The Next Key Forward

I used to live around the corner from Dennis Sachsen when I was a kid , he'd sit with his girlfriend in his FB Holden and me and my fellow nuisance Port friend would walk past on the way home from kicking the footy at the oval and tell him ' North are s*#t ' Ports the best , unfortunately it was when North were bating us in grand finals around 1970

So when I look up bad timing in the dictionary that's a picture of you and your mate. :p

we have to sacrifice 1 player from our everyone defend strategy to just stand in the goal square if his player runs off let him go we just have to deal with it. it will pay off with the extra easy goals we get the other way. get someone 150kg the 3 people couldnt spoil.

2 goals to Mitch Harvey in the second quarter to drag Port back into the game against Centrals. Still 24 points down at half time.

Butch 4 disposals to quarter time. Butch 4 disposals to half time.

2 goals to Mitch Harvey in the second quarter to drag Port back into the game against Centrals. Still 24 points down at half time.

Butch 4 disposals to quarter time. Butch 4 disposals to half time.
Butch ended up with an awesome tally of 8 disposals and 0.0 to his name. Not 'the future' sadly.

Wound up down back on Retzlaff who was having a big game.

Leading patterns are a waste of time at port

We dont play a leading forwards game, we play a kick it to the boundary game or kick in on someones head when they have 4 opponents.
Dont forget Hinkley's masterstroke secret weapon ... The "Kick it to Sam" plan, designed to fool everyone! (Sadly included our players too!)

"Lies, damned lies, and statistics." Whether it was Mark Twain, or Benjamin Disraeli, or whoever ... It is such a truism!

So statistically, Port struggle to develop "talls." To make the statistical formula more complex, we add in another factor - "stringbean" talls. Lets make it even more complex - "Stringbean" talls taken with "late picks."

So by giving a list of 8 talls taken later in the draft, supposedly proves that Port has failed in developing talls players! Really? Three of those mentioned arguably have developed well, Dougal Howard, traded for 1st round pick & on big moola to the Saints. Frampton targeted with a multi-year contract. Austin has some flaws in his game, but showed heaps, sadly however has struggled with injury - The only fault possibly was that we didnt keep/want them. The rest were duds.

If people really want to come up with statistics to back up this kind of statement, then you need to at a minimum, provide similar statistics for each club as a comparison! I would hazard a guess that Port are just average in this. That in fact, just about every club has similar challenges developing talls, especially "Stringbean talls taken with late picks."

"Lies, damned lies, and statistics."

I was really asking the question, not providing an answer. I maintain that we have been poor getting the best out of our drafted talls. I don’t know why, that’s why i am asking.

Howard, frampton and austin are definitely not proof of any kind of success.

I'll give you a better stat.

Port haven't developed a top line key forward of any description with any draft pick since Warren Tredrea.

Port also haven't developed a top line ruckman of any description with any draft pick since Dean Brogan.

Key defenders are advanced scrubbers and relatively easy to find and develop.

My point exactly. Our club has been terrible in either development, recruiting and/or talent ID of these blokes.

I was really asking the question, not providing an answer. I maintain that we have been poor getting the best out of our drafted talls. I don’t know why, that’s why i am asking.

Howard, frampton and austin are definitely not proof of any kind of success.
And my question back to you was, whether we have made them a priority? A club Like Collingwood that prioritised going for talls with high draft picks & quality father & sons, VS Port that goes for lottery picks late in the draft in Howard, Austin, Frampton, Ladhams, & the like. Collingwood ends up with stars & Port with fringe talls. So does that now make Collingwood successful & Port a failure at "developing talls?

How can you say "we have been poor getting the best out of our drafted talls, when we draft CRAP lottery picks in the first place! We are no worse that any other club at it. Yes we struck it lucky with Westhoff late in the draft, and could do so with ladhams, but generally they come few & far between.

IMO Port are no worse at developing players (tall or short) than any other club .... IMO We have been guilty of NOT VALUING TALLS in the draft & not prioritising them*** ... instead looking to trade them in later. "Small, small , small ... Speed, speed, speed" is the Ken Hinkley mantra!

***Hayes might prove to be another lucky exception, and looks a gem. But then he was touted to go high, and luckily slid down to us in the draft!

Gonna be difficult when one of the coaches has already pretty much said "Marshall will no longer benefit from playing SANFL games"

Every preseason over the last 7 years the coaches have talked up how important structure is and how we'd love to play talls and they never, ever stick to it.

My prediction is that, even if fully fit, Marshall and Dixon combine for 30 or less AFL games in 2020.

Every preseason over the last 7 years the coaches have talked up how important structure is and how we'd love to play talls and they never, ever stick to it.

My prediction is that, even if fully fit, Marshall and Dixon combine for 30 or less AFL games in 2020.
What's that's crazy record of Dixon and Marshall in the same team, like 80%?

It's not sustainable over the season but **** it's better than ebert and Dixon

It's not sustainable over the season but fu** it's better than ebert and Dixon
Look on the bright side, at least it won't be SGray and Dixon in 2020.

It's not sustainable over the season but fu** it's better than ebert and Dixon
Marshall has never played Richmond, Geelong, Hawthorn, GWS. So that helps.

Played WC 1W-2L, Coll 1L, Crows 1L.

Marshall has never played Richmond, Geelong, Hawthorn, GWS. So that helps.

Played WC 1W-2L, Coll 1L, Crows 1L.
To be fair we'd be what 50% against Richmond and hawthorn since the start of Marshalls career?