The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

peternorth said:
special would have 2 meanings here. special as in "expert" and special as in "failure to thrive type"

Good point, Peter.

Wonder what K Rock execs would think of using the second term?

The Age reports that Scott Cummings is off to 3AW as an Around-the-Grounds reporter. Cummings worked on the now defunct Ralphie, Serge & The Big Man.

Craig Hutchison is also off to 3AW. He has spent some time on Triple M with their football coverage, but recently has been doing some great reports for SEN during his time in the United States. Hutchison will be part of 3AW's Saturday & Sunday afternoon pre-match coverage, as well as 3AW's Saturday night coverage, and Sports Today on Friday.

lihei said:
Exactly!

Brownless' stupid antics would be great in Geelong but unfortunately the rest of the state has to listen to this buffoon :thumbsd:

Who cares about his drinking habits, nights out, 'the darl' etc........ day after day. How the hell SEN management think the public is entertained by this crap I'll never know.
I think as one poster stated the idea of SEN was good in theory,but ran by morons who had good presenters,but couldn't follow through on payments etc...I was an avid follower and used to listen to it religously,but now only to clarify a sporting story or something like that...

*Tim Watson - OK,will, probably be leaving soon anyway
*Bill Brownless - Idiot of the highest order and over exposed
*Andrew Maher - Don't particularly like the bloke (more to do with the look of him),but probably doesn't do a lot wrong for what he's there for
*KB - I wish he'd get some facts right occasionally,but is OK,inoffensive...
*Patrick Smith - Insightful,but too arrogant
*Mark Doran - Good,boring,weasel-like and informative all in one
*Nicole Livingstgon - Irrelevant.Unless talking swimming,she basically tries her hand at one liners but actually comes off looking more like a smartarse than anything else,should try something else...
*The Run Home - Seriously missing Matthew Hardy.Anthony Hudson is good and I am 'flabbergasted' that he is still there.David Schwarz could be good,but like Livingston,needs to give the attempt at humor a break and understand that people not agreeing with him is not necessarily a personal attack that requires several dummy spits a day...
*Bruce Eva - Sorry Bruce "St.Kilda" Eva,enough said...Don't know what the hell he's talking about half the time and although not the worse broadcaster in the land,"aints" the best either...
*Tony Shebecci - Probably the better one out of the group but again,with reference back to "morons",look when he is on?...

Anyway that will do,Flemo and Mark Allen are ok,the rest I couldn't be bothered with,I wouldn't be able to come up with much as I don't listen that much anymore anyway...

Maybe SEN is in better shape than what everyone believes.

Radio Waves

February 16, 2006

IF IT feels like all you ever hear on the radio is advertisements then, depending on which station you listen to, that hunch could be correct.

A breakdown of the number of advertisements the major commercial stations aired in the first week of February revealed that Gold FM sometimes plays 13 ads in a row.

Gold emerges as the worst offender in terms of advertisements. The breakdown by AirCheck, an advertising counter software program all the radio stations have access to, suggests that having finished last year on top of the ratings charts AW (Melbourne's number one station) and Gold (top FM station) are making hay by selling as much advertising space as possible until the next ratings report is published next week.

Those two stations played the most advertisements in the week from Monday 30/1 to Sunday 5/2, with Gold airing 5842 ads and AW 3865.

Newcomer and direct rival Vega, however, only put 372 ads to air in that same week, suggesting that so far it is having as much difficulty attracting advertisers as it is listeners.

Consolation for Vega management could be found in SEN's advertisement share. While it only attracts a small portion of the listening audience it does win a healthy share of advertisements, putting 2119 to air in a week.

Because the different stations have different advertising rates, offer discounts to companies that lock in long contracts and charge different figures for the different shifts, it is impossible to determine how lucrative commercials are for station owners.

It is fair to assume though that the top-rating Gold and AW are doing very nicely, thank you very much.

In terms of how long the advertisement blocks are, the figures are rather surprising. On Friday February 3, Gold treated its classic rock-loving listeners to one block of 13 ads, one block of 12, two blocks of 11 ads and five of 10 in a row. Most often it played blocks of six ads in a row (18 times on that day).

AW prefers smaller blocks of four to seven ads in a row. That station tends to run about 570 commercials a weekday compared to Gold's average of 850.

All the commercial stations meanwhile seem to have started the year with cashed-up advertising budgets of their own. This columnist seems barely able to turn a corner without being confronted by the oh-so-cool expressions of FM breakfast radio stars. But in their haste to get their billboards up mistakes are being made.

