The 'Recruit'

-Players wanting to be on 'The Recruit' must be around 18-24 years of age.
-Players must come from the VFL/SANFL/WAFL/TAC Cup pathway

Why do players fitting this criteria require further help/exposure to be "discovered"?

Still think the criteria I outlined earlier in the thread would be best for the purpose of the show:

- Must be born between 31/12/1991-31/12/1993 (21-23 years old)
- Must not have played a game (senior or reserves) in the VFL, SANFL, WAFL, NEAFL, NTFL or TSL in the years 2012, 2013 or 2014 (extended to 2011/12 and 2014/15 for NTFL participation).
- Must have resided in Australia from 2012-present
- Must have played at least one game of organised football in each of the years 2012, 2013 or 2014 (extended to 2011/12 and 2014/15 for Northern Territory participants)

This way, we'd really find out which Australian footballers the draft system "missed", that are playing outside of the state leagues at the moment, that may be AFL standard. I don't think there are too many TBH, but you never know.

I wouldn't be unhappy with a show entirely filled with imports and converts from other sports.
A group of super fit small guys, like 80% of the rest of the AFL, doesn't fill me with much confidence. It might get them some exposure so they can get a go on a WAFL/VFL/SANFL level but if your greatest asset is that you are hard at the ball and can run then you're competing against five other guys on each list for the last midfield spot.

There are freak athletes who can play football currently warming a bench for other sports because they aren't quite there. Slightly undersized basketballers could be a gold mine.

I'm all for natural footballers over athletes with no idea but the era of the short, slow, tough inside mid is ending.

I wonder how many thought when there was a curfew violation of player out on the piss immediately thought it was Waylon??

No, I thought being in the NT, that Waylen would just think 'I'll go in the bottom 3 because I don't want to leave'. The way he struggled the first couple of weeks, I thought homesickness would get him and they scheduled a NT episode and got him to hold on until then.

Glad he is persevering. Great guy and I'd like him to win. He'd need to overtake a couple on field from what we have seen though. All natural ability but needs to work harder.

Tuned in the other day, I turned it off in 20 minutes. Feels like it's been made with a $100 budget.

Don't worry about that, it's landed the best numbers for a show of it's type on Australian television. Next season could demand a fair bit of cash from the likes of FOX8 to show it.

Worst case scenario is Channel 7 paying big dollars for the rights and completely destroying it. Hosted by Luke Darcy, coached by Tim Watson..

There's only so much physical activity one can do and is ALLOWED to do. It appears they have schedules to emulate (to a lesser degree) AFL commitments. These are semi-professional or amateur footballers. The standard training sessions are going to wreck them. Additional to that, they have Burgess there who'd assign work loads they would not be able to exceed.
If you're new to something, you should be trying to get the most out of it. At the very least, he should be going for walks with the ball, bouncing it, getting used to the feel of it.

According to you, the players on the fringe of the list shouldn't put in any extra work in order to avoid being delisted. Cisco is on the fringes of the list, so he needs to put in extra work.

Goss didn't say that at all. He spoke for himself and there was no input from any other player. He said nothing about not asking others about the game. Voss clearly understood there they have a personality conflict and perceived Goss's comments as a release.
He did, he said "You should be constantly asking the boy sabout the game so you can learn more about it, and you're not doing that." Or something along those lines anyway. And the others all murmured agreement.

Finally, learning an endeavour 24/7 might sound committed, but it can also create stress, fatigue, burn-out, unhappiness etc. People need down time and to relax. He probably does so by watching NBA and NFL. Given he's an outsider and a lone American in a house of Aussie's that don't want him there, he might need that comfort as well.
I'm not saying that he shouldn't do that, everyone needs something to relax. But he should still be doing more work.

If you're new to something, you should be trying to get the most out of it. At the very least, he should be going for walks with the ball, bouncing it, getting used to the feel of it.

According to you, the players on the fringe of the list shouldn't put in any extra work in order to avoid being delisted. Cisco is on the fringes of the list, so he needs to put in extra work.

He did, he said "You should be constantly asking the boy sabout the game so you can learn more about it, and you're not doing that." Or something along those lines anyway. And the others all murmured agreement.

I'm not saying that he shouldn't do that, everyone needs something to relax. But he should still be doing more work.

Agree, plus he is an ex college athlete in the US so should be able to handle a pretty sturdy training load.

I like Cisco. I don't think he's been a loudmouth he's just rationally defended himself and outlined his skills and deficiencies.

I generally like America and Americans so I am biased towards people like him.

Whether he puts in enough study time I don't know as it's an edited for narrative style show.

With Bracken gone my new favorite is Waylen then Jackal then Mark turn Goss.

I think Wagner or Goss have good chances to win with Waylen being the smokie.

I wish there was a bit more science and datain the show but I guys the majority of the target audience would get bored of that.

I also think the sports psychologists role is a bit if a dud.

That Padraig has been playing for Ireland in the International Cup.
Might watch the Ireland v Naaru game which is here in Bendigo and despite watching every episode actually see him play footy for the first time.

Maybe on camera she is useless. Off camera we don't know what she does. I imagine she would have done a lot of work with Waylon behind the scenes at the beginning of the competition.

I'd hope so but what I mean is its (sports psychologist role) not being portrayed.
Depends what you want to see I guess. I think it comes off like an AFL team in action more than the more emotionally manipulative reality shows. And that means you hear mostly from the coach.
I said earlier that after the series is over you could re-cut the footage to do a special on the game at Hermannsburg and all the community interaction there. Likewise you could do one from the sports psychologist's perspective, the fitness people and so on.

I think Wagner or Goss have good chances to win with Waylen being the smokie.

I wish there was a bit more science and datain the show but I guys the majority of the target audience would get bored of that.

The data stuff is excellent, stuff like meters covered etc, which we rarely see. Definitely want to see more of it.

Like Goss said, Cisco should also be constantly asking all of the boys about the game, which he isn't doing.

He needs to have a football in his hand from when he wakes up to when he goes to sleep, treat it like one of those babies they give to teenage girls in high school! It would at least help to sway opinion of him in the house and on camera.

I like Cisco. I don't think he's been a loudmouth he's just rationally defended himself and outlined his skills and deficiencies.

I generally like America and Americans so I am biased towards people like him.

Whether he puts in enough study time I don't know as it's an edited for narrative style show.

What are his skills? Serious question.

So far Wagner looks the standout, is a footballer, can't recall hearing criticism of his game, and (from memory) his fitness stats were all at AFL level. Reckon Maxwell could go alright as an inside mid if he got some more experience too.

Interesting that we've seen nothing from Padraig though, he's attracting very few votes from the other recruits, and that account above suggests he's got some real ability.

Mark has to go next, for all the athleticism he supposedly has, there's a reason he's drawing the most votes of all the project players. He looks to be a long way behind Bradie and Padraig as a tall project player.

But big brother wasn't looking for someone to actually do anything when they won.

Sure they were, they were looking for someone to host The Recruit. :drunk:

Anyone else thinking the international guys must be on the show a certain amount of time, and can't be cut?

It was ridiculous that they didn't have them in there from day one, instead they played the cheap reality TV card of adding them as a surprise. When they're on that kind of cruve, you should be getting as many looks at them as possible.

I'm all for natural footballers over athletes with no idea but the era of the short, slow, tough inside mid is ending.

Not at all, thanks to the rookie list and expansion clubs diluting the talent pool, the decline of the undersized midfielder in the game has effectively stopped if they're a good enough footballer. It's just now they're mostly turning them into role players, specifically small defensive forward types that can kick goals, yet also push up the ground when required.

Plus the Boomer Harvey and Dion Prestia types make it anyway because they're just that good.

Anyone else thinking the international guys must be on the show a certain amount of time, and can't be cut?

I'm thinking that it's fair enough to give them a couple more weeks at the expense of dead wood like Armitage, Bracken and Johncock, but I'd put a lot of money on one of the project players getting the arse in the next episode. Five footy players in a row going out will make the show look too rigged and you'd have to ask 'Why did they even bother asking football players to try out?'

So now we've seen the reality show equivalent of the captain's loophole: if you played reasonably well in the game that week, just put yourself into the bottom three and get a mate out. It's not like Voss will delist you, when you a) won the captain's challenge; and b) played well in that week's game. It would have been good TV, if they hadn't ruined it with the promo, but it's pretty dumb that you can put yourself in the bottom three, as it's really a bit of an easy out, rather than having to put another player in.

I wonder if Wagner is perhaps treating it like Survivor or something and thought it was a good chance to get rid of a threat, until Manson got Moreland off the hook. If I was in Wagner's position, I don't think I'd be that furious about it; I'd be more bemused than anything.

The 'Recruit'