The saints

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Happy to play the Saints.

This will show exactly where we are, and whether our great second half of the year was really worth it.

If we're seriously a premiership threat, we'll win, and I think we are, so we're a great chance. Plus we're playing on our home ground.

We were almost assuredly going to play them at some point if we consider ourselves a serious threat for the flag, it may as well be this week. They are the best team in the competition as they have shown throughout the season, we need to be at the very top of our game to beat them.

I wouldn't read too much into their form over the past few weeks, they have been in the enviable position whereby they've had top spot wrapped up for a long while, subconsciously they would have taken the foot off and would be thinking ahead to finals and trying to preserve themselves. This has been reflected in their intensity and endeavour over the course of this time which has been lacking in comparison to earlier on the year when they were still building a platform.

I definitely think they will be a lot more switched on come finals time, we will need to lift a couple of notches.

To win the GF this year means beating St.Kilda. It's that simple.

Better to get them early while they are still trying to hit full gear and whilst they have little MCG experience in front of massive crowds in excess of 80 thousand.

They are coming to our home...to our environment...to the sort of pressure we love to play in front of. And this time we have a full list.

BTW....i'm in desperate need of finding tickets to this game. If anyone can give me a hand I'd appreciate it. I am worried of not having any tickets available come Wednesday

They rely on their ability to win contested footy. We go pretty well against those sorts of sides.

Just like earlier in the year?:D:p

Seriously though, I would have preferred playing them later in the finals but now that we have them week one I know we can beat them if we bring our best game. Everyone in the team needs to do their job for us to win and if we are a little bit off or serve up the crap we did tonight then they will slaughter us.

If we come to play and our intensity is good then I know we can match it with them.

I know you're having a joke, but I don't get these people that bring up our last clash. We had no forward line, and it was a totally different time in the marathon.

Make no mistake, we're a huge chance this week.

I know you're having a joke, but I don't get these people that bring up our last clash. We had no forward line, and it was a totally different time in the marathon.

Make no mistake, we're a huge chance this week.
i was told in the car it was something like 7 first team players missing

Totally different side back then.

Saints have a massive decision to make this week.

Dawson is out of form and can be exposed and Hudghton will be looked at.

They can't play both against us. Do they bring in the more steady defender who has a history of sitting out half the game with soft tissue injuries, or do they keep the faith with Dawson.

If Dawson plays, his player is our avenue to goal.

glad you are. wanted the cats. we might have just ****ed our year.

:mad:

Tell me about it. Call me a pessimist, but I can see the script now.

Drop next weeks game against the Saints and then we have to face Adelaide in Adelaide, and they won't have forgotten last year! :rolleyes:

^^^ yeah mate I know, the two times aren't comparable. We were going through a rough patch they were flying, we had injuries they had a full strength team in (or close to it) and we played at the dome. I don't think anyone who follows footy would expect a result remotely similar to the last time we met. Besides this is finals, previous results mean nothing as anything can happen on the day.

I'm actually interested to what our odds will be for this match, I reckon they'll be good and could make some quid betting on the pies.

Drop next weeks game against the Saints and then we have to face Adelaide in Adelaide, and they won't have forgotten last year! :rolleyes:

We would face them in Melbourne not Adelaide. Thats presuming they beat Essendon of course.

Take the optimism mate. Get excited. We're 1 win away from an extended break.

Our game plan is made for finals footy.

Here's our chance to send everyone a message that the pies are just as good a chance as any. **** doing it the easy way. Bring it on.

Whether St. Kilda are the best side going around or not, one thing doesn't change, they are St. Kilda. The football side with the worst record in history who have suffered many pounding over the years. The are made to fail.

No matter who is out there next week, they still wear red, white and black.

Go Pies.

We will be playing Adelaide at the MCG not in Adelaide, where we will be clear favourites, Anyway I am quite confident against the saints, as long as the side spends half their training time kicking for goal, they better or kiss next week goodbye.

Yes, but they will have 2 extra days preparation. That is a distinct advantage at this time of year.

Yeah, that is right. We need the break pretty badly, since we are locked in Sunday to Sunday games and the GF is on the Sat - so somewhere along the way we will be playing more rested opponents unless we get the break.

And we are a better chance to beat the undermanned Cats than the Saints. The Cats will be far better in two weeks when we would play them (if we lose to the Saints) than they would have been this week.

It has not worked out the for the club, but that is what we are presented with.

There is no easy path to a flag, even if you beat a Geel or StK in the 1st week you still have to win a preliminary and a GF against the best in the land.. may as well face the Saints now and see where we are at

Im not overly worried about the saints.

They arent in great form and take away last nights game and we are the in form team of the comp by a mile.

They played their first game at the 'G' this year yesterday and looked lost for three quarters. The MCG is our home turf.

We are going to have to beat them at some stage to win the flag. Might aswell do it this week. Cant wait for sunday!

Bring the saints on!
GO PIES!