The Rus man cometh

• Thread starter Thread starter Old Spice

Would be stupid to bring him into the seniors this season. If any tall forward is going to make a late impact it is one with runs on the board - Rocca - not one who has played a handful of average games and breaks down every two seconds.

True Rusling has had numerous injuries, but in his defence all obtained on field and all going hard at it.
I'll bring yoiu to task on the "played a handful of average games" comment.
Before you make such wildly inaccurate statements it always pays to be at least vaguely aware of the player you are making them about.

Many of Ruslings few games have been outstanding, not only on face value but in the context of how much real on field experience he has due to the above mentioned injuries.

If, and yes it's an if, Rusling can shake off injury he can become a fantastic asset for the club and a powerfull weapon in attack.

Name someone who is more injury prone then? How many games has he played Vs how many games has he sat watching on the sidelines?

Whether you like to admit it or not he break downs more often than not, and he has never really set the world on fire.

There are many many other options I'd look at for finals before I'd even think about Rusling.

You say it like he has a congenital predisposition when in fact he has been unlucky. The bump from Grover and then the cheekbone, not to mention the shoulders.

To say his game's were average is a big fat load of steaming brown poo mate. Favourites put together a very nice video package a while ago. Have a look. Oh, and eat Rus fart.

I feel I'm bout to walk plum into a Rus fart here, but let's not pretend he's been consistently outstanding either.

19 goals from 17 matches is hardly a stellar return, especially when we've emptied the forward-line for him in a few of those matches.

The guy will always look great on a highlights package; an actual match is a different story.

Name someone who is more injury prone then? How many games has he played Vs how many games has he sat watching on the sidelines?

Whether you like to admit it or not he break downs more often than not, and he has never really set the world on fire.

There are many many other options I'd look at for finals before I'd even think about Rusling.

Luke Toia (spelling?) - that guy was the unluckiest player of all time.

I love Rusling (hence the name) and think he is a big part of our future if he is fit but his time is next year if he is to make it. We can't run the risk of him getting injured in the first quarter of a final, could be disastrous and he hasn't played as a forward at all this year. The pies have trained him as a back most of the year when he's been fit enough to train/play (utterly stupid if you ask me) and to play him at all within the next few weeks considering this, his body, lack of playing, etc would be too much of a risk.

Collingwood is winning just about every game at the moment and the one we lost we were in the hunt for most of it. Nate and Presti got injured during the game when the opposition had Buddy and Roughead. This is a good team and despite the fact that Medders is regaining form; our forward structure is working fine. Fraser will come in and no doubt play forward a fair bit and unless Rocca absolutely tears games to pieces in the VFL, we should not be changing much at all; especially with the addition of a fast leading forward who requires a lot of space and therefore a change of tactics in the forward line.

I feel I'm bout to walk plum into a Rus fart here, but let's not pretend he's been consistently outstanding either.

19 goals from 17 matches is hardly a stellar return, especially when we've emptied the forward-line for him in a few of those matches.

The guy will always look great on a highlights package; an actual match is a different story.

NO fart from me..I'll still say many, not all, of his games have been outstanding considering the mentioned injuries and lack of actual game time.:thumbsu:

Rus fart power, activate, form of a Rus fart, a bucket and a bird of prey.

Rus has uber, uber potential if he stays fit. His potential is the greatest of our young forwards and I'm not the only one to spot it. When he is on song like with that Sydney final a few years ago he displays ownage, something Dawes hasn't shown yet and doesn't look like doing for some time.

A Carlton mate of mine could spot his great dukes, fast breaks and nice goal-kicking action, I reckon he's a real gem, but you can never prove these things until they happen.

We have three H&A games to go plus finals - where, unless we have a major slip over the next two weeks (God forbid, not again!), we'll be well-and-truly positioned to have a RHG at it. If the Rus Dog is ready, marvellous! Anything can happen and it would be silly to rule him out. I'll bet you Mick hasn't (same with the big Ant).

I would love to see the Rus back however for his development I think it is best if the focus with Rus should be developing a program so he is at 100% fitness for round 1 2010.

The club would have to give him a contract or face losing him to GC. Mckenna would definitely pick him up as an uncontracted player. Bargain actually.

It is interesting how a guys who are injured but show signs are continually talked up as world beaters, every side has em. Rus is our version.

He has had a couple of good games, and people get excited, but he has by no means stamped his authority on the 22.

We have two medium sized marking forwards, Anthony and Medhurst who in the last 2 years will have had 50 goal seasons! They are miles ahead of Rusling at this stage.

Jack has taken his spot and is doing everything better than Rusling did.

I love Jack Anthony and his attitude, but in my opinion Rusling can be a better player. Jack is giving me the shits recently with pushing tactics and giving away stupid free kicks.
The 2 games Rusling played against the Swans a couple of years ago showed how good he can be. He took about 8 marks in the first quarter in one of those games.
Yes, I am basing my opinion on a couple of games, but the talent shown was no fluke.

And I think that's the difference. Rusling has only shown glimpses, but some of it shows how influential he could be.

Rocca and forward defensive pressure don't go together, so would much rather have Rus than Ant at this stage I'm sorry to say.

We just played three talls this weekend. Against Sydney I think it would be a good set up. Trav has been running outside the 50 a bit as was Jack last week so two talls inside 50 seems okay to me. Eat Rus fart.

The pressure Rocca has comes from taking contested marks, which makes opp back line shit themselves. They put two and three on him at times which will really free up Cloke and Ant.
Weather he can get back to somewhere near this form is what we all want to know, the picture in the sun the other day suggests he has rekindle his huge leap. If Dawes can improve incrementally each week we may not need either.:D
www.footbalnation.com.au
Click clubs, then Collingwood, then Rocca takes punt look at bottom of page.

