The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Re: SEN- Your opinion

Yes, and the Commonwealth Bank does a great job sdupporting the show as well as netball in general.

It is a great resource for netball writers like myself.

Re: The SEN Saga - Please post opinions here

rippedoff said:
ben and my north it is an amount that is none of your business and even though it is four figures even if someone did you for 10 dollars or ten thousand they would still be a crook in the eyes of many.
read the link in afl on this site about the football tipster that has been dudded out of his prize by sen

as for mark dorans new sports show , i told you he was viewed as being a weak link at sen and this experiment when it fails to bring ratings will see his next move being out the door.

he was talking about chicken loaf sandwiches today and yesterday he was doing a thing on petrol.
he sounds more like ernie sigley than ernie sigley himself.

Its good to see that you still listen to SEN 1116, with all the trouble that it has brought you.

still listen as have friends at the station that we worked with and so have soft spot for them ( many who also were ripped off ) its the mgt that i dont like nor their work practices.
as for spell check , you are really paying this website a compliment if you think most care how they post.

call in as a talkback caller yeh right and have a producer or host answer the phone and then ask me what i am doing since i left sen ....yeh right

I reckon that would happen, are you afraid to reveal what has happened since moving on from SEN ?

SEN have announced a couple of changes to Sunday mornings.

7.00-10.00 am Mark Allen and Jason Richardson
10.00am -12pm The Players: Mark Allen, Liam Pickering and Damien Fleming

Looks like no Insiders. :(

Rippedoff may be obsessed with how SEN have treated his friends/family, but he's right about Doran's show. Why would a sports station have news, entertainment, petrol price and weather updates/crosses? The quiz is gone from the afternoon shift as well, and there are plenty of other sports which deserve coverage. You know when The Run Home covers more soccer than the Afternoon shift there's something wrong.

The Players actually sounds like something different and will be looking forward to having a listen to this program.

Will post my thoughts after listeing on Sunday.

The quiz is there in the afternoon shift, but in a different format and it is using the 'Six and Out' format which was used on the Nightwatchmen.

Mr Carbonaro: Was that you, Ben from Sunbury, on the Gladiators last night talking about still wearing your Swans shirt?

Hey Pudding ,
can't believe that Mark " mike larkin " Doran didnt want to rush in to do the night watchman to talk about the thunderstorms and lightning last night ,would have been a big night of weather watching instead of sport.

Yeah, he sounds like Brad the noob who called up Schibecci the other night.

People who do nothing but bag that great station in SEN are an absolute disgrace.

I love The Beaver, he comes across very well on radio. Have noticed the following with the morning crew...it`s taken a nasty edge where Brownless and Watson seem to be ganging up on Maher , now this wouldn`t be a bad thing but maher seems to be encouraging it, he seems to be saying " ahhh yes, i am a ********wit and i deserve everything you throw at me"....then at 6.30 that richardson bloke (who ?!?!?) he joins in the bagging....hey richo, at least I`ve heard of Maher, you won a what ? a stawell gift ? who gives a toss.
Maher is a ********er, but he is making himself look the complete tosser by openly encouraging this scenario..and to have that richardson come in and join the other two !!!! borderline pathetic.

Jason Richardson, not really a sport journalist of any repute or anthing like that.

Actually has a back ground in extreme sports sales and marketing, he was a sales rep or sales manager at Oakley when he was doing the Expression Session with J Money from memory.

Benny , all this **************** does is collate information off the nearest website, has a listen to see how hard Brownless has been giving it to Maher , comes on air , blurts out his "sport overnight" (straight off the nearest website) and then gets back to his favourite sport..." bag maher"....no sympathy for maher, he invites it.
Brownless was the resident ********wit, but Maher has wrestled the title off him, now Brownless gives it to him. Not sure which is the more embarassing....Brownless giving it to him, or Maher inviting it.

SEN has improved 1000% recently, especially the weekend lineup. It has now got a half decent Saturday midday to 6pm show with Mark Fine and Craig Harper, but I would really love to see The Insiders get this slot then you can get some serious discussion about sport happening rather than jokular stuff that we get with the morning glory and the run home.

