- Oct 16, 2015
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
Job for the boys?Sumich is a dual premiership team mate of Dons, you would think that there would be a pretty good relationship there.
Hopefully we can land him in that type of position.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Job for the boys?Sumich is a dual premiership team mate of Dons, you would think that there would be a pretty good relationship there.
Hopefully we can land him in that type of position.
Only applies to former players, Sumich has had nothing to do with us.Job for the boys?![]()
Tom Rehn said on his sports report on tv that he’s hearing whispers of Sumich at AFC next year.
Sumich & Rutten??? Could we???
Don’t tell me we’re going to actually fork out a bit of cash to get some decent people into our key senior positions....
I wonder if Pykes read the club the riot act to the club to sort out it’s off field appointments after the debacle of this year. Reports of us going after Hawthorns head of fitness and now Sumich, must be pretty frustrating as senior coach, when you’re ultimately responsible for performance, but you’ve had an entire season ruined by the incompetence of your high performance dept.
Hasn’t been given another contractHoping someone is silly enough in Vic to take Hart off us. Now to move on the high marking Brett Burton for the equally high marking Warwick Capper.
Warwick's influence will start with getting Eddie some drastically smaller shorts. Capper himself proclaimed that his shorts were more tightly packed than the hill on showdown. Gotta be good for crowd figures.
Hey Google, sack bird brain.
Hasn’t been given another contract
the quotes/article I read suggested we want him to stay but he has yet to sign. Sounded like Pyke still wanted him but that could be just trying to push any distractions aside and stop the media putting their slant on thingsWho’s that, Hart?
Nether Sumich nor Ratten are likely to accept any assistant coach position. Then, we would need to create artificial higher positions for them, leading to problems in the AFC pecking order and noses being put out of joint. Not necessarily a bad thing, but AFC are not noted for this sort of behaviour.
Clarke obviously wouldn't be listed on the not recontracted coaches list as he has a contract with us for the womens team so he is not a "free agent" based on that contract alone. So this doesnt change the likelihood of his role with the men being changed. I still think he ends up being a ruck coach but not a full assistant with strategic input as theres no way he can coach the women and be as involved in our preseason and planning as he would need to be.Looks like only Hart and O’Keefe out of our coaching list.
Campo and Clarke to stay.
Depends how the role is structured and how much they are paid. I could see Pyke taking on increased role in managing what goes on through the entire football deptartment and essentially installing a “senior assistant” who is above the line coaches and takes on increased day to day senior coach type duties to assist Pyke.
Might put Campo’s nose out of joint, but it’s time he moved on anyway...
Having a senior assistant who’s not tethered to a specific “line” means that we don’t need to worry so much about having more junior line coaches, as the senior assistant can have a role assisting over all lines, as well as he senior coach.
Essentially:
Senior Coach: Pyke
Senior Assistant: Sumich
Forwards: ?
Midfield: Francou
Defence: ?
Ruck: Clarke (we know he’s not going anywhere...)
Whether we then look at bringing Ratten in as head of football, to assist Pyke overseeing the other departments. Might need to promote Burton to assistant COO though...
Yes, probably dreaming a bit that we’d be able to bring in 2 relatively high profile persons like Ratten and Sumich.
Senior Coach: Pyke
Head of Football Operations: Ratten
Forward: Tredrea
Defence: Truck or Mattner
SANFL: Campo
I'll get flamed for Tredders at the Crows but I like his no BS straight down the line approach.
I heard the Wingfield Royals were looking at Burton and Hass, but after due diligence they turned them down. They were worried it would tarnish their reputation.Are any clubs trying to poach Burton, Camporeale, Clarke or Hass?
I don't mind Tredders either, I'd give him a go if he were interested.Senior Coach: Pyke
Head of Football Operations: Ratten
Forward: Tredrea
Defence: Truck or Mattner
SANFL: Campo
I'll get flamed for Tredders at the Crows but I like his no BS straight down the line approach.
Like some of it,
But the senior Assistant would be a Line Coach, Soft Cap.
However, I do like the Idea of bringing Mattner on board.
I’ve no idea which assistants are good or bad. How does everyone else tell?
Senior Assistant isn't a line coach at Hawthorn this year. If Hawthorn can why cant we?
Hawks 2018
Senior Coach: Clarkson
Head fo Footy Ops: Graham Wright
Senior Assistant: Damien Carroll
4 Assistants: Burns Ratten Glass Yze Monkhorst
Because Hawthorn make an extra $20 million a year from pokies.Senior Assistant isn't a line coach at Hawthorn this year. If Hawthorn can why cant we?
Hawks 2018
Senior Coach: Clarkson
Head fo Footy Ops: Graham Wright
Senior Assistant: Damien Carroll
4 Assistants: Burns Ratten Glass Yze Monkhorst
We created a position for Burton to land in when he left Brisbane.Nether Sumich nor Ratten are likely to accept any assistant coach position. Then, we would need to create artificial higher positions for them, leading to problems in the AFC pecking order and noses being put out of joint. Not necessarily a bad thing, but AFC are not noted for this sort of behaviour.
Easier to pay the tax with 20 mill from pokies thoughEvery club has the same football admin cap