Hawthorn, which came three days before he won his first Brownlow Medal.

The dual Brownlow medallist is half-way through the six-year mega deal he signed in 2017, which runs until the end of 2023.

Fyfe at training this week.

Fyfe at training this week. Credit: Kelsey Reid/The West Australian
Sumich told 6PR if he was coaching the Dockers he would initiate a discussion with Fyfe about his future.

“I would have maybe went to Nat and said: ‘look Nat, I probably can’t win you one right now. I’ll get you to wherever you want to go to win one. Go and win one son’,” he said.

“And we’ll get another three picks inside 10 and get some quality and we’ll win one in five-plus years onwards.

“That’s me. Fremantle don’t want to do that right now with Nat. That’s fine. That’s only a Peter Sumich call if he was coaching.”

Sumich believes a Fyfe move remains an option for year’s trade period, when he will be 30.

“I think Nat deserves a premiership. I think Matthew Pavlich did and he probably could have left to go to Adelaide and maybe made Adelaide better to win one,” he said.

“I think Nat’s at that stage where he either says ‘alright I’m staying here and wherever it takes me it takes me’. Or ‘look boys, move me on in the next 12 months if I can’t see a premiership and I want to go to such and such a club to win one’.

“That’s what you play for. You don’t play for Brownlows. You don’t play for fairest and bests.

“If you’re doing that, you’re in the wrong game in my opinion. They’re all great things on the side. But you play in a team sport to win premierships.”

The bloke is delusional. It’s hard to think of even one example in recent times of a club doing that. Plenty of instances where a marquee player opts out, but none spring to mind of a club driving a marquee player out for picks. Would rip the guts out of a playing group and deprive it of leadership. Dumb.

Good mate Sumich stirring up trouble saying we should of traded Fyfe for more picks inside the top 10. The good old "West Coast Australian" just never stops. SO we were supposed to let Fyfe free to win a premiership somewhere else. Did that happen with Matthew Richardson, Nick Reiwoldt, Gary Lyon, etc? And exactly how many more top draft picks are we supposed to have.. nothing like a disgruntled ex coach who cant get another spot in the AFL trying to hold on to being still relevant.
Brett Delidio worked out well.

I was put off by the combination of these two lines

"I probably can't win you one right now....."

"...we'll win one in five-plus years"

Just wonder what did he lay out as his vision for Fremantle when he was interviewed last year. Its not even a 5 year plan!

I don’t think he should have got the job anyway but he must have royally screwed up his interview, must have been a car crash!

Suma also said he’d have “got us close” to finals in 2020. So get us close to finals but then not a flag within the 5 years Fyfe will likely play on?

The guy is brain dead.

Must have been all part of Suma's grand plan to build a culture of success starting in the 1st year by being a coach that doesn't want the captain to be at the club.

It's actually a bit of a worry that we even interviewed him. The only justification that I could accept would be to perhaps quieten his mates in the media.

Nar, I reckon they just wanted a good laugh.

It's actually a bit of a worry that we even interviewed him. The only justification that I could accept would be to perhaps quieten his mates in the media.
He wasn't even interviewed by the full selection panel. There was at least one Board Member from the panel who wasn't at his interview

If you’re one of the WA clubs you haven’t been through a thorough recruitment process unless you’ve met with and overlooked Sumich.
What a spud.

I think he might have finally realised that he won’t realise his ambition of being a head coach. Despite that, some in the media think he has sufficient credibility for his footy views to be quoted. Mark Harvey achieved more, but no-one rushes to him every 5 minutes for an opinion.

The guy has no credibility. He gives a few insights into how the WA draft kids are developing each year and that’s about it. And even then it’s the same narrative that they should all be drafted by Fremantle or West Coast at any cost.

Didn’t he say WC or Freo should draft Stack? We can see why they didn’t now

Need a freo player so start sending some unwanted dick pics to women Or to get caught snorting coke or something to liven this place up a bit, or maybe one of the coaches to start shagging the club physio.

Joke. It sure is great to relax during off season now that the dickheads are all gone from the club.

Didn’t he say WC or Freo should draft Stack? We can see why they didn’t now

To his credit on that one he did say although he had great talent an Eastern States club should draft him to take him away from bad influences in WA.

Didn’t stop other journos putting the boots into us for not drafting him