The Sunday line up is also pretty good, I think the Players with Liam Pickering and Damien Fleming has real potential and the afternoon show is really coming along well. But did anyone catch the basketball show on Saturday night? It was a complete bore, bring back Gaze, Nigel and Paul Maley and Michelle Timms to put together a new show.

i think andrew maher lost any reputation for footy smarts the day he asked malcolm blight in front of millions on the channel ten semi final telecast at subiaco last month " what is it like blighty to walk off from the coaches box early at this very ground ,you would know that feeling here at subiaco wouldnt you blighty "

was andrew maher the only one of the millions watching that didnt know that happened at football park ..
poor knowledge and poor researcher add up to another poor choice by sen ever since andrew maher was added to the mornings.

rippedoff said:
i think andrew maher lost any reputation for footy smarts the day he asked malcolm blight in front of millions on the channel ten semi final telecast at subiaco last month " what is it like blighty to walk off from the coaches box early at this very ground ,you would know that feeling here at subiaco wouldnt you blighty "

was andrew maher the only one of the millions watching that didnt know that happened at football park ..
poor knowledge and poor researcher add up to another poor choice by sen ever since andrew maher was added to the mornings.

What a load of rubbish. Believe it or not, journos make mistakes.

Maher may not be best suited to breakfast, but his passion for sport is great, and his work on shows like Retrospective and The Insiders was very good.

rippedoff said:

Another bitch and moan about SEN from rippedoff.What a suprise :rolleyes:
You probably listen to SEN all the time just so you have something to whinge about.

rippedoff said:

You are a crack up and I look forward to your next post on SEN 1116, the tradition conitunes.....

Can someone please tell me why Ralphy, Serge and the Bigman had its final show on Saturday morning?

I loved this show, one of the best on the station, but was stunned to hear that it was finishing...what was the reason?

dascman03 said:
Can someone please tell me why Ralphy, Serge and the Bigman had its final show on Saturday morning?

I loved this show, one of the best on the station, but was stunned to hear that it was finishing...what was the reason?

Ralph has left and gone to AW.He's producing their footy and crapfest nightly sports show.

It's a shame that some of my fave shows like The Insiders, Ralphie Serge & The Big Man and the Ring of Fire are gone, as have great presenters like Francis Leach.

Meanwhile, bogans like Billy Brownless still stink up breakfast, and for some unknown reason, there is still a 3 hour triathlon & cycling show on Sunday nights.

To see how much SEN has gone downhill, here is a comparison with how they went in the latest survey, compared to the corresponding survey last year.

Survey 8, 2004 v Survey 8, 2005
Overall: 3.9 v 2.5
Breakfast: 4.8 v 3.0
Mornings: 4.3 v 2.5
Afternoons: 4.3 v 2.2
Drive: 4.7 v 3.4
Evenings: 2.9 v 2.8
Weekends: 2.5 v 1.6

Source:
2004 figures- http://www.austereo.com.au/ratings/melbourne/2004/melbourne8_04.php
2005 figures - http://www.austereo.com.au/ratings/melbourne/2005/melbourne8_05.php

There was a good article in the HUN yesterday about SEN's seeming obsession with Billy Brownless in the mornings.

Its the most important timeslot for any radio station. You really have to wonder how many people he is turning off and then don't listen for the rest of the day.

FIX BREAKFAST UP.
PLEASE.

I see that Matt Hardy has left SEN , the run home seemd to be going okay and this follows Ralph going from his show and his preparing the breakfast show.

Why would people like this leave the dream gig , to be working on air at the only sports radio station in the country .

please tell me it is not about money again , not about job security , not about where they think the radio station is going ..WHY WHY WHY you dont leave the only sports radio station if you want to work in sports radio .
Somehow i think it is. as you just dont up and leave a dream job like SEN.

Boys I know how you feel....join the club of those departed ..promised the world and well you know the rest.