Opinion The most important year.

agree with fair bit of what the op has said BUT i don't think it as big of a year as a club as it probably is for Dimma and some of the playing group. The foundations are there for the club not to go backwards as a club however if we don't have the improvement onfield, decisions will need to be made within the football department. I think we are in a similar position as to what freo were a couple of years ago. Super strong foundations off field that will never buckle but if this coach or playing group can't take us the next step and go deep into the finals we will need to look at a Harvey/Lyon type scenario.

BINGO.

I am surprised that some think so low of Hardwick, thinking he may not take our performance seriously. If you want proof in how serious he takes his role, just watch his deterioration when we were in our form slump at the start of last year. By round 10 i felt guttered watching him after the game, you could could cut with a knife his pent up frustration/anger at our performances, it was close to bringing him to tears but he held onto his processes that he believes in. He just did not talk about it, during that time he walked the walk so to speak. That gave me huge confidence in what what we are doing as hardwick proved he by his strength in working through our situation instead of reactionary panic moves that he was a man to lead us out of it...then we went on our 9 win winning streak, so it was a credit to him and the group.

However, I am a firm believer if we again fail. Hardwick would be the first to seriously say " Can I take this group to the next level?". Make no mistake, Hardwick was a big part in changing our culture at the club. One of our main blocks that we value is accountability. So If Hardwick feels he has hit a road block in his own development and the team, I am sure our administration, along with Hardwick will say "Can we get someone to support Hardwick to bash through that barrier?"

If hardwick feels that even with additional support he believed he could not lift us to that next level, he would leave. That I have no doubt. IMO what I see happening in a worse case scenario is simply, if we fail and dont make finals or make a final and get belted the club will continue to support Hardwick, allow him to see out his last year, if Hardwick believed he could actually make us better. They would let him see out his last year while during that year sounding out coaches who would want to coach us in 2017 in the advent Hardwick was not resigned.

We are a better run club now. There would be no benefit giving the arse to Hardwick while he is contracted unless we have a better coach already lined up. Anyway, just my 2cp.

Very important year and I am looking forward to it.
Its been said but it is crunch time for Dimma, we need to go deep in finals.
I like the guy and to be honest I dont care at all who takes us to a flag as long as we get there.
Go tiges!

Watch the press conference from after Saturday's game mate. The guy is a joker. I expect more from potentially a top 4 coach , a lot more. After watching it go and watch Eades press conference and Leppas.
Looking into it far to deep mate.He could be just happy and relaxed on what he saw this pre-season in comparison to last years.

I must say the one thing i don't like and ironically it has that "the messiah has arrived(Wallace)"feel about is this upcoming special On track.Seriously while its great on the club to keep us supporters in touch with the behind the scenes sort of stuff,It reeks of us once again getting ahead of ourselves.Yes its great that we have reached 2 final series in a row but lets be honest we havn't achieved nothing and i'd much prefer if we kept our powder dry in this regard.Even Hawthorn and Geelong don't do this type of PR and they have actually achieved something.

Even Hawthorn and Geelong don't do this type of PR and they have actually achieved something.

Unfortunately, the less successful you are, the more noise you need to make about insignificant achievements to get some attention and drum up some enthusiasm.

So I think there's a more or less natural tendency to shout loudest when you've got the least to shout about.

Let's hope our club PR department goes very quiet, very quickly! ;)

Unfortunately, the less successful you are, the more noise you need to make about insignificant achievements to get some attention and drum up some enthusiasm.

So I think there's a more or less natural tendency to shout loudest when you've got the least to shout about.

Let's hope our club PR department goes very quiet, very quickly! ;)
Understand and agree in what your saying.
Rather we leave the PR work on the field.

BINGO.

I am surprised that some think so low of Hardwick, thinking he may not take our performance seriously. If you want proof in how serious he takes his role, just watch his deterioration when we were in our form slump at the start of last year. By round 10 i felt guttered watching him after the game, you could could cut with a knife his pent up frustration/anger at our performances, it was close to bringing him to tears but he held onto his processes that he believes in. He just did not talk about it, during that time he walked the walk so to speak. That gave me huge confidence in what what we are doing as hardwick proved he by his strength in working through our situation instead of reactionary panic moves that he was a man to lead us out of it...then we went on our 9 win winning streak, so it was a credit to him and the group.

