Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

The drive to Queensland/ Northern NSW is long, but so worth it, the Glasshouse mountains are awesome.

Hehe, I'm not much of one for photos or video so this is the only photo I have of my car and trailer [waaay in the background from 10 years ago - but it hasn't changed. 4.2l diesel. Unstoppable]. That is taken in a camp ground by Minyon Falls in the forest near Byron Bay.

View attachment 204357

And this is one of the Fraser island hill climbs. Harder if it hasn't been raining for a while on the sand. Good stuff.

Fraser is awesome. Though passing on the tracks can get interesting.
Is that ya bruver or ya luver?

Hahaha, fellow bmx riding bruva. You can see the bike wheel behind my mates arm.

Lived in shorts and nowt else for pretty much the whole time we were up there. Humidity killed me.

sequence of events....

203840_eb63562928bb3b16607a73d40f45d5a7.jpg

Yaphet-Kotto-Alien.9.jpg

alien4.gif

Oh and what the hell, mainly because I'm still off my face and home alone for a change.

My favourite bmx pic ever.

stewy.jpg

A mate from the navy who had no idea what they were doing, which was only excelled by their lack of giving a ****.

Since I was a teenager I've had this fixed idea that I need to live abroad for a while. I love other cultures and learning about different places (case in point: it's 3am in Brazil and I'm here asking about Perth). I learned to speak English mostly on my own as part of that desire. My Plan A was to study in England. I got accepted into the London School of Economics but couldn't afford it as the bastards wouldn't give me a single penny in terms of financial support. Since then I've changed fields of work from economics to sports. I'm now applying for sports-related courses in England but there's an economic crisis going on in Brazil and the current pound-real exchange rate is crazy. No way in hell I'll be able to afford them either (or maybe I could, but then I would have money for nothing else, and the cost of opportunity is too great). AFL football, this forum, my Australian boss, all helped opening my eyes to other opportunities. I now live in hope. If I'm still in Brazil come December this year I'll just breakdown. This can't happen.
I went to LSE, great school.
Definitely move to Australia over London though, better people, nicer pace and a faaaar higher standard of living.

I went to LSE, great school.
Definitely move to Australia over London though, better people, nicer pace and a faaaar higher standard of living.

Great school indeed..

Mick Jagger also went there for a while until his hobbie became a lucrative source of income.

Hahahaha, my mate who is in the photo with the 4wd in the background has been texted the screen cap of it.

Bullion.

Who was it? :D

**** me betting companies are desperate for money, as are people who are stupid enough to bet on bizarre shit. You can bet on what over and ball a no ball is bowled, how many players enter a cricket ground wearing sunglasses, who will score less than 10 etc. But do a search for Triple J's hottest 100 and first choice is to gamble on who will get voted no. 1.

http://www.sportsbet.com.au/betting/music/triple-j-hottest-100

**** me betting companies as desperate for money as are people who stupid enough to bet on bizare shit. You can vote what over and ball a no ball is bold, how many players enter a cricket ground wearing sunglasses who will score less than 10 etc. But do a search for Triple J's hottest 100 and first choice is to gamble on who will get voted no. 1.

http://www.sportsbet.com.au/betting/music/triple-j-hottest-100
I was thinking about this while reading Portia's post about being unable to place a bet on Pittard making the AA team. Can't do that, but there's a page where you can bet on when Julian Assange will walk free from the Ecuadorian Embassy. :rainbow:

:D

Is that your way of saying I've been lied to? :eek:

The problem with South Australia is that it's full of South Australians. Think of it as if the entire place is suffering from nuclear fallout - limit your exposure to other people by only doing what is necessary and keep to your own bubble of people that you trust, and whatever you do...don't drink the water without treating it first.

Other than that, it's great :D

As a Melbourne resident I'm inclined to put this generic statement here whenever anyone talks up Sydney

AWH MELBOURNE'S WAY BETTER THAN SYDNEY MOITE BECAUSE

Sydney - Home of Melbourne's inferiority complex
Adelaide - Home of Melbourne's superiority complex

Lmao

Remember when the internet was just videos of guys eating shit off BMXs and skateboards

We won a $500 cash and boxes of donuts with a video of a girlfriend of one of us getting hit by an out of control bmx.

Good ol' funniest home vidoes.

On Coober Pedy, that place is finished. I mean completely finished. Every single tourist attraction is boarded up, dilapidated, graffitid and completely deserted. Most of the shops are closed. The whole experience there was surreal. You could stand in the main road and see and hear no one. I actually thought I was in a movie because all I could hear was the wind blowing through things and galvanised stuff banging against each other in the wind.

One of the only people I saw was some angry lady who told me and my mates off for climbing on what was left of the set from the movie Pitch Black (which was filmed at Coober). Even the pubs and bars were completely empty. The only real action we saw was a group of indigenous people fighting another group of indigenous people, and one of them was lying in the road inebriated while the local constabulary tried to converse with him.

The whole thing was very bizarre.

I went to Coober Pedy on an end of season footy trip once. We had scratch match against a local side - the boundary line was scratched out by a bloke sitting in the back of a ute holding a star picket. Luckily I had cracked a bone in my ankle late in the season and was unable to take the clay pan field.

The motel we stayed in appeared to be the mecca of entertainment in Coober Pedy. There was even a live band - called 'Dust' appropriately enough.

One of our players who looked particularly dusty the next morning reckoned it was nothing to do with the half a keg he'd drunk the night before - he claimed he was woken in the early hours by blood-curling screams outside his room and someone yelling, "hey you - with the glass in yer neck!"

Lmao

Remember when the internet was just videos of guys eating shit off BMXs and skateboards

Invariably with the backing track of "Limp Bizkit - Break Stuff"