- Aug 15, 2011
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Port Adelaide
Im going to do my draft order a bit different hopefully and have a few genuine sliders and bolters.
I believe Fremantle could have a big say in this draft with pick 16,20 and 29 all with the potential to net good players. Of course GWS are going to have a major say.
The reason i see some mids slipping is because GWS havnt picked up that many KPP they mainly got midfielders who all play inside. They got Davis but that is about it, Brogan can play ruck and Chad Cornes no doubt will play a KPP due to them having no one else really. Even with that Chad Cornes and Brogan may only be around for a year or two. I also see Brisbane going with 2 talls with picks 8 and 12 even though the supporters may not like that. They have lost to many talls McCaulay, Henderson (drafted highly), Fevola, Maguire (retired or close?), Charman and of course M.Clark with Brown not having long left. They have also had great success with Redden and Rockliff and got some steals there. Rich is a gun and Bewick, Polec, Banfield have enough to play outside in the midfield, they also have Green,Bartlett and Beams developing. I also think they will bank on themselves getting some quality/decent mids later on and target 2 talls early.
Im also not sure if Adelaide will go tall, they may do, but it means they wont get an SA tall defender/ruck. With the loss of Davis, Bock, Maric (covered by Jenkins), Gunston (covered by Johnstone/Lynch). I think they may go for a tall back after Davis, Bock scenario and Rutten getting on they need cover and only really have Talia from what i know.
There are also some players i particularly like and some i dont. Ill mention them later on but im a big fan of Grigg and Mckenzie.
Ill keep adding to this with time as i do not the full order but have strong feelings on where players will end up.
Pick 1 - Stephen Coniglio (GWS)
I think hes a lock at number 1, dont talk about him going number 2. He couldve turned his back on the GWS and said give me one more year or im off to play cricket, but he has said he is happy to play for GWS and hes not just a talent but hes ready made as any midfielders in this draft. I think GWS will be smart enough to put the pressure of number 1 onto a midfielder (Scully) instead of a forward (Watts) and they will take Coniglio for the above two reasons. Saw him first in the WAFL gf and was brillant 2nd BOG and turned the game. Fast, skillful, agile and wins a good balance of contested and uncontested footy. His finishing skills is what i really like about the guy, doesnt miss to many shots or opportunities on goal.
Player Comparison:Still yet to find one i like, everyone says Judd and i dont really like that comparison every top mid gets labelled Judd but his style is fairly similar to Judd. Argh i know my man Marc Murphy.
Range: 1
Pick 2 - Jon Patton (GWS)
Wont go number 1 but it doesnt really matter will be lining up at fullforward or CHF for GWS next year. Has the complete package but hes been able to throw kids around for sometime now and he wont be able to do this in AFL. Works hard to become versatile and on his weaknesses.
Player comparison: Chris Dawes
Range: 2
Pick 3 - Dom Tyson (GWS)
Id certainly see him as the standout number 3 and i think the spot is his. Classy left footed mover who can play inside and out. Will start his career off a wing i reckon and move into the guts later on. Neat left footer and one of the best players at lowering his vision for a target. His concerns are over any natural athletic attributes.
Player Comparison: Scott Pendlebury comes to mind as soon i see him, wont be as good
Range: 3-6
Pick 4 - WHE (GWS)
I rate him highly but i can also see him being a player that does nothing in his career. By that you will see through my player comparisons. Athletic kid who is a typical wingman, slightly built with a big stride and booming kick. His line breaking speed, fitness and height combo could make him a dangerous proposition on a wing and hard to match up. Cant see him being a midfielder that starts in the square and can also see his qualities as a possible half back flanker. My concern on him is his ability to find the footy enough to have an impact consistently.
Player comparison:
Goddard/C.Morton
Range: 3-7
Pick 5 - Billy Longer (GWS)
Now i dont really see much in him or rate him to much at all. Certainly not worth a top 5 pick but i think Port may snaffle him up and GWS need rucks and need the best ones, cant afford to play russian roulette. Athletic and good overhead mark. Can afford to let Wingard go as they will get plenty more opportunites at mids and they have a better wingard in Coniglio.
Player Comparison - Poor mans Matthew Kruezer
Range: 5-8
Pick 6 - Chad Wingard (Port)
The stars align for Port. They need a mid and they need a quality one and there arnt many better than Wingard. Touted for much of the year as a top 3 pick, he could still be that number 3. Not only do port get a quality mid but they get a player from there home land. Port will never pass on him so he wont get past 6. Clearance machine, has a great leap and is agile. I think the question mark on him is probably his fitness and whether or not he is an inside mid or outside mid or HFF?
