Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Become a teacher in WA, Jonts, they get a guaranteed 100k after 7 years of teaching or something. Primary school.
I doubt there will be 7 years till the mining boom finishes and the state govt cuts the teaching sector like a sushi chef, but teaching is awesome as far a conditions, satisfaction and pay is concerned (in any state).

Become a teacher in WA, Jonts, they get a guaranteed 100k after 7 years of teaching or something. Primary school.
holy cow......

now i know why the SA union wants more, yeah i'm studying primary school teaching this year

As someone who is six months away from becoming a teacher in WA, I'm not 100% sure that's the case. Admittedly I'm doing high school teaching, but to earn that sort of coin you're looking at a principals position, which means a masters, or PhD (not sure which from memory).

Teachers pay scale is also relevant in how many years you have been at a particular school, and whether you hold as position such as a head of year or department.

Again that's high school, so I'm not sure how that applies since you mentioned primary school.

Edit: to clarify, if I get a job as a teacher at a private school, I'm looking at ~62kp/a before tax first year out. A rise in income to 100k within 7 years seems steep. Especially when promotion to a position such as a deputy principal is unlikely without 10+ years experience.

998058-jackhombsch.jpg

May 2010
fri_26th_oct_2012012.jpg

Late October 2012.

Thanks GWS!

As someone who is six months away from becoming a teacher in WA, I'm not 100% sure that's the case. Admittedly I'm doing high school teaching, but to earn that sort of coin you're looking at a principals position, which means a masters, or PhD (not sure which from memory).

Teachers pay scale is also relevant in how many years you have been at a particular school, and whether you hold as position such as a head of year or department.

Again that's high school, so I'm not sure how that applies since you mentioned primary school.

Edit: to clarify, if I get a job as a teacher at a private school, I'm looking at ~62kp/a before tax first year out. A rise in income to 100k within 7 years seems steep. Especially when promotion to a position such as a deputy principal is unlikely without 10+ years experience.
thats what i thought? will give it extra look in for sure

I'm not speaking out of my arse. I have a mate from WA who teaches, but, well, he could be speaking out of his arse.

I never suggested that you were :), he may well earn that much.

Would make sense for Aldi to make a statement. does foodland back the crows?

Foodland are a key partner of Port, but if Aldi offer more cash, well .... Aldi@Alberton.

"Please take a seat, Mr. Watson." said the Essendon Football Club doctor, "I've got some news about your son and i'm afraid it's not good." "Oh shit," Tim replied, sobbing uncontrollably. "You mean he's staying at the Bombers?"

Just for the record, check out the upper/middle management budget in your average public hospital. Makes the pollies look like saints.

This. It's crazy.

I started working in hospital maintenance about 20 years ago.

There was about a 10-1 ratio of maintenance staff to management.

It's around 1-1 today.

Effing BS.

holy cow......

now i know why the SA union wants more, yeah i'm studying primary school teaching this year

WTF is with these "Pupil Free Days"? 3 weeks into the new year and they are having one at my kids school. I assume they are like Professional development days, but seriously, why can't they do this the week before school goes back? I understand teachers don't have the full 7 weeks off, but really I think it's a bloody joke.

I find 'Pupil free days' tend to coincide with long weekends...funny how that works.

Is that like saying that people who work in Maccas or Myers can have a customer free day?

...I understand teachers don't have the full 7 weeks off,...

My mate is a teacher. Primary.
He has the full 7 weeks off and more. (sick days, professional development, pupil free etc)

The perks he has are ridiculous but he justifies it by saying, 'My job is hard."

Mate, EVERYONE'S job is hard.

My mate is a teacher. Primary.
He has the full 7 weeks off and more. (sick days, professional development, pupil free etc)

The perks he has are ridiculous but he justifies it by saying, 'My job is hard."

Mate, EVERYONE'S job is hard.

To be honest, I couldn't thiknk of anything worse than being a teacher, I find it hard enough not wanting to kill my own kids let alone 25 other brats, but my God, they seem to take the piss. The amount of sick days they seem to have just astounds me. The Teachers Union make the the BLF look like quoir boys.

My partner is about to finish uni, she'll be qualified to work in pre-schools and reception-3.

I don't envy her one bit. I on the other hand, plan to run the network of said school, while playing skyrim.

Just for the record, check out the upper/middle management budget in your average public hospital. Makes the pollies look like saints.
Projects aren't going to do themselves.

I find 'Pupil free days' tend to coincide with long weekends...funny how that works.

I'm pretty sure they do this for the parents benefit

Yeah i dunno, the worst ones are those half pupil free days