The Toon Army Thread

Don't forget that Remy Tiger,he's a player as you know and Anita while not playing his best game tonight helps to set the pace from defence to attack and vice versa so well with his passing range and constant availability;also tracks and defends well,tough little bugger as well.Hope he gets a few games on the trot because I think he'll grow into something very handy.Talking of which how's that bloody Williamson!!Gets better each week and is looking like he should go to the world cup.

How could I forget - his last 15 or so mins were very good, his tracking back and helping release the pressure valve with his runs and holding of the ball. Even Ben Arfa did quite well I though helping out.

Williamson should definitely be in the frame for the national side - just turning into such a reliable defender (something we've never had in large supply over the years!). Hopefully Debuchy is alright for next week, his form has been huge as well. Cabaye to miss next week against Southampton due to his yellow I think. Will be interesting to see how we line up, maybe back to Shola and Remy up top with Anita taking Cabaye's spot in the side in midfield?

What's the latest on Ashley? Sounds like the sort of bloke that is just looking to make a quick buck on a capital return. Newcastle would be the perfect club for an Arab sugar daddy to take over with its massive fan base and history.

A lot of the speculation is that Cashley would sell the club for around $240-260m (basically to recover what he has invested into the team) if he could. He has a stake in Rangers FC and there are some rumours he would like to increase his owning share in the club as it would be seen as an easier club to pocket champions league money from. I think he is just happy to use St James' and the club as a platform to grow his sporting goods empire and he doesn't care for the fans, history, city or club.

I really wish we could get a billionaire with good intentions for the club to come in. As you've said, we have a massive (and loyal) fanbase who regularly pack out St James' - one of the best (IMO) and biggest stadiums in the country. The squad is quite handy already and a bit of investment, could maybe help us push for regular European football. I wouldn't even want to have someone pumping in $50-100m every transfer window, just a bit when there is need to.

At the end of the day, most fans just want an owner who runs us sensibly and with a bit of ambition - not a clown who likes taking advantage of the free advertising he can do for his sports direct business at home games, appointing non qualified figures like Joe Kinnear to important roles within the club and basically doing everything he can to upset the fans with bizarre decisions and no dialogue or justification provided.

Yeah possibly that but I wouldn't rule Ben Arfa out of the starting 11 after what he produced in his time tonight.It was evident even in the way he was warming up that he realises talent needs to work its arse off and that's what he did when he got on.Noticeably more energetic and team oriented.I am deadly serious in beginning to believe that I have been wrong all along about Pardew.Either that or he's improving out of sight because I rated him fairly low.:):thumbsu::thumbsu:

PIE-BOI hey buddy, another Toon fan! Feel free to post in here mate, there aren't many of us on big footy but hopefully we can keep it growing (just like Remy's goal tally this season) ;)

1497710_547619601980957_1817734129_n.jpg

Love Pardew's smug smile here :D

Yesterday marked Pardew's third year at the helm. On the balance of things, he hasn't done too badly given the lack of support from Cashley.

We have also drawn Cardiff in the FA Cup at home.

http://metro.co.uk/2013/12/11/the-i...nited-bosses-show-their-true-colours-4226651/

Cashley now demanding that the press pay to interview players and staff...

Money grubbing at its finest :confused:
British parliament rumoured to be introducing legislation preventing knobs from owning the club I support;get behind it!
We're not playing flash football tonight but probably good enough to stay in front of Southhampton.Anita has been disappointing after I held great hopes for him;so basically we need to increase the pressure,intensity and skill level,particularly when finishing off the counter-attack.NOT ASKING TOO MUCH???

British parliament rumoured to be introducing legislation preventing knobs from owning the club I support;get behind it!
We're not playing flash football tonight but probably good enough to stay in front of Southhampton.Anita has been disappointing after I held great hopes for him;so basically we need to increase the pressure,intensity and skill level,particularly when finishing off the counter-attack.NOT ASKING TOO MUCH???

I feel that game was really 2 points dropped rather than a good draw. We controlled the game for large parts and didn't look too fazed but after half time, and their subs, they really took control of the game (or we got complacent - or both) and scored. Remy missing an open goal hurt but I guess they also did hit the upright too.

Crazy end to the game though, ref getting knocked down and then both benches clashing in the final 5 odd minutes.

I thought Anita was solid but his set pieces were pretty bad and we missed Cabaye for corners and free kicks. How good was his little dribble into the box!? If only someone had been there to get on the end of it.

Some interesting transfer rumours starting to pop up - apparently Colocinni is 'happy' again and won't try and force a move in January.

Some reports we are keen on Berbatov (who was infact a toon fan in his younger days!). At 32 though, I can't see us picking him up though stranger things have happened and with Kinnear presiding over things...

Steven Taylor may go out on loan according to his agent to find first team football and the stories we are looking at Zaha still seem to be doing the rounds.

I feel that game was really 2 points dropped rather than a good draw. We controlled the game for large parts and didn't look too fazed but after half time, and their subs, they really took control of the game (or we got complacent - or both) and scored. Remy missing an open goal hurt but I guess they also did hit the upright too.

Crazy end to the game though, ref getting knocked down and then both benches clashing in the final 5 odd minutes.

I thought Anita was solid but his set pieces were pretty bad and we missed Cabaye for corners and free kicks. How good was his little dribble into the box!? If only someone had been there to get on the end of it.
Yeah I wrote that at half time when I thought we were controlling the game and would probably see it out despite the fact that I didn't think we were setting any records for style or ferocity.But in the second half we definitely proceeded to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory and certainly did not match their intensity and craft.As you say they took control and we didn't do much arguing about it.Anita was fine I just think he's capable of a higher standard consistently.
Overall disappointing loss of two points.Got to have more fire and guile at home but by the same token he's a good coach that bloke,they were good substitutions and their tactics put us on the back foot second half.I don't remember Anita's dribble must have been getting another red or pointing percy at the porcelain.