Player Comparison: Dom Cassisi
Pick 7 - Buntine (GWS)
Now i must say im not a massive fan. Hes got a great size and height to him, is versatile can play anywhere from HBF, midfield or HFF and is extremely competitive and a great tackler. Hes also got great vision/awareness in close and using his hands well. I however have some massive doubts on his ball handling/cleanliness, kicking and footy smarts. I think GWS will take him as that versatile player along with already having drafted 2 outside mids, inside mid, ruck and forward. Hes one player i keep second guessing whether i have him right mainly due to footy smarts, sometimes i think its good but sometimes i think his competitive nature against in the way too often.
Range: 4-8
Player Comparison: See heaps of Jimmy Bartel in him
Pick 8 - Adam Tomlinson (Bris)
I think he could be a bit of a bolter or go a bit higher than some think. I like what i see in him, his versatility to play back or forward is great, he is really well built 90kg+ but can still run 10.30 3kms and 15+ beep test i think he was the best of any tall at draft camp. His kicking skills are also very good. Im still not sure if he is a CHB or CHF which is why he is good for Brisbane. Hes not undersized/3rd tall type so he will play a key post on the ground when he is ready and he may develop quicker than other talls which is why i cant see him going any worst than pick 15 and why he is also a great fit for Brisbane. Along with his great fitness, has a good attitude, looks really composed for a big man on the field and has great kicking skills. Can see him playing sooner than later. I see him as the stand out 2nd tall behind Patton.
Range: 7-15
Player Comparison: See alot of Hurley in him with his kicking and versatility and the way he goes for grabs. Also a bit of Henderson from carlton.
Pick 9: - Brad Mckenzie (GWS)
I really rate this guy, see alot of Dyson Heppell in him. Smooth moving type with a lovely left foot. Very agile can get around players with ease and hit targets over a long or short distance. I doubt he will go this high its more just me liking him as a player and giving him a higher rating. I probably rate him as the 4th-5th best player in the draft. Can play midfield aswell.
Player Comparison: Dyson Heppell
Range: Probably wont go at 9, exactly what the roos would want at 18. 14-27
Pick 10 - Devon Smith (GWS)
Devon Smith rounds at my top 10. He fills a similar hole for GWS early on to that of Matera in a small forward role. Would be quite interesting to see how people compare him to last years Dion Prestia. His numbers in the TAC both last year as underage were superb. Gathering over 30 posses on many occassions whilst kicking bags of 3-4 goals. He followed those numbers up again this year. Wonderful player has really quick hands and good decision making. Would be right up there if he was 5-10cms taller. Tested very well at the draft combine being in the top 10 for 4 test. Dont mind the Shiels comparison he applies alot more pressure than a Brent Harvey but has other similar attributes to him.
Player Comparison: Hayden Ballantyne but more midfield type
Range: 10-15
Pick 11 - Fraser McInnes (GWS)
The only thing Gold coast so far havnt really picked up is a key defender. He is probably the next best tall back, can also play ruck or forward aswell. Played a league came in the WAFL this year after having a pretty injury interrupted season. Going alot higher than he should simply due to the fact that gold coast need some key defenders and he is probably the next most ready made along with Talia. GWS could also look at Elton here.
Range: pick 8-30odd
Pick 12 - Shane Kersten (Brisbane)
I would think Brisbane will take a tall forward or even maybe a ruckmen type. Leunenberger and Hudson the only rucks on there current list so they would snap Longer up at 8 if hes available i would think. Elton represents tall forward and ruck but is certainly not ready made, he will come into serious contention for the lions at this pick and pick 8. I however think they will go with a WA product in the name of Kersten. Played some league games and held his own as a tall forward which is hard to do. Kicked a bag of 4 in the 2010 champs and had a good season in colts including 4 bags of 5+ in 7 or 8 games. Brisbane dont mind a WA product and i think hes the best tall forward left. Fremantle will want him at 16 if he gets past this pick. Elton, maybe Bolger, Paine, Frost, Talia are also other chances
Player Comparison:
Range: 10-20 cant see him getting past 20
Pick 13 - Todd Elton (GWS) For one of pick 13 or 14 the GWS will at least take a tall. They have already got a ruck, forward and key back and the rest are basically midfielders. But i still think they will take a ruck option whether it be Elton as that forward/ruck combo or Bolger as a riser as the second best ruck in the draft and as the best tap ruckmen. So with this draft they would have Brogan, Giles than Longer as genuine ruck options, so im going to give them Todd Elton has probably more upside unsure if i will put him at 13 or 14 and GWS can take a risk with a player like Elton considering they have so many picks. AIS product who didnt have the year that many thought. He may move to 14 if i think GWS will take another midfielder but they already have Coniglio, Tyson, WHE, Buntine, D.Smith (Scully, Ward, Palmer, Power and JMAC) as midfield options which i think is plenty howver you can never have enough of them. Boseley, Bolger and Paine are other options. FWIW i dont rate Elton at all and dont think he will do anything at AFL level.
