The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Must say I tend to agree with you.....I've found it difficult to listen to Finey since he's been doing Beva's show.....seems too hyped up and over the top and also seems to shout into the mike.....didn't do that when on with Beva......been a big disappointment IMO.....Brett Phillips would be much more suited for Beva's show..
It's no surprise really. He was no good at the longer show when he used to fill in for Francis, the short weekend rant sessions suited him, four hours when nobody's listening to the radio doesn't. It's not an attractive slot because nobody's listening, and for the same reason it needs a particularly good broadcaster to do it

In the interests of fairness, here is what Francis said earlier this year when he returned to SEN.

Switching from light on talk to heavy on sport
RADIO WAVES
The Age
March 22, 2007
by Brad Newsome

FRANCIS Leach loves the smell of pigskin in the morning - especially four in the morning, which is when the serious round-ball action is under way in Europe.

"It's kind of taken over my life in a way," he says. "I tend to live in two time zones - I live my domestic life here but I'm always thinking about what time the game's on overseas and so I'm getting up in the middle of the night to watch, trying to sneak sleep in here and there, and trying not to disturb my family too much when the ball goes into the back of the net at 4am by screaming at the television."

Leach, who with former Melbourne AFL footballer David Schwarz hosts sports station SEN's drive program, says soccer "tends to become all-consuming".

"I still love AFL footy but the last 15 or so years I've really got up to my neck in (soccer)," he says.

"I guess it's because the universe continues to expand - AFL football's 16 clubs, you kind of know the terrain. It's all been mapped, whereas the world game - there's so many levels, so many layers across continents and leagues and teams and international leagues. It's forever revealing itself to me. I'm fascinated by it. Not only the sporting aspect, but the cultural aspect and the political aspect as well.

"All those sorts of things tend to intersect on and off the pitch - and that's what I love about it . . . It's like MySpace, it can become all-consuming. It's like staring into a black hole. You're lucky if you've got your family and your loved ones to pull you out of it and tell you that you've got to have a life as well."

Happily for Leach, however, sport is his working life once again, with the broadcaster having returned to SEN last month after 18 months or so at Vega.

"Sometimes you have to go away to know what you really want and I really missed doing sport," he says. "I think it was when I went to the World Cup last year for (Vega owner) DMG Radio and I really felt in my element. I really had a ball. Not only professionally, but personally. It was an amazing experience and it made me realise that I'm actually quite passionate about it."

As well as hosting The Run Home from 4pm to 7pm on weekdays, Leach will be a boundary rider at AFL games and hopes to join SEN's soccer commentary team for the next A-League season.

Leach says he is particularly enjoying the interview and talkback aspect of The Run Home. One of the things that initially attracted him to Vega was that the original vision for that station involved a fair bit of talk too.

"That didn't work out. It's like a relationship - both parties start with the best of intentions and then they want different things from it," Leach says. "The people at Vega are fantastic - I had a great time working there and it's a great work environment - but it just wasn't for me."

He says he admires DMG for taking a chance with Vega playing a blend of old and new tracks and hopes the station is successful.

"There's a lot of people who sit down and have a crack at something from the sidelines, but there are very few people who dare to put their bollocks on the line and try something new."

With The Run Home, Leach says, he and Schwarz are trying to cater to sports fans of all levels of commitment.

"We're trying to build a program that's welcoming to the really hard-core sports nuts, but also to people who are just putting their footy tips in and want to know whether there are any injuries this week, or why Troy Simmonds isn't playing in the ruck this week or why Justin Koschitzke has missed his fourth game in a row.

"You don't need to be Captain Footy Nerd to be involved or invited. We want to have fun with it - to deliver the news but muck around a little bit and remind people that it's supposed to be fun."

There you go honest toiler. See, we're a fair bunch here at BigFooty - unless of course you think Francis has been misquoted in this article as well?

In the interests of fairness, here is what Francis said earlier this year when he returned to SEN.

There you go honest toiler. See, we're a fair bunch here at BigFooty - unless of course you think Francis has been misquoted in this article as well?

Just don't believe anything yoiu read in a newspaper at face value even that...

Anyways, didn't mean to start a blue with y'all..

I am new to forums like this - and I reckon they're probably not my thing.

Just don't believe anything yoiu read in a newspaper at face value even that...

Anyways, didn't mean to start a blue with y'all..

I am new to forums like this - and I reckon they're probably not my thing.

no worries.

i cant believe you blindly defended steven baker yesterday...and today!

If the Thursday Terrors are so good tell me why they are never on when BP does the show.
I am sure he said one night when he was filling in for Tony that they would never be on WSO when he is on and he hasnt backed away from that.
Still think BP is better at doing everything Tony does and more.
Tony still seems to have his tired and lazy moments more often , in not paying attention to what a caller asks or just giving an um or an mmhmm but with BP it is never anything but 100 percent :thumbsu:

Looks like honest toiler is the new rippedoff of this thread. 9 post and all on SEN 1116, compare to rippedoff 60 post all on SEN 1116.

But then again honest toiler is Francis Leach or his son

Did you hear the caller talking about Jim O'Dea and comparing him to Steven Baker ?

She went by the name "Teresa".Hmm ... I wonder if that was someone who posts [mostly whinges] in this thread.

I wonder.......

I had to laugh today as I was busy and got in the car about 12.30 and sure enough Mr Markie and the 2 hobbits were whinging about Steve Bakers outing.

Seriously the station is becoming a Joke and I'm listening to it less and less.

I wonder.......

I had to laugh today as I was busy and got in the car about 12.30 and sure enough Mr Markie and the 2 hobbits were whinging about Steve Bakers outing.

He's joined your club ? :eek:

I wonder.......

Yet you continue to phone in.

You appear to just be a whining girleyman. Your attention seeking knows no bounds.

Have to admit, I really enjoyed Eddie's commentary again last night.
If you take out his Collingwood bias, he is a very entertaing and funny caller, and shows a lot of passion and flair in his calling, unlike some of the other boring sterile radio callers (esp the ones from 774 ABC or even people like Mark Doran)

Also Andrew Jarman's calling is a treat, and I wish he would do more games, bar the SA games, he tells it how it is, which is great :)

My hesitation with having Eddie on SEN is whether he would eventually start to take over like he did at 9, he really cant help himself, loves to be the boss type.........and there is definately a collingwood bias, which I know is understandable, but I dont want to hear it ...

Also Andrew Jarman's calling is a treat, and I wish he would do more games, bar the SA games, he tells it how it is, which is great :)

Andrew Jarman is fantastic...i wouldn't be surprised if one of the 'big' commercial stations throw some money at him for next season, would fit right in at MMM

Have to admit, I really enjoyed Eddie's commentary again last night.
If you take out his Collingwood bias, he is a very entertaing and funny caller, and shows a lot of passion and flair in his calling, unlike some of the other boring sterile radio callers (esp the ones from 774 ABC or even people like Mark Doran)

It was good having Eddie back on the air calling games. My opion is that Eddie is much better radio caller than a TV caller.

Son of Leachy perhaps ?
The son is a Tiger supporter.

;)

The Son of Leachy??? That happens to be me, and im flattered that some of the SEN audience know about what team I barrack for.
Only just joining the bigfooty forum and laughing my head off at some of the claims made in the SEN thread I couldn't help but join. More than half the stuff is complete utter crap. But then again never let the truth get in the way of good story - that's why they invented online forums. You know you've made it once people spread complete utter crap on bigfooty. Just to clarify I am not the bloke who speculate to be me on this forum and if you want the son well here's the real thing.

Regards,
Dylan Leach