The Parenting Thread

Aug 16, 2011
Arsenal
A thread for parents to discuss their wins, struggles, questions and everything in between.

We have a two and half year old and a five week old. Both girls. Our toddler is pretty switched on, a bit sassy, can be so friendly and caring, and is very social.

She does just turn though on her little sister and will eye gauge, squeeze her head, hit her, and occasionally does the same to us. We aren't sure why, or what causes it, it's very frustrating though.

She's also so resistant to sleep. We also don't know why. She fights it so damn often. And without fail she wakes up at 4.30-5am every day, irrespective of what time she goes down. Saturday night and last night we had to go for a drive to get her down (was down within 10 minutes), but she did not want a bar of going to sleep in her bed.

She is getting surgery on her hips at the end of May (hip dysplasia) and can't weight bare for 6 weeks. It's going to be brutal, I've got my Centrelink leave through work I can use to use as "carer's leave" and the MIL can help out too, but it's going to be so difficult.

Of course, you take the good with the bad, but some days are so tough.

If anybody has any tips on the sleeping or the the violence feel free to share!

A thread for parents to discuss their wins, struggles, questions and everything in between.

We have a two and half year old and a five week old. Both girls. Our toddler is pretty switched on, a bit sassy, can be so friendly and caring, and is very social.

She does just turn though on her little sister and will eye gauge, squeeze her head, hit her, and occasionally does the same to us. We aren't sure why, or what causes it, it's very frustrating though.

She's also so resistant to sleep. We also don't know why. She fights it so damn often. And without fail she wakes up at 4.30-5am every day, irrespective of what time she goes down. Saturday night and last night we had to go for a drive to get her down (was down within 10 minutes), but she did not want a bar of going to sleep in her bed.

She is getting surgery on her hips at the end of May (hip dysplasia) and can't weight bare for 6 weeks. It's going to be brutal, I've got my Centrelink leave through work I can use to use as "carer's leave" and the MIL can help out too, but it's going to be so difficult.

Of course, you take the good with the bad, but some days are so tough.

If anybody has any tips on the sleeping or the the violence feel free to share!
A mate's daughter had that hip problem, and everything went well and she's now starting to walk at roughly the age kids begin to anyway, so hope that helps.

As for not sleeping, our daughter was an absolutely terrible sleeper as a baby and it has barely improved now she's 6. We buy melatonin syrup from overseas which pediatricians directed us to, if you're interested. The violence could be a phase or it could be something more. Our 6yo is also diagnosed moderately autistic, she has mood swings and temper tantrums bad, completely shuts down and struggles intensely in social settings. However catch her in a good moment with her baby brother and you would have no idea that she isn't a 100% healthy happy girl.

A mate's daughter had that hip problem, and everything went well and she's now starting to walk at roughly the age kids begin to anyway, so hope that helps.

As for not sleeping, our daughter was an absolutely terrible sleeper as a baby and it has barely improved now she's 6. We buy melatonin syrup from overseas which pediatricians directed us to, if you're interested. The violence could be a phase or it could be something more. Our 6yo is also diagnosed moderately autistic, she has mood swings and temper tantrums bad, completely shuts down and struggles intensely in social settings. However catch her in a good moment with her baby brother and you would have no idea that she isn't a 100% healthy happy girl.
Did she require the surgery? You wouldn't know anything is wrong with her looking at her, but if she does not have the surgery she will have athritis by the time she is a teenager. It's vital we get it done, it's just going to be a very difficult recovery period in this household.

Is the syrup expensive? Does it help?

I think the violence is a phase. May still be adjusting to having a sibling and divided attention. We don't think she's autistic, she doesn't really exhibit any tendencies, and she's super social. Will literally hug random kids at the shops lol

I'm no parenting expert but I did have a 2 year old and a newborn at the same time (during the lockdowns, what a treat that was) so I feel your pain. Some things that worked well to help our toddler adjust were:
  • Letting the baby cry for a couple of minutes while I tended to the toddler, saying "it's (toddler's name)'s turn for mummy now, I'll get to you in a minute (baby's name)". I think it helped him feel like I didn't always drop everything for the baby all the time
  • When I was breastfeeding I'd put something on tv that toddler enjoyed and snuggled them both at the same time
  • Asking toddler to help mummy by getting me a nappy/the wipes/my drink bottle...anything I could think of. He liked to have a job to do that was helpful and important
  • Doing one on one activities with the toddler while the baby napped (easy stuff like colouring in) and prioritising that over things like cleaning
  • Making sure I was still able to do the toddler's bedtime routine rather than dishing him off to his dad, whenever possible
It didn't take long for a bond to form. Babies are just super boring for toddlers. Once the baby could roll over he took much more interest.

