Blue and Gold Blood
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- West Coast
- Other Teams
- west coast
Completely agree with everything you said.I don't think the atmosphere is anything special at all, and to be honest a lot of our members are just embarrassing - but people get carried away when comparing us to the crowds of other teams. I've been to plenty of Freo games, as well as footy games outside Perth plus other sports in Perth and elsewhere. You'd think Freo home games were like Anfield before and during Liverpool vs Manchester City a month or two back. They aren't.
Remember when we beat Geelong and North? According to the Scott sisters our crowd is the most parochial in the country. Subi Oval is not somewhere you want to bring your children! Fast forward and we're playing like arse again and we're back to being champagne sipping theatre goers who only clap if Naitanui takes mark of the year. FFS.
Back in 2004-2007 the Eagles crowds were vocal and intense. Each game had a real must-win feel to it, because obviously the higher on the ladder you finish the more likely you are to get 2 home finals. So at the beginning of the match just as the siren sounded before the first bounce, you could hear the crowd getting wound up and excited. The games against the big teams, derbies and finals all had an electric atmosphere. And the noise that was made in round 11 against Carlton after being 44 points down was deafening as Embley kicked the goal to put us in front. Even a Carlton workmate of mine who was there said its the loudest crowd he had ever heard.
Fast forward to this season and there is hardly a whimper around the ground. The reason - Eagles fans arent fake. We are not going to buy into the stupid SGIO chants or the Rick the Rock 3 quarter time rev up crap. If we know weve got a shit hopeless team that are getting pumped, we will attend the match and cheer when the team actually gives us something to cheer about. But were not a bunch of brainwashed hippies at some backwater religious cult that will mindlessly behave the way people think we should. We went into Sunday nights game having lost 5 out of the last 6 matches, with our only wins being against lowly bottom 4 teams. Our membership base knows exactly whats happening this season, so you could excuse the lack of roar before the game started. The last 3 quarters were a blight on our teams history and successful winning culture that we have developed over 25+ years, and there was little to cheer about. We were playing embarrassing football.
So its unfortunate that you didnt enjoy yourself on Sunday night thorne and werent able to take part in a raucous, vibrant and enthused atmosphere that you obviously want when you only get to go to games once in a blue moon. But our team has been playing shit, they played like shit that night, and our fans behaved accordingly. The best thing about AFL matches is the atmosphere is REAL and not some fake basketball crap with someone on a loudspeaker telling us when and how to cheer or clap.
If you want someone to be annoyed with - direct it at the players, admin and coaches. At least our crowds are more loyal than those Port Adelaide flogs who dropped to sub 15k attendances when they were crap and had to use bay covers, but now have suddenly ballooned up to 50k this season. Ive been a member since 1998, and anyone who was there during the finals window between 2002 and 2007 can vouch for how enjoyable the atmosphere was at the home games in that era. And what else do you expect? Win = happy, vocal, fun. Lose poorly = quiet, unhappy, not so fun. Its simple emotion.

and then at the end of the quarter, stand up, stretch your legs, try not to spill your beer down the backs of the people in front of you, and then do it all over again. Come half time, a masisve chunk of the crowd get up, go down to get food and drinks, take a piss, go outside and have a smoke etc, so I reckon half time entertainment is not really worth it. We usually just watch the auskick kids run around and fall over each other and then before you know it, it's the teams turn to come back out and run around, and fall over each other!