The Transcript Series: Best Of

Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
I know what you’re thinking; what sort of self-indulgent thread have I stumbled into? What sort of self-aggrandising, ego maniac devotes an entire thread to a ‘best of’ of his own posts?

It’s a fair observation.

You’re thinking: the transcripts were just a rip off of Expect ToWin’s threads on the Port board with some Billy Birmingham thrown in for good measure. And they weren’t that funny anyway.

All true.

You’re thinking; Carl is probably just stuck for ideas so is just stalling for time rather than coming up with something new, sort of like a Simpsons clip show.

Also true.

But I’m forging ahead with the thread anyway. Partly to reminisce on the season and to document what was the year from hell. Also to put the transcripts together in the same place. Or, at the very least, to laugh at Neil one more time.

Around the time of our fifth consecutive loss, the realization hit home that we weren’t just having a bad patch. We actually stunk. As the losses, injuries, laughable goal kicking and club-imposed suspensions mounted, all we could do was laugh. We had to. What else could we do?

The first transcript was based on a selection meeting, appropriately tucked away in a selection thread (Post #77). We had a long injury list but Neil went to great lengths to make sure we didn’t use our injuries as an excuse.

Neil Craig: Well let’s see who we’ve got on the table. Ok… Dangerfield, Knights, Henderson all injured from the weekend. Hentschel, Mackay, Martin, Moran, Otten, Sellar, Sloane, Symes are all still out. Stevens, Bock, van Berlo, Porplyzia, Vince, Thompson, Tippett all playing sore or underdone. But we can’t use injuries as an excuse. And as a club we won’t. I absolutely will not use our enormous, debilitating injury list as an excuse.
And that goes for every one of you when you speak to the press. Don’t even mention injuries. Well… you can mention them when asked why our performances are so bad. But you cannot use them as an excuse. But, yeah I want you to mention them. But don’t lead off with them. Maybe throw in… hmmm… perhaps the lack of continuity, the lack of preseason for some of the players, not being able to get a stable team on the ground – throw that stuff in first so that they know we aren’t blaming injuries. After that you can mention the injuries.

An ongoing theme was Neil’s frustration at being lumped with Ben Hart and Matthew Clarke – two assistant coaches who were out of their depth and offered little help. This mostly stemmed from Hart’s brief post-halftime interview one game when we were getting absolutely pulverized and all he could come up with was “we don’t think we should change anything.” Plus Clarke’s docile, nice-guy nature.

Neil Craig: Look, I’m sorry about those two, I know they’re out of their element. But we’re stuck with them. Long story… we were having a bit of salary cap trouble a few years ago… so we promised about a dozen blokes a job after they finished playing, in lieu of match payments. We’ve even got D Jars doing some corporate speaking stuff. God he’s terrible. Makes an awful mess of the buffets too.

This first transcript also was the start of the Craig-Walker dynamic which became more prominent later on.

Phil Harper: Should we get back to picking the team?
Neil Craig: Good idea. Thoughts?

David Noble: Taylor Walker kicked 3 for the Redlegs.

Neil Craig: Who?

David Noble: Walker. The Broken Hill kid.

Neil Craig: Oh, him. I think our half back line is ok at the moment, don’t see a spot for him. Anyone else?

The first transcript also introduced another recurring theme: Neil’s Jokes. We always hear from the club about how funny Neil is and what a wicked sense of humour he has... but to be honest I can’t remember him cracking too many gags in his press conferences.

Todd Viney: What about the game plan?
Neil Craig: What about it?

Todd Viney: Well, do we need to change it up a little?

Neil Craig: I don’t think so.

Todd Viney: Well, it’s not really working.

Neil Craig: Maybe we could get Matty and Benny to come up with a new one?

<everyone laughs>

Neil Craig: Actually, Matty is probably producing more on the toilet right now than he has all year in this room.

<everyone laughs again>

Neil Craig: Actually, where is Matty? Did he fall in? Hi-oh!!!

<everyone laughs even harder>

Mark Bickley: You’re so bad, Neil!

David Noble: This is the side of you the public doesn’t see, Neil!

The first transcript was quite fun to write and received some positive feedback so, one Showdown loss later, No. 2 arrived. At the time there was a fair bit of debate on this board about the age of our list and whether we should be playing more youngsters.

Alan Stewart: Neil, Jonah and I have been talking with some of the younger players, and there’s a bit of a feeling around the group that you don’t really trust them.
Peter Jonas: Yeah, some of them feel that you are just waiting for the older players to come back from injury so that you can drop them.

Neil Craig: Well, that’s ridiculous. I don’t have any problem giving young players a game. Except Walker. Never trust a bloke with two last names, that’s my policy. Two first names is ok. But I’ve always been a big believer in promoting youth.

Neil’s jokes got another run and it was becoming increasingly obvious that Mark Bickley was his Number 1 fan.

Simon Goodwin: Neil, during the last leadership group meeting-
Neil Craig: Sorry Simon – who’s in the leadership group again?

Simon Goodwin: Me, Truck, Symesy, VB, Dogga…

Neil Craig: (closes eyes and opens imaginary envelope) What is… this weeks’ list of outs!

(every laughs except Simon Goodwin)

Mark Bickley: Youdaman, Neil!

Neil shows admirable restraint and control as a coach but we saw glimpses in his press conferences (“Do you know what our team would look like without them?”) that if the right buttons were pushed he could react.

