Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Just spent an hour reading the Adelaide board. They're not a very happy bunch these days, are they?

That's a hour of my life I'd want back.

Question what do you get when you put up a team with 14 forward pockets and give them a round ball?

I've never been able to watch the muppets or even sesame street the same since seeing a cat give a walrus a blowjob under a desk.

" you maybe Robert to your friends but your flash it to me"

Lots of disharmony and infighting on the board.

To save us the problem of having bleeding eyes, what are they banging on about?

It's mostly just Dave Grohl fighting with Darth Vader from what I can tell.

Had similar. A mate's mum died of cancer, so I thought to cheer him up I'd put on Freddy Got Fingered. Then came the fateful line:

"Are hospitals always this fun?"
"No, sometimes people die of cancer. "

Never felt a freeze up in my body quite like that one.

Sitting in a taxi with a few mates on our way to a concert, one of my mates had just been to his grandmothers funeral (either that day or the previous). Talking about it, seeing if he was okay etc. He mentions it was at Bowra O'dea and they put on a good, respectable presentation.

One of my other mates pipes up with "Bowra O'dea, they must make a killing."

Silence. Then me stifling a laugh, then another stifling laugh until full blown laughter. And then a large amount of apologising to our mate.

Johnny Doyle ( AKA Rampaging Roy Slaven) has written a new play that involves science, religion, getting Alzheimer's, faith, Peter Higgs ( who won the Nobel Physic prize a week before the play debuted) and the Higgs boson. Its called Vere which is latin for faith and was in part inspired by Vere Gordon Childe the father of archaeology in Oz. He leapt to his death from some point in the Blue Mountains - in the Grose Valley. It was from there that Darwin stood and realised the age of the earth of the northern hemisphere and southern hemisphere were the same which for a man of god - he was a pastor - believed god had made them separately, helped change the way he thought about the world.

Somehow Doyle takes all these ideas and the concept of faith as the character is affected by Alzheimer and is coming to the end of his life.

It's on at the Dunstan Playhouse in Adelaide between 12th Oct and 2nd November and will go to Sydney as it's a joint production between the SA State Theatre Company and the Sydney Theatre Company. Here is the State Theatre Compny's synopsis
http://www.statetheatrecompany.com.au/home/whatson/shows/vere/

But Doyle explains it all to the Science Show's Robyn Williams about 10 days ago including using a Paul McCartney analogy to explain the Higgs Boson theory. He was Adelaide ABC radio early last week explaining the play as well. Hope to go to watch it next weekend. PREDAT0R I reckon you would enjoy it.

It's in their nature to do so. That's what happens when you try and fit your Sturts, your Norwoods, and your Glenelg supporters all under the same banner. Deep down they all hate each others guts.

I thought it was in Darth And Dave's nature, you know Darth would have been a better front man.

Why is it I can go to the busiest part of the river and catch carp, but when i get in a canoe and find a nice secluded spot away from the mainstream all i get is ****ing sunburn? Jumbo hows the fishing your way, any yabbies yet?

At about halfway in this song I had a sudden urge to stick a large needle in my urinary meatus...

well Chinese cuisine is famous for using all parts of the animal...

Why is it I can go to the busiest part of the river and catch carp, but when i get in a canoe and find a nice secluded spot away from the mainstream all i get is ******* sunburn? Jumbo hows the fishing your way, any yabbies yet?

Howdy MP, not a yabby in sight and the water is belting down at a fair rate of knots. Not catching any carp whatsoever but in close getting a few catties and callop which are just on and over legal size, it's all good. About time they lifted the ban on keeping catfish, there's plenty of them about.

hmm interesting, my mates brother got a quarter of an esky of yabbies a fortnight ago but won't tell me the spot. I've been catching carp at the mannum reserve b ut went to a nice quiet spot at zadows landing for two hours today and not even a bite. Caught two catfish a few months back, have heard they are good eating.

From memory they are quite good but I haven't tried one for 20 odd years. I'm going to wait a couple of weeks to hope the tap gets turned down a bit then go upstream around lock 9, it's meant to be pretty decent fishing up there.

Hi there I'm looking at buying this signed jamie Osborne print. It's of a drawing from the 2004 premiership. The guy wants 300 buxs for it. Does anyone know if that's what it's worth thanks image.jpg

From memory they are quite good but I haven't tried one for 20 odd years. I'm going to wait a couple of weeks to hope the tap gets turned down a bit then go upstream around lock 9, it's meant to be pretty decent fishing up there.

Any idea what it's like around lock 3?

If you're not in a boat it's not very comfortable as the steep rocks alongside the lock are a pain in the bum but the fishing is very good, if in a boat you can't really go too wrong with the added bonus of when the yabbies start near Overland Corner they are in size/numbers as good as anywhere.

Awesome I work up the river usually once a week and have struggled to hit any good yabbie spots.

it more that you need to put in the work to target where they are or soak the baits and let them come to you?

I went straight to the end and there seems top be a black guy dressed as paedo bear in a teenage slumber party.