Vega, conscious of playing down the fact that most of its programs are being networked between Melbourne and Sydney, was not at all happy with the hapless soul who accidentally pasted up a billboard in Kings Way showing Vega's Sydney on-air celebrities and frequency instead of its Melbourne line-up. Drivers were kept confused, if not amused, for about four hours before the thing was noticed and hastily removed.

The early competition for attention between the stations promises a tight ratings chase in 2006. The year's first ratings report next week will prove particularly interesting in terms of setting a benchmark for some of the chart's cellar dwellers. With Mix FM having signed Tracy Bartram and Tim Smith to host breakfast and Vega determined to make an impact this year, it will be worth paying attention to how they rate next week as a comparison point for the rest of the year.

Vega management are talking down expectations, reiterating they expect a "slow build" over the year rather than a dramatic lift from the dismal overall result of 1.2 that they debuted with in December.

I would not lsiten to Tim Smith and Tracy Bartram is somebody paid me....

Yuk. couldnt handle the bloke, he laughs way too much at his own jokes.

And couldnt handle her, talking about her kid, in a condescending manner.

Just an awful duo.

Tricky_Ricky2 said:
I would not lsiten to Tim Smith and Tracy Bartram is somebody paid me....

Yuk. couldnt handle the bloke, he laughs way too much at his own jokes.

And couldnt handle her, talking about her kid, in a condescending manner.

Just an awful duo.

that confirms that you listen to them :D

No it confirms that i have heard and seen them before on others things ********stick. Like when she was on Matt and Tracy and when he has been on the Panel....it aint the first and unfortunately it wont be the last thing those two dus are on...

SEN breakfast team, for all it's faults, is waaaaay better than 95% of other radio breakfast vomit, because it's not *AFFECTED,

*(scripted yes, but not "affected", - not soooooo phoney & rank like KBBL gold101mmm or whatever)

Brownless is a rare moron-comedian. An accidental one, not a great one.
and There used to be more of these morons in the olden days, when everyone was stupid, (eg see parents.) Stooges rings a bell.

Actually 3 stooges were sophisticated, while Brownless is not. But notice he's had more years at the top as a Media Boofhead, than he EVER had at the top as a CentreHalf Forward Boofhead. He's good-to-ok at something he's doing, at least.

morning glory getting heaps of complaints, even on the drive home show (i think thats what its called) with ox and huddo.

billy copping most of it cause as we all know all he talks about is frothies. so uncultured :(

huddo said that this year the MG have had more interviews and less banter than last year.

the MG team defended their actions this morning saying that brekky shows had to be light hearted.

well.....hang on, theres a diff b/w entertainment and smuttiness (billy). speaking of which, this morning they interviewed luke schenscher, aussie playing in the NBA with the bulls. billys question? "coming from south australia you be into afl, you a crows or power man?"

I turned off thereafter.

peternorth said:
morning glory getting heaps of complaints, even on the drive home show (i think thats what its called) with ox and huddo.

billy copping most of it cause as we all know all he talks about is frothies. so uncultured :(

huddo said that this year the MG have had more interviews and less banter than last year.

the MG team defended their actions this morning saying that brekky shows had to be light hearted.

well.....hang on, theres a diff b/w entertainment and smuttiness (billy). speaking of which, this morning they interviewed luke schenscher, aussie playing in the NBA with the bulls. billys question? "coming from south australia you be into afl, you a crows or power man?"

I turned off thereafter.

good to see you were listening :p

They had an interview on Mark Boring (sorry, Doran's) show the other day with Mike Brady. No, not the closeted gay architect with the perm, but THE Mike Brady who sung "Up There Cazaly". It was 10/10 stuff.

Before I might have been a bit effusive with my support for Brownless; actually I couldn't care one way or the other. But still along with triple-R they're the only breakfast people I can listen too. All the rest sound like they're talking to children, and then there's John Fayne, who's just a C*** imho. If you'd told me a while ago that their morning line-up was Brownless Maher & Watson I would've said "Oh ffs, a meathead, a knobhead and a blockhead." But listening to them I really do find them ok.