Neil Craig: (angry) Look, we’ve debuted 6 kids in 6 weeks. What more do you want?!
Stephen Trigg: Neil, settle-

Neil Craig: No! I’ve had a gutful of this Neil-Craig-hates-young-players crap. Cook, Davis, Petrenko, Doughty… these kids are all getting games and have been all season.

Peter Jonas: Doughty’s not a young player.

Neil Craig: What do you mean? How old’s Dogga?

Peter Jonas: 31.

Neil Craig: Bullshit.

Phil Harper: Yeah, he is.

The season rolled on. The losses rolled on. The pressure started to mount on Neil and the third transcript arrived. Neil also received quite a bit of criticism when he described Burton’s form as “solid” after a series of diabolically bad performances.

Peter Jonas: Tough weekend mate?
Neil Craig: Nightmare. Did you see the paper today? (scanning newspaper) Indecisive… pathetic… spineless… insipid… and listen to this bit: Craig seemed frozen in the coaches’ box, powerless to stop the fourth quarter onslaught in an all-too-familiar capitulation. Ouch. He had even fewer answers in his post match interviews… and it goes on like this, mostly about me. What does vacillating mean anyway?

Peter Jonas: Don’t read that garbage mate. Try to get your mind off footy for a while. How are those FirePower shares you bought going?

Neil Craig: …they’ve been solid.

Neil’s frustrations were beginning to build as our ‘top four’ assault was going up in smoke. It was only natural that he would start to feel he had been let down by those around him.

Neil Craig: Did you see Benny’s defensive match ups on Saturday? Dogga on Robbie Gray for 9 scoring shots… Benny should have got the medal, not Gray. And Matty? Christ… we haven’t had a hit out to advantage all season and Jonathan Griffin is going backwards at pace. We might as well bring back Lucas Herbert.
Peter Jonas: Yeah Griffo’s struggling big time. Is that Freo trade still on the table?

Neil Craig: Only if we’re interested in Kepler Bradley.

Peter Jonas: Jesus.

Channeling Malcolm Blight didn’t quite have the desired effect.

Todd Viney: There’s a couple of things we want to get out in the open. Firstly, we – that’s David, Bicks and I – have been chatting. We really think we have to be realistic and accept that 2010 is gone. Finals are out of the equation and the preseason for 2011 starts now.
(There is a long silence. Neil gets up, walks over to the white board and writes “16” in big letters, then resumes his seat)

Neil Craig: I saw a great man do this once. Can anyone tell me what it means?

Todd Viney: The position we’re going to finish?

Neil Craig: Wha?-… no… no Todd. Sixteen games to go is what it means.

Someone copied this transcript and sent it round as an email. It ended up lobbing in The Advertiser offices and the above exchange got a run in Rucci’s Roast.

Walker was still out of the team at this stage which was creating quite a bit of angst among supporters. Neil was determined to stick to his guns though.

David Noble: Um… Taylor Walker… I think there’s a real issue brewing here.
Neil Craig: You’re right. Glad you mentioned it actually, we can solve that one now. Let’s see… we’ve used defensive pressure… lack of pace… contested ball… not enough flexibility… team balance… can’t fit him, Burton and Tippett in the same forward line… what have we got left for this week? We need something

David Noble: No, Neil-

Neil Craig: Can we go back to defensive pressure? People might have forgotten that one. Actually we can probably just cycle through them all again. The football public are just like goldfish you know, 3 minute-

David Noble: Neil! Stop! You’re not listening. We think Walker should play this week.

Neil Craig: What… for Norwood?

David Noble: No, no. For us. The Crows.

Neil Craig: (brief pause) When you guys called this meeting I was thinking maybe you had an idea for a 17 man zone variation or an extra exercise bike for the interchange bench… but this… (shakes head). Well… ok, let’s just… I mean… well Todd, it’s really your call in the end. Do you think you can squeeze him in to your rotations?

Todd Viney: What? He’s not a midfielder.

David Noble: No, we want to use him at full forward.

Neil Craig: David! There’s no room up there.

The club had earmarked top four as a target in 2010 but at 0-5 our plans were in freefall. Flights and hotel bookings in September had to be cancelled, the club champion night had to be rescheduled and by the fourth transcript, Neil was beginning to think that everyone except him had given up.

Phil Harper: Along a similar theme, some of the assistant coaches are wondering if they can take their annual leave in September?
Neil Craig: What?

Phil Harper: Apparently they can get cheaper flights in September because it’s out of school holidays, especially if they book now. David Noble wants to go to Cancun with his family.

Neil Craig: Where the f___’s that? No they can’t bloody well take annual leave in September. Well, Ben Hart and Matthew Clarke can, but tell the others to hold off. Sorry if I’m ruining their chance of getting a suntan, but we are running a football club here. Geez, if we pull off a miracle and make the finals, I’ll be the only coach here and we’ll be bussing to Melbourne to stay in a f___ing caravan park-

The fourth transcript also saw the introduction of media spin doctor David Burtenshaw, charged with protecting the image of the club against a backdrop of on-field turmoil. He had plenty of advice for Neil, not all of it well received.

David Burtenshaw: In those interviews it wouldn’t hurt if you stopped mentioning finals. Maybe if we stop throwing the F word out there people will forget we said anything about top four. Also we’ve run some focus groups and there are a few phrases you use that people are getting sick off. Where are we…? (searches through notes) … contested ball, fierce determination, playing group, we have to keep working on that, finals-like intensity-
Phil Harper: Oh yeah, you use that one all the time.

David Burtenshaw: Also they said that you should never be on camera wearing shorts. Apparently that is a real turn off.

Neil Craig: (under breath) This will all help us win games will it?

