The Nott

the bolter

...just found out that the notting hill hotel ala the nott is up for sale. Anyone whose had a drink there would remember kath the publican, who sadly passed. Now up for sale. Will be sad to see the culture of the place change. Stays pokie free I hope...

I can't think of any stories off the top of my head, but I am aware that while waverley was running, many teams would stop off on the way home after a game. Any thoughts/memories from the bf community?

Safe to say, if you're been there..we all love the nott.

I'm from Perth and what is this?

I think the residents of Mannix probably kept the place solvent.

Pretty typical no-frills uni pub. Many good nights there when visiting people.

Why am I not surprised you have mates from Mannix even though you're from Sydney?

For those playing along at home, Mannix is an expensive, elitist, Catholic college at Monash Clayton (the largest uni in Vic, if not Australia).

Seriously, you are almost like a fictional character sometimes.

As a Monash Clayton student I'm kind of ashamed I've never been there. Yet.

Still two years left on my degree though.

I think the residents of Mannix probably kept the place solvent.

Haha swing and a miss there I think. Im speaking from over ten years ago but the few Mannix kids who were there hid out the back corner of the saloon bar every Thursday night while the kids from Halls of Residence (Howitt, Farrer, Deakin, Richo and a few from Roberts) took over the place. Maybe it was the fact it was a 15 minute walk there (and a 45 min walk home) but the place was overflowing with Halls kids every time I went.

I lived in Howitt for 2 years and for those years and the 2 following, I dont think I ever missed a Thursday night Nott night. Wonderful little pub with an outstanding beer garden. Many memories

This news it is being sold makes me very very sad, pokies imminent. :(

Sad news, bit of an end of an era I guess. Many good nights there but haven’t been there for years.

I know a bloke who worked there for a few years, I think Kath had many offers over the years from brewery / hotel chains but always refused to sell. I assume they’ll now buy it and have their way with it.

I know quite a few local footy clubs used to have their Mad Monday there, pretty safe venue with not many other people out in the beer garden on a Monday arvo.

History wise I think it started 100+ years ago as the Halfway Hotel, I think it was the halfway point of the horse and carriage ride from Melbourne to Dandenong.

Never went there, was an RMIT man myself but can empathise - I was gutted when the Moosehead (Cananda Hotel) got turned into shitty apartments.

I think the great thing true about all uni pubs is that you could just wander in by yourself and you were bound to bump into someone you knew.

Hopefully it still styas as a pub and does not change too much. Nothing worse than new owners/management who can't help themselves and feel the need to foist their own ideas on it and end up ruining it.

I wonder if that Gavin(?) bloke stills wanders around, talking to nobody in particular about nothing in particular.

It was good being able to go there after footy training on a Thursday night and not feel the need to have a shower in between.

Never went there, was an RMIT man myself but can empathise - I was gutted when the Moosehead (Cananda Hotel) got turned into shitty apartments.

I think the great thing true about all uni pubs is that you could just wander in by yourself and you were bound to bump into someone you knew.

Hopefully it still styas as a pub and does not change too much. Nothing worse than new owners/management who can't help themselves and feel the need to foist their own ideas on it and end up ruining it.

I think that’s the fear... it’ll be turned into just another sprawling suburban “pub” with huge bistros and restaurants and pokie halls... and a small “sports bar” with a TAB.

Unfortunately there’s not much money in pubs which is why they all turn to food and gambling to make a buck. I don’t think the previous owners were too worried about the money, which made it a bit different.

You haven't really been a Monash (Clayton) student if you haven't been kicked and out of the Nott and then jumped back in over the fence at least once.

:thumbsu:

This, it was the favourite watering hole for Monash Uni students, had many an enjoyable session there.

Loved the nott used to go there in a Thursday night for a Parma and a few pots before heading elsewhere usually the wheelers before it went fully pokies, and then either goo in the city or the mt view (aka the mt spew by that time of night)

I really hope that who ever buys it keeps it like it is with no pokies. I think it was always going to end up getting sold after kath passed away.

One of the great pubs of Melbourne, Christmas Eve at the Nott is one of the best nights of the year because everyone who grew up in the area heads there. I see a heap of guys I went to school with once a year and its always on Christmas Eve.

Used to go there lots in the late 70s/ early 80s. I worked around the corner, in Blackburn Rd. Had lunch there every couple of weeks, with a mate who used to work at Rusden (there's a word I've not thought of for a while). Used to have excellent bistro and counter lunches, at ridiculously low prices. The eye candy wasn't bad either.

Kath, the publican, ruled the joint with an iron fist. Such was the respect accorded her, if any unknowing newcomer acted up, he'd have to contend with 100 blokes who'd stick up for Kath. Great memories of a place with a vibrant atmosphere, in the days when people used the local pub as the area's social hub.