Range: 8-30odd
Pick 14 - Julian Dobosz (GWS) Missing at on Kersten i think they will want another tall forward as they dont really have another on the list besides Patton and probably Israel Folau, Elton will hardly fill a hole. Although i think they will pick MOTLOP up i think they need to find another tall forward who is more ready to go. Dobosz played very well against a strong VIC C side and kicked plenty of goals and is a good size with athletic ability. Paine is another tall forward option although dont really rate. Bolger as a ruck option or Boseley as a tall defender. If GWS are to take a midfielder than it would either be Kavanagh or Greene, leaning towards Kavanagh because i feel Greene is too inside like Scully, Palmer and a ball magnet like them aswell. Manson could also be an option but i cant see them taking him with Elton and they would prefer a ready made forward.
Player Comparision: Scott Gumbleton
Range: 14-40odd
Pick 15 - Elliot Kavanagh (Richmond)
Ive seen a few mock drafts and he keeps on getting to Richmond, hes a big chance to end up there i reckon. Who would have thought they had the option to pick between Sumner, Greene and Kavanagh at this pick. Kavanagh can play both inside and out where as Green i see only as an inside midfielder and Sumner only outside. Very stricken season with injury, but i dont think Richmond will pass him up too easily if his medicals all went well. Remember a guy called Chris Judd, Joel Selwood read Dyson Heppell/Jack Darling these players all had injury concerns or bad boy problems in the case of Jack although severely over hyped. These players have all been jets so far and some of the games best, Kavanagh showed enough last year in his short time at TAC cup football getting plenty of the football as underage. Not a fan of Sumner and not really of Greene so Richmond should be very happy with a confident type in Kavanagh.
Pick 16 - Brandon Ellis (Fremantle)
With Fremantles most pressing need probably a small defender i have them taking Ellis. Not interested in leon davis surprises me so i think they must really like him. I heard that they were into him aswell. Fremantle have been renowned for drafting good kicks, now i dont rate Ellis as good as kick as others make him out to be. His efficiency was very high in the carnival, he tested well at the combine for kicking but i think it may struggle a little at AFL level. This guy isnt just a set in small backmen, very capable midfielder has a big engine and hard nosed contested type, got plenty of the pill for Calder cannons including a 37 possession game. Ive gone from Manson to Greene to Ellis all are options here including Kersten if he gets through i think they will probably pick Kersten first than look at Ellis at 20 he should still be there. The roos may also look at him.
Player Comparison: Johncock/Heath Hocking
Range: 14-30odd
Other Options: Kersten, Manson, Greene
Pick 17 - Alex Forster (WBD)
Now i know the doggies fans and most supporters these days dont like a flanker. But this guy has done no wrong all year and is starting to develop as a very good footballer. Played very well in some late SANFL games including a best player for his team. Is very good one on one, does the team things, is a leader (state u16 captain) and just does the one percenters very well. You guys will probably be screaming at me to pick Sumner which will be another option. Was also an AA half back flanker. Just with the loss of Harbrow, Hargrave close to retirement, Lake old i think he is the ideal replacement for Hargrave and will be a solid defender. Can also play wing comfortably and has played in the middle before.
Player Comparision: white Harry O Brien but slower
Other possibles: Massivily into Markworth wouldnt be surprised if you take him, Sumner would be a nice wing replacement for Ward/Eagleton
Pick 18 - Liam Sumner (North Melbourne)
There is always a slider and i think he could be one of the midfielders that slides. I personally arnt a big fan of his. Hes a fast outside, true wingman midfielder, tested well for a leap. Think Kade Simpson when trying to imagining him playing. Didnt find enough of the footy at TAC cup level which may be due to him needing a bigger tank/engine. He is pretty damaging with his 20 posses a game. Lucky enough to get Atley and Harper as sliders last year, i dont think they could pass on Sumner even though similar to those players. Could be a replacement for Boomer Harvey off a wing.
Player Comparison: Kade Simpson
Other options: Sumner if he falls, Markworth, Mckenzie, Forster, Docherty
Range: 7-19
Pick 19 - Toby Greene (Essendon)
Hes my other slider. With GWS not needing to many mids he slides with Sumner. Fremantle will find it hard to pass on him at 16. A massive accumulator has an engine and gets to more contest than any other player in the champs whether it be smarts or fitness. Avg over 29 posses in TAC i think, won AA honours. I find his kicking and impact on games a worry, won massive amounts of footy got 38 posses and 3 shots on goal yet was named only 6th best for his side. His kicking penetration has a few doubts from me. Essendon would be very happy to get a good midfielder at this pick.