However, I am a firm believer if we again fail. Hardwick would be the first to seriously say " Can I take this group to the next level?". Make no mistake, Hardwick was a big part in changing our culture at the club. One of our main blocks that we value is accountability. So If Hardwick feels he has hit a road block in his own development and the team, I am sure our administration, along with Hardwick will say "Can we get someone to support Hardwick to bash through that barrier?"

If hardwick feels that even with additional support he believed he could not lift us to that next level, he would leave. That I have no doubt. IMO what I see happening in a worse case scenario is simply, if we fail and dont make finals or make a final and get belted the club will continue to support Hardwick, allow him to see out his last year, if Hardwick believed he could actually make us better. They would let him see out his last year while during that year sounding out coaches who would want to coach us in 2017 in the advent Hardwick was not resigned.

We are a better run club now. There would be no benefit giving the arse to Hardwick while he is contracted unless we have a better coach already lined up. Anyway, just my 2cp.

Couldnt have said my thoughts better myself... Great post and i expect it to play out along these lines on the many potential circumstances!

BINGO.

I agree with all of this but just wanted to add the following observation.

I don't know too many people who think RFC could realistically challenge for a flag in the next couple of years. If they're right, and I tend to think they are, then for the remainder of his current contract the real measure of Hardwick's performance is still going to be how well the playing group is developing under his guidance.

But very soon the question is going to switch from development to premierships, at which point the criteria by which Hardwick's coaching must be assessed will have to shift.

I doubt it is just a happy coincidence that Hardwick's contract expires at exactly the point in time when the club will have to think very, very seriously about whether it needs a different type of coach.

And the good news about that is that sacking Hardwick prior to the end of his contract is not a decision that the club will find itself forced to make.

Not that I mean to abandon hope of a premiership this year or next, but in truth what we need to be looking for is continued improvement. A premiership in the next two years wouldn't be something I'd be betting the house on.

I must say the one thing i don't like and ironically it has that "the messiah has arrived(Wallace)"feel about is this upcoming special On track.Seriously while its great on the club to keep us supporters in touch with the behind the scenes sort of stuff,It reeks of us once again getting ahead of ourselves.Yes its great that we have reached 2 final series in a row but lets be honest we havn't achieved nothing and i'd much prefer if we kept our powder dry in this regard.Even Hawthorn and Geelong don't do this type of PR and they have actually achieved something.
Geelong don't have a BigFooty rep either, would you rather we got rid of RFC_Official? Because Richmond is known as a leader in digital content in the AFL, the video is just an extension of that. If you don't like the doco then you take issue with the way our media department is run, which is fine, but don't think that the players/coaches have gone out of their way to produce this content at the cost of on field outcomes.

I agree with all of this but just wanted to add the following observation.

I don't know too many people who think RFC could realistically challenge for a flag in the next couple of years. If they're right, and I tend to think they are, then for the remainder of his current contract the real measure of Hardwick's performance is still going to be how well the playing group is developing under his guidance.

But very soon the question is going to switch from development to premierships, at which point the criteria by which Hardwick's coaching must be assessed will have to shift.

I doubt it is just a happy coincidence that Hardwick's contract expires at exactly the point in time when the club will have to think very, very seriously about whether it needs a different type of coach.

And the good news about that is that sacking Hardwick prior to the end of his contract is not a decision that the club will find itself forced to make.

Not that I mean to abandon hope of a premiership this year or next, but in truth what we need to be looking for is continued improvement. A premiership in the next two years wouldn't be something I'd be betting the house on.

Agree with that but Hardwick is not proven god in the development area necessarily either.

Mind you some could be put down to recruitment so it is a combination of recruitment and development.

I am just glad we went with youth atm anyway.

Like you said , if the next 2 years in unrealistic thats a great time to go youth!!!

