Poz_Utd_V.2

victory
One thing I took particular notice of last night particulary in the first half was that we refused to tackle when Essendon had the ball and were moving it in the corridor.

Was it a pre concieved plan by Ratten to rather have our players carrell and have our players guard space rather than each particluar oppoistion player.

It just semed to me we were content to wait for the turnover rather than try and force it llike we did against Richmond.

Was it our players being lazy and not wanting to chase harder and force the turnover or was it a plan upsatirs?

You can't tackle Essendon they cheat the play while we have the ball and we don't run it so they won't chase us while we attack and if they get the ball they'll run the ball down with 3 players out on the wings by themselves. That was one of our problems our defenders get sucked into no mans zone in beetween here man and the play which is dumb.

I just think they were too fast on the rebound for us, don't think there was much catching them when they are running at full pelt in space.

^^^ read my post there not quick they cheat the play, well they are quick but if our players didn't get sucked in it wouldv'e been a contest to get the ball.

I just think they were too fast on the rebound for us, don't think there was much catching them when they are running at full pelt in space.

See I dont think they moved it all too quick, I really think we played off them in order not to over commit.

One moment stood out to me and I thought WTF?, Not sure what qtr. it was (2nd maybe?) but one Essendon player(39- Hocking?) received the tap from Hille and moved backwards with the ball then moved foward with ball in hand and was able to jog the centre clearance out, meanwhile about 5 Carlton blokes instead of tackling the bloke sprinted past him worried about setting up position for the defensive zone.

When you get to watch the replay(if you do choose to watch) take notice how in most instances they weren't moving the ball all too quick yet we basaically stood and watched them.

Ratten made a comment in the pre-match interview that he had impressed upon the players that they couldn't afford to 'sag' off their opponents, they would need to play tight to minimise Essendon's run. Unfortunately the opposite happened & many of our players spent the night playing 5 metres off their opponents, which is fine when you are playing a team that is happy to kick the ball to a 1-on-1, but Essendon were happy to chip the ball around all night, waiting for one of our players to slacken off & then run the ball. This is why there was so few tackles laid, because away from centre bounces & the occasional ball-up around the ground & boundary throw in, Essendon were not going to create many contests, because they would have been easily beaten.

I just reckon the tackles we laid too often didn't stick. Andrew Lovett is hardly Greg Inglis.

Yep, game plans and tactics aside, the fact is we missed a crap load of tackles and didn't work hard enough off the ball to attack the man either.

It's almost like collectively, with the odd exception like Robbo, the entire team was second-guessing itself. 'Should i attack the man OR should i protect the space?' This saw us sag off too many times and apply little physical pressure to Essendon.

I realise you've got to be smart about when to commit but our tackling was half-arsed and ****ing soft! Nothing much infuriates me more than consistantly soft tackling - i wasn't happy at the G the other night i can assure you.

Yep, game plans and tactics aside, the fact is we missed a crap load of tackles and didn't work hard enough off the ball to attack the man either.

It's almost like collectively, with the odd exception like Robbo, the entire team was second-guessing itself. 'Should i attack the man OR should i protect the space?' This saw us sag off too many times and apply little physical pressure to Essendon.

I realise you've got to be smart about when to commit but our tackling was half-arsed and ****ing soft! Nothing much infuriates me more than consistantly soft tackling - i wasn't happy at the G the other night i can assure you.

You hit it on the head! Thats exactly what happened. Essendons pace worried us!

No troll but if your FF had kicked 7 4 insted of 4 7 would you guys care about the tackling or carelling?

You were 2 or 3 goals better and had set shots to prove it. but didnt. Hopefully it was just a 1 off as i have a friend who told me 2 or 3 years ago our teams would meet in the GF in 2009 or 2010.

Gl next week guys,

Thats right its as simple as that..if Judd had of kicked instead of handballed or Murphy in the last play and we got a goal there would be a lot less talk...

Fev kicks straight we win...simple.

The reason why the bombers were able to take it up to us is:

Lloyd - Absolutley freaked it

Leg Speed - The bombers when their big blokes can take a few contested marks to back it up are a fantastic team when they are allowed to run. Davey, Lovett, Winderlich....we all no sheedy wasnt stupid and once a few hardened players return McPhee, McVeigh, Welsh , Prismall they will probably have the mix that will lead to them winning a lot more games..

Their speed worried us...but in saying that we really lost the game more than they won it. So dont worry too much, I did feel like we missed Scotto tho and hopefully he'll be back next week

No troll but if your FF had kicked 7 4 insted of 4 7 would you guys care about the tackling or carelling?

You were 2 or 3 goals better and had set shots to prove it. but didnt. Hopefully it was just a 1 off as i have a friend who told me 2 or 3 years ago our teams would meet in the GF in 2009 or 2010.

Gl next week guys,

Appreciate the sentiment mate but, for me at least, we're still at a stage of our development where it's much more about the process than the result.

Yes i was annoyed by our lack of defensive pressure and effort. Yes i was concerned by our lack of willingness to take the Essendon zone on and the resultant slow and predictable movement of the footy.

Yes i would have remained concerned by this even if we'd beaten Essendon by a few goals - simply because we should have beaten a team of their talent comfortably.

Carrelling blokes is not on. You should always be coming at a player even if you come at them slowly.

Agree 100%. Singing Silent Night at a bloke as a means of putting him off whilst legal is not in the spirit of the game. Certainly not in April.

Tackling was well down, too much of the tackling was aimed around the biceps which makes it all that much easier to shrug off. When we're on our game all the tackles are at the hips.

The thing that really got my goat about the loss was how our defenders were constantly zoning 10-15m in front of their opponent. Countless times after the Essendon midfield had broken through all they needed to do was go long over this player and we were in no mans land. For God's sake if the plan isn't working revert back to playing the man and at least put a ****ing body on him if he's going to take the mark. Punch him in the back of the head for all i care.

Harks the upside is we know it wasn't the usual Carlton tenacity/accuracy, the MC and the players do too. Moving right along to the Swans this week I'll eat my hat, and my cat if we pull out another performance like Saturday night.

surprised-cat.jpg

Yes i would have remained concerned by this even if we'd beaten Essendon by a few goals - simply because we should have beaten a team of their talent comfortably.

Carlton finished one spot above Essendon last year, it's frustrating how all of a sudden they think they are a shoe in for the top 4.

Your ex-Number 5 seems to be the loudest voice of all.

See how big my threats are though, I mean it, I'm angry.
And should we lose like that again I'm sure I'll pretend to have done something nasty, but instead probably crying into his cute fluffy face :D

May i have a slice of cat? Sorry Gilly!