• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Re: The SEN Saga - Please post opinions here

rippedoff said:
dont think anyone does sport like 3aw at 6pm example just before on way home from work tuned into sen to hear end of some duncan armstrong baton interview from ages ago then heard the fill in liam pickering saying he wasnt even listening to it as he was getting pepsi at the 7 eleven next door , went to 3aw and their fill ins clinton and dean jones doing hard on anafl footballer who was in trouble..
dean jones doesnt seem to be a fill in who wants to just go and get a pepsi.
if it were a broadway show and the understudy was on or a footballer gets a game to replace the star full fwd do they treat it like a fill in..nothey do their best and try to do even better than the main cast
but at sen it seems that these fill ins just say play a few month old things and i will get a pepsi..get my point if the person in the studio doesnt want to listen to something why would we feel interested to.flicked back after 3aw was in ad to hear about a pub in fitzroy being number one pick up joint in town.
pudding the other night microphones were left on while the ads were playing and you just prayed that no one said any f words . sad sad run place i had hopes for it when i was there but dont think the powers that be give a todd bag about quality 24 / 7.

you are one sad and bitter person. you can't seem to let go of SEN yet you listen to it and bag it constantly. i don't give a stuff if SEN bent ya over mate, you have whined about it for a year. get a grip and move on and switch ya dial, coz SEN doesn't need listeners like yourself and it begs me to wonder why the hell you were working there in the first place if you don't believe what they are about. the obviously saw that in you and did the right thing and told you to pack your bags. the only thing it did was bring you here carrying on like a 2 year old that hasn't got over it.

seems that you dislike SEN so much or so you tell us, but you are always listening to it. do us all a favor and turn it off if it breaks your heart so much and then perhaps come back and chat about something positive...like what you got for xmas or something :D (please don't tell me mr carbanaro bought you a SEN cap either )

who is that smartarse 13 year old that rings up world sport overnight and starts acting stupid id like to ring his neck!

Yeah, he rins up with different characters all the time and it sounds absolutely disugsting.

If only SEN could screen numbers.

ben.carbonaro said:
Yeah, he rins up with different characters all the time and it sounds absolutely disugsting.

If only SEN could screen numbers.

maybe one day they will Ben.

Ed Wyatt has left SEN which is very disappointing for the station.

He has been there since inception hosting the "Born In The USA" segment which now has a cult following.

Listening last night I was amazed how many talkback callers they received which shows to me that there are a hell of a lot of listeners out there.

Lets hope he left on his own terms and wasn't forced to leave for financial reasons as he is a real talent. Again you would hope that the station tried everything possible to keep him.

Daytripper said:
Ed Wyatt has left SEN which is very disappointing for the station.

He has been there since inception hosting the "Born In The USA" segment which now has a cult following.

Listening last night I was amazed how many talkback callers they received which shows to me that there are a hell of a lot of listeners out there.

Lets hope he left on his own terms and wasn't forced to leave for financial reasons as he is a real talent. Again you would hope that the station tried everything possible to keep him.

I remember Ed saying once he works freelance, but I heard him on 3AW on Saturday afternoon doing a US sports segment - that might have something to do with it.

Not only was Ed great on Born in the USA, but other shows would give him a call to talk about US sport on a regular basis. He also did the now gone EPL show, a segment for the Four Diegos and even did some stuff on Sunday mornings last year.

He's a great talent and a massive loss - I just hope SEN management realised it, and did their best to keep him at the station.

puddingfactor said:
I remember Ed saying once he works freelance, but I heard him on 3AW on Saturday afternoon doing a US sports segment - that might have something to do with it.

Not only was Ed great on Born in the USA, but other shows would give him a call to talk about US sport on a regular basis. He also did the now gone EPL show, a segment for the Four Diegos and even did some stuff on Sunday mornings last year.

He's a great talent and a massive loss - I just hope SEN management realised it, and did their best to keep him at the station.

I think he does work freelance. Isn't he on SBS as well ?

pudding,
Have you been listening to Sunday nights lately ?

That segment would nearly have to be the highlight of the week on SEN. The guys know their stuff and obviously love their sport.

Probably the best part about it is there are no idiot callers or people who just want to get their voice heard on the radio. I think the callers realise this is the only chance they get to talk about a sport (be it NFL, NBA, MLB or NHL) they love and want to make every comment count.

It makes for very enjoyable listening.

Re: SEN- Your opinion

peternorth said:
well heard demetrious interview with the morning gory boys today....then heard it again before 12pm, then heard it again during the afternoon slot (pre 4pm). surely theres other stuff they could play??????

Good to see you were listening :p

peternorth said:
well heard demetrious interview with the morning gory boys today....then heard it again before 12pm, then heard it again during the afternoon slot (pre 4pm). surely theres other stuff they could play??????