At 0-6 things had reached crisis point. The season was gone and it all got a bit much for Neil. The fifth transcript detailed his mental breakdown. Bicks of course remained a true believer.

Neil Craig: (quietly) Where did it all go wrong?
Phil Harper: …Neil?

Neil Craig: (in a daze) This season. We sat in this very room after the Collingwood final last year and set the foundation for a premiership assault. We had the players, we had the firepower up forward… the perfect mix of youth and experience. “Why trade when we already have the best list?” I remember saying those exact words. Now… we’re in a fight to the death for the wooden spoon with bloody Richmond. (long sigh)

Phil Harper: Ahh, Neil… selection meeting?

Neil Craig: This was meant to be my crowning glory, you know? We’d been building for six years. 2010 was the culmination…

Mark Bickley: (punches air) Culmination.

The Walker issue still wouldn’t go away. He was still in the SANFL and Neil had had a gut full.

Neil Craig: I am so sick of this Taylor Walker stuff. What is he anyway, God’s gift to football? Anyone would think he was the youngest player ever to kick 50 goals in the SANFL or something.
David Noble: Actually I think he was.

The old players were popular candidates to be dropped and it was up to Neil to fight against the tide of criticism on their behalf.

Neil Craig: Are we back on this again? The old-player-bashing?
Todd Viney: Neil, it’s not an age thing. It’s purely form. Burton is struggling big time and made some massive blues after half time.

Neil Craig: Look, I’ve been pretty happy with Brett. He’s been competing well in the forward line… mostly against Tippett, but he’s at least providing a contest.

Todd Viney: Doughty’s the other one.

David Noble: Yeah, it really looks as though the speed of the game has caught up with him.

Neil Craig: Now that’s unfair. His backwards handball is as quick as anyone in the game.

After weeks and weeks of admirable restraint from Neil, in the end it was forgotten small forward Jarrhan Jacky who was the straw that broke the camel’s back and triggered his meltdown.

Todd Viney: Where’s Jarrhan Jacky at?
David Noble: Still injured I think. (checks his notes) Hamstring, few weeks away.

Phil Harper: Actually, while we’re on it... We’ve had a request through from the Eagles. Their reserves have been travelling ok… they want to bring Jacky back through SMOSH if that’s alright.

Neil Craig: Oh, for crying out- … I can see the headlines… Crows player running round in the amateurs against bloody Kilburn or something… Rucci would be rubbing his hands together. Oh well, 16 more weeks and he can clean out his locker.

Phil Harper: Actually Neil… Jarrhan’s contracted for next year too.

<Neil’s eye twitches again. He gets up chuckling to himself and starts walking slow laps around the table>

Neil Craig: Anyone else finding this funny? John bloody Reid…eh? Ha-ha! You’ve got to hand it to him… he might be gone but he’s still F___ING WITH ME!

Phil Harper: (horrified) …Neil?

Neil Craig: Ben Hudson… the best ruckman we’ve had since Shaun Rehn… three year deal please… but NOOOO-OOOO!... We can’t possibly do that… Jacky on the other hand… here’s a ten year deal and would you like to kick Neil in the balls while you’re at it? You win JR!

After five transcripts it was getting hard not to repeat the same stuff. It was time to branch out. Next up was a live-action, web-based Q+A show called “Crows On The Couch” where fans could email in questions. Neil teamed up with Brent Reilly and Richard Douglas. This was first time players had been introduced into the mix.

The senior players had flexed their muscle and altered our match-eve training sessions and the deck chairs were well and truly being shuffled. It’s tough for me to judge given that I’m usually a little too close to the ‘joke’ to be subjective, but I thought this was the best of the transcripts. I’m not sure if it was the coach-player dynamics or just because Gary Ayers made an appearance, but it struck a chord with me.

David Burtenshaw: Ok, Neil. The next one’s for you. Cornelius of Woodville writes: Dear Neil, do you think you are too short to be an AFL coach? I’ve noticed that during the team huddles the players at the back don’t seem to be able to see or hear you properly.
Neil Craig: …That is the most-

David Burtenshaw: Hang on, there’s more. Also in the footage from the rooms before the game and at half time you don’t seem to be able to reach the top of the whiteboard. Is this why we don’t have good tactics in the forward line?

<Both players burst out laughing>

Richard Douglas: Sorry Neil, that was us mate! We wrote that one.

Of course, it wouldn’t have been a transcript without a Walker-Craig moment.

David Burtenshaw: Neil, we’ve got a question here about Taylor Walker.
Neil Craig: Ah, I thought we might get a few of these.

David Burtenshaw: Lucy of Brighton writes: Dear Neil, can you PLEASE play Taylor Walker this week? He is so hot and he kicks lots of goals. I can’t believe you’re not picking him and we’re losing every game anyway.

Neil Craig: Ok, let me put this one to bed once and for all. Lucy, Taylor is a very talented player and will be an outstanding footballer for this football club. But, at the moment, he has a few aspects of his game that he needs to improve. As a club, we would be derelict in our duty not to fix them up now and to let him survive on talent alone. If we put the work in now and get his defensive-action and his contested ball and all the other areas of his game up to speed, then we’ll have a truly special player on our hands.

David Burtenshaw: Ok, pretty comprehensive. The next one’s about Walker too. Greg of Blair Athol writes: Dear Neil, I can’t understand why you are persisting with older players like Burton and Stevens instead of investing games into Walker. These guys have had their chance, it’s time for the next generation to get their opportunity.

Neil Craig: Right, I think I’ve already really answered that one David. Can you maybe put that question and any of the other Taylor Walker questions to the side?