Yeah I wrote that at half time when I thought we were controlling the game and would probably see it out despite the fact that I didn't think we were setting any records for style or ferocity.But in the second half we definitely proceeded to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory and certainly did not match their intensity and craft.As you say they took control and we didn't do much arguing about it.Anita was fine I just think he's capable of a higher standard consistently.
Overall disappointing loss of two points.Got to have more fire and guile at home but by the same token he's a good coach that bloke,they were good substitutions and their tactics put us on the back foot second half.I don't remember Anita's dribble must have been getting another red or pointing percy at the porcelain.

Scon, not sure if you're on facebook (or if this link will work for you) but here is a clip of Anita's sublime dribble - would make Ben Arfa proud!

Also some nice hold up play by Shola too.

Very impressive ta very much!Great tight control but the assessment and deception is all done in the head,no step overs or body swerves just rapid fire decision making,fast feet and close control.This is why I hope he gets enough gametime to realise how good he can be in the EPL.
If he gets on top of his passing game he could be a great contributor.
I hadn't seen that before and really appreciate you taking the time cheers NUFC Tiger.

Very impressive ta very much!Great tight control but the assessment and deception is all done in the head,no step overs or body swerves just rapid fire decision making,fast feet and close control.This is why I hope he gets enough gametime to realise how good he can be in the EPL.
If he gets on top of his passing game he could be a great contributor.
I hadn't seen that before and really appreciate you taking the time cheers NUFC Tiger.

No worries at all Scon!

Agreed, he's a gifted player (I guess you can't be that bad if you get capped for the Dutch national side!). Apparently, he bulked up quite a bit in the pre season to help him stay on the ball without getting brushed off quite as much which he definitely did last season at times.

With Tiote and Cabaye striking up a good chemistry again and Sissoko starting to play better, we have a few handy choices for the CM positions!

Certainly do have some strong options;Tiote is the one that I see Anita threatening if he can get his passing game going.Tiote's game has improved with better decision making,fewer stupid fouls,cards and brain fades on the ball,but I think Anita is potentially a better option because he can be an immaculate passer of the ball and very good decision maker.He looks powerful for a small man,is strong in the tackle and courageous.The central mid metronome who picks it up and gets it rolling;but just because I think he can do it doesn't put him in the team against some strong competition as you say.We will see.

Great win last night - we didn't seem to play at our best (though the wet conditions could have been a reason for that!) but still controlled and dominated the game pretty much for the full 90 minutes (think we finished with 66% possession?).

Cabaye was sensational - could have had 2-4 goals with a bit more luck! Debuchy and Sissoko destroyed them on the right hand side and it was great to see Ben Arfa come in and do a lively cameo as well as nab a goal which should be good for his confidence.

If I were Pardew, I might have made our changes a bit earlier since we were cruising at 2-0 for most of the second half - with the busy Christmas schedule coming up, could maybe have afforded to rest a few players (think we only made 2 subs in the last 10 or so minutes).

With 2 home games now against Stoke and Arsenal, hopefully we can finish 2013 with a bang and pick up 4 (or 6 points!). :D

The win against Palace was clinical - troubling conditions, away from home and against a team who desperately wanted a point ......,.very unlike the Newcastle of old.

Once we got the first one, it really was a matter of by how many.

All we can do is keep adding 1 & 3's on every outing and maintain the pressure on those above.

The win against Palace was clinical - troubling conditions, away from home and against a team who desperately wanted a point ......,.very unlike the Newcastle of old.

Once we got the first one, it really was a matter of by how many.

All we can do is keep adding 1 & 3's on every outing and maintain the pressure on those above.

True that Moo - was apparently our biggest away win (in the EPL) since Portsmouth back in 2008 I think I read!

Scary to think Cabaye could have had a hat trick with a bit of luck and Gouffran hit the frame of the goal - could have been a lot heavier on the scoreline.

Was a very confident and polished display given the conditions. Barely any injuries and most of the players fit and firing - we are in a very healthy position for the Christmas period (where I think we have 4 games in 2 weeks?). Hopefully can keep up the winning pressure and close the gap to the teams in the CL places (didn't think I'd say that after our 4-0 loss on the opening day!).

Great win over Stoke - some healthy boost to our goal difference!

Started off a bit slow and sluggish and obviously went down 1-0 but after that, we started playing better and the 2 red cards to Stoke definitely helped kick us into gear. Thought the first red was a bit stiff (the first yellow was a bit soft) but they couldn't blame the second one which was silly.

Remy scoring 2 and getting back on the scoresheet (had a bit of a drought!), Gouff scoring for his 5th consecutive home game, Cabaye continuing his awesome form with a great team goal and Cisse rounding off the scoring with a great penalty.

To think the score could have been a lot more - Remy stuffing up his penalty, Ben Arfa hitting the frame of the goal twice and arguably having 2 penalty decisions turned down as well.

Bring on Arsenal! No Ramsey for them and Tiote back for us!

Nice little article about Iron Mike! What a difference he is making this season!

"It is no coincidence that Newcastle's rise to Champions League contention has coincided with Williamson's return alongside Fabricio Coloccini. After all Alan Pardew's team have won 64% of the games the one-time Torquay and Wycombe defender has started this season; without "Iron Mike" in the first XI that ratio falls to 33%."

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/dec/27/mike-williamson-newcastle-united-arsenal

The Toon Army Thread