Society & Culture The Sesh

Sammymoite

Throughout my one or two years of belonging on this site, somethings always felt slightly amiss.

So I thought it was time to make a thread dedicated to 'the sesh'. In case anyone's unaware, it's essentially any sort of session that ranges from a big old drinking session to a 5 day bender. The criteria ranges from those two and anything inbetween I'd say...

Think we should have this thread to discuss some great stories while on the sesh, as well as any relevant/sesh-worthy information to point out (eg upcoming events/festivals/nightlife, all that jazz).

Because let's be honest, who doesn't love telling their shite stories of revolting times they've had with their mates? ;)

Enjoy image.jpeg

200w.gif

Well.. You first m8

I probably should've mentioned that I'm a washed up gremlin of a human and probably don't have the best stories in comparison to some other reptiles on here
Fair call.. I've sampled just about every drug besides heroin and I bet I have some interesting stories.

But I dont want to share because there's some judgemental people who will get their knickers in a twist and will write me off. I'll be coming back to see if anyone posts some stories tho lmao

Fair call.. I've sampled just about every drug besides heroin and I bet I have some interesting stories.

But I dont want to share because there's some judgemental people who will get their knickers in a twist and will write me off. I'll be coming back to see if anyone posts some stories tho lmao

Posts don't necessarily have to speak about drug or alcohol use... Merely stories that have happened whilst on said drugs or booze

As a general rule of thumb, people will immediately assume you were on drugs or absolutely hammered anyway when posting something regarding a sesh, so you wouldn't have to specifically name drugs involved etc if it was a concern to you.... Unless of course it's pivotal to the story and helps make sense of it hahaha

approximately-

1976-1985 fun loving, harmless, sarcastic, smart arse on the grog. drank beer and copious amounts of vodka.
1986-1992 ditto, beer only but not quite as much.
1992-1994 publican, drank moderately except for the odd very heavy binge.
1995-1996 toyed with the idea of becoming a non drinker, drank less and less.
1997- present have spent 99.999% of that time as a non drinker including 8 and 6 year stretches with zero alcohol.

i have had a few time gaps but i have never been a violent or abusive drunk. the stupidest thing i ever did on the grog was drink drive and run from the police.

Sunday sessions were great. They usually started Friday with a break to play footy/cricket depending on the season.

The best thing about SA is once you drink enough you cash your empties in and can afford more. If you didn't rock up to work still drunk or severely hungover then it was a quiet weekend.

Backyard sports are dangerous on the grog. Clotheslines and dogs are the natural enemy of the sesh drinker. Waking up Tuesday and wondering why your leg is bruised was one of those voyages of discovery undertaken sober.

The best excuse to the missus '' got no bloody idea love''

I was at The Church in London the day Andrew Johns. It went something like this. Drink on the walk to the train, drink on the train, drink on the walk from the train to The Church, consume copious amounts of alcohol there. Rinse and repeat. Go to The Redback and continue. Probably the biggest weekend of mine when I lived in London.

image.jpeg

I was at The Church in London the day Andrew Johns. It went something like this. Drink on the walk to the train, drink on the train, drink on the walk from the train to The Church, consume copious amounts of alcohol there. Rinse and repeat. Go to The Redback and continue. Probably the biggest weekend of mine when I lived in London.

View attachment 336050

I did The Church Sunday session a few times when I lived in London, always a big day kicking off with a few warm up beers before it opened at around 10am and then kicking on at The Walkabout or The Redback afterwards.

It was a good idea to have the Monday off to recover.

Sheesh the Redback.

Only place Ive ever seen a girl think its a excellent idea to strip after being denied service by the bartender for being too drunk.

She got served, then kicked out after engaging in a spot of nude crowd surfing.

Crazy night

Big night in Hobart.
Last Wednesday.

Met up with my trippy niece who I hadn't seen for 5 years. Her 22 and me 36. I was sent down for work and she's been travelling the world so a random place to meet.

Started with dinner and moved onto Möbius, an underground club which if you're not familiar to hobart is a drug den. She hooked up with a dude who had a lot of powders. He buttered me up with a 'put you're hand out' and dumped a heap of something in my palm which I oblingly ate with gusto.

Next thing you know I am sitting in a tree talking rubbish to randoms.

Good times.

Big night in Hobart.
Last Wednesday.