Geelong don't have a BigFooty rep either, would you rather we got rid of RFC_Official? Because Richmond is known as a leader in digital content in the AFL, the video is just an extension of that. If you don't like the doco then you take issue with the way our media department is run, which is fine, but don't think that the players/coaches have gone out of their way to produce this content at the cost of on field outcomes.
Have no problem with what RFC_Official brings to this forum,But IMO this doco is unwarranted,Why not put it in the archives until there is such a time(Like a Flag)when we win back the respect we are after.

Every year is important to the club.

This year is important as the list now has enough games and years in it for it to be a threat.
Last year was important as it built on the years before.

If this year doesn't go to plan you reassess where you're at and modify your plans.

Is this year any more critical to the club's future than last year? No, it isn't. However this year plays out, I guarantee there will be changes - some planned, others unplanned - and the leadership team and players will continue the drive for success both on and off the field.

Have no problem with what RFC_Official brings to this forum,But IMO this doco is unwarranted,Why not put it in the archives until there is such a time(Like a Flag)when we win back the respect we are after.

why? i spend my money on the club. i'd love to see a behind the scenes look at how we are operating. Couldn't give 2 shits what anyone outside our club thinks.

Because a club doesn't need to produce poor media content and by producing this content sponsors can put their name to it so it generates further revenue for the club? Any link between media content and gameday is completely and utterly wrong. I get what you're saying but I want more entertainment from the clubs media dept as it increases fan engagement and ensures Richmond is in the forefront of peoples minds. Kids will watch these videos and show their friends, who will then go home and tell their parents they want to follow the club.

why? i spend my money on the club. i'd love to see a behind the scenes look at how we are operating. Couldn't give 2 shits what anyone outside our club thinks.
Exactly.
And think of the kids who don't get a chance to see Richmond play live.
Little kids watching the doco who think 'wow, I love Jack and the tiger. I'm going to become a tiger, too!'
How many new lifetime members will this doco get the club? I'd say a few.

Media and social media are the way brands talk directly to the public.
This doco is a solid investment and shows the club is open to new ways of doing business.

Because a club doesn't need to produce poor media content and by producing this content sponsors can put their name to it so it generates further revenue for the club? Any link between media content and gameday is completely and utterly wrong. I get what you're saying but I want more entertainment from the clubs media dept as it increases fan engagement and ensures Richmond is in the forefront of peoples minds. Kids will watch these videos and show their friends, who will then go home and tell their parents they want to follow the club.
Snap!

Year of the Dog wasn't made because the Dogs won a flag, but its also considered a great footy documentary.
Its hard to film these things in retrospect also, do you expect us to film everything in the hope of winning a flag and then if we don't win one just throw it all away?

Watch the press conference from after Saturday's game mate. The guy is a joker. I expect more from potentially a top 4 coach , a lot more. After watching it go and watch Eades press conference and Leppas.
Its a presser, totally irrelevant as to his coaching abilities, wallet used to spin all sorts of shit how did that go for us?

I couldn't give a rats arse if he did a stand up routine at the after match press conference, most of what the coaches say at them is BS anyway.

98bn8i.jpg

Agree with that but Hardwick is not proven god in the development area necessarily either.

Mind you some could be put down to recruitment so it is a combination of recruitment and development.

I am just glad we went with youth atm anyway.

Like you said , if the next 2 years in unrealistic thats a great time to go youth!!!

Agree with this.

Your comment about part of it being due to recruiting is 100% correct and just underlines how much it's been an across the board improvement at Punt Rd. in recent years.

I don't quite know how to put this without sounding like a shot at Dimma (which it's not meant to be) but with all the other improvements at the club playing a part in the improvement of our on field performance, I reckon that our senior coach is far from being the only important contributor and may even be less important than is often assumed.

Possibly any of our coaches of the last two decades could have achieved as much as Dimma if they had the support he's enjoyed.

Or possibly not!

It's not the least bit easy to identify who should take credit for what!

Its a presser, totally irrelevant as to his coaching abilities, wallet used to spin all sorts of shit how did that go for us?

I couldn't give a rats arse if he did a stand up routine at the after match press conference, most of what the coaches say at them is BS anyway.
Disagree , he's got to be professional at all times. It's not his job to bring the locker room or the in jokes to match day. Hes had 5 years practice and he is the worst communicator of all the coaches in the AFL. It's time he pulled his finger out in this regard.