Other options: Essendon believed to be into Markworth, Grigg
Player Comparison: Dane Swan
Pick 20 - Jordan Lockyer (Fremantle)
After taking a mid with pick 16 id expect them to go tall for picks 20 and 29. This guy is a westperth product considered a gun junior midfielder who developed and grew and gradually became a tall forward who could have stints in the midfield. For the past 2 years has predominantly played as a defender on the last line. Is really competitive type, great skills for his size and will be considered a utility. Some clubs may see him as that Nathan Fyfe a player too small for key position but can play midfield, needs to work on his engine the most. Played some league games late in the season to great success mainly off a HBF or wing. Is a 3rd defender type or 3rd tall forward but id like to see him play a Fyfe role on a wing at AFL level. With fremantle not interested in Davis it makes me more and more think they are going to really consider taking Ellis early.
Range: 20-29
Player Comparison: Nick Maxwell/Sam Fisher/Hurley (the way he moves, competitives, play both ends, kicks and looks, not as tall or bulky)
Other Options: strongly into Ellis, Manson, Hill
Pick 21 - Tom Mitchell (Sydney) Father Son
I rate as a top 4 player from this draft and would probably have gone close to number 1 the year before, considered as good as Coniglio. Had his injury problems this year which has made him drop off the radar. Mass ball accumulator and excellent kick, ferocious attack on the footy. I dont think people realise how lucky Sydney are to get this guy, dominated school footy for Hale as a year 10, won a B&F as a year 10 i think which is unheard of. Great in the clearances and good with his hands. Absoluter gun easy top 4 player in this draft and possibly the best.
Player Comparison: Sam Mitchell
Pick 22 - Taylor Adams (Carlton)
Carlton will likely go best available midfielder/small at this pick. They drafted 3 good talls last year and i cant say Simpson, Carrazzo, Judd, Scottland are going to be around forever and Houlihan has just retired. Although the midfield at Carlton is seen as superb at the moment, they lack depth and new young guys coming through in the area. Lucas, Robinson are the only two i see of any real talent and even Lucas has question marks over him. Anyone that picks this guy up knows they are going to get a real solid worker and solid player at the bare minimum i think he can be one of the standout players from this draft. Is hard nosed, loves a contest and wins plenty of footy. Avg 30 posses a game in TAC cup and showed he can go forward and kick goals. I rate him higher than Sumner and Greene.
Player Comparison: Jake Melksham
Range: 8-26
Pick 23 - Daniel Markworth (West Coast)
Dont rate this guy and dont see all the fuss, maybe its because everyone somehow thinks he is the next Fyfe. Maybe havnt seen enough of him, but for a guy that avgs 15 possessions in the TAC cup i dont see how he is a gun midfielder. More a flank type player which seem to be going out of the game a little, those lead up half forward flankers (T.Lynch, M.Bate, J.Grant, A.Monfries) all finding it hard. Only played one game for Victoria so has limited exposure to that level and is older than the others at 19. However i think he could replace Ebert who was that half forward type who could play midfield and Embley well who was a bigger wingman type when he retires. Probably suits the eagles needs best.
Range: 17-31 (wont get past Essendons secound round and may well not get past there first, into him big time)
Other options: tall back (Frost), Nelson, Crozier, Hill, Grigg
Pick 24 - Sam Docherty (Gold Coast)
Pick 25 - Myles Bolger (Stkilda)
With the retirement of Gardiner and lacking a little in this area and them wanting to find a ruck in the trade period i cant see them going past the clear best 2nd ruck if available. South Fremantle people think he will go to GWS and wll go before Kersten so he is a big IF to get to this pick. I dont see a lot of difference between him and Longer. Really likes to run and jump at the footy in the ruck, has good second effort attempts. Probably has to work on his ability to go forward, certainly the best tap ruckmen in the draft and his height wont be an issue.
Player Comparison: Kruezer poor mans
Range: 13-25
Other Options: Paine, Frost, Boseley (i reckon they will go tall)
Pick 26 - Hayden Crozier (Richmond)
Bargain i feel. Cant see Richmond passing on him he will compliment there forward line nicely. Lovely left footed, smooth moving type who can play anywhere from a small forward, wing to a half back flank where some say his best footy was played. Will have to get a lot stronger to play that position so he doesnt get caught out one on one but certainly with the way he plays can suit many positions. Has probably one of the better kicks in this draft. Tested very well 2nd in running vertical leap, 6th in agility, .03 off the top for 20m sprint and ran a 14.7 beep test which dismissed the thought he didnt have a tank. Known for that big mark but known for so much more. Avg close 19 possessions a game at TAC with 67% efficiency which stands up pretty well to those considered higher than him Markworth avg 15.5, Sumner 17. 6 foot one has all the attributes has really developed this year according to Sheehan who said he has grown quite a bit and also put on 8kgs. When growing it can always be harder to play sport so he has done very well. Is a late bloomer in that regard and is born in December so isn't far away from being available for next years draft.
Range: 14-26
Player Comparison: Sidebottom/Didak
Pick 27 - Sam Frost/Andrew Boseley (Adelaide)
Pick 28 - Frost/Boseley/Hill/Nelson (West Coast)
Pick 29 - Manson/Hill (Fremantle)
Pick 30 - Grigg (Brisbane)
Pick 31 - Ross/Kerridge/Nelson
I believe Fremantle could have a big say in this draft with pick 16,20 and 29 all with the potential to net good players. Of course GWS are going to have a major say.