David Burtenshaw: Ok, I’ll do that. I’ve got another one for you here. Chris of Parkside writes: Dear Neil, why did you put Massie on Franklin in the 2007 elimination final? That move cost us the game and possibly a crack at a grand final. What on earth were you thinking?

Neil Craig: …are there any more Taylor Walker questions?

It dawned on me during the ‘Reilly: Training Is Boring Saga’ that what the club was producing was far funnier than any fiction I could come up with. This was an illuminating moment as I realized I didn’t have to create any funny ideas or situations, I could simply use a ‘fly on the wall’ approach to document what was probably happening at the time.

David Burtenshaw: The next one is for Brent Reilly. Kathy of North Adelaide writes: Dear Brent, in an interview last week you said that training was boring. Can you explain what you mean?
Brent Reilly: I thought this one might come up! Bit of a misunderstanding. What I was trying to say was that some drills… if you do them a number of times… not that they’re bad drills or anything. So yeah, if you’re hearing the same voice and the same message… not that the messages are wrong or boring... I’m not explaining this very well, am I?

Neil Craig: No, you’re not.

Brent Reilly: The important thing is that “boring” wasn’t the right word. I should have used…

Richard Douglas: Monotonous?

Brent Reilly: Yeah, that’s a bit better. Routine maybe…

Richard Douglas: Mind-numbing?

Brent Reilly: That’s probably a bit strong… draining?

Richard Douglas: Tedious?

Brent Reilly: Yeah, tedious works. Dull?

Richard Douglas: Depressing? Lackluster? Cheerless?

Neil Craig: (under breath) You get a thesaurus for your birthday, Dougie?

Brent Reilly: Tedious is probably the best one I reckon. But yeah, certainly not boring. I made a mistake there.

Neil Craig: Well thanks very much for clarifying that for everyone, Brent… much appreciated.

After this transcript, something unexpected happened; we won a game. It threw me completely. How would a win affect the environment at the club? I hid the ensuing transcript away in a Face Off thread (Post #23) while I regrouped. Neil was understandably upbeat after the win and thought it had bought him some breathing space. The Board didn’t agree.

Stephen Trigg: Neil, you have to see it from their point of view. We were eyeing off a top four spot and now we’re sitting one and six. There has to be some fall out. It’s 12 years now since our last flag and it’ll be an 18 team competition soon so even tougher to win one. The Board thinks that their opportunity is slipping away. They thought this was the year.
Neil Craig: (snaps fingers) You know what the catalyst was? John bloody Reid and his “best list ever” comments. Since that day it has been all downhill. I knew we didn’t have the list to challenge – not yet. It was always going to be a tough year-

David Burtenshaw: This was from before Round 1, Neil. (reading from newspaper article) “Our expectations? They are high – like they should be,” said Craig.

Neil Craig: See? I said high. I never mentioned top four.

David Burtenshaw: (reading) “The bar should go up. There should be no limitations. We should challenge for the top four,” said Craig.

Neil Craig: …I was talking about 2011, David. It was… out of context.

Wins were at a premium.

Neil Craig: We’ll just have to keep winning then. They can’t sack me after a win can they?
Phil Harper: They sacked Ayers after a win.

Neil Craig: Thanks Phil.

At 0-6 our decision not to trade at the end of 2009 was looking a little misguided.

Neil Craig: I never said no trading… I just don’t like treating my own players like commodities, that’s all. How are they supposed to play for you if they think you might want to off load them at the end of the season? Besides, it’s not like we haven’t been active. We went after Jordie McKenzie big time last season.
David Burtenshaw: Who?

Phil Harper: Melbourne kid. Tackling machine, goes ok. Chose to stay on the wooden spooner’s rookie list rather than play for Neil.

Neil Craig: Thanks Phil… probably not the phrasing I would have used though.

If we thought the season couldn’t get any worse, we were wrong. A pathetic loss to North Melbourne was followed by the news that three players had been suspended for breaking team rules. Post #102 in the Brisbane match selection thread.

Todd Viney: Neil, with all due respect, we’re the ones who are going to get the arse if this season continues the way it is. It’s very easy for the players to say suspend this guy and drop that guy, they aren’t the ones under pressure.
Neil Craig: Look, I don’t want to undermine their authority. Besides the leadership group haven’t just been suspending players. They’ve been coming up with some great suggestions lately. In fact just this week they organised some new warm up equipment for the older players.

Todd Viney: What, a hot water bottle?

Neil Craig: Leave the funny stuff to me Todd. I’ve warned you before.

Todd Viney: But it’s all so trivial… a few minutes late back to the hotel? I heard that the leadership group were just pissed off that they weren’t invited to Otto’s 21st and took it out the players.

Phil Harper: Neil, I’m sort of inclined to agree with Todd on this one. A one week ban… that’s the same as we gave Nathan Bock last year. How does that work?

Neil Craig: Apples and oranges, Phil.

Phil Harper: But Neil, are we happy that missing a curfew by a few minutes cops the same penalty as assaulting your missus?

Todd Viney: How do you like them apples?

Every day it seems as though some former Crow has a role at the football club invented for them.

Neil Craig: Look, what have you got against the older players? You’re always having a go at them.
Todd Viney: To be honest, I think a few of them just want to keep playing until Hart and Clarke’s contracts are up so they can walk straight into a job. We’re basically running a superannuation plan.

There were whispers for two years that Viney and Craig didn’t exactly see eye to eye. I don’t think anyone was surprised when Viney moved on at the end of the season. Trouble had been brewing for a while.

Todd Viney: Look, this is ridiculous. We tolerate bad form for 9 weeks but don’t tolerate being late by 9 minutes? We’re going into a winnable game on our own paddock and we’re choosing not to play our best team. Just for the sake of a few ‘guidelines’ policed by a problem gambler-
Neil Craig: No one’s above the rules Todd. There are strict behavior guidelines in place. Training standards, preparation, recovery, team meetings, media comments, respecting authority… players can be punished for a whole variety of breaches. And so can assistant coaches for that matter Todd.

Todd Viney: Can an assistant coach get into trouble for something they are thinking?

Neil Craig: …no.

Todd Viney: Well I think you’re a w***er then.

Neil Craig: (raising voice) Well, who asked you anyway Viney? Don’t you have tennis players to ruin?

Todd Viney: (angry) Piss off Neil. Contested ball, contested ball, contested ball… we gonna hear anything else from you this year?

Neil Craig: Yeah, “Craig Appoints New Assistant Coach”… we might hear that at some stage.

Todd Viney: Oh, really? On the hunt for another yes-man? Which Crows Old Boy are you going to pad your nest with this time?

I’ve never really written anything before. Around this time I was experiencing the equivalent of ‘writer’s block’ – the lines didn’t come quite as easy and I found myself repeating the same gags.

The transcript series also suffered a couple of major body blows. First, I finished my annual leave and had to go back to work. Second, we were about to start winning some games which was comedy poison. Just when I was scratching around for ideas though, Tyson Edwards came along and answered my prayers.

David Burtenshaw: Well, the Edwards issue is the big one. We’ve got to get our story straight. Shall we go though it top to bottom?
Stephen Trigg: Yeah, let’s clear that up once and for all... got very messy last week.

David Burtenshaw: So, Neil – I just want to get a clear picture of how this was handled. Wednesday night was team selection and Edwards was dropped?

Neil Craig: No, he was part of the 25.

David Burtenshaw: But he was dropped from the team?

Neil Craig: We hadn’t named the final team yet.

David Burtenshaw: But Cook and Gunston were in the 25 and knew they’d be playing SANFL?

Neil Craig: Yes.

David Burtenshaw: So we had named a final 22 then?

Neil Craig: …No.

David Burtenshaw: Well how did those guys know they were going to be playing SANFL then?

Neil Craig: Look… before we go any further, I think the important thing here is that we don’t play the blame game.

It was an amazing couple of days. First Edwards was dropped, then he retired, then he wasn’t getting a farewell game but the next day he was. It reeked of amateur hour with a fair bit of petulance and stubbornness (from both parties) thrown in.

David Burtenshaw: We really need to get away from saying ‘backflip’ with all the negative connotations it brings. It signifies weakness, indecisiveness, uncertainty, unsure of yourself… we need something much stronger to describe the change of heart. Shall we brainstorm a few?
Neil Craig: How about ‘reaffirmed my position.’

David Burtenshaw: That’s a bit… wanky.

Stephen Trigg: ‘Back pedal?’

David Burtenshaw: That’s really the same as backflip.

Neil Craig: (snaps fingers) I’ve got it; ‘refined my approach.’

David Burtenshaw: …still wanky, Neil. ‘Second thoughts’ maybe?

Neil Craig: Is wanky even a word?

Stephen Trigg: ‘Retreat?’

David Burtenshaw: That’s worse than backflip.

Stephen Trigg: Sorry. This is hard. Maybe it would be easier if we went back to your original decision and don’t give him a farewell game?

David Burtenshaw: Hmmm… a double backflip? Is that more or less decisive than a backflip?

Neil Craig: That’s worse surely.

David Burtenshaw: You’re right. We’ll stick with your original decision.

Stephen Trigg: Hang on… Neil’s original decision or his backflip decision?

David Burtenshaw: His original backflip decision.

Stephen Trigg: So not his original decision or his double backflip decision?

David Burtenshaw: …that’s right.

Stephen Trigg: So is Tyson getting a farewell game or not?

Neil Craig: Buggered if I know. I’m afraid you’ve lost me David.

David Burtenshaw: (rolls eyes) Yes, he is. And I think we’ll stay with ‘backflip’ after all.

Stephen Trigg: Ok, good. Decisive. Strong leadership. Well done everyone.

The second segment of “Crows On The Couch” didn’t really work. The idea was to pair up Stephen Trigg and Neil Craig and have fans email in suggestions about how to turn the team’s fortunes around.

Trigg and Craig always seem to get on together so well, it seemed like a perfect match up with some dark humour on offer, as they couldn’t help but laugh at the dire situation they were in. The idea was ok but it needed a bit more work.

David Burtenshaw: No, the next one’s from Jan of Lobethal who writes: We have too many blonde players. They are spending all their time in front of the mirror styling and preening themselves. We should draft some tough nuts instead of these pretty boys.
Stephen Trigg: Hear, hear.

Neil Craig: Spot on Jan. Garnier Fructis could sponsor us I reckon.

Stephen Trigg: Bring back Rodney Maynard!

Neil Craig: You’re on the money with this one Jan. How much time did Darren Jarman ever spend in front of the mirror?

Stephen Trigg: Not enough!

Neil Craig: From now on it’s shaved heads all round and we’ll take all the mirrors out of the change rooms tomorrow.

Stephen Trigg: We’ll bank that one David. File it over here. (takes the paper from David)

Neil Craig: One good idea… it’s a start! The others we’ve had so far… well you can file them with Ben Hart’s training ideas.

Stephen Trigg: What, in the garbage can?

Neil Craig: That’s right!

Stephen Trigg: Alongside Rucci’s interview requests?

Neil Craig: Yeah! And Nathan Bock’s Advertiser articles.

Stephen Trigg: And our game plan.

Neil Craig: Ouch! Harsh but fair Triggy.

Stephen Trigg: (chuckles) Only joking Neil.

Even though the transcript didn’t really click, there was still the opportunity to lampoon a few old favourites.

David Burtenshaw: Ok, moving on… Tom of Woodcroft suggests: The team seems very low on confidence at the moment. You should make a tape of all the good bits of play from this year and show it to the players to give them a boost.
Stephen Trigg: What do you think Neil?

Neil Craig: Do we have 3 seconds of blank tape we can use? Would be the world’s shortest video I reckon. Even shorter than a montage Matthew Clarke’s contested marks.

Stephen Trigg: Or clips of Ian Perrie’s correctly spinning drop punts.

Neil Craig: Ha-ha… (shakes head) Sarge. I like that one. What about Ben Rutten’s chase down tackles?

Stephen Trigg: Not bad. Michael Doughty’s forward kicks?

Neil Craig: Jarrhan Jacky’s highlight reel!

<Stephen Trigg and Neil Craig wet themselves laughing>

Neil Craig: (wiping away tear) Oh, I haven’t laughed this much in ages… not since Will Young’s debut anyway.

Stephen Trigg: Stop it Neil! I don’t know if I’m going to be able to go on here.

The pressure continued to mount. Neil seemed in denial about the state we were in and couldn’t understand what all the fuss was about.

Neil Craig: What’s the big deal? We’re going to miss the finals for their first time in six seasons? So sue me. Check out how many teams have made the last six finals series in a row and get back to me.
Stephen Trigg: Neil, we can’t just hang our hat on previous campaigns and ask people to ignore the present. Remember, this is the “now” generation we’re dealing with.

Neil Craig: I’ve got a 60% win-loss record you know. How many coaches can boast that?

Stephen Trigg: It’s not all about win-loss, Neil.

Neil Craig: That’s ridiculous, of course it is. Winning matches is everything.

Stephen Trigg: No, Neil. It’s also about achievement. What have we had… two preliminary finals in 05/06? Since then we’ve gone backwards.

Neil Craig: But those two years showed what I can do. We won a minor premiership for the first time in the club’s history.

Stephen Trigg: That’s in the past though, Neil. People don’t want to look backwards. Right now all they can see is 3-9.

Neil Craig: It’s not all about win-loss, Stephen.

It finally started to dawn on Neil that he was in some trouble. Stephen Trigg ran him through the Seven Phases of a Coach Sacking and panic began to set in.

Neil Craig: Well, how do we get out of this? How do we get all these bloody phases to stop?
Stephen Trigg: Well, the best way is simply to start winning matches. Winning cures everything.

Neil Craig: (frantic) What if we don’t start winning?! What’s Plan B??!!

Phil Harper: Oh, so now you want a Plan B?

The second coach-player transcript centered around some self-analysis and team building workshop activities Neil did with Jaensch, Walker, Bock and Porplyzia. Needless to say it didn’t quite go as planned and the players were particularly sensitive to the open and honest feedback they received. Even quite simple tasks like writing a single work to describe a team mate caused friction.

Neil Craig: Ok, who have we got next? (reading) Nathan Bock… Gold Coast.
<Some stifled laughter around the room>

Neil Craig: C’mon fellas. Nathan isn’t going to the Gold Coast. Are you Nathan?

Nathan Bock: … um… not…

Neil Craig: Who wrote that one anyway?

Matthew Jaensch: I thought it was supposed to be anonymous?

Neil Craig: Very silly, Matty. You know there are a heap of rumours around. We don’t want to fan the flames. Right, the next one… (reading) Jason Porplyzia… fat.

Jason Porplyzia: Who wrote that?

<no one says anything>

Jason Porplyzia: Bloody hell... I’ve had injuries you know. My hip was playing up in the preseason and my shoulder still gives me trouble… I‘ve been working my ass off in that gym, and you guys know it.

Taylor Walker: C’mon Porps, we all love you but you’re favourite machine in the gym is the vending machine.

All: Cheese & Onion Smiths and a Pepsi.

Jason Porplyzia: This is bullcrap. And I’m changing what I wrote about you, Tails. How do you spell prima donna?

Neil Craig: Settle down guys… (flustered) this is not quite going how I thought it would. I was hoping we’d have more… you know… words like ‘confident’ that can be taken two ways. Stuff that might create a bit of thought, a bit of introspection… something for the player to take away and think about. Anyway, we’ll keep moving. Last one thank goodness… (reading) Matthew Jaensch… (pause) Well I’m not reading that out.

Matthew Jaensch: Why, what does it say?

Neil Craig: Nothing Matthew, it doesn’t matter.

Nathan Bock: It was only a joke.

Matthew Jaensch: What did you write?

Nathan Bock: …Alcoholic.

Matthew Jaensch: Some gag. That’s about as funny as one of Neil’s jokes.

Neil Craig: What do you mean one of my jokes? You guys always laugh at my jokes.

Matthew Jaensch: That’s because we want to get picked.

Neil Craig: (speechless) You mean you’ve just been humoring me?

<awkward silence>

Jason Porplyzia: Is this more the sort of honesty and home truths you were after?

Neil Craig: No, not exactly.

Focusing on their team mates’ strengths and weaknesses fared no better.

Neil Craig: Ok… good. Looks like there’s plenty of writing there. Hopefully this is a little more productive than the last activity. First one… (reading) Taylor Walker... strengths… hearing.
<Players burst out laughing>

Taylor Walker: You guys are w***ers.

Far from providing any sort of self-reflection for the players, Neil found most of the feedback being directed his way.

Neil Craig: (Neil puts up his hand, quieting everyone and gathers his thoughts) You guys weren’t joking before were you? You really don’t think my jokes are funny? I can’t believe it… ask Mark Bickley how funny I am…
<Neil slumps back in his chair, crushed, deflated>

Jason Porplyzia: (gently) Neil? You’ve made some funny jokes.

Taylor Walker: Yeah, like when you said Goody and Brent Reilly had been our best two players this season.

Nathan Bock: Or when you said you expected improvement from the 33 year olds.

Jason Porplyzia: And what about when you said Burton had been solid? That was a beauty.

Neil Craig: Guys… they weren’t jokes. I was serious about that stuff.

The club has continually professed the need for consistency. It’s almost as though they’d rather be consistent than even win a premiership.

David Burtenshaw: Just on the football, I’m really worried about finals.

Neil Craig: David, things are starting to turn. We’ve won three games in a row now-

David Burtenshaw: No, Neil. I’m worried about making the finals. We don’t want to be a club yo-yoing up and down the ladder. It’s too flukey… there’s no stability.

Neil Craig: So we should keep losing games for the sake of consistency?!

David Burtenshaw: If we win a string of games now people are going to start asking why we couldn’t win games at the start of the season when it counted.

In a difficult season, it was important for the club to promote a positive image.

David Burtenshaw: Can we talk about your image, Neil? It’s actually very tricky to promote you positively.
Neil Craig: What do you mean… one of South Australia’s favourite footballing sons… a family man… positive win-loss record… have said I’m a one-club coach… what’s not to like?

David Burtenshaw: Well, you’re a real enigma. On the one hand you’re regarded as very science-oriented, cutting edge and up with all the modern trends. On the other hand you’re often perceived as old fashioned and… umm… what else did that focus group say? (checks notes) Outdated… behind-the-times… conservative.

Neil Craig: Well, if you’re just going to pick out the bad things they said. I’m sure there was some positive stuff?

Phil Harper: Actually there was heaps more negative stuff. (produces a page from his folder) Here we go. David actually made photocopies for everyone in the office. We’ve all been having a good chuckle!

Stephen Trigg: I got it as an email six times yesterday. Certainly doing the rounds.

Phil Harper: (reading) Stubbornly clinging to an obsolete game plan… Finicky and pedantic about team rules… Overly reliant on technical terminology… Highly-strung and tense in pressure situations… Relies on convoluted and complicated strategies that don’t work in the real world… Hang on… this is the wrong page.

Stephen Trigg: Isn’t that the feedback from the players?

David Burtenshaw: You’re right. Sorry. (searches through folder again)

Neil Craig: What do you mean feedback from the players? When did they-

Phil Harper: Here it is! This is the one from the focus groups. (reading) A boring, old scientist... Why can’t we get Paul Roos… He mumbles all the time… He never smiles…

Neil Craig: Thank you, Phil. That’s plenty.

Phil Harper: There’s heaps more here. It goes over the page. See? (reading) Why does he always walk so fast… I fall asleep whenever he speaks… I hate his hair…

Neil Craig: Can I stop you there, Phil? Thanks for the confidence booster but to be honest all I’m interested in is winning matches. I’m not trying to be popular or to make friends.

Phil Harper: Mission accomplished then.

While the deck chairs were being shuffled, Neil stumbled on a little gem with his coaching from the interchange bench.

David Burtenshaw: Well we just start with some little things. For example, it’s great for your image to be down on the bench, Neil. It really looks to the public like you’re close to the players and a part of the team. I think it’s a brilliant initiative of yours. It shows them you aren’t just some scientist up in the box pushing the buttons.

Neil Craig: (scornful) Initiative... the other coaches locked me out! Assholes. They said that I wasn’t listening to their ideas… does that sound like me? Well, Hart and Clarkey might have had a case, but the others… no chance. I listen to their stupid ideas all the time. Too often if anything. Tippett in the ruck… (rolls eyes)

Neil coaching from the boundary opened up the opportunity for communication difficulties between the box and the bench. To make things even trickier, the assistant coaches had come up with a code-name system. Viney was doing it to take the piss out of Neil. Neil didn’t have time to argue so was forced to go along with it. Bicks on the other hand just thought having a code name was cool.

Neil Craig: Todd, what the hell is happening with this zone-
Todd Viney: Code names.

Neil Craig: Tripod, what’s the deal with this zone? We’re getting cut to ribbons.

Todd Viney: …

Neil Craig: Tripod?

Todd Viney: Say ‘over.’

Neil Craig: God dammit! Tripod, what the f*** is going on with our zone? Over.

Todd Viney: Copy that Papa Bear, it looks like the Pussy has bypassed the milk and cookies and is going straight for the cream. Over.

Neil Craig: What the hell does that mean?

Neil Craig: Tripod?!

Neil Craig: Over!!! For f***’s sake.

Todd Viney: The Pussy is starting to purr. It might be time for us to bring out the Big Dawg. Over.

(Neil looks confused)

The interchange bench exchange happened around the time of the Geelong game, without question the high point of our season (apart from the final siren in Round 22). The unexpected win put finals fairly and squarely back on the agenda. All of a sudden, Neil was The Man again. Stephen Trigg and David Burtenshaw perhaps went a little bit overboard with their plans to cash in on Neil’s popularity.

