The off topic thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

Don't particularly care if you perceive it as preaching. Just pointing out your hypocrisy whereby you seem to be "grinning" at the cruelty, death and slaughter of one form of life (ie, a cow) but then appear quite angry at another (a lion).

Interesting. Always find it curious to observe how people's opinions shift based on their own convenience. If you watch Earthlings, you might be surprised.
No real hypocrisy. I have no issues with killing for food. Lions are in the Threatened Species categorisation under 'Vulnerable'. I don't like animals being killed for sport or just for a laugh. Somehow I think cows and sheep and deer and chickens etc etc aren't in that much threat. Certainly wouldn't go kill one for sport. I take it you would allow the killing of wildlife that contain diseases that could kill humans or is that off limits too?

I eat all sorts of meat and love it, in general I love food. It's a tough one, I mean at the end of the day, millions of animals are killed for us to eat, but the worlds gotta go round, and as it is, we are top of the food chain, haven't always been but right now we are. As for killing animals as a sport, that can **** right off, no one should be carrying around a sniper and go hunting for lions to kill just because "they enjoy it", gutless assholes who have no feel for an animals life.

Association Football Veganism Thread anyone?

Personally I'm not going to go vegan any time soon but I respect the decision of people who have. As long as they're not pushy about it (and glenferry23 hasn't been).

That's fair enough, although I don't do commercial pet food if I can help it, they're all terrible. Dogs and cats are all wired to eat meat anyhow so I think it's healthiest for them to eat it

I dunno how the human body works when it comes to plant protein but we can probably eat plant protein to get the essential stuff.

Yeah mine eat chicken wings, great for their teeth, healthy, and one wing each fills them up.

Driving home tonight from my girlfriend's and had my car's tyres lock up on a turn on a sealed off road - concrete barrier in the middle and on the side. Car spun a full 90 degrees so I was perpendicular with the road. Scariest moment ever, had no control over the car. No idea whether it was the wet road, the brakes, tyres, or a combination. Will get it checked out tomorrow, but it got the heart racing!

Were you going straight or around a bend?

Round a bend, and braking so reckon the brakes must have locked up, but I wasn't going very fast. Ironically been worried about my car packing up going through the gorge near her house all of last week driving to the station, and this was in a completely different area.

Amazed the front and back of the car didn't hit the barriers either side though to be honest, very lucky.

Round a bend, and braking so reckon the brakes must have locked up, but I wasn't going very fast. Ironically been worried about my car packing up going through the gorge near her house all of last week driving to the station, and this was in a completely different area.

Amazed the front and back of the car didn't hit the barriers either side though to be honest, very lucky.
Does sound like you've locked a brake.

What car do you have? ABS should have stopped a brake locking.

Does sound like you've locked a brake.

What car do you have? ABS should have stopped a brake locking.

Pretty sure I don't have ABS, had to figure this out before on an Advanced Driving Course. I was pumping the brake though which I thought might have stopped it locking as I've known that this might happen, but clearly didn't work. It's an 03 model Hyundai Elantra.

We drive the same car. :D

Have you ever tried any alternatives to dairy etc? You'd be amazed. Some of cakes/cookies etc I sometimes give to me team at work has them staggered. They wouldn't be able to tell the difference.

Yeah, i do do a bit of 'raw food' stuff and other bits and pieces(my boss is a bit of a trendy hipster so i keep up with all the fads). But you can tell the difference and the product just isnt as good if you are substituting ingredients. There are plenty of good vegan recipes out there, but somethings just cant be altered.

Butter and Eggs just can't be replaced for the products i make, especially for cakes and pastry. I do use free range eggs though.

Shit, glad you're OK mate

Cheers yeah was a pretty freaky moment. Got the car in for a check up now so hopefully it was just a case of oil or something on the road and I misjudged. It was towards the bottom of the hill which was a bit weird because if anything I was going slower than on previous turns and had no issues.

What's the speed limit on the road, SM?

60, downhill with a relatively tight turn - I was braking gently going around it as I had the other turns further up the road - so maybe travelling a bit over 50 km. Might have been slightly too fast in the wet and it was late at night so I wasn't thinking too much about it as I've driven that road heaps of times before with no issues. Was a bit of a shock! Just thankful I didn't hit anything and no one was right behind me.

Going into the barricades would have sucked!

I feel like I know where you're talking about as well...

Going into the barricades would have sucked!

I feel like I know where you're talking about as well...

Delhi Road? I was heading towards Chatswood so down that stretch of winding road. If you know the area, it was the second turn from the bus stop at the bottom, so I'd already gone through a fair few of them.

Actually just got off the phone with my mechanic, brakes and tyres are apparently fine so must have been oil or something on the road. In some ways that makes me more concerned rather than less, knowing the car is fine but that that still happened.

Delhi Road? I was heading towards Chatswood so down that stretch of winding road. If you know the area, it was the second turn from the bus stop at the bottom, so I'd already gone through a fair few of them.

Actually just got off the phone with my mechanic, brakes and tyres are apparently fine so must have been oil or something on the road. In some ways that makes me more concerned rather than less, knowing the car is fine but that that still happened.
Not where I was thinking but I do actually know the area haha.

What sort of car does everyone drive here?

We have a 2011 Subaru Outback and a 2003 Nissan Pulsar.

giphy.gif