The reason i see some mids slipping is because GWS havnt picked up that many KPP they mainly got midfielders who all play inside. They got Davis but that is about it, Brogan can play ruck and Chad Cornes no doubt will play a KPP due to them having no one else really. Even with that Chad Cornes and Brogan may only be around for a year or two. I also see Brisbane going with 2 talls with picks 8 and 12 even though the supporters may not like that. They have lost to many talls McCaulay, Henderson (drafted highly), Fevola, Maguire (retired or close?), Charman and of course M.Clark with Brown not having long left. They have also had great success with Redden and Rockliff and got some steals there. Rich is a gun and Bewick, Polec, Banfield have enough to play outside in the midfield, they also have Green,Bartlett and Beams developing. I also think they will bank on themselves getting some quality/decent mids later on and target 2 talls early.
Im also not sure if Adelaide will go tall, they may do, but it means they wont get an SA tall defender/ruck. With the loss of Davis, Bock, Maric (covered by Jenkins), Gunston (covered by Johnstone/Lynch). I think they may go for a tall back after Davis, Bock scenario and Rutten getting on they need cover and only really have Talia from what i know.
There are also some players i particularly like and some i dont. Ill mention them later on but im a big fan of Grigg and Mckenzie.
Ill keep adding to this with time as i do not the full order but have strong feelings on where players will end up.
Pick 1 - Stephen Coniglio (GWS)
I think hes a lock at number 1, dont talk about him going number 2. He couldve turned his back on the GWS and said give me one more year or im off to play cricket, but he has said he is happy to play for GWS and hes not just a talent but hes ready made as any midfielders in this draft. I think GWS will be smart enough to put the pressure of number 1 onto a midfielder (Scully) instead of a forward (Watts) and they will take Coniglio for the above two reasons. Saw him first in the WAFL gf and was brillant 2nd BOG and turned the game. Fast, skillful, agile and wins a good balance of contested and uncontested footy. His finishing skills is what i really like about the guy, doesnt miss to many shots or opportunities on goal.
Player Comparison:Still yet to find one i like, everyone says Judd and i dont really like that comparison every top mid gets labelled Judd but his style is fairly similar to Judd. Argh i know my man Marc Murphy.
Range: 1
Pick 2 - Jon Patton (GWS)
Wont go number 1 but it doesnt really matter will be lining up at fullforward or CHF for GWS next year. Has the complete package but hes been able to throw kids around for sometime now and he wont be able to do this in AFL. Works hard to become versatile and on his weaknesses.
Player comparison: Chris Dawes
Range: 2
Pick 3 - Dom Tyson (GWS)
Id certainly see him as the standout number 3 and i think the spot is his. Classy left footed mover who can play inside and out. Will start his career off a wing i reckon and move into the guts later on. Neat left footer and one of the best players at lowering his vision for a target. His concerns are over any natural athletic attributes.
Player Comparison: Scott Pendlebury comes to mind as soon i see him, wont be as good
Pick 4 - WHE (GWS)
I rate him highly but i can also see him being a player that does nothing in his career. By that you will see through my player comparisons. Athletic kid who is a typical wingman, slightly built with a big stride and booming kick. His line breaking speed, fitness and height combo could make him a dangerous proposition on a wing and hard to match up. Cant see him being a midfielder that starts in the square and can also see his qualities as a possible half back flanker. My concern on him is his ability to find the footy enough to have an impact consistently.
Player comparison:
Range: 3-7
Pick 5 - Billy Longer (GWS)
Now i dont really see much in him or rate him to much at all. Certainly not worth a top 5 pick but i think Port may snaffle him up and GWS need rucks and need the best ones, cant afford to play russian roulette. Athletic and good overhead mark. Can afford to let Wingard go as they will get plenty more opportunites at mids and they have a better wingard in Coniglio.
Player Comparison - Poor mans Matthew Kruezer
Range: 5-8
Pick 6 - Chad Wingard (Port)
The stars align for Port. They need a mid and they need a quality one and there arnt many better than Wingard. Touted for much of the year as a top 3 pick, he could still be that number 3. Not only do port get a quality mid but they get a player from there home land. Port will never pass on him so he wont get past 6. Clearance machine, has a great leap and is agile. I think the question mark on him is probably his fitness and whether or not he is an inside mid or outside mid or HFF?
Player Comparison: Dom Cassisi
Pick 7 - Buntine (GWS)
Now i must say im not a massive fan. Hes got a great size and height to him, is versatile can play anywhere from HBF, midfield or HFF and is extremely competitive and a great tackler. Hes also got great vision/awareness in close and using his hands well. I however have some massive doubts on his ball handling/cleanliness, kicking and footy smarts. I think GWS will take him as that versatile player along with already having drafted 2 outside mids, inside mid, ruck and forward. Hes one player i keep second guessing whether i have him right mainly due to footy smarts, sometimes i think its good but sometimes i think his competitive nature against in the way too often.
Range: 4-8
Player Comparison: See heaps of Jimmy Bartel in him
Pick 8 - Adam Tomlinson (Bris)
I think he could be a bit of a bolter or go a bit higher than some think. I like what i see in him, his versatility to play back or forward is great, he is really well built 90kg+ but can still run 10.30 3kms and 15+ beep test i think he was the best of any tall at draft camp. His kicking skills are also very good. Im still not sure if he is a CHB or CHF which is why he is good for Brisbane. Hes not undersized/3rd tall type so he will play a key post on the ground when he is ready and he may develop quicker than other talls which is why i cant see him going any worst than pick 15 and why he is also a great fit for Brisbane. Along with his great fitness, has a good attitude, looks really composed for a big man on the field and has great kicking skills. Can see him playing sooner than later. I see him as the stand out 2nd tall behind Patton.
Range: 7-15
Player Comparison: See alot of Hurley in him with his kicking and versatility and the way he goes for grabs. Also a bit of Henderson from carlton.
Pick 9: - Brad Mckenzie (GWS)
I really rate this guy, see alot of Dyson Heppell in him. Smooth moving type with a lovely left foot. Very agile can get around players with ease and hit targets over a long or short distance. I doubt he will go this high its more just me liking him as a player and giving him a higher rating. I probably rate him as the 4th-5th best player in the draft. Can play midfield aswell.
Player Comparison: Dyson Heppell
Range: Probably wont go at 9, exactly what the roos would want at 18. 14-27
Pick 10 - Devon Smith (GWS)
Devon Smith rounds at my top 10. He fills a similar hole for GWS early on to that of Matera in a small forward role. Would be quite interesting to see how people compare him to last years Dion Prestia. His numbers in the TAC both last year as underage were superb. Gathering over 30 posses on many occassions whilst kicking bags of 3-4 goals. He followed those numbers up again this year. Wonderful player has really quick hands and good decision making. Would be right up there if he was 5-10cms taller. Tested very well at the draft combine being in the top 10 for 4 test. Dont mind the Shiels comparison he applies alot more pressure than a Brent Harvey but has other similar attributes to him.
Player Comparison: Hayden Ballantyne but more midfield type
Range: 10-15
Pick 11 - Fraser McInnes (GWS)
The only thing Gold coast so far havnt really picked up is a key defender. He is probably the next best tall back, can also play ruck or forward aswell. Played a league came in the WAFL this year after having a pretty injury interrupted season. Going alot higher than he should simply due to the fact that gold coast need some key defenders and he is probably the next most ready made along with Talia. GWS could also look at Elton here.
Range: pick 8-30odd
Pick 12 - Shane Kersten (Brisbane)
I would think Brisbane will take a tall forward or even maybe a ruckmen type. Leunenberger and Hudson the only rucks on there current list so they would snap Longer up at 8 if hes available i would think. Elton represents tall forward and ruck but is certainly not ready made, he will come into serious contention for the lions at this pick and pick 8. I however think they will go with a WA product in the name of Kersten. Played some league games and held his own as a tall forward which is hard to do. Kicked a bag of 4 in the 2010 champs and had a good season in colts including 4 bags of 5+ in 7 or 8 games. Brisbane dont mind a WA product and i think hes the best tall forward left. Fremantle will want him at 16 if he gets past this pick. Elton, maybe Bolger, Paine, Frost, Talia are also other chances
Player Comparison:
Range: 10-20 cant see him getting past 20
Pick 13 - Todd Elton (GWS) For one of pick 13 or 14 the GWS will at least take a tall. They have already got a ruck, forward and key back and the rest are basically midfielders. But i still think they will take a ruck option whether it be Elton as that forward/ruck combo or Bolger as a riser as the second best ruck in the draft and as the best tap ruckmen. So with this draft they would have Brogan, Giles than Longer as genuine ruck options, so im going to give them Todd Elton has probably more upside unsure if i will put him at 13 or 14 and GWS can take a risk with a player like Elton considering they have so many picks. AIS product who didnt have the year that many thought. He may move to 14 if i think GWS will take another midfielder but they already have Coniglio, Tyson, WHE, Buntine, D.Smith (Scully, Ward, Palmer, Power and JMAC) as midfield options which i think is plenty howver you can never have enough of them. Boseley, Bolger and Paine are other options. FWIW i dont rate Elton at all and dont think he will do anything at AFL level.
Range: 8-30odd
Pick 14 - Julian Dobosz (GWS) Missing at on Kersten i think they will want another tall forward as they dont really have another on the list besides Patton and probably Israel Folau, Elton will hardly fill a hole. Although i think they will pick MOTLOP up i think they need to find another tall forward who is more ready to go. Dobosz played very well against a strong VIC C side and kicked plenty of goals and is a good size with athletic ability. Paine is another tall forward option although dont really rate. Bolger as a ruck option or Boseley as a tall defender. If GWS are to take a midfielder than it would either be Kavanagh or Greene, leaning towards Kavanagh because i feel Greene is too inside like Scully, Palmer and a ball magnet like them aswell. Manson could also be an option but i cant see them taking him with Elton and they would prefer a ready made forward.
Player Comparision: Scott Gumbleton
Range: 14-40odd
Pick 15 - Elliot Kavanagh (Richmond)
Ive seen a few mock drafts and he keeps on getting to Richmond, hes a big chance to end up there i reckon. Who would have thought they had the option to pick between Sumner, Greene and Kavanagh at this pick. Kavanagh can play both inside and out where as Green i see only as an inside midfielder and Sumner only outside. Very stricken season with injury, but i dont think Richmond will pass him up too easily if his medicals all went well. Remember a guy called Chris Judd, Joel Selwood read Dyson Heppell/Jack Darling these players all had injury concerns or bad boy problems in the case of Jack although severely over hyped. These players have all been jets so far and some of the games best, Kavanagh showed enough last year in his short time at TAC cup football getting plenty of the football as underage. Not a fan of Sumner and not really of Greene so Richmond should be very happy with a confident type in Kavanagh.
Pick 16 - Brandon Ellis (Fremantle)
With Fremantles most pressing need probably a small defender i have them taking Ellis. Not interested in leon davis surprises me so i think they must really like him. I heard that they were into him aswell. Fremantle have been renowned for drafting good kicks, now i dont rate Ellis as good as kick as others make him out to be. His efficiency was very high in the carnival, he tested well at the combine for kicking but i think it may struggle a little at AFL level. This guy isnt just a set in small backmen, very capable midfielder has a big engine and hard nosed contested type, got plenty of the pill for Calder cannons including a 37 possession game. Ive gone from Manson to Greene to Ellis all are options here including Kersten if he gets through i think they will probably pick Kersten first than look at Ellis at 20 he should still be there. The roos may also look at him.
Player Comparison: Johncock/Heath Hocking
Other Options: Kersten, Manson, Greene
Pick 17 - Alex Forster (WBD)
Now i know the doggies fans and most supporters these days dont like a flanker. But this guy has done no wrong all year and is starting to develop as a very good footballer. Played very well in some late SANFL games including a best player for his team. Is very good one on one, does the team things, is a leader (state u16 captain) and just does the one percenters very well. You guys will probably be screaming at me to pick Sumner which will be another option. Was also an AA half back flanker. Just with the loss of Harbrow, Hargrave close to retirement, Lake old i think he is the ideal replacement for Hargrave and will be a solid defender. Can also play wing comfortably and has played in the middle before.
Player Comparision: white Harry O Brien but slower
Other possibles: Massivily into Markworth wouldnt be surprised if you take him, Sumner would be a nice wing replacement for Ward/Eagleton
Pick 18 - Liam Sumner (North Melbourne)
There is always a slider and i think he could be one of the midfielders that slides. I personally arnt a big fan of his. Hes a fast outside, true wingman midfielder, tested well for a leap. Think Kade Simpson when trying to imagining him playing. Didnt find enough of the footy at TAC cup level which may be due to him needing a bigger tank/engine. He is pretty damaging with his 20 posses a game. Lucky enough to get Atley and Harper as sliders last year, i dont think they could pass on Sumner even though similar to those players. Could be a replacement for Boomer Harvey off a wing.
Player Comparison: Kade Simpson
Other options: Sumner if he falls, Markworth, Mckenzie, Forster, Docherty
Pick 19 - Toby Greene (Essendon)
Hes my other slider. With GWS not needing to many mids he slides with Sumner. Fremantle will find it hard to pass on him at 16. A massive accumulator has an engine and gets to more contest than any other player in the champs whether it be smarts or fitness. Avg over 29 posses in TAC i think, won AA honours. I find his kicking and impact on games a worry, won massive amounts of footy got 38 posses and 3 shots on goal yet was named only 6th best for his side. His kicking penetration has a few doubts from me. Essendon would be very happy to get a good midfielder at this pick.
Other options: Essendon believed to be into Markworth, Grigg
Player Comparison: Dane Swan
Pick 20 - Jordan Lockyer (Fremantle)
After taking a mid with pick 16 id expect them to go tall for picks 20 and 29. This guy is a westperth product considered a gun junior midfielder who developed and grew and gradually became a tall forward who could have stints in the midfield. For the past 2 years has predominantly played as a defender on the last line. Is really competitive type, great skills for his size and will be considered a utility. Some clubs may see him as that Nathan Fyfe a player too small for key position but can play midfield, needs to work on his engine the most. Played some league games late in the season to great success mainly off a HBF or wing. Is a 3rd defender type or 3rd tall forward but id like to see him play a Fyfe role on a wing at AFL level. With fremantle not interested in Davis it makes me more and more think they are going to really consider taking Ellis early.
Range: 20-29
Player Comparison: Nick Maxwell/Sam Fisher/Hurley (the way he moves, competitives, play both ends, kicks and looks, not as tall or bulky)
Other Options: strongly into Ellis, Manson, Hill
Pick 21 - Tom Mitchell (Sydney) Father Son
I rate as a top 4 player from this draft and would probably have gone close to number 1 the year before, considered as good as Coniglio. Had his injury problems this year which has made him drop off the radar. Mass ball accumulator and excellent kick, ferocious attack on the footy. I dont think people realise how lucky Sydney are to get this guy, dominated school footy for Hale as a year 10, won a B&F as a year 10 i think which is unheard of. Great in the clearances and good with his hands. Absoluter gun easy top 4 player in this draft and possibly the best.
Player Comparison: Sam Mitchell
Pick 22 - Taylor Adams (Carlton)
Carlton will likely go best available midfielder/small at this pick. They drafted 3 good talls last year and i cant say Simpson, Carrazzo, Judd, Scottland are going to be around forever and Houlihan has just retired. Although the midfield at Carlton is seen as superb at the moment, they lack depth and new young guys coming through in the area. Lucas, Robinson are the only two i see of any real talent and even Lucas has question marks over him. Anyone that picks this guy up knows they are going to get a real solid worker and solid player at the bare minimum i think he can be one of the standout players from this draft. Is hard nosed, loves a contest and wins plenty of footy. Avg 30 posses a game in TAC cup and showed he can go forward and kick goals. I rate him higher than Sumner and Greene.
Player Comparison: Jake Melksham
Range: 8-26
Pick 23 - Daniel Markworth (West Coast)
Dont rate this guy and dont see all the fuss, maybe its because everyone somehow thinks he is the next Fyfe. Maybe havnt seen enough of him, but for a guy that avgs 15 possessions in the TAC cup i dont see how he is a gun midfielder. More a flank type player which seem to be going out of the game a little, those lead up half forward flankers (T.Lynch, M.Bate, J.Grant, A.Monfries) all finding it hard. Only played one game for Victoria so has limited exposure to that level and is older than the others at 19. However i think he could replace Ebert who was that half forward type who could play midfield and Embley well who was a bigger wingman type when he retires. Probably suits the eagles needs best.
Range: 17-31 (wont get past Essendons secound round and may well not get past there first, into him big time)
Other options: tall back (Frost), Nelson, Crozier, Hill, Grigg
Pick 24 - Sam Docherty (Gold Coast)
Pick 25 - Myles Bolger (Stkilda)
With the retirement of Gardiner and lacking a little in this area and them wanting to find a ruck in the trade period i cant see them going past the clear best 2nd ruck if available. South Fremantle people think he will go to GWS and wll go before Kersten so he is a big IF to get to this pick. I dont see a lot of difference between him and Longer. Really likes to run and jump at the footy in the ruck, has good second effort attempts. Probably has to work on his ability to go forward, certainly the best tap ruckmen in the draft and his height wont be an issue.
Player Comparison: Kruezer poor mans
Range: 13-25
Other Options: Paine, Frost, Boseley (i reckon they will go tall)
Pick 26 - Hayden Crozier (Richmond)
Bargain i feel. Cant see Richmond passing on him he will compliment there forward line nicely. Lovely left footed, smooth moving type who can play anywhere from a small forward, wing to a half back flank where some say his best footy was played. Will have to get a lot stronger to play that position so he doesnt get caught out one on one but certainly with the way he plays can suit many positions. Has probably one of the better kicks in this draft. Tested very well 2nd in running vertical leap, 6th in agility, .03 off the top for 20m sprint and ran a 14.7 beep test which dismissed the thought he didnt have a tank. Known for that big mark but known for so much more. Avg close 19 possessions a game at TAC with 67% efficiency which stands up pretty well to those considered higher than him Markworth avg 15.5, Sumner 17. 6 foot one has all the attributes has really developed this year according to Sheehan who said he has grown quite a bit and also put on 8kgs. When growing it can always be harder to play sport so he has done very well. Is a late bloomer in that regard and is born in December so isn't far away from being available for next years draft.
Range: 14-26
Player Comparison: Sidebottom/Didak
Pick 27 - Sam Frost/Andrew Boseley (Adelaide)
Pick 28 - Frost/Boseley/Hill/Nelson (West Coast)
Pick 29 - Manson/Hill (Fremantle)
Pick 30 - Grigg (Brisbane)
Pick 31 - Ross/Kerridge/Nelson