Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

THEY PUT THAT IN THE SECOND ONE!

The mothership that was like 500x bigger than the original (because sequals have to have bigger enemies) affected the gravity and tore up cities into the air.

However, when it left at the end...it did nothing and affected nobody. Yeah...

But was it Mac compatible this time?

Oh yeah if anyone is thinking of seeing independance day, don't. It's ******* awful. There are so many characters and absolutely none of them have any character development. Will smiths son from the first one is the worst actor i've ever ******* seen. There is like 14 super human women and men heroes from every culture (better make sure not to offend anyone) who are amazing at everything and none of them are remotely interesting.

Oh, all of them have love interests and it's all happy ever after because plot. They even manage to swing in a gay couple in the last 5 minutes, because. They had sort of dropped silly hints throughout the movie but then at the end they held hands and spoke about cardigans. That sort of tokenism obvious after thought is so ******* typical.

Also, plot holes.
So true. I saw it last night and if it was a flavour it'd be Vanilla. It's like the whole movie was done by committee, ensuring every box was ticked.

Dammit Feel, you're just making want to watch it now!

They even ticked the religious box. When the president did his worldwide speech it crossed to Buddhists, christians, islamic people etc. And he was like "pray for us".

Constant references to having "faith"

Ugh.

They even ticked the religious box. When the president did his worldwide speech it crossed to Buddhists, christians, islamic people etc. And he was like "pray for us".

Constant references to having "faith"

Ugh.

Guess the had to out-gross the equivalent speech from the first one.

Seriously though, has anyone every thought "I didn't plan on seeing that film, but I hear there's a (minority group) character, so I reckon I might give it a look".

Did Warcraft have any Chinese actors? Considering how Star Wars bent over to try and win that market, only to be rather whelming and nothing more.

I smirked at the oil painting of will smiths character at the start and they were all like "i wish he was still with us".

Sounds like it needed more of this instead.
slide_199933_520619_huge.jpg

Seriously though, has anyone every thought "I didn't plan on seeing that film, but I hear there's a (minority group) character, so I reckon I might give it a look".

Did Warcraft have any Chinese actors? Considering how Star Wars bent over to try and win that market, only to be rather whelming and nothing more.

The trailer for rogue one was on in the previews and I thought this too. I was like "okay we get it."

My other half leaned over and was like "...gee they are really milking star wars arent they."

If this wasn't a family friendly forum, I'd totally be posting about Jeff Goldblum getting it on on a beach, proudly strolling along the shoreline with his manhood at full mast and not a care in the world.

*No homo

*Ok, I guess some homo

*NTTIAWTT

Before the first Expendables was released, Stallone said one of characters is gay. It isn't Jason Statham, as he has a girlfriend. The rest show nothing of sexual inclination. I wasn't sure if it was token or just a pisstake, as in "Who cares anyway so what it doesn't matter this is a movie and guns n knives and explosions n shit".

Probably neither.

If this wasn't a family friendly forum, I'd totally be posting about Jeff Goldblum getting it on on a beach, proudly strolling along the shoreline with his manhood at full mast and not a care in the world.

*No homo

*Ok, I guess some homo

*NTTIAWTT

Apparently he's one of Hollywood's great sleazebags, runs acting classes with the express purpose of meeting and banging ingenues. Gotta love him, though.

The trailer for rogue one was on in the previews and I thought this too. I was like "okay we get it."

My other half leaned over and was like "...gee they are really milking star wars arent they."

"Gotta win another minority market... how do we do that?"

"I know, shop out all the other minority characters on the poster to not offend their cultural sensibilities!"

"Excellent, Star Wars in the Disney era really will be known as the movie franchise for all cultures!"

on the topic of good diversity and tokenist diversity, a trailer for ghostbusters was just on the comedy channel. I hadn't bothered to watch any of them, and well, I saw lines such as "YOU WANT SOME OF THIS!" and the rather large lady punches a ghost, then that hemsworth guy who is apparently their admin guy drew a new logo for them, and it had boobies. They all laughed at it and thought it was really funny.

It wasn't.

Apparently he's one of Hollywood's great sleazebags, runs acting classes with the express purpose of meeting and banging ingenues. Gotta love him, though.

Yeah I don't know what it is. He is never serious, ever. It's like he's one of those guys who doesn't even try and still gets good jobs and is successful in life.

Oh gee edgie is getting offended at minorities being in his films again

I'm not offended by anyone in any movie. Tokenism however, when it is plain as day to see...
151209103057-star-wars-china-racism-poster-exlarge-169.jpg

Spot the difference. Does it look lie they backed their casting choice to the hilt when trying to appeal to a market not known for it's diversity?

Also, Feel basically had the same problem with ID4:2

My partner has Crohns Disease. I put my hand up to jumping at shadows at any Medicare scare campaign. With the amount of scans and operations and such she needs to have regularly as she is at a higher risk of developing cancer (already had one last year when they found pre-cancerous cells), any cuts to that kind of thing would seriously break our budget.

Even if it is all BS, if any of the swing can be attributed to it, it shows how much Australia want it left alone and should send a message to whoever is governing.

My partner has Crohn Disease. I put my hand up to jumping at shadows at any Medicare scare campaign. With the amount of scans and operations and such she needs to have regularly as she is at a higher risk of developing cancer (already had one last year when they found pre-cancerous cells), any cuts to that kind of thing would seriously break our budget.

Even if it is all BS, if any of the swing can be attributed to it, it shows how much Australia want it left alone and should send a message to whoever is governing.

Yeah, best mate with cancer amongst a couple others around me who rely on the system pretty heavily. I'm happy to pay the ****loads of tax I pay comparatively if it keeps medicare stable.

Still, Labor's use of it as a scare campaign is despicable, but it reminds me of Liberal in the past couple of elections. Fear works, but I really hate how much this happens in politics.

Could a major party run a campaign based purely on spruiking their own policy? Like, make a relentless point of not negative campaigning. So extreme it would probably fail but I dunno, people could see it as incredibly refreshing.