The Varcoe Era

• Thread starter Thread starter rizzo

rizzo

Veteran 10k Posts The Fred Medal Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2014 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2013 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2011 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2010 Player Sponsor
Everton, Melbourne Heart, Raptors
Well I'm on uni holidays and have no life atm, so I thought I would use my lack of photoshop skills to have a bit of fun.

Had a play on Aussie Rock band "The Vasco Era", and turned their banner into "The Varcoe Era"

Incase you didn't know, I am a wee bit excited haha.

varcoeeraus6.jpg

Also while i'm at it, Adam playing for the cats :p

adamty8.jpg

Lets hope he is not strapping the shoulders like Trav does. Thanks for the insights & videos Rizzo very happy to get home and have an understanding already who our new recruits are.

No worries mate. How bad is the strapping haha. Poor trav.
Very clever ;) you almost don't need to photoshop Adam's head on, they look so similar!

Haha i know, they could almost be twins. Obviously a very strong gene somewhere in that family!

That photo where you photoshoped adams head onto Travis's body.............ha ha that's a huge head

Well he has just ben drafted :p It will shrink once he gets into pre season :o

But seriously, getting the head right always sucks, either to small or to big haha.

From the local paper where Adam lives:

Adam joins big bro

16 Dec 08 @ 10:17am by Reece Homfray

aa4bae6dfa04c86664007a4998a1eeef_resized.JPG

Central District’s Adam Varcoe has joined his older brother Tavis at Geelong after being selected in this morning’s AFL rookie draft. This is his story.
THERE’S nothing special about Kalara Reserve in Davoren Park.
Apart from the faint green tinge left from winter, it’s dry and dusty like most parks in Adelaide’s northern suburbs.
It’s a humble park in a humble part of town, but it’s about to deliver what Geelong is hoping will be another AFL gem.
Adam Varcoe, 17, has lived opposite Kalara Reserve his entire life.
Actually, his father Brian will argue he has spent more time in the park, kicking the footy with his brother Travis, than he has inside the family home.
``Straight after school, in-between training nights or whenever, they were in the park kicking the footy ... that and fighting in the passage of the house,’’ Brian said.
Now the two brothers are together again after Adam was taken by Geelong with Pick No.15 in today’s AFL rookie draft.
He will join Travis, who has played 34 games for the Cats, since being drafted from Central District in 2005 and handed the most famous guernsey number in Geelong Football Club history - Polly Farmer and Gary Ablett’s No.5.
``I just woke up when my manager called me and gave me the news,’’ Adam said this morning.
``I’m stoked. I jumped straight out of bed. I had no clue the Cats were going to pick me up.
``I was devastated when I didn’t get picked up in the national draft, but now ...
``It means a lot to be joining Travis. I’ll be there with him every day now.’’
Brian was just as ecstatic.
``There couldn’t be anything better,’’ he said.
``I reckon you’ll see some real good football with them together.’’
Newspaper photos of Travis, from his days as a South Australian underage star to AFL Grand Finalist, adorn the walls of the kitchen in the family home.
For months it has been a constant reminder to Adam of what might await him.
The pair led remarkably similar junior careers and apart from the three-year age difference, there’s little separating them.
At 178cm, Adam is only 1cm shorter than his big brother and reckons at full fitness, would match him for pace.
Both won multiple best-and-fairest awards with Smithfield and Central District Football Clubs and both suffered serious leg injuries in the lead up to the draft.
Adam had a knee reconstruction early in the season but has been back running for the past two months.
And before Travis was drafted, he was forced to overcome a serious foot injury.
If Cats fans think Travis is an exciting player, Brian has more good news.
``Travis is a very clever player, but Adam is different,’’ he said.
``Adam is a better footballer, he tackles well and bumps very well.’’
Despite his knee injury, Adam still went to draft camp last month where he met with several AFL clubs - some of them made follow up visits to his home.
But in the end it was the Cats that pounced.

http://hume-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/adam-joins-big-bro/

Just a wonderful story for the Varcoe family.

So does that mean he'll be right by the time the VFL season starts ?

I would think that would be safe to assume Jubs

Well I'm on uni holidays and have no life atm, so I thought I would use my lack of photoshop skills to have a bit of fun.

Had a play on Aussie Rock band "The Vasco Era", and turned their banner into "The Varcoe Era"

Incase you didn't know, I am a wee bit excited haha.

varcoeeraus6.jpg

Also while i'm at it, Adam playing for the cats :p

adamty8.jpg

LOL very cool, my sister does their publicity and also "Little Red" if you've heard of them :thumbsu:

Funnily enough I saw them together at the Barwon Club this year :thumbsu::thumbsu: