The Telstra DUMP.

The Telstra Dump is a far better ground to watch footy than Arctic Park. It's absolutely perfect for Friday & Sat night games.
The only thing I don't like about the place is the surface, other than that it's a tremendous footy stadium. I guess I'm in the minority.
Having said that I prefer to watch Saturday arvo games at the MCG and am glad that is supposed to be our 'home' ground. The big advantage with the MCG is I can just walk up for nearly all our games, get an awesome seat near the wing where I meet up with my mates.

Mighty Hawk said:
Most of you agree with me, which is upsetting :D

ANyway my whole point is that those Telstra Dump
games are our HOME game.

If we are scheduled away games at the Dump, and i feel like
going and see our beloved Hawks then thats my choice.

I refuse to be told were to go for our home games.

Our Home games are at the G, not the Telstra Dump.

Wait and see, when we get 8 home games for whatever reasons
the people at the club try and sell to us in 2007 and beyond you,
will all be crying and whinging about it then.

Do something about it now, show the club that we will not accept
our home games be relocated anywhere else but the G.

Do you think this would happen to other clubs that have
more pull in the league, nope.

Its always the Hawks that get bent over and have to cop
it sweet by the AFL.

This will also be a test for Jeff, I will judge him
on what he does on this issue from 2007 onwards.

Will he a.ss kiss the AFL like the rest, or stand up to
them for once and do whats for the good of the club
and more importantly , The FANS

Mighty Hawk

I don't know what the hell u guys are complaining about, the dome has the best viewing in the league. I can sit in the top row of the stand and still only be about 30m from the fence unlike the top row of the southern stand where u need a telescope just to see the fence and guess what when it rains at the Dome u stay dry. Look the ground isn't perfect, it would be nice to watch a game without watching people slip over, but i'd rather be at the dome any day.

Where ever the hawks go i'll be there!!!!

matrixfire said:
I don't know what the hell u guys are complaining about, the dome has the best viewing in the league.
If you like to sit perhaps, but what if you enjoy Standing Room like Grendel and myself? No tiered standing room = killing football.

medusala said:
A number of those members would stay as members. Besides how many of them take out full membership? You would gain far more money by playing those two home games at the MCG in membership terms. The Hawks do it because the state govt underwrites the games. By all means play a wizard cup game down there.

What happened to the supposedly excellent deal Hawthorn signed with the MCG? Did that not guarantee so many home games? If it didnt what was the point of the deal?
Mate, I'm fine with it all! The CEO has stated in the past (2-3 months) on numerious occasions; including on the membership brochure, online AGM report, and in the media that the Hawthorn Football Club is in a very strong position to negotiate with the MCC and AFL now and into the future.

As for the animosity against the MCC it is completely undeserved!

Approximately 9% of paying MCC members are Hawthorn supporters; well at least according to MCC's membership forms; which puts us only behind the Demons, Pies, Bombers and Blues! The MCC always accomidates for it's members first and foremost.

LoneStar said:
Sorry MH - but I've seen the Hawks play home games at Princess Park. I've seen them play at Victoria Park, Junction Oval, Moorabin, Arden Street, Lake Oval, Western Oval and Punt Road. As fond a place as Glenferrie has in my heart, I will admit it was far from luxurious, especially if you were standing out in the terraces on a September afternoon.
Point is MH, if I'm in Melbourne I'll attend Hawks games at TD. I'd prefer the MCG, but I'm not avoiding a game because of the venue. You see, I've watched them play in far worse S h i t holes, C r a p holes, and dumps than the Telstra Dome.
Lonestar, i have been to all the C r a p holes as you put it and would take any of them back over Telstra Dump(well almost:D ).
Compared to the G, TD is a lifeless, pathetic excuse for a football ground and i also generally won't attend games there. Doesn't make us any more or less committed but it should send a message to the HFC that our home is out East of the CBD not West!(...not that it is that much further when you travel from the Peninsula, but it's the principal that counts!)

medusala said:
Hard to get to
Too hard to get in
Lack of decent bars
Joke of a surface
Having the roof shut in the middle of the day is absurd
:thumbsu:
So its just not me then! The only decent games i have there is when my brother gets me tickets for the mediallion club! It is just barely worth it then!