• Brett Kirk

Votes: 7 1.6%
  • OTHER

Votes: 30 7.0%

Dew to coach, Mark Williams to be Director of coaching, Bassett as an assistant ?
You know intheknowcrow nobody knows if basset would go backwards to go forwards like this. He's done shit loads more than stewy pies for brekky dew.

Ok time to liven up the party, yesterday I was told by someone I trust that the Crows did the deal for our new coach 3 weeks ago. It is Clarkson. I asked him who his source was, he said he would tell me after they announce the coach.

I want to believe him quite badly, but after last Thursday and Friday's comments from Clarko I just can't!
I heard this today as well, the deal was done 3 weeks ago fro Clarkson to the crows! only thing is Jarman may have royaly F@#$%# the chances now! Tuesday is the day he did get that right

Just returned from one of the greatest experiences. Except for being in the fan throng in 97 and 98, I haven't been to another GF. My wife won 4 tickets to the GF at a Toyota function recently. Now we're not talking just any old seats here, we were in with the in crowd in their corporate suites. Yes suites. Flown business class, limousines everywhere and the digs weren't that shabby either. But enough of the indulgence.

Now no one has a clue about who the senior coach is going to be announced, however the name that wouldn't go away was Chocco Williams for the Senior Assistant coaching roll and junior development. The view from over there is that our club has never been considered a fully fledged included family club and a club that has that us against the world environment. We are not viewed in a very good light I can tell you. Chocco instilled that at our enemy and every one of his disciples has done that where ever they roam. Clarko at Hawthorn, Bailey at Melbourne, Dew in Sydney, etc. Apart from Burgoyne and Stevens, they really haven't lost anyone important. Bailey was starting to do that here but you know the rest. Also Chocco is apparently brilliant with the younger ones and they just love him no matter where he's been. That's why he is at Richmond now.

The thinking is we have to become that all inclusive club that everyone wants to be a part of and when you think of it, why is Alan Stewart on the recruiting panel, if it isn't to be a part of a panel to coax his old friend back to Adelaide. Our club has apparently identified that as well as the new coaching panel (only what I heard - no real idea of set up apart from the Williams factor) as being the top priority in it's endeavour to get the best available.

This would be out of left field for us and everyone knows it. If true then hang on for the ride, and not everyone will be thrilled at the idea, but when it all comes down to it, to be a successful club we have to be doing the right things to hang on with what we have and encourage others ours is the place to be.

This guys got more chance coaching us than Williams here.

Osama%2Bbin%2BLaden%2BSpeech.jpg

I heard this today as well, the deal was done 3 weeks ago fro Clarkson to the crows! only thing is Jarman may have royaly F@#$%# the chances now! Tuesday is the day he did get that right
Yep Jars mouthing off and Clarko having to deny it may have given him cold feet Guess we will find out this week.

There is no way a coach would decline a job offer if it was leaked earlier than expected.

Why is Peter Caven on there?!

Just to emphasize that reckless gambling is a problem in our country.

I was slow of the mark, but when the odds were released, I wanted to ring up for Bassett as there was no odds for him at that point in time. He started out as much as $41.

Just with the odds at the bookies for those that dont know, just because someone is backed all the way in, doesnt mean he has got it or is likely to get it, markets are reflected also by the amount of money coming in.

Basically if 100 punters started betting on Roo to be our next coach, he would come tumbling all the way in!

Just with the odds at the bookies for those that dont know, just because someone is backed all the way in, doesnt mean he has got it or is likely to get it, markets are reflected also by the amount of money coming in.

Basically if 100 punters started betting on Roo to be our next coach, he would come tumbling all the way in!
Thats why clarkson was 1.45 Wednesday evening?

You know intheknowcrow nobody knows if basset would go backwards to go forwards like this. He's done shit loads more than stewy pies for brekky dew.
I agree, but unfortunately we have no idea of what the powers at be (roo) want. I'm sure if the money's right, people are happy to do things differently. From what most people are saying it will be a team of coaches, which I reckon could be awesome. We didn't have any experience in our box without Bails, he was all of our experience.

Noones seen anyone meeting with these team of coaches, impossible.

There is no way a coach would decline a job offer if it was leaked earlier than expected.
No of coarse not but if it was revealed during grand final week and it pissed clarkson off then he could get cold feet he wouldnt have signed anything due to him being contracted and the season not being finished im fairly sure

Interesting post StuPendus. No matter who the coach will be they will only be as good as the team around them, regardless their record. I for one, am looking for a total club mentality, a place that is hard to leave or a place that you would be very disappointed to leave if it came to that.

I think Williams would be a great asset to the team, not as head coach, but an integral person who will create that environment. I expect a demanding club, supportive to its stakeholders based on success as the only option.

As much as I like seeing the arch enemy not reach success, not quite to schadenfreude proportions though, I really liked the way they came out and stated their intentions publicly...with the 'we will' statements.

It is time....stand up AFC.....whatever the make up of coaching and support staff....put it on the line and demand it.

Thats why clarkson was 1.45 Wednesday evening?

It would have been the glut of money being dropped on him and the leak of him being the next coach.

Some smart punters then hit Bassett and Dew as a response.

If we haven't announced our new head coach by tuesday/wednesday...makes me think the signs will point to Clarko, we wouldn't announce him Tuesday when the Hawks don't travel to Tassie until Wednesday.

Think Bass is the best bet still though.

Interesting post StuPendus. No matter who the coach will be they will only be as good as the team around them, regardless their record. I for one, am looking for a total club mentality, a place that is hard to leave or a place that you would be very disappointed to leave if it came to that..

I think from memory it is why Mathew Robran had a tough time leaving the Hawks because of their "family" Club theme.

Did he play in the 97 GF? I know in 98 he did.

If we haven't announced our new head coach by tuesday/wednesday...makes me think the signs will point to Clarko, we wouldn't announce him Tuesday when the Hawks don't travel to Tassie until Wednesday.

Think Bass is the best bet still though.

If its Bassett why wait????

Dew would be my best bet, followed by Bassett. But as you highlighted above, a Thursday announcement would be intriguing.

Hawks President talked today about becoming an AFL juggernaut, Lewis talked about the team needing to evolve again next year...... Didn't hear much from Clarko ;)

Hawks President talked today about becoming an AFL juggernaut, Lewis talked about the team needing to evolve again next year...... Didn't hear much from Clarko

Probably recovering from a hangover.

So we're back to getting Clarko then?

Think I'm going to stop speculating until I see it officially announced. :)

This thread dies upon announcement, so please keep speculating.:p