Resource The 'not worthy of a thread of its own' thread

James Agar joins Geelong’s Board of Directors​

Geelong Football Club is pleased to announce the appointment of James Agar as a Director of the Club.

Senior business leader James Agar has joined the Geelong Cats Board of Directors.
Agar, who has 25 years’ experience in executive roles across finance, commercial, investor relations and external affairs portfolios, is currently Group Corporate Affairs and Commutations Officer at BHP.

In his role at BHP Agar leads a global team managing BHP’s corporate affairs strategy and execution including complex stakeholder engagement across government, media and community portfolios.

Since November 2023 Agar has also served as a Director on BHP’s Foundation Board, a charitable foundation that drives sustainable change through programs relevant to the resources sector.

Agar holds a Bachelor of Commerce and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia.

Living in Geelong with his wife Amy and their three boys, Agar’s appointment has been endorsed by the Club’s Board and he will commence in the role immediately.

Pretty emphatic.
C.C. Seeds.
Threads done in stewarts worst season and enright has the glow of retirement. But read the reasoning for enright and its not great. One poster says enright was better because he had better defensive support and he was the cream on top (yes thats actually an argument that enright is better). Another says he was better cos he played in more flags. One poster says stewart was better cos he achieved almost as much in half as many games. I know which of those arguments is more convincing.

The heart is saying enright. But the head says stewart. Most people vote with their hearts.

Threads done in stewarts worst season and enright has the glow of retirement. But read the reasoning for enright and its not great. One poster says enright was better because he had better defensive support and he was the cream on top (yes thats actually an argument that enright is better). Another says he was better cos he played in more flags. One poster says stewart was better cos he achieved almost as much in half as many games. I know which of those arguments is more convincing.

The heart is saying enright. But the head says stewart. Most people vote with their hearts.
Where does Andrew Mackie ever fit in these discussions? Very underrated and key triple flag player in our era. Great defender and always a penchant for coming forward when we needed a goal.

There's an astonishing number of broadcast games that weren't retained.
Name a Game did retain it, but they went under
I have both the Semi final and Preliminary final on DVD. They were the first two games I purchased through Name a Game.

Channel 7 destroyed most of their archives. They only kept finals matches and Grand Finals, and perhaps a handful of significant Home and Away games.
So many matches from 1989 I want to watch, but can't.

For me Stewart’s speed and physicality separates him and doesn’t show up in the stats. That extra speed and athleticism allows the team to setup our defence much more aggressively than we could ever do with Enright, even more so than we could we Scarlett.

As good as Enright was (and he was all class). Stewart is the better player IMO.

Where does Andrew Mackie ever fit in these discussions? Very underrated and key triple flag player in our era. Great defender and always a penchant for coming forward when we needed a goal.

He’s top of the heap in terms of Geelong’s 1 time All Australians (Brad Ottens maybe ahead). Above all the current defenders except Stewart.

Geelong has had an incredible list of half back flankers over the past 3 and a bit decades. You could probably put geelongs best 8 half back flankers of the afl period up against the rest of the afls combined and it would stack up pretty well. We arguably have the best two.

Stewart
Enright
Hinkley
Milburn
Mackie
Mansfield
Sanderson
Z.guthrie

And i havent counted j.henry, sholl or cam guthrie as a half back flanker but they could easily slot in there. Probably more back pockets though. M.bos just misses cos he retired in 89. P.brown, colbert and bizzell also had some talent in that position but didnt stick with it long enough.

Geelong has had an incredible list of half back flankers over the past 3 and a bit decades. You could probably put geelongs best 8 half back flankers of the afl period up against the rest of the afls combined and it would stack up pretty well. We arguably have the best two.

Stewart
Enright
Hinkley
Milburn
Mackie
Mansfield
Sanderson
Z.guthrie

And i havent counted j.henry, sholl or cam guthrie as a half back flanker but they could easily slot in there. Probably more back pockets though. M.bos just misses cos he retired in 89. P.brown, colbert and bizzell also had some talent in that position but didnt stick with it long enough.
I have McLeod and Hodge in the conversation for best HBFer but definitely we’ve got a massive over representation in the position as you mention.

He’s top of the heap in terms of Geelong’s 1 time All Australians (Brad Ottens maybe ahead). Above all the current defenders except Stewart.
Intuitively this sounds correct to me. But harry taylor, bill brownless and darren milburn also only won 1 all australian. I think i place them equal or better of mackie.

Others may also suggest other 1 time all australians including stephen king, mark blicavs, tom harley, cam ling, cam mooney and tyson stengle (although the latter probably has more to come).

Intuitively this sounds correct to me. But harry taylor, bill brownless and darren milburn also only won 1 all australian. I think i place them equal or better of mackie.

Others may also suggest other 1 time all australians including stephen king, mark blicavs, tom harley, cam ling, cam mooney and tyson stengle (although the latter probably has more to come).
It’s relatively close but I rate Mackie better than all of those guys except Blicavs. Tom Harley the one that’s well behind in my eyes. Maybe he was a good leader but as a player…Mackie by a mile.

Stewart
Enright
Hinkley
Milburn
Mackie
Mansfield
Sanderson
Z.guthrie

Bluey McGrath surely gets a shout out too. Him and Mickey M were a formidable duo.

Who are our all time long sleeved players whose the 5 you think of when you think of long sleeve jumpers?

5- Grant Tanner
4- Ronnie Burns
3- Andrew Mackie
2- Brad Close
1- Jimmy Bartel

Nothing worse than fair-weather supporters.

I joined my current job in 2019. There was guy who was a dead set Richmond nuffie - he was wearing the scarf after every win, had jackets with the Tigers logo on it, talked about footy all the time.

Now, not only has he completely jumped off the bandwagon, today he just tried to gaslight me that he was never a footy fan at all. "Yeah nah mate, never really cared much about AFL, I mean I guess I sort of supported Richmond but yeah nah was never my thing".

Come on mate, we were all there. Your team is shizen for the time being, just own it.

Nothing worse than fair-weather supporters.

I joined my current job in 2019. There was guy who was a dead set Richmond nuffie - he was wearing the scarf after every win, had jackets with the Tigers logo on it, talked about footy all the time.

Now, not only has he completely jumped off the bandwagon, today he just tried to gaslight me that he was never a footy fan at all. "Yeah nah mate, never really cared much about AFL, I mean I guess I sort of supported Richmond but yeah nah was never my thing".

Come on mate, we were all there. Your team is shizen for the time being, just own it.

Yeah. Hawthorn supporters are the opposite at the moment. Were quiet as church mice, and now they're out and about and making plenty of noise.

Richmond fans were infuriating. So many people that I knew that were never supporters were suddenly supporters when the were winning premierships. These same people would be invisible now, and probably couldn't tell you who Royce Hart was.

The thing with me is that when we win, I say nothing. I'm at the point where footy results don't play a big part in my life, because there are ultimately more important things going on. Enjoy the wins, swallow the losses, and stay humble.

Resource The 'not worthy of a thread of its own' thread