Met up with my trippy niece who I hadn't seen for 5 years. Her 22 and me 36. I was sent down for work and she's been travelling the world so a random place to meet.

Started with dinner and moved onto Möbius, an underground club which if you're not familiar to hobart is a drug den. She hooked up with a dude who had a lot of powders. He buttered me up with a 'put you're hand out' and dumped a heap of something in my palm which I oblingly ate with gusto.

Next thing you know I am sitting in a tree talking rubbish to randoms.

Good times.

Sensational. Nothing screams Tasmania more than to immerse yourself in a tree with strangers

One year mid mushy season I got pissed in a mates bungalow and we decided to eat shrooms. Fast forward about 2 hours my mate got up to have a piss unbeknownst to me. For about 30 minutes I could hear knocking and it was driving me crazy. I thought it was cops at first then I thought I was imagining it. Then I was worried because my mate was nowhere to be found.

Next minute a foot gets kicked through the wall and a head pops through. It was my mate. He'd been knocking for about an hour.

Many drunked/druged up nights/days throw the 00's. From teriaki bar on Thursday nights to Bass Station and Viper Lounge on Friday nights. To Bubble on Sat night. Festivals from Earthcore to Gatecrasher.

Broke up with the missus on drawn GF day, early mind you. Had a massive win on Lenny Hayes for Normy, hit the syrup like it was water.

Walked back to a mates house in East Richmond (NSW) and was standing at the boom gates waiting for the last train to go through......only had an old Hawkesbury Saints guernsey on, the woollen Sekem variety, and the old footy shorts with the buttons on the side, real 'see the veins in your plums' kind of shorts.

Woken up by numerous car horns coz I fell asleep on said boom gate and traffic in our sleepy little town was backed up miles (probably about 12 cars each side)

Some bloke throws me over his shoulder, into his car, I wake up at home the next day. Butt hole not violated thankfully.

Turns out it was my boss in traffic that took me home. Still with about 1500 in my wallet. And, again, very important, butthole intact.

Very tame effort that night, I'll leave some bigger efforts in the Cross for when others share their stories.

Young men these days are soft. Maybe it's a good thing we don't straggle alcoholism so intensely but the amount of young men a little too afraid to back up is a sight far too familiar.

When I was a student and new to Melbourne, with no job mind you, I would routinely go out three to four nights a week. Some of the bigger ones I had were when friends visited from Perth. Maybe the biggest was about 2012 when a good mate from high school came back to Aus after four months-odd in Europe. I met him up in Sydney and it was in the midst of a 35-degree heat wave all day. Literally bang across the road was a pub so air conditioned your schooners got colder the longer you held onto them somehow, and even Tooheys was drinkable. Think the 1pm-6pm $10 happy hour had something to do with that. I think the highlight/lowlight was staying at Goodgod until close and apparently being at some random backpacker hotel for an hour in between. Ended up at the Scary Canary, which if you know Sydney is a total den of scumbag Scando dreadlocked tourists. Got kicked out near sunlight for drinking a pint a quarter full of their cheapest draught beer, a quarter full of cider, two vodka shots, some Tequila, and two or three various vodka-something mixes. The next day my old 3GS iPhone was coated in mash potato and gravy with some fried chicken. Pretty sure my hangover was one of my first killers the next day but we grabbed a fresh juice and spent the day bitching about Sydney. Good times.

Had about two days off alone back here and he met me. Ended up spending a week at my house on a diet of Coopers Pale Ale and James Boags premium... I reckon I put on close to eight kilos in it living off salt and vinegar chips and kebabs with the odd parma and pub pizza in between. In the space of that fortnight and a half I lost a girl who gave me a handjob in a nightclub, kissed about four in the one night, told the dude from Bad Dreems both Port and the Crows were the best team in South Australia, and blew maybe three grand. No regrets.

Had plenty of good ones where I've had zero plans for the weekend found myself at a pub with eight boys a few hours later at the John Curtin, then started drinking 4pm next day after waking up barely much longer before, and finishing it off down in Geelong. Probably rounded out 20 odd full weekends out with a few cheeky hellos down in the suburban tavern known as Lambys. Those Mondays coming back up on the train were weirdly romantic, but rough. Listening to some of the albums I used to en route and returning bring back strong, pure memories of what youth, your friends, university, and all that should be about.