Stephen Trigg: You’re a genius again. You’ve got a real cult status among the fans now… almost a superhero status in fact.
David Burtenshaw: Neil, there’s only one thing that goes along with superhero status.

Neil Craig: What’s that?

David Burtenshaw: A superhero outfit. Neil… would you have any issue wearing a cape?

Neil Craig: Sorry… run that by me again?

The following fixture against Port gave us the chance to really ignite our season and score a win over our main rival.

Neil Craig: I still think we should remain sportsmanlike and dignified. We don’t want to sink to their level.
Stephen Trigg: Wrong again, Neil.

David Burtenshaw: They’re down, they’ve sacked their coach. This is exactly the time to really rub it in.

Stephen Trigg: You couldn’t script it any better.

David Burtenshaw: This is our chance to really give it to Port once and for all.

Stephen Trigg: What did you have in mind?

David Burtenshaw: Now, this might sound a little outlandish at first-

Neil Craig: The flying fox wasn’t outlandish?

David Burtenshaw: But what if Neil did a pressed ham up against the coaches box window?

Neil Craig: A what?

David Burtenshaw: A pressed ham. You know, moon the camera and press your buttocks up against the glass. You could write “Port” across your backside to make it really obvious that you’re sticking it to them.

Stephen Trigg: Actually could we just have “P” on one cheek and “RT” on the other?

David Burtenshaw: Good thinking. That would save on printing costs.

The idea of a pressed him presented some logistical problems.

Stephen Trigg: Hang on… How is Neil going to do the pressed ham if he’s wearing a one-piece lycra suit?
David Burtenshaw: Damn… we’re going to have to install a button-up flap in the back. Actually that would be handy if you need to go to the toilet during the game.

Stephen Trigg: Also, wouldn’t he need to do the pressed ham from the coaches box? How is he going to do it if he’s coaching from the boundary?

David Burtenshaw: Maybe we could use the flying fox to whizz him back up there during the last quarter. How hard would it be to design a two-way flying fox?

Stephen Trigg: Perhaps some sort of pulley-system? The other coaches could reel him in.

David Burtenshaw: That might work. Neil, how much do you weigh? Or don’t the scales go up that high!

Stephen Trigg: Todd’s pretty powerful.

David Burtenshaw: (glances at Neil) Hmmm… he’d have to be the World’s Strongest Man though. I don’t think it’s going to work. I mean, just look at those thighs…

Stephen Trigg: Yeah, we don’t want it sagging down so that you clip the heads of the members. Imagine if one of them spilled their coffee of something?

Neil Craig: Heaven forbid.

David Burtenshaw: The pulley might be going a bit too far.

Neil Craig: Well I’m glad to finally hear some common sense-

David Burtenshaw: How about a jet-pack? We could launch you back up the flying fox from ground level.

Stephen Trigg: Wouldn’t the cape catch fire?

David Burtenshaw: (pounds fist on table) Damn! We were so close.

And that was it. Our season petered out following the Showdown loss and the transcripts were done. Will they be back next season? Not sure. Mostly they were a way for me to procrastinate and put off all the important stuff I was meant to be doing, so chances are they’ll get another run at some stage.

Thanks to those who read them.

[/self indulgence]

Cheers for grouping these together again Carl, I didn't realise just how many of these you did. Was certainly a highlight during a season that didn't provide many, also helped me procrastinate when I'm meant to be finishing my uni work.

This little gem was probably my favourite

Todd Viney: Neil, it’s not an age thing. It’s purely form. Burton is struggling big time and made some massive blues after half time.

Neil Craig: Look, I’ve been pretty happy with Brett. He’s been competing well in the forward line… mostly against Tippett, but he’s at least providing a contest.

Although there were many chuckle worthy moments you have provided us all. Still remember the amusement when I found one of the transcripts in Rucci's Roast, the only thing of quality to make it through there in years :D

There will be stuff next year Carl. New coaches, Matty C full time, Harty in the forwards, campo speaking his mind, Neil's contract up for renewal. You've got the knack to cut right to the guts of what most people think. There will be times next year where we will need a laugh.
Neil and schwerty discussing the PS...new tactics...lock outs...a plan B.

Harty in the forwards,
Bicks?

Although there were many chuckle worthy moments you have provided us all. Still remember the amusement when I found one of the transcripts in Rucci's Roast, the only thing of quality to make it through there in years :D

Any one got a link of it in the roast? Or know when it was?

Loved it but you missed my favourite bit - the Matty Jaensch homage to The Breakfast Club.

I thought it was at it's best when it was subtle.

The Michael Doughty handballing backwards joke and we're already doing well across halfback hence no need to bring Walker lines were the best of the series IMO. (Along with Culmination!)

Those lines were classic in that you'd read them, start on the next line, then think wait a sec, re-read and crack up laughing!

Towards the end I think it turned a litttle bit mean spirited to be honest, but I can't imagine the effort involved in trying to produce something of this quality on a regular basis:thumbsu:

Fair call and that was one of the reasons I stopped doing them to be honest. Some of the frustrations of the season were spilling over into the threads. They started off simply poking a little fun at Neil's foibles rather then being anything vindictive but maybe started coming across that way towards the end.

Love your work Carl, so much so that I even wrote a Carlesque type transcript in your honour with Neil, Ben and Todd Viney counting the captaincy votes, but never got around to posting it.

Posts or it didn't happen. :D:p

Funny stuff. My favorite part is the code names. I like the culmination also, I can really see bicks doing that :D