Pretty sure they played it again around 7! Haven't listened since then but it probably got another run.

yes i might be bitchin and moaning but another example of over kill , replay after replay after replay of the same thing.
They want to have us listen all day but want us to hear the same thing from what you say four times or more .

puddingfactor said:

I never heard this person but from what i read from you it seems to be another financial decision, why else if you say this person was good at what he did and that he was well received by the listeners and yet he is not at sen anymore , we dont need to read between the lines anymore do we.

Daytripper said:
I think he does work freelance. Isn't he on SBS as well ?

pudding,
Have you been listening to Sunday nights lately ?

That segment would nearly have to be the highlight of the week on SEN. The guys know their stuff and obviously love their sport.

Probably the best part about it is there are no idiot callers or people who just want to get their voice heard on the radio. I think the callers realise this is the only chance they get to talk about a sport (be it NFL, NBA, MLB or NHL) they love and want to make every comment count.

It makes for very enjoyable listening.

This is a very strange move by Ed Wyatt, this is only for a 4-5 week run only, due to football taking over the Sat. afternoon slot when the NAB Cup starts. And he was only on for half an hour on Sat.

3AW must be looking very hard at SEN programming, Ed is the third on air person they have pinched from SEN. Gary Lyon, Ralph Horowitz and now Ed.

But I must say the new Saturday show on SEN is fantastic, Saturday Spotlight, and the media watch segment can really be cutting when they find the right article/journo.

puddingfactor said:

ed is a fantastic sport commentator, 3aw have gained one a grade commentator. what happened to matt hardy? what happened to ralph serg and the big man? sergio paradise is also a great radio talent

Sergio Paradise does or has done a bit of production work for various television networks in the past.

Matt Hardy left SEN, although pretty sure he will continue on with his stand up comedy and writing.

ben.carbonaro said:
Matt Hardy left SEN, although pretty sure he will continue on with his stand up comedy and writing.

Terrific News :D

Rice Paper said:
This is a very strange move by Ed Wyatt, this is only for a 4-5 week run only, due to football taking over the Sat. afternoon slot when the NAB Cup starts. And he was only on for half an hour on Sat.

3AW must be looking very hard at SEN programming, Ed is the third on air person they have pinched from SEN. Gary Lyon, Ralph Horowitz and now Ed.

But I must say the new Saturday show on SEN is fantastic, Saturday Spotlight, and the media watch segment can really be cutting when they find the right article/journo.

Really?

What's Ralph doing at 3AW?

HEY RON HALL,
Please do us all a favour and go and watch the movie FUN WITH ******** AND JANE.

About a company that goes broke and cries poor to its staff cannot pay them any of their owed money and pension funds.

But in the end the boss of the whole thing pays the staff what they are owed and all of their pension funds and they live happily ever after.

Just saw it this arvo , true thats the plot Ron.

ben.carbonaro said:
Really?

What's Ralph doing at 3AW?

Ralph's producing Sports Today and their AFL coverage. No idea if he has an on air gig.

SEN's problem is that it is all sounding a bit the same. Weekend mornings use to be good, but now they have that same ex-sportsman bogan type sound the Morning Glory has.

On a positive note, Matt Thompson is a gun reporter (even with a battling voice like today) - SEN better hold on to him before 3AW finds out.

Yeah, I agree.

He does an awesome job with anything he does at SEN and has a very friendly as well as professional persona on air.

Have met him and he's got his head screwed on, bigger things will come for him in the future.

yeah Matt Thompson is very good at what he does.

Weekdays on SEN are very good. Weekends are very poor .

Ralph, Serge and the BIg Man used to be a change up becuase it was funny, and a bit of a laugh. It used to take the hot topic of the week and change it. Talk back caller were used effectively.

Now, Mark Allen, Liam Pickering are on and both are terribly boring . Allen trys to talk footy, but really struggles as he has no clue, and Liam is soo far up his own arse its unbelievable.

Im a big fan of the station and listen to it all the time, and i think that SEN will be around a bit longer yet.

Just wait until the football radio rights, when SEN snag a sunday arvo game or just one or two games a weekend, then they will make money and get more listeners who stay beyond the football.

by the way, RippedOff , what is your name. you are soo keen to bag the station, why dont you let us in on ur name and the reason you got the sack for real.

i know a few people at SEN bu would like to know who yu really ar e

I would be interested as well.

But if rippedoff doesn't want to disclose his or her indentity, that's fair enough and there's no rule that says they have to.

ben.carbonaro said:
I would be interested as well.

But if rippedoff doesn't want to disclose his or her indentity, that's fair enough and there's no rule that says they have to.

I have to disagree with ripprdoff and disclose his/her name or who the family member was and how much is owed to themselves or the family member.
Come out in the open son, it would make you feel a whole lot much better. :eek: