budget

cricket,
as with everybody else i to have been looking at the young players and whilst happy and excited about their continued developement was wondering who you think is going to take the next step.
i personally think we have a star in the making in andy otten. hes tall, deceptively quick can take a very good mark,kicks a long ball and most importantly he is an accurate shot for goal.
i think we have a gem here,only time will tell.

From what i heard from the radio, Otten, Petrenko and Jacky played well during the 3rd quarter. Otten did particulary sound good but since i did not see the actual game its hard to judge.

We desperately need Jacky to take the step up to AFL level

Sadly I don't see Jacky ever really making it as the "crumbing forward" we've long desired. To me he lacks the ability to kick a crumbing/snap shot type goal. He doesn't seem to know "where" the goals are and as such will always struggle to kick the goals a crumbing forward should. On top of this he loves to fly up and try and take speccies, rather than leave that to the 6'6 blokes whose job it is.

Having said that, I do rate him as a player and think he might make a quality speedy midfielder/winger type as he does have good skills, great evasive ability, has strong hands and a great work ethic by the sounds.

Sadly I don't see Jacky ever really making it as the "crumbing forward" we've long desired. To me he lacks the ability to kick a crumbing/snap shot type goal. He doesn't seem to know "where" the goals are and as such will always struggle to kick the goals a crumbing forward should. On top of this he loves to fly up and try and take speccies, rather than leave that to the 6'6 blokes whose job it is.

Having said that, I do rate him as a player and think he might make a quality speedy midfielder/winger type as he does have good skills, great evasive ability, has strong hands and a great work ethic by the sounds.

If he applies himself, I see him as a Stokes type player, but he'll have to stop falling over.

Jacky sounds like he played well against WC, but the problem keeps surfacing that he is just a terrible kick for goal. A really terrible kick. Even at training, where everyone slots 90% of their goals, he misses more often than not. I like the kid but unless he's going to be getting his crumbs 20m from goal I have trouble seeing him survive. It's a pity, because from the tiny little bit I've seen of him, he could be a good player, but that is a pretty big achilles heel for a forward (see: Gill).

That being said, if he's going to survive in any side it would probably be the Crows, since we don't have a single proper small forward (I'm not counting Douglas as a small forward) to replace him.

Jacky sounds like he played well against WC, but the problem keeps surfacing that he is just a terrible kick for goal. A really terrible kick. Even at training, where everyone slots 90% of their goals, he misses more often than not. I like the kid but unless he's going to be getting his crumbs 20m from goal I have trouble seeing him survive. It's a pity, because from the tiny little bit I've seen of him, he could be a good player, but that is a pretty big achilles heel for a forward (see: Gill).

That being said, if he's going to survive in any side it would probably be the Crows, since we don't have a single proper small forward (I'm not counting Douglas as a small forward) to replace him.

You see this is why I think he might become a midfielder, at the moment, I really don't see him making it as a small forward, which is a shame because apart from his goal kicking he has all the tools. I just don't think we should write him off completely, from the little I saw last week and from what I "heard" on the radio, I think he could develop into a very good midfielder type, or perhaps half forward who pushes up the ground a lot and works either as an extra midfielder or as a crumber to a lead up CHF.

sorry to be a pain guys but the post was about andy otten and i would love to here what everybody thinks of his abilities and again sorry but not j.jacky.

I know this may lack a bit of credibility given the fact I have only recently joined up to Big Footy as a poster but here goes.

A close family member has been chatting to a former VFL player who is fairly heavily involved with South Adelaide, Otten's SANFL club last year. He spoke absolutely glowingly of the Otten, even going so far as saying that he was the most impressive young lad coming through the ranks he had ever seen at any level of football in Australia. The guy who was speaking about Otten was a well respected footy player, and a hard nut so I have taken these comments on board no questions asked.

After the super impressive year that Otten had last year, I honestly can't believe the lack of hype surrounding him over the preseason on this forum. I can't remember the last time an Adelaide draftee has come over in their debut season and dominated the SANFL with best on ground performances, or at least close to it in so many games over the year. Don't get me wrong, I am happy for him to sneak under the radar until the AFL season true begins but this guy is all class and I'm suprised that no-one is giving him the wraps that he deserves. Tall, well built (at least has the frame for it in a few years), good grab and goal kicker, he is dead set due for a strong contribution this year.

All IMHO of course! :thumbsu:

I think the excitement of a crows forward actually kicking goals overshadowed Otten's year in the SANFL but in reality it was just as impressive as Walkers year was.

I agree completely, as I have no doubt that the Adelaide fans including myself were somewhat distracted by Walker's standout year. I'm just looking forward to this year and barring injury, hopefully seeing both playing key roles in our new look team.

I'm pretty damn excited by this new breed to say to least! :D

Everyone around here is already thinking Walker and Dangerfield are guns, but realistically we do have some good young guys such as Otten who could become elite themselves, but way to early to tell for any of them.

At this stage out of our younger group David MacKay is the only one that is proven to "look the goods".

At the end of this year I hope to say the same of Otten Walker Dangerfield Petrenko and Cook.

I have doubts over Sellar and Jacky.

Glad to hear you talk about Otten, Towely. His SANFL form was just awesome last year, admittedly in a terrible team where bests seem tainted.

I've also heard tell from people I know that Otten was earmarked as a definite AFL player from the age of 15 and that the club considered him an absolute bargain in the second round. Apparently he's a perfect Craig player too (does what he's told, keeps his head down, good athletically) and has a serious football brain.

I'm very excited about what he can show this year and more than any other youngster on our list (besides Walker, obviously) has justified that excitement so far this preseason.

I remember the youtube footage of him before he got drafted and he was dobbing them from everywhere. He had one shot on the boundary line about 45 out and I remember the commentator saying this lad will kick this and he did. But he seems to have got the yips infront of the big sticks now..

I think you've got to give Jacky more time. The type of role he's been ear marked to play isn't easy.

So far in his short time at the Club he's played 3 AFL games and 4 or so pre-season games. I'd hardly expect him to set the world on fire just yet. I reckon he's played more across the half forward line, whereas I'd like to see what he's like right near the goals, he just never seems to be in the thick of the action, but that should improve with game time and experience etc.

I know this may lack a bit of credibility given the fact I have only recently joined up to Big Footy as a poster but here goes.

A close family member has been chatting to a former VFL player who is fairly heavily involved with South Adelaide, Otten's SANFL club last year. He spoke absolutely glowingly of the Otten, even going so far as saying that he was the most impressive young lad coming through the ranks he had ever seen at any level of football in Australia. The guy who was speaking about Otten was a well respected footy player, and a hard nut so I have taken these comments on board no questions asked.

After the super impressive year that Otten had last year, I honestly can't believe the lack of hype surrounding him over the preseason on this forum. I can't remember the last time an Adelaide draftee has come over in their debut season and dominated the SANFL with best on ground performances, or at least close to it in so many games over the year. Don't get me wrong, I am happy for him to sneak under the radar until the AFL season true begins but this guy is all class and I'm suprised that no-one is giving him the wraps that he deserves. Tall, well built (at least has the frame for it in a few years), good grab and goal kicker, he is dead set due for a strong contribution this year.

All IMHO of course! :thumbsu:

Much appreciated mate!

Yeh it does seem most on this board have been caught up in the hype surrounding Walker, Dangerfield, Petrenko, etc and Otten has taken a back seat. Maybe that is due to him not having the 'x-factor' that the others have (pace, flare, etc). But he seems he is just a natural footballer and im very excited to see how he goes this year. He may well have a better year than every other youngster on our list

I agree with the crumbing forward comment. From what I saw of Jacky (Crows and WWT) he didnt seem to have the football brain of a goal sneak nor the ability (Snap goals, good crumbing off pack marks).

And from what Ive seen I dont really rate him as a player either. He really struggled with the Eagles. Got dropped and didnt dominate in the reserves either. He seemed to play better as a midfield type player, and even then he made skill and decision making errors.

I am not calling dud yet but Jacky didnt show much last year

I had the pleasure of watching Ottens first 6 games of senior footy and was singing his praises after round 1 2008 vs Glenelg. The guy is a ball magnet and continually finds the ball at ease. He isnt quick but has a huge engine and is bloody tall, well built and has great hands and does have a bit of x-factor about him when playing up front.
I remember one certain Norwood supporter who wrote him off, eating his words after the South vs Norwood Anzac day draw last year. Otten kicked 4 goals that night and had about 30 touches.

Otten in South's B & F:

The top ten vote-getters in the league were as follows:

* 1st - James Boyd - 53 votes
* 2nd - Michael Handby - 47 votes
* 3rd - Jason Torney - 33 votes
* 4th - Ian Prendergast - 29 votes
* 5th - Josh Thewlis - 25 votes
* 6th - Brad Crabb - 23 votes
* Equal 8th - Craig Parry and Ben Warren - 17 votes
* 9th - Andy Otten - 15 votes
* Equal 11th - Gerrard Bennett and Ben Neagle - 12 votes

ref: http://www.safc.com.au/html/last_round.html

Ottens ability to kick accurately for goals is what the crows need...but what does neil craig think of him? will we see much of Otten this year?