Schebbecci is clearly the best talent on the station; I don't know why they waste him on the latenight talkback nuffies. Maybe he's the only one nice enough to cope.

been a while since i posted ( not that anyone would care less )
i still listen to them and yesterday i was driving to a kids party and it was just after lunchtime and i couldnt believe when i was listening to a replay of tim watson talking about something from days ago( thanks for telling me the time to tim you were about 6 days and five hrs out )
for gooness sake when i was at sen that was one of the most common complaints by email or phone , too many replaying of things instead of doing your own interviews then and there , there is always someone or something to talk about that you shouldnt have to play a replay and then sit back and have a smoko..
the weekend should be the biggest sporting time of the week there was footy to be talking about , other sports you name it but why on earth in the middle of the day replays.
replays were often used when i was at sen for us to knick over to the 7 /11 to grab a pie or coke , but they are nothing more than a substitute for someone to be doing their own thing and they just reek of laziness.
this was something that reeked of laziness years ago at sen when i was there and i couldnt beliee it when i heard it on sunday afternoon.
you can disagree or agree but as i said still listen and dont like hearing replays when i could be hearing something better

rippedoff said:
i still listen to them and yesterday i was driving to a kids party and it was just after lunchtime and i couldnt believe when i was listening to a replay of tim watson talking about something from days ago( thanks for telling me the time to tim you were about 6 days and five hrs out )
for gooness sake when i was at sen that was one of the most common complaints by email or phone , too many replaying of things instead of doing your own interviews then and there , there is always someone or something to talk about that you shouldnt have to play a replay and then sit back and have a smoko..
the weekend should be the biggest sporting time of the week there was footy to be talking about , other sports you name it but why on earth in the middle of the day replays.
replays were often used when i was at sen for us to knick over to the 7 /11 to grab a pie or coke , but they are nothing more than a substitute for someone to be doing their own thing and they just reek of laziness.
this was something that reeked of laziness years ago at sen when i was there and i couldnt beliee it when i heard it on sunday afternoon.
you can disagree or agree but as i said still listen and dont like hearing replays when i could be hearing something better

you are SEN most loyal fan. good to see you were listening. :p

Stephen J Peak (who appears on twice a week on the gladiators of Sport after midnight) is always good for a laugh

JUBJUB said:
I hope The Run Home don't continue with that embarrassing celebrity interview segment they did just before 5pm last night.

Who was the celebrity?

I think Beva is good value and he had a celebrity segment on monday night where a different celebrity each week reviews a game of footy they watched. This week it was andrew gaze, wasn't too bad but then he knows his sports.

rippedoff said:

a tip for you then. don't listen to SEN 24/7 and you won't hear the replays. i find the replays ok, as sometimes i don't get to hear them "live".

sarbbo said:
Who was the celebrity?

Huddo & Ox pretended to interview golfers from the US Open [Tiger,the bloke that won and a couple of others].All they did was ask a stupid question and then they played a bit from interviews obviously aired on ch9 earlier that morning.

It was lame and not funny.

JUBJUB said:
Huddo & Ox pretended to interview golfers from the US Open [Tiger,the bloke that won and a couple of others].All they did was ask a stupid question and then they played a bit from interviews obviously aired on ch9 earlier that morning.

It was lame and not funny.

that crap when they do, not just SEN but all radio staions.

Andrew Maher what on earth are you doing giving 3aw a free kick.
speaking to a few friends that are still at sen they were not impressed that you told the telly viewers on saturday night on the end of the game show that you were listening to an interview on 3aw .
for goodness sake sen needs as many listeners as they can get without people who are on air at the station not listening in.
i grant you that the weekends are pretty ******** poor and the replays suck but still if you are not listening to sen when you are not there then at least DONT tell the rest of the world you listen to 3aw.
do you honestly believe that Rex Hunt would tell the world he heard a really good interview on SEN , even if he was listening which i doubt , .

rippedoff said:
Andrew Maher what on earth are you doing giving 3aw a free kick.
speaking to a few friends that are still at sen they were not impressed that you told the telly viewers on saturday night on the end of the game show that you were listening to an interview on 3aw .
for goodness sake sen needs as many listeners as they can get without people who are on air at the station not listening in.
i grant you that the weekends are pretty ******** poor and the replays suck but still if you are not listening to sen when you are not there then at least DONT tell the rest of the world you listen to 3aw.
do you honestly believe that Rex Hunt would tell the world he heard a really good interview on SEN , even if he was listening which i doubt , .

Apparently Rex does listen, he listen to all rival stations to see where they are. If he not listening live he get a tape of the pragram espcially with the calling of games