Praise be to Rus...

Just curious, how many matches (VFL) had 'The Rus' played in 2007 previous to being included in the side in Round 20?

Anyways, long term is a definate. He cannot be let go to the Gold Coast. I remember Jack Anthony being touted as the next Jimmy Clement...well if Rus gets back and can nail down FF, then Jack is free to defend like the great one :thumbsu:

I love Jack Anthony and his attitude, but in my opinion Rusling can be a better player. Jack is giving me the shits recently with pushing tactics and giving away stupid free kicks.
The 2 games Rusling played against the Swans a couple of years ago showed how good he can be. He took about 8 marks in the first quarter in one of those games.
Yes, I am basing my opinion on a couple of games, but the talent shown was no fluke.
100% spot on!!!!!
People can crap on about handfull of games, goal averages, time out injured blah blah blah.
The reality is you judge players with your eyes and with Rus i would sit back and think jesus this kids a good one, with some others getting a game i dont tend to say that.
Just my opinion of course but from what ive seen hes def worth persisting with next year.

He has had 2 bad games out of those 17 , WC vs Chick being his worst but he would be getting 30 free kicks from that game with the rules we have in now.

Chick chopped his arms and held on to him on every lead and Marking attempt.

Rusling is the best true FF on our list if he can get fit, to bad MM is trying to turn him into a FB.
MM in a press conference earlier this season said he was unsure wether we would ever see Rusling up forward again and wanted to develope him into a backman here out.
Then in the 2 games he managed to get on the ground he played FB and then FB /Mid.

I hope he was just testing waters/ learning experience because that would be a massive waist turning him into a FB.

Btw Rusling still has 1 year on his contract to run so they wont delist him this year anyway.

Rocca and forward defensive pressure don't go together, so would much rather have Rus than Ant at this stage I'm sorry to say.

Thats a good point. Both Anthony and Dawes have very poor defensive pressure, the other guys make up for it. I don't think we could fit all three of them in the side but if we can fit Anthony and Dawes in we could easily drop Dawes for Rusling. With Cloke playing alot of Footy up the ground and Anthony too last week Rus could still play FF - (if fit).

On some of the other criticism of Rus's output in games all i'll say is that with the amount of footy he has missed consider the amount of development he has missed with it - and how much better he would be now had he not missed it. If he can get back to full fitness he could be anything.

What about the Port game he was killing it till MM bought Rocca back on and it crowded Ruslings space.

If you isolate him in the f50 he will beat any defender on the lead.

What about the Port game he was killing it till MM bought Rocca back on and it crowded Ruslings space.

If you isolate him in the f50 he will beat any defender on the lead.
i really like rus, but the games he has been best in he is basically left teh forward 50 for him one out

Maybe with some rule changes he will be more effective and not need such an open 50, but you can only free up your forward 50 so many times before teams catch on

Ah, i think Rocca will be the only other tall option up forward that will come in this year.. Most likely for Dawes Dick maybe..

What are Ruslings chances of being re-signed?
When does his contract expire etc..?

What and Rusling would do better in these situations? Rusling is worse than Anthony is body on body situations. That area of Rusling's game hardly exists. Anthony gives away the free kicks occasionally, but Rusling will still lose the contest.

Currently Anthony is comfortably ahead of him...Anthony is a better mark. Anthony is a better set shot. Anthony is better in contested situations. Anthony is a better tackler. Anthony is better at ground level. Anthony is more agile. Anthony is a better field kick.

Rusling is better on the lead obviously, but Anthony is still pretty good in this area anyway. Anthony is a more complete player right now.

For Rusling to be effective, he needs to have the entire forward 50 cleared out basically with him leading to the goalsquare. He is only effective in that scenario. He struggles playing from a forward pocket, off a forward flank, and leading up the ground. He'll only really work in one scenario.

He has had 2 bad games out of those 17 , WC vs Chick being his worst but he would be getting 30 free kicks from that game with the rules we have in now.

That was hardly his worst game, as you said he was just unlucky.

He's had plenty of games where he's been basically invisible.

That was hardly his worst game, as you said he was just unlucky.

He's had plenty of games where he's been basically invisible.

Yeah but a lot of people on here associate that game with him playing poorly, in some of his games his role was that of a Tarrant ie getting kicks up the ground.

So to some that would of been poor games as well, either way he showed enough for someone who hasn't played 20 games of AFL yet.

Regardless of whether sides might work him out if he ever gets back on the paddock and/or if you consider his few games were good, bad or average we should be getting him ready in case we need him.
Otherwise we should have a smaller list...no?
That goes for Rocca, Reid, McCaffer et al.

It would be great if we get hit by injuries and have to play Didak as FF wouldn't it?

Dont want to come across as being negative towards Rusling, but I just cant see what the fuss is all about.

In 2005, his first year he played 6 games, only 1 of them he managed to take more than 5 marks, and he only kicked goals in 2 of the 6 games. All games would be considered poor if Anthony/Dawes/Reid had played them.

In 2006 he had the good first quarter against port, but was then shownthat he is easily stopped by flooding the backline. In the 3 games that followed he averaged 4 kicks, 3 marks and 1 goal........and was useless in the EF against the dogs.

In 2007 he had a couple of good games against Sydney, but in the two finals after the Sydney game he totalled 6 kicks and 2 goals.

By my accounts he has had 3 games out of 19 where he has done something, the rest he has pretty much been unsighted!

He is all hype but not much substance unfortunately.

Like all pies players I hope for the best, but at the moment he is a long way away from the best 22!