The Vent Thread

Can substitute 'all season' with 'the last 3 seasons' jackess. Our setup around the centre bounce and stoppages in general has been atrocious for a while. I'm sure I've said this already very recently but our wins in this period have mostly gone from breaking even in the middle rather then dominating. We have all talked about our up and coming midfield guns but its obvious that we don't have the right setup and/or don't have the right cattle to compete consistently at the bounces which has cost us most of the games we've played in the last 3 or so years.

Our last two games have shown the clearance stat to not necessarily be the best indicator. Won the clearances well last week and was smashed in it this week but the games looked pretty similar to me. Opposition mids got an age to release and free players running to the right spots to release too while we get tackled as soon as we touch it and no time or space or team mate to give it off.

Nice rant? ;)

It seems to me that we must be the favourite team to play against for a number of gun players in the league who inevitably seem to smash us whenever they play us. Tonight's serving came from Deledio. Did we even try and put a defensive runner on him? :mad:

|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|Clearances|

Really missing Leuenberger. Hudson has been going well, but we lack depth in the ruck at the moment and that is costing us. Of course it doesn't matter what ruck we have if the midfielders don't get to it or get the clearance.

HOPEFULLY brisbane can get a clearance version of zorko in this years draft

if they where at least competent in clearances tonight they probably would have won

Regarding the clearances, even when we do win them, we don't seem to have the sorts of players who can speed away with the ball from the stoppage and get clearance on opponents when bursting forward (with Zorko being one of the few exceptions). We mainly seem to clear the ball sideways or even backwards and then rely on the likes of Drummond and Hanley to send it forward. I reckon this has been a problem for us ever since we lost Akermanis and was evident as early back as 2007.

Any chance of recruiting some genuine pacey midfielders?? I really hope Polec realizes his potential

No doubt we need some but I think someone who can win their own ball and use it cleanly from congestion is paramount. Look how much we still rely on Black. I love Green's work in traffic and think when he has the tank to play predominantly in the mids he'll be a huge boost for our midfield.

Just too many out of form players. Hanley's down. Drummond looks awful, Hudson struggling, Banfield his usual self. Karnezis can't bring his 2's form across.

If it ever clicks to the players that standing still is not a winning game plan (or coaches, who knows) look out. Until then, we'll struggle.

I believe the Lions suffer the rare condition of "positional dyslexia".
That is they find space when the opposition has the ball and pick up their man when the Lions have it.
Great entertainment, excitement and a flurry of goals is the result for whomever we are playing.

How bad were Patty K, drummo tonight?
Man I was calling for the sub at quarter time.
Loose checking lost that game. If we give our opponants any more space, we'll have to wait in the carpark.
Not even angry anymore, just accepting that the Lions don't want to play for the lions.
At the point now where I just expect clangers and dumb footy.
Someone asked in the game thread if we have improved and got shot down. Well the way I see it is we improved for part of the season and for the last few weeks we have played no better than the last couple of years.
Now go back and have a look at who we have beaten this year, apart from WC, big ****ing deal.

With our clearances we need to just get it and go long into our forward 50. We seem to try land handball it out instead of just getting it out of there
To who?
For the majority of tonight we had one forward. One.
Even when the bal was held inside our forward 50, no-one could be fagged sitting in the goal square.

Drummond's kicking has gone full circle in the last 2 games,doesn't stay composed to find the right option.Redden was absolutely terrible in terms of kicking for most of the game.Our clearances were woeful, no-one wanted to take initiative and get under at the bounces except zorko and black :mad:

Its been said before but I think we're all starting to realise that maybe the R's are not necessarily going to be the saviours I and many others thought they would be. The bitter pill is that they are considered by many Including me our best young players.

At risk of going against the theme of the thread and being a little positive, i would suggest our future success will rely on a very different stoppage setup including names such as green, crisp, McGrath, zorko, yeo, karnezis, etc.

To who?
For the majority of tonight we had one forward. One.
Even when the bal was held inside our forward 50, no-one could be fagged sitting in the goal square.

We had Lisle, Brown and Karnezis up forward as well as Polks, Banfield and Green. Take your pick just get it down there

Its been said before but I think we're all starting to realise that maybe the R's are not necessarily going to be the saviours I and many others thought they would be. The bitter pill is that they are considered by many Including me our best young players.

At risk of going against the theme of the thread and being a little positive, i would suggest our future success will rely on a very different stoppage setup including names such as green, crisp, McGrath, zorko, yeo, karnezis, etc.
Future success relying on McGrath?

Drummond needs a roast. He just looks clueless this year. I don't no if it's no confidence or his body is struggling but he won't put his body on the line. Am
I allowed to say that??

Agree mate. I use to love it when he had the ball in his hands, now I just get nervous!

I'm a big fan of Redden and I think his poor disposal at times is due to being absolutely buggered when he gets the ball from the amount of hard work he puts in. As for people writing off Polec.....he hasn't even had a full preseason yet and was always going to be a player that would take a little longer to develop than others.

The thing with drummond is his decision making and one on one defensive efforts were never his strength so if he struggles with his foot skills then he can become a liability.

Forgot to add my annual rant on how Beams should have been in the side.

So yeah, Come on Vossy!

Also time for Doc'!