I feel as though I'm somewhat in the eye of the hurricane right now. My boys are 12 and 10 and it's a good age. They're good boys for the most part. My 12 year old seems older than what he is so it's almost like I'm getting a taste of the teenage years right now. That will be a challenge I'm sure. They handled their Mum and I separating extremely well and I'm proud of how we've navigated that for the most part. They have two good homes.

Something that has been on my mind lately is how they'll go sharing a room in the near future. I won't be able to afford a bigger place for a little while. I'm looking at creative solutions on how to give them their own space and privacy.

Sometimes I believe in trial and error to teach my son stuff. We were on the way home from the footy after his first Tiges game, he was 2. On the train on the way home we were about to leave a station, I told him to hang on and he refused, ok mate no worries.

Train leaves, he goes flying, hits the deck, cries, but he hung on for the rest of the trip, lesson taught I reckon.

I'm no parenting expert but I did have a 2 year old and a newborn at the same time (during the lockdowns, what a treat that was) so I feel your pain. Some things that worked well to help our toddler adjust were:
  • Letting the baby cry for a couple of minutes while I tended to the toddler, saying "it's (toddler's name)'s turn for mummy now, I'll get to you in a minute (baby's name)". I think it helped him feel like I didn't always drop everything for the baby all the time
  • When I was breastfeeding I'd put something on tv that toddler enjoyed and snuggled them both at the same time
  • Asking toddler to help mummy by getting me a nappy/the wipes/my drink bottle...anything I could think of. He liked to have a job to do that was helpful and important
  • Doing one on one activities with the toddler while the baby napped (easy stuff like colouring in) and prioritising that over things like cleaning
  • Making sure I was still able to do the toddler's bedtime routine rather than dishing him off to his dad, whenever possible
It didn't take long for a bond to form. Babies are just super boring for toddlers. Once the baby could roll over he took much more interest.
Not that I think this is what my wife is doing by any stretch but I bloody love that I get exclusivity in putting my toddler to sleep.

That's helped by the fact that the little one absolutely refuses to let me put him down between the hours of about 8pm-8am.

She doesn't have much of a problem at all when feeding.

The first one is one we could perhaps try. We get her to help a lot too, and she's always happy to and enthusiastic about it.

We do the one on one stuff as well.

Seems there is no magical formula, every kid is different and you never know what you'll get depending on their mood.

She doesn't have much of a problem at all when feeding.

The first one is one we could perhaps try. We get her to help a lot too, and she's always happy to and enthusiastic about it.

We do the one on one stuff as well.

Seems there is no magical formula, every kid is different and you never know what you'll get depending on their mood.
I didn’t really have a problem at feeding time either but it was a good time for connection. I believe that behaviour is communication so I used that time for positive associations to preempt any ill feelings from toddler to bubba.

But yep every kid is different and parents all have different styles too!

There's a 'little person' at our local pharmacy and our 3 year old has started pointing at him and laughing. It's incredibly embaressing (and funny at the same time). He also points at fat people and laughs at them too.

He's great.

Yeah not been fun at our place either. Mr 6 months old has had about 6 weeks of just flat out refusing to sleep for anything more than about 30 mins.

I love the kid but I'm about ready to yeet myself into his ceiling fan head first.
My colleague suggested I put mine up for sale haha

Mate of mine drove his family to Melbourne last week and I got a text from him saying that he was in Stawell and at this rate his lad will be lucky to see his sixth birthday.

That's the horrifying thing, you always suspect you're going through the worst of it and yet I'm sure I have plenty of fun in